Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Riders of Rohan expands the online world of Middle-earth where players join forces to ride into the Plains of Rohan. Riders of Rohan launches in the Fall of 2012 with an increased level cap, the vast plains of Rohan including iconic locations such as Amon Hen and Fangorn Forest, the new Mounted Combat system and much more! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    96
    If you've been looking for a reason to return to Turbine's version of Middle-earth, Riders of Rohan gives you not one, but several. I found myself constantly surprised and impressed with each new area I explored during my journey; may your own be filled with that special sort of wonderment that only Middle-earth can provide.
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    92
    With twice the size of its first expansion, double the level cap increase of the second expansion, and orders of magnitude more endgame content and innovation than the third (at launch), Riders of Rohan delivers on all fronts.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    91
    Don't let my minor complaints deter you though. If you haven't played Lord of the Rings Online for a while then Rohan is the perfect excuse to pick it up again. If you have never played LotRO then I would encourage you to give it a try, all of the stuff leading up to Rohan is still compelling and you will know that you have a good expansion waiting for you at the end.
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    85
    Riders of Rohan is the best add-on for Lord of the Rings Online thus far. It has one of the best mounted combats I've ever seen in MMOs and with the great, atmospheric Tolkien universe it is a great game for every fan of the books or the films.
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    83
    Massive, beautiful, and graced with some of the best mounted combat ever seen in an MMORPG, Turbine's labor of love recalls the sense of exploration and adventure that's always set LOTRO apart.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    83
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Definitely a vast improvement from the previous expansion of Rise of Isengard, and yet again Turbine proves devoted to delivering stunning landscapes and open spaces for the land of Rohan. The only complaint keeping this from a 10 is the lack of group content, but that will not remove much as an update(s) is arriving soon with this content.
    Looking forward to the next expansion.
    Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    The new mounted combat is amazing and throw in the usual great landscape and story and ROHAN and this expansion becomes almost unbelievable. That being said, there were bugs and other issues preventing a solid 10. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    My original review on LOTRO ended up as a 7 for those playing up to level 50 (top is 85). This was mainly because for every good region (Evendim, Eregion), there was a tedious one (Forochel, Trollshaws). Moria I was not a great fan of (ditto a 7, I just prefer rivers, mountains etc.), but overall enjoyed. And Isengard expansion is well laid out and interesting to play (an 8 for that region for its nice environment and story-lead quests). But RoR is worth all the time and effort in getting there (from 70+ level). The Pros: * Superb music, some of it is top quality indeed. * Huge land area, lovely to be in. * Horse combat (particularly group horse combat, great great fun). * Again, well laid out story-quests that move you nicely through the area. * The concept of warbands (roving bosses) provides short but fun combat in groups at any time. * End game content is interesting for me (I'm level 84, so just started playing endgame in Hytbold, rebuilding a town - I like the idea of 5 quests a day thing, nice to pick up for a short time, but others are less fond of this, as it can get a bit repetitive). In my previous review, another problem was getting fellowships together for specific quests. That's pretty much all gone now, with quest choices of solo and fellowship where required. You can get to the end pretty much as a solo player, without ever needing help (though if you do need help, the community is helpful and friendly). Solo play does seem to go against the concept of an MMO, but hey, you can play the whole thing solo or in groups, and I like it that way. Are there cons? For me probably just one gameplay one. In horse combat, one-on-one combat you will always come out best, even against higher levels, it's not difficult to do so. But that quibble is minor compared to all the other plusses. Is it worth playing LOTRO up to lvl 70 to start RoR? Yes, yes it is. I cannot wait for the next expansion if it continues on in the same quality. Collapse
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    The lord of the rings is a solid game. The lore is spot on, the classes model real characters in the books, and overall a nice MMORPG to get in to. My main issue with it is the amount of things you must pay for to actually experience the game. It felt that that every single tidbit of game needed to be bought in order to experience. This isn't free to play, but more free to start. Going in expecting to be able to enjoy a fair amount of the game without have to pain, the level of content you actually have to buy ruined my experience. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    6
    I really enjoyed this expansion at the start. The mounted combat was an exciting new feature. The epic line of quests was great. The sight of the Argonath and the fields of Rohan was fantastic. The music was well done. The tension in the story of the quests as you supported the people of Rohan against the invasion from Isengard was fantastic. Many great things. After a time though, it became disappointing. Housing was still basically unchanged since launch. Monster Play continued to be on the back burner and left the PVPers to feel like Turbine's redheaded stepchildren. The loot tables were messed up so that massive amounts of 2nd and 1st age symbols were dumped into the game prematurely. The raids and instance cluster in general were VERY buggy so that some could not be completed. Mounted combat had one 'raid' mob that you could solo and there was never a reason to spend much time trying to master the skills as a result. The mounted combat lag had you warping around the fields of Rohan and was not addressed until just recently...and it still lags. The communication with the community and the handling of issues by CS continued to deteriorate. The game itself simply did not support large raids in either PVE or PVP and was unplayable at times. The frequency of login issues for many people got to be a real problem as well. What started out as something with great promise really declined fast for me. I now would not recommend it. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    The only thing that it has going for it is the LORE. The mounted combat is extremely glitch. There weren't even any dungeons that came with the expansion (and when they came out they closed down due to glitchs) and there were no PVMP improvements. On top of that there are massive class imbalances and the solo target dps classes are not even wanted. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    I played LOTRO for a long time a few years ago. The developers are some of the worst in the history of the world and have basically made the war of the ring about pie eating contests and fluffy BS. PvP is completely abandoned and has languished untouched forever. The game was utterly ruined by going F2P. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews