User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 100
  2. Negative: 14 out of 100
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HakonH
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    I have played Lotro since the start, and i still love it. MoM made the gameplay even better with 2 new classes, more instances and a new zone.
  2. Apr 16, 2015
    0
    These ratings should be updated to reflect current changes and problems, support and stability are nearly 0 and the PvP system is and has been extremely broken and full of exploits.
  3. PatrickS
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    The game itself remains a general failure. From the incredibly slow update procedure (does Turbine use snails to power it's servers?) to the "instancing" of small building (yes, you have a screen freeze to just walk into The Prancing Pony Inn)... MoM continues an already weak MMORPG framework. Yes, the terrain is pretty but the expansion doesn't augment this. The new races are The game itself remains a general failure. From the incredibly slow update procedure (does Turbine use snails to power it's servers?) to the "instancing" of small building (yes, you have a screen freeze to just walk into The Prancing Pony Inn)... MoM continues an already weak MMORPG framework. Yes, the terrain is pretty but the expansion doesn't augment this. The new races are nice to have, but the overall combat system, player customization, and "horsey-ness" remain a fatal flaw. For players who are used to the sophisticated tech trees and tremendously varied dungeon challenges of WoW, this is a step backwards. Having played MoM for several months know, it's clear why there are so few players, so few servers -- and why WoW continues to steamroll LOTRO as a game: it's just sluggish implementation from install to movement inside the world. Painful at times. Expand
  4. MarmT
    Nov 23, 2008
    4
    There's a lot of good stuff in MoM, like legendary weapons, new book quests, improvements to class traits, ability to advance your character further... The problem, for me, is that moria itself is bland. There are a few shining spots that are different from the norm, and that's nice, but it's not enough. Ultimately you're walking through cavernous stone halls over and There's a lot of good stuff in MoM, like legendary weapons, new book quests, improvements to class traits, ability to advance your character further... The problem, for me, is that moria itself is bland. There are a few shining spots that are different from the norm, and that's nice, but it's not enough. Ultimately you're walking through cavernous stone halls over and over again, with not enough changes to feel like you've been anywhere new. It just gets boring if there's no change in mobs/scenery, and doing quests is a real pain since it's difficult to navigate moria (because everything looks the same). Expand
  5. MikeN.
    Feb 9, 2009
    8
    Moria is very impressive. Legendary weapons are addictive and the story quests are a blast. However, the designers break quite a few things with this release: crafting is almost pointless; the end game is extraordinarily weak; the economy is largely non-functional; and many skills remain laughably underpowered. But that is standard MMO fare. The regular updates will eventually fix some of Moria is very impressive. Legendary weapons are addictive and the story quests are a blast. However, the designers break quite a few things with this release: crafting is almost pointless; the end game is extraordinarily weak; the economy is largely non-functional; and many skills remain laughably underpowered. But that is standard MMO fare. The regular updates will eventually fix some of these problems. In the meantime, the underground world is still well worth seeing. Expand
  6. jimK
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Wow. I stopped playing Lotro after ranking two characters to 50. I waited for months for Moria to arrive so I could have some new areas to run through. My expectations have been absolutely blown out of the water. Absolutely beautiful caverns and landscapes. 2 new classes to boot. I don't know how to explain it but running through Moria with your new legendary weapons is a unique Wow. I stopped playing Lotro after ranking two characters to 50. I waited for months for Moria to arrive so I could have some new areas to run through. My expectations have been absolutely blown out of the water. Absolutely beautiful caverns and landscapes. 2 new classes to boot. I don't know how to explain it but running through Moria with your new legendary weapons is a unique experience to MMOs. And the graphics and music....excellent. Expand
  7. RyanB
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Its astonishing how well the world builders did on this expanion. It has a really epic feel to it. The soundtrack as always is amazing and the new classes are fresh takes. Excellent job!
  8. BruceL
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly the most expansive and detailed MMO I have ever had the joy to play. Turbine's focus on story driven PvE content and a clear love and respect for tolkiens source material give Moria a feel quite unlike any other. The quest of the ring has only just begun!
  9. deanw
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    As a fan of lotro enough to purchase a lifetime sub- which as far as i know wow and other mmo's dont provide this expansion only serves to ruther loyal fans experience of the game and storyline some people state lotro is a defunked wow clone- i disagree- wow copied aspects of other games and lotro took a similar choice but has gone in a different direction and since lotro began it As a fan of lotro enough to purchase a lifetime sub- which as far as i know wow and other mmo's dont provide this expansion only serves to ruther loyal fans experience of the game and storyline some people state lotro is a defunked wow clone- i disagree- wow copied aspects of other games and lotro took a similar choice but has gone in a different direction and since lotro began it has improved with new content and got better all the time- sure monster play isnt the strongest pvp or mad raid grind as other mmo's but i dont always have the time to raid andcan take things in my stride and pvp isnt my thing- you gotta go with whatever flats your boat as they say- but moria serves to strengthen a solid mmo in my opinion the unique item and weapons make for an exceptional addition that i cant find any faults with except with the crafting issue- you cannot crit a legendary item or weapon for it to become a 2nd age- the new crafting tier is a minor letdown but im sure being able to crit the new tier will become avaliable in the new books thar are surely to be realeased - in my opinion mines of moria strengthens lotro into a solid mmo that seems to persistantly keep its edge as a popular mmo Expand
  10. M0nK3YC4Rn4GE
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    This add-on just made one of the best MMOs on the market even better. Being set in Tolkiens' Middle Earth gives this game a breadth of narrative not seen in any other MMO. This is no mere PvP gank-fest. To anyone looking for a beautifully crafted MMO - look no further, and to those of you already in Middle Earth - Get this expansion. The two new classes are excellent, legendary items This add-on just made one of the best MMOs on the market even better. Being set in Tolkiens' Middle Earth gives this game a breadth of narrative not seen in any other MMO. This is no mere PvP gank-fest. To anyone looking for a beautifully crafted MMO - look no further, and to those of you already in Middle Earth - Get this expansion. The two new classes are excellent, legendary items are awesome and the mines themselves will blow you away! Expand
  11. J
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    The place in MoM all feels new. The scenery is absolutely amazing. The mobs are detailed and finely tuned as well as new mobs roaming around. If you set your graphics up to the highest, and even if you have DX10 enabled, you'll see how much detail is put into everything in MoM. Expect to be walking in the dark and stone hall as MT said, but that's why it is called the "Mines"... The place in MoM all feels new. The scenery is absolutely amazing. The mobs are detailed and finely tuned as well as new mobs roaming around. If you set your graphics up to the highest, and even if you have DX10 enabled, you'll see how much detail is put into everything in MoM. Expect to be walking in the dark and stone hall as MT said, but that's why it is called the "Mines"... it only makes sense. But it does feel like you've been in a whole new area. It's not boring to me because the mobs and scenery definitely is different. It's fun when you get to inspect these new things and learn how to really adapt to the location and how to defeat these mobs. Moria is definitely a pain to navigate though, but that's what makes a mine, a "Mine". (Plus, you get a goat when you finally reach the reputation needed to purchase one). Moria deserves a 9 for an absolutely great work and launch. Expand
  12. KieranC
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    MOM is perhaps the perfect expansion. The new environments are great to explore and the story line is compelling. The new classes are fun to play and are balanced extremely well, although no new starting zones being included as of yet is a little disappointing. The expansions to the Deed Log feature are also extremely welcome, being rewarded for simply playing the game how you want to MOM is perhaps the perfect expansion. The new environments are great to explore and the story line is compelling. The new classes are fun to play and are balanced extremely well, although no new starting zones being included as of yet is a little disappointing. The expansions to the Deed Log feature are also extremely welcome, being rewarded for simply playing the game how you want to play it is a nice relief from the quest-based leveling found in most other MMOs. Expand
  13. NathanO
    Jun 12, 2009
    8
    The Mines of Moria are very well done, sure the sub-zones may seem bland and repetitive, but the recreation of Moria isn't just that of caves, but of an entire subterranean kingdom. I only docked points because Lothlorien was not completed in the original release.
  14. CiderP
    Dec 11, 2008
    10
    Man, I love those new 3-man-instances. Now I can play lotro for just half an hour. Log on, get a group together instantly, get my arse kicked in those brutally hard encounters, log off with some fat loot.
  15. [ANONYMOUS]
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    Back to the RPG roots. Dungeon crawl at its best. Atmospheric huge cavernous locations with tons of mobs and insane spawn rate. Love it so far.
  16. cwl
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Finally, a proper dungeon crawl. Turbine has done a good job rendering Moria, the mother of all dungeon. Rune-keeper and wardens are new; along with legendary items, it shows Turbine is hard at work to introduce innovation into mmorpgs. Finally, a game that has done enough to capture the interests of this tired old gamer.
  17. FreddyM
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    Breathtaking! A seamless, continent-sized underground world. Majestic halls, dripping caves, underground gardens, railroads and mining operations. With every step you make the environment is changing. The lighting is like nothing you have ever seen in an mmo. In some parts sunlight that enters through cracks is reflected and propagated through a system of mirrors. Other caves are lit by Breathtaking! A seamless, continent-sized underground world. Majestic halls, dripping caves, underground gardens, railroads and mining operations. With every step you make the environment is changing. The lighting is like nothing you have ever seen in an mmo. In some parts sunlight that enters through cracks is reflected and propagated through a system of mirrors. Other caves are lit by glowing crystals, glowing worms or only the light you carry. Beautiful! Expand
  18. CoreyB
    Dec 27, 2008
    10
    Mines of Moria delievers an awesome experience. The new regions are magnificent, and the two new classes are a nice welcome addition. The legendary weapon system gives players a sense of feeling very powerful.
  19. jenb
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    It has completely surpassed all of my expectations. Feels as much like a sequel as it does an expansion. Tons of content. This game just keeps getting better!
  20. DanH
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent game. I have played many games over 25 years of computer gaming but I have never had a game hold my interest like Lotro and the expansion Mines of Moria. To me a good MMO should be more than questing or ultimate treasure seeking. It should captivate me by making me be part of a compelling story, challenge me to make careful tactical and strategic decisions, awe me This is an excellent game. I have played many games over 25 years of computer gaming but I have never had a game hold my interest like Lotro and the expansion Mines of Moria. To me a good MMO should be more than questing or ultimate treasure seeking. It should captivate me by making me be part of a compelling story, challenge me to make careful tactical and strategic decisions, awe me with its graphics, and leave me inspired to play more. Mines of Moria is a beautiful additional to that already inspiring game. The ability to level and modify legendary weapons and the new level caps with the new skills are rewards enough to but this game if you enjoyed the first installment of Lotro. There is also a new tier to crafting and crafting guilds for reputation so unique items can be more easily be made. If you are new to the game you will enjoy the environments and storyline which will make you feel part of Tolkien's universe. Mines of Moria also inherits a strong, helpful community. I can't wait to retire my rift armour and don my new armour set to do battle in the new 12 man watcher raid. Expand
  21. Andres
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    I never bought LOTRO SoA last year. This year I decided to give it try, and got Mines of Moria. This game is incredible, great graphics, good sound, immersive storyline, no-grind and fun quests. More casual MMO than WoW. The community is great so far, very mature and helpfull. Any LotR fan should give it a try at least!
  22. JoeB
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    I felt like i had to write this in leau of the only writen review being a 4, which this expansion simply isn't. This expansion is HUGE. I know youre probably thinking yeah yeah big caves, but you dont understand, its much bigger than you think. You see archways in screenshots and think, oh that can only be 2-3 times my height. I can gaurantee you its closer to 20. The different zone I felt like i had to write this in leau of the only writen review being a 4, which this expansion simply isn't. This expansion is HUGE. I know youre probably thinking yeah yeah big caves, but you dont understand, its much bigger than you think. You see archways in screenshots and think, oh that can only be 2-3 times my height. I can gaurantee you its closer to 20. The different zone of Moria change in just th right ways as you move through it. Youre going through mines and just when you think youre bored, you find a little black cave with some fungua and crystal lights, when you get through this you end up in a dwarven building and when you come out the other side, youre behind a waterfall in the waterworks! Half the fun is exploring Also legendary items and class sets allow you to further specialize your class. You will forge in the mines your own weapon which you can name and improve over time. The two new classes are interesting and add very different gameplay styles to the game. All in all this is a GREAT expansion to an already good game Expand
  23. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    I have played Lotro for a very long time, always wondering about a true expansion. My expectation was shattered. For a first expansion Turbine hit the ground running, with a smooth launch, wonderful quests ( and engaging). They made a very lore heavy/friendly recreation from Tolkien's books, but I already expected that much.
  24. Jul 8, 2012
    7
    This MMO has many fans and I will admit I do like this game, with that being said I do want to point out Leveling up in this game past level 20ish becomes a major grind mostly because free to play players do not have access to many of the quests. and purchasing all the quests in the game can be very expensive, their is a plus to this though because once you by the expansions your otherThis MMO has many fans and I will admit I do like this game, with that being said I do want to point out Leveling up in this game past level 20ish becomes a major grind mostly because free to play players do not have access to many of the quests. and purchasing all the quests in the game can be very expensive, their is a plus to this though because once you by the expansions your other characters have access to them as well. There are 3 tiers to this game F2P - get the fewest perks and over all will most likely be looking for a new game in a few months. Premium players - get a few more perks but only by purchasing some turbine points
    Pay to play players - get the most perks how ever they still need to purchase expansions.

    So you may be thinking to your self Why should I even try yo play this game? First off the story line is very good and well worth going through. All the epic quests that take you through the game is open to all players, side quests are the ones you may have to purchase. While you play you can gain Turbine points that allow you to purchase stuff from the store such as quests that you may want to get however this is a very long and drawn out process.

    The graphics are very good and can be very stunning. Over all this game is great for players that do not mind grinding.
    .
    Expand
  25. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    Yes there a lot of MMORPGS out there but LOTRO has a unique approach in the quest system, spec requirements and the purchasing currency (turbine points) that me rate this game a perfect 10. LOTRO's quest system includes main story mode and sub quests like NWN and skyrim style is a very effective implementation to a MMORPG game. The quests and deeds are mixed with rewards (turbine points,Yes there a lot of MMORPGS out there but LOTRO has a unique approach in the quest system, spec requirements and the purchasing currency (turbine points) that me rate this game a perfect 10. LOTRO's quest system includes main story mode and sub quests like NWN and skyrim style is a very effective implementation to a MMORPG game. The quests and deeds are mixed with rewards (turbine points, title , traits) that probably gives excitement to the playing experience because there is a lot to achieve here an its very rewarding that you finished them. Another thing is that the game engine used here is very flexible that even my old dual core laptop with onboard gpu can run this game and at the same time my gaming pc fully utilizes the full graphic quality of this game. If you haven't played it before play it now! Expand
  26. Aug 6, 2014
    8
    Solid expansion pack, this IMO is where LOTRO really starts to take off, I never really thought the base game was anything to shout about but with expansion packs like MoM the game really starts to make a name for its self.

    The quests are so much better here than they are in the base game, the team at Turbine have certainly learnt from their mistakes there, the PvM is classed as some
    Solid expansion pack, this IMO is where LOTRO really starts to take off, I never really thought the base game was anything to shout about but with expansion packs like MoM the game really starts to make a name for its self.

    The quests are so much better here than they are in the base game, the team at Turbine have certainly learnt from their mistakes there, the PvM is classed as some of the best in LOTROs history and the same can be said for the PvE which is further improved with AI changes.

    Overall is a must have purchase for people who are already fans of LOTRO and its a great opportunity for players who perhaps didn't like the base game to try the game again.
    Expand
  27. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Fantastic. Eregion was a great place to quest as you searched for signs of the Fellowship and earned your first legendary weapon. The epic line of quests and the conflict with the Watcher in the Water was exciting. Delving into Moria was a great experience. At times it had some lag and some bugs, but I greatly enjoyed this expansion and this experience. Finding the Balrog, signs ofFantastic. Eregion was a great place to quest as you searched for signs of the Fellowship and earned your first legendary weapon. The epic line of quests and the conflict with the Watcher in the Water was exciting. Delving into Moria was a great experience. At times it had some lag and some bugs, but I greatly enjoyed this expansion and this experience. Finding the Balrog, signs of his struggle with Gandalf, getting to the bridge where Gandalf fell...great great stuff. Expand
  28. Aug 18, 2016
    4
    I've been a huge fan of this game and, frankly, I'd say that it's the best mmo I've played. However, you need to pay for absolutely everything in this game (even for the ability to ride a horse) and even if you buy a vip account you don't get access to all content! Turbine really killed all the pleasure of playing it.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Moria is an evolutionary expansion in which Turbine has honed what it does best: storytelling, an enjoyable, constantly changing levelling curve, and atmosphere in big, rocky buckets.
  2. 90
    In the end, Mines of Moria proves that while innovation is nice, it plays second fiddle to vision.
  3. 87
    What is surprising is how much better Turbine has managed to make it this time around. Moria is wonderfully realized from top to bottom and, though the entry quest requires a bit of a grind, it's a thoroughly enjoyable experience.