The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The only massively-multiplayer role-playing game set in J.R.R. Tokien's Middle-earth. Travel with your Fellowship in the fight against the forces of Sauron. Across the wide lands of Middle-earth, the Free Peoples must face the threatening Shadow growing in the East. All of Mordor is stirringThe only massively-multiplayer role-playing game set in J.R.R. Tokien's Middle-earth. Travel with your Fellowship in the fight against the forces of Sauron. Across the wide lands of Middle-earth, the Free Peoples must face the threatening Shadow growing in the East. All of Mordor is stirring as Sauron dispatches the Nazgûl to hunt for the Ring. The rumor of war brings forth many eager adventurers who will find their place among the great events of the Third Age. High deeds call to the willing, for their time is at hand. Hundreds of thousands of people will enter the perpetual world of Middle-earth for the very first time. Prepare yourself to choose a path amongst the likes of Elves, Dwarves, and Humans. Will you choose to fight for the things that bring peace to the land or will you add to the corruption of Middle-earth as the forces of Sauron move swiftly to extinguish all that is good? [Turbine] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Probably the biggest question about LotRO is, "Does LotRO have the potential to surpass World of Warcraft?" The answer is yes.
  2. The deed system is so simple yet so great; it’s a real surprise it hasn’t been included much before.
  3. An innovative traits and title system, unique social-networking -- like an in-game music system and player-driven Wiki -- and the rich storylines and subplots that stay true to the source material easily make this name-brand role-player a hot contender for PC game of the year.
  4. PC Zone UK
    87
    Best Tolkien game, beyond a shadow of a doubt. [July 2007, p.66]
  5. The online version of Middle-Earth is certainly worth a visit, especially if you count yourself among the legions of Tolkien fans out there.
  6. The character models themselves are largely devoid of character. There’s not a ton of detail to faces and the models themselves often come off rigid and too similar to each other.
  7. PC Format
    72
    The most perverse thing though is that the most enjoyable moments have little to do with Tokien or his wonderfully overactive imagination; it's much more to do with Turbine's ability to knock out a compelling MMO experience. [June 2007, p.56]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 87
  2. Negative: 9 out of 87
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Lotro has the potential to surpass World of Warcraft in popularity, 'cause it's now free to play. When comes to quality, Lotro just barelyLotro has the potential to surpass World of Warcraft in popularity, 'cause it's now free to play. When comes to quality, Lotro just barely misses WoW. I have to say, I am hooked.However, I would like to criticize travel time. I keep finding myself annoyed by having to go here and there to get this and that, train this or that, or kill this and that. Then again, aren't they all like that? Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    Ich habe eine Menge MMOs vorher gespielt, aber keines konnte mich so fesseln. HDRO ist für mich das beste Adventure-Game das es gibt. Ich binIch habe eine Menge MMOs vorher gespielt, aber keines konnte mich so fesseln. HDRO ist für mich das beste Adventure-Game das es gibt. Ich bin schon seit 40 Jahren Fan von Tolkins Herr der Ringe und hatte mir sehnlichst gewünscht, das die Bücher verfilt würden. Das es auch mal ein Spiel geben würde, davon hätte ich nie zu träumen gewagt. Hier passt alles zusammen. Mein Char im zusammenspiel mit den bekannten Charaktären, was für ein Hammer!!!!
    Ich spiele seit 5 Jahren. Mittlerweile nicht mehr so regelmässig, aber immer wieder.
    Ich kann das Spiel allen ans Herz legen, die auch die Bücher und Jacksons Verfilmungen lieben!

    Viel Spass wünscht euch
    Rolf aus Neuss am Rhein in Deutschland (Germany)
    Expand
  3. IainC.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    Middle Earth awaits, and it's beautiful, vibrant, exciting and full of all your favourite characters as well as a welcoming community of Middle Earth awaits, and it's beautiful, vibrant, exciting and full of all your favourite characters as well as a welcoming community of players. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    I like this game a lot, not too easy, not too hard. The zones are reproduced very accurately and the class's feel good to me. Overall I likeI like this game a lot, not too easy, not too hard. The zones are reproduced very accurately and the class's feel good to me. Overall I like this game. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    LOTRO is probably one of the best MMORPGs out there that I have played, you CAN pay but if you don't you can still get the meat of the game.LOTRO is probably one of the best MMORPGs out there that I have played, you CAN pay but if you don't you can still get the meat of the game. Imagine World of Warcraft but free, the community is MUCH better, storyline that ties into the books/movies, and the classes are more flushed out then in WoW. However with that said the game is not perfect. I have had many glitches where the music would stop and all I would hear are the ambient noises. The roleplaying community is really nice (if you are interested) and the game is very much alive. I went in to LOTRO not planning on spending ANY money on it and so far I've put over 60$ on the game (including the new expansion about to come out) Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    A generally average game overall. Through years 2007-2009 the game saw expert expansions and care for the player base. When the game wentA generally average game overall. Through years 2007-2009 the game saw expert expansions and care for the player base. When the game went free-to-play and were acquired by Warner Brothers, Turbine began to care less about the player base. It is now a free game, but if you want to really play this game easily without spending any money, it will take a very long time. Collapse
  7. MariusF.
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    Recipe for an unbearable game? Take one over-saturated fantasy franchise and whisk it with staid MMORPG mechanics. Level treadmill for Recipe for an unbearable game? Take one over-saturated fantasy franchise and whisk it with staid MMORPG mechanics. Level treadmill for countless hours, and serve with liberal sprinklings of regret at having wasting your life on mind-rotting garbage like this. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews