Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The only massively-multiplayer role-playing game set in J.R.R. Tokien's Middle-earth. Travel with your Fellowship in the fight against the forces of Sauron. Across the wide lands of Middle-earth, the Free Peoples must face the threatening Shadow growing in the East. All of Mordor is stirringThe only massively-multiplayer role-playing game set in J.R.R. Tokien's Middle-earth. Travel with your Fellowship in the fight against the forces of Sauron. Across the wide lands of Middle-earth, the Free Peoples must face the threatening Shadow growing in the East. All of Mordor is stirring as Sauron dispatches the Nazgûl to hunt for the Ring. The rumor of war brings forth many eager adventurers who will find their place among the great events of the Third Age. High deeds call to the willing, for their time is at hand. Hundreds of thousands of people will enter the perpetual world of Middle-earth for the very first time. Prepare yourself to choose a path amongst the likes of Elves, Dwarves, and Humans. Will you choose to fight for the things that bring peace to the land or will you add to the corruption of Middle-earth as the forces of Sauron move swiftly to extinguish all that is good? [Turbine] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Probably the biggest question about LotRO is, "Does LotRO have the potential to surpass World of Warcraft?" The answer is yes.
  2. There is a sense of joy, being a Tolkien fan, that permeates the game when you realize that Turbine has done a very good job i[n] realizing the world and allowing players to be a part of it
  3. This overall approach to MMORPGs is far more social and interesting than anything that has preceded it. [July 2007, p.104]
  4. Best Tolkien game, beyond a shadow of a doubt. [July 2007, p.66]
  5. MMORPGs are often frowned upon for their stagnant conventions, but the tweaks that LOTRO offer to these modes are streamlined enough to make the process as easy, and fun, as possible.
  6. Online games are always a moving target, so take this warm first impression with a grain of salt.
  7. The most perverse thing though is that the most enjoyable moments have little to do with Tokien or his wonderfully overactive imagination; it's much more to do with Turbine's ability to knock out a compelling MMO experience. [June 2007, p.56]

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 83
  2. Negative: 9 out of 83
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    Lotro has the potential to surpass World of Warcraft in popularity, 'cause it's now free to play. When comes to quality, Lotro just barelyLotro has the potential to surpass World of Warcraft in popularity, 'cause it's now free to play. When comes to quality, Lotro just barely misses WoW. I have to say, I am hooked.However, I would like to criticize travel time. I keep finding myself annoyed by having to go here and there to get this and that, train this or that, or kill this and that. Then again, aren't they all like that? Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Finally....an MMO set in Tolkien's world. Loved exploring the Shire, the Old Forest, Bree, Rivendell. Great music. Fantastic sights andFinally....an MMO set in Tolkien's world. Loved exploring the Shire, the Old Forest, Bree, Rivendell. Great music. Fantastic sights and sounds. The darkness of Angmar was great. The RIFT raid was epic. At the start, the 'housing neighborhoods' were wonderful (sadly, Turbine did nothing to update this aspect of the game in later years). Exceptional work and something I'd highly recommend for any gamer who liked reading or watching The Hobbit or Lord of the Rings. Expand
  3. LeroyJ.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    What is not to love? The graphics are excellent, the story enticing, and it is not WoW. Move over cartoons, the champ is here.
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    I like this game a lot, not too easy, not too hard. The zones are reproduced very accurately and the class's feel good to me. Overall I likeI like this game a lot, not too easy, not too hard. The zones are reproduced very accurately and the class's feel good to me. Overall I like this game. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    LOTRO is probably one of the best MMORPGs out there that I have played, you CAN pay but if you don't you can still get the meat of the game.LOTRO is probably one of the best MMORPGs out there that I have played, you CAN pay but if you don't you can still get the meat of the game. Imagine World of Warcraft but free, the community is MUCH better, storyline that ties into the books/movies, and the classes are more flushed out then in WoW. However with that said the game is not perfect. I have had many glitches where the music would stop and all I would hear are the ambient noises. The roleplaying community is really nice (if you are interested) and the game is very much alive. I went in to LOTRO not planning on spending ANY money on it and so far I've put over 60$ on the game (including the new expansion about to come out) Expand
  6. PipeweedR.
    Apr 27, 2007
    6
    As always I'm amazed how easily 10's are posted on this board. Pluses: Exploring is a blast because of the nice graphics-not As always I'm amazed how easily 10's are posted on this board. Pluses: Exploring is a blast because of the nice graphics-not revolutionary-but nice enough to allow immersion into the game. Solid bug free game play. The Tokien feel comes through (to a point). The people playing are mainly behaving as adults. There is a lot to do and fight. Love the quest rings over NPCs. Minuses: Tedious at times. Character creation is uninspired-not bad-just familiar. Combat is a snoozefest at times, there is little threat of dying, not much strategy except click-wait-click. The feeling that you are in a Tolkien world disappears at times as there seems to be an emptyness between you and the NPCs, monsters, and other players...it just comes off as stale and stiff. The books to me were about brutal fights, camaraderie and wonder, that isn't always there. I'm not sure what the "hype" is about the introductory learning to play adventure...once you've done it-you've done it, the game seems to lack that pacing afterwards. DDO players will find it slower, ex-WOW may find it too similar, but people that like a slower pace and can only play under 10 hours a week might find it perfect. It doesn't hold my interest for more than hour before I yearn for a pint at my real world Green Dragon. Expand
  7. MariusF.
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    Recipe for an unbearable game? Take one over-saturated fantasy franchise and whisk it with staid MMORPG mechanics. Level treadmill for Recipe for an unbearable game? Take one over-saturated fantasy franchise and whisk it with staid MMORPG mechanics. Level treadmill for countless hours, and serve with liberal sprinklings of regret at having wasting your life on mind-rotting garbage like this. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews