User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 371
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    The Lord of the Rings, Battle for Middle-earth II, Is an Extremely good RTS game. That any RTS player should give a try. Its campaign is good good with voices and music. Outstanding game play I never get tired of going back and playing a match in multiplayer or even a little of campaign. With the Create a Hero and War of the Ring It gives more game play. The create a hero is Amazing IThe Lord of the Rings, Battle for Middle-earth II, Is an Extremely good RTS game. That any RTS player should give a try. Its campaign is good good with voices and music. Outstanding game play I never get tired of going back and playing a match in multiplayer or even a little of campaign. With the Create a Hero and War of the Ring It gives more game play. The create a hero is Amazing I would be sitting there making heroes with strategy's for each one, But sooner or later I would have 100 heroes and never use a majority of my strategy's. As the game is great go play it and if you don't like it then you aren't a fan of Lotr. Well thats fine but that dose not mean its not a great game. The balance is very good but still some mess ups there. Expand
  2. MarioL.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    The best RTS game I ever played! Order pizza, I'll be playing a long, long, long, time!
  3. BenC
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    Don't believe the EA haters that have trouble admitting their corporate scapegoat has delivered another AWESOME game. Everything about this game shines; graphics, audio, presentation, gameplay, license content (Tom Bombadil!), fun factor... it rocks. And to the folks who blame games/companies for their crashes... put 2 and 2 together you morons. How is it that the numerous testers Don't believe the EA haters that have trouble admitting their corporate scapegoat has delivered another AWESOME game. Everything about this game shines; graphics, audio, presentation, gameplay, license content (Tom Bombadil!), fun factor... it rocks. And to the folks who blame games/companies for their crashes... put 2 and 2 together you morons. How is it that the numerous testers were able to final the game, have multiple reviewers play and review it positively, and the vast majority of users are playing and enjoying the game without issue? How would all that be possible if it "always crashes"? Guess what... it's YOUR POS system at fault. PCs are not consoles folks, you have to maintain and be knowledgable (meeting the system reqs of the game, latest drivers, closed background tasks, free HDD space, running defrag now and then, etc.) Wanna play on the best gaming platform... gotta get wise dudes. Expand
  4. Mantis
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    Awsome rts.. no crashes here.. and yes i am on ultra high graphics.. smooth as a baby's butt.. epic battles are awesome.
  5. RobB.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    A significant improvement over the first if you ask me. Although not perfect, the strategical depth is much greater and you finally have an effective counter system to avoid a lot of the frustrations encountered in BFME 1. Graphics are terrific, it's great eye candy when you can turn them up to high or ultra high. The battle pace is pretty constant and the removal of build plots A significant improvement over the first if you ask me. Although not perfect, the strategical depth is much greater and you finally have an effective counter system to avoid a lot of the frustrations encountered in BFME 1. Graphics are terrific, it's great eye candy when you can turn them up to high or ultra high. The battle pace is pretty constant and the removal of build plots really gives you a lot more freedom in your play style as well. I really enjoyed this game a lot. Expand
  6. AndyO.
    Mar 7, 2006
    9
    A huge improvement over the original, free building instead of static building really leads to bigger challenges. Not sure what's going on with some users who are getting Crashes, I've had the game running on my secondary system for about 3 days now. If your system is crashing, and the computers at your local LAN centers are having problems, you might try cleaning off your hard A huge improvement over the original, free building instead of static building really leads to bigger challenges. Not sure what's going on with some users who are getting Crashes, I've had the game running on my secondary system for about 3 days now. If your system is crashing, and the computers at your local LAN centers are having problems, you might try cleaning off your hard drive a bit, I won't say what you should clean off, but there are great utilities out there for removing adware and other random spam that you can pick up from "Internet Sites". Good game EA, I love the presentation as usual. Couple technical notes, if you have a high end computer, set your Anti-Aliasing to 2x or 4x from Windows desktop, really makes the game quite pretty. Oh, last note, Isengard is a bit overpowered, watchout for high ranking players that only use Isengard, they have amazing resource gathering abilities. Expand
  7. JeffC.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Super fun. Super cool. It's all I'm playing right now!
  8. AlexT.
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    The game is good and it has a strategic map (similar to Total War series) and a tactical RTS map. I like graphics and the AI is good!
  9. ErnestC.
    May 23, 2006
    9
    I have played so many RTS games and BFME 2 is nothing extraordinary. But it doesn't have to be. It is suprisingly, suprisingly good. Believe me. You would be skeptical playing it at first, considering that most games based on a movie kinda falls short. But this doesn't. Yes its based on a movie but the game itself stands on its own. The pacing is fast and smooth and ive never I have played so many RTS games and BFME 2 is nothing extraordinary. But it doesn't have to be. It is suprisingly, suprisingly good. Believe me. You would be skeptical playing it at first, considering that most games based on a movie kinda falls short. But this doesn't. Yes its based on a movie but the game itself stands on its own. The pacing is fast and smooth and ive never experienced an RTS game that feels like a "fighting" game. You could play a skirmish in half an hour and thats more than enought to keep you in excited. The sound is excellent. The ambient sounds to the shuffle of armor and the sheating of blades puts you into the game. Also, the replayibility is high. Theres so much variety in the gameplay. Just research about its War of the Ring mode. You install the game, you play the campaign - next thing you know youre already playing for hours and want more. Kudos to EA for this game. The only thing that stopped me from giving it a 10 is that you cannot zoom far enough. Hopefully, they'll do something about this soon. Expand
  10. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    I'm surprised with the number of low ratings. I'm a big fan of the rts genre, and while I was skeptical when I first bought Battle for Middle-earth 2, I found it to be an amazingly enjoyable game. Even today, it still looks stunning. I have no idea what some of the people are talking about when they say it isn't original. I haven't played any game like it, the armies are vast (much biggerI'm surprised with the number of low ratings. I'm a big fan of the rts genre, and while I was skeptical when I first bought Battle for Middle-earth 2, I found it to be an amazingly enjoyable game. Even today, it still looks stunning. I have no idea what some of the people are talking about when they say it isn't original. I haven't played any game like it, the armies are vast (much bigger than in games like age of empires, command and conquer, and warcraft 3), and the heroes powerful. If you're a fan of rts games, I would rate this an 8 for you; if you're a fan of the Lord of the Rings books, I would give this a 10. Expand
  11. RensS.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    This is the best RTS game out atm without any doubt. BFME2 is way and way better EaW because it involves strategy depth and micromanagement. EaW lacks with no base building. The micromanagement is there, but the base building -> strategic depth in build orders is missing. In BFME2 there is free building, a dynamic popcap, tons of upgrades. So there is simply way and way more strategic This is the best RTS game out atm without any doubt. BFME2 is way and way better EaW because it involves strategy depth and micromanagement. EaW lacks with no base building. The micromanagement is there, but the base building -> strategic depth in build orders is missing. In BFME2 there is free building, a dynamic popcap, tons of upgrades. So there is simply way and way more strategic depth in this game. People have WAY more strats to choose from. This is why i choose BFME2 far above EaW. I have to admit that i was really looking forward for EaW and BFME2. But BFME2 got me the 'omfg, i need to pwn now!' feeling. EaW couldn't produce that :( You will find me for a long time on the clan ladders for BFME2! Hope to cya guys there too :D Expand
  12. LarsT.
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    This game is a huge step forward, I've been playing BFME1 for along time and BFME2 improves on many fields in that BFME1 lacked, eg build everywhere, fast-paced, constant action, while still preserving the awesome LOTR-feel. Granted, it's not really balanced yet - but was there every any RTS-game that was balanced at the day of the release? The BFME1 patch-history wasn't This game is a huge step forward, I've been playing BFME1 for along time and BFME2 improves on many fields in that BFME1 lacked, eg build everywhere, fast-paced, constant action, while still preserving the awesome LOTR-feel. Granted, it's not really balanced yet - but was there every any RTS-game that was balanced at the day of the release? The BFME1 patch-history wasn't the greatest - EA has to prove us that they can do better with BFME2. It looks promising, 2 patches are already announced and should come soon. Though one has heard the word "soon" too often in the process of patching BFME1... ;) Anyway, I enjoy playing BFME2 at lot, I know it will keep me busy for months and I'll enjoy it a lot. It was a game I looked forward to and my expectations were not deceived. :) Expand
  13. JoeA.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Great game! Amazing all throughout! I can't get enough! Now I just need the money to own it myself.
  14. JamieM.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Any enthusiast of either Tolkien related games, RTS Gaming or general Online Gaming should definitely get this game. The game has kept some of the elements of the first game, and really built on them and improved both the game dynamics and the strategic depth in the gameplay. You can see that the games are not estranged totally from one another, but the sequel has definitely surpassed any Any enthusiast of either Tolkien related games, RTS Gaming or general Online Gaming should definitely get this game. The game has kept some of the elements of the first game, and really built on them and improved both the game dynamics and the strategic depth in the gameplay. You can see that the games are not estranged totally from one another, but the sequel has definitely surpassed any level of skill or fun that the original had. If you liked the original then this game will definitely give you a run for your money, and I can guarantee you'll enjoy it more. Now, if you were very critical of the first game and thought it was lacking in many serious departments (the Hardcore RTS Gamer, for example) then I think you'll be very surprised (in a good way!!) when you try this revamped and all round awesome sequel. The multiplayer is going places. It really is a true contender for inclusion in major LAN tournaments and pro leagues. With a few tweaks that EA have committed to making this game could be the next big thing. [OoE]LeTigre Expand
  15. YkudzA
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Great game with awesome multiplayer.
  16. SørenT.
    Mar 10, 2006
    9
    Bfme2 is a huge improvement over Bfme1. The fact that you can build anywhere on the map is possibly the single biggest improvement. The graphics are a joy to look at - it's easy the best looking RTS game on the market at the moment. Competetion is great. EA put in alot of features to promote competitive play and this is what will give Bfme2 a long life. The fact that they implemented Bfme2 is a huge improvement over Bfme1. The fact that you can build anywhere on the map is possibly the single biggest improvement. The graphics are a joy to look at - it's easy the best looking RTS game on the market at the moment. Competetion is great. EA put in alot of features to promote competitive play and this is what will give Bfme2 a long life. The fact that they implemented a clan system, meaning that your games may be reported automaticly to a clan site with ladders etc., is really inovative compared to the RTS games released in recent years. But take care fellow gamers, the game is addictive as hell. :D Expand
  17. BrenoS.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Best RTS game of the year, and the year is barely started ;) EaW is a pile of crap, and AoE3 is silly and have very flimsy and irrealistic graphics compared to this. Visuals and the award-winning EA sound work are just the icing of the cake though, since the gameplay is amazingly addictive. Playing vs the AI provides a really good challenge (something EA LA hadn't quite got right in Best RTS game of the year, and the year is barely started ;) EaW is a pile of crap, and AoE3 is silly and have very flimsy and irrealistic graphics compared to this. Visuals and the award-winning EA sound work are just the icing of the cake though, since the gameplay is amazingly addictive. Playing vs the AI provides a really good challenge (something EA LA hadn't quite got right in previous games) and works as a learning ground for the real-deal, online games. Netcode works smoothly - although Gamespy still suck but it's no big deal - and the tactical action is frantic and relentless from start to finish. A masterpiece. Expand
  18. ScottR.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    One of the top RTS games in recent years, outdoes it's predeccessor in every facet, BfME2 is fast-paced and requires a great amount of strategy. Congratulations EALA, the future looks bright.
  19. ScottB.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    So much better than the original. You actually need some experience to play this game, which some people may not like. Too bad for them, cuz I love it! The graphics are awesome!
  20. JoshK.
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    This game is loads of fun...and as many of the reviews mention, it definitely has stunning visuals. What could be cooler than throwing yourself in the middle of the action in Middle-earth?
  21. BillyB.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This is a fun game!!! They fixed the stuff that was messed up in the first game and I'm havin a greeeaaaat time.
  22. JerryP
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    This is a great addition to the Lord of the rings Series by EA. It is unfortunate that User reviews on meta critic are tainted by people who obviously dont know how to use their computers properly and therefore give the game a low rating. Game runs great, even on older computers.
  23. SamK.
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    Nice graphics, great multiplayer, interesting map game. Campaign was short but very LOTR.
  24. LawrenceK.
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    From what I see here, between the users that rated both EAW and BfME2, I would have to conclude that the majority of you have no idea what a RTS is supposed to be about. What makes RTS games fun and exciting is the design, the balance, the innovation (the cool things if you will), and the competitive feel of the atmosphere. Let's look at BfME1 for example. The game simply appealed to From what I see here, between the users that rated both EAW and BfME2, I would have to conclude that the majority of you have no idea what a RTS is supposed to be about. What makes RTS games fun and exciting is the design, the balance, the innovation (the cool things if you will), and the competitive feel of the atmosphere. Let's look at BfME1 for example. The game simply appealed to players that were less experienced with RTS games because of its simplistic money design, its pre-built defense system aka Walls, it's cheap control layout and imbalanced 1-man-army heroes. Was this distasteful for more experienced RTS players? Of course it was. More experienced RTS players rely on heavy resource management in terms of both internal economy and external map control. Both are crucial to the success of the game, as seen in the most successful RTS titles -- those fit for WCG/CPL/GGL..etc. Without the drive of map control aka BfME1, a player only focuses on 1 thing, no multi-tasking if you will. Without the drive for effectively stop your enemys resource income in terms of map control/harrassment is the bane of any experienced RTS gamer. Face it, it's EZ-mode and often times classified as Noob. Take EAW for example, they represent the pinnacle of easy with prebuilt bases, unit structures and an almost infinite amount of resources to whore units from. That's very distasteful for RTS gamers as it almost exterminates one of the building foundations of RTS: The control of money. So BfME1 had that, EAW had it worse, and BfME2 doesn't. That automatically puts them on top of both of those games in terms of money control. You have to expand and fight for your money, or you simply, lose. I know how hard it can be for some newer RTS gamers that need walls to hide behind and think of counters, but for the better players, there's no such barrier. It's simply more appealing because its faster paced both in micro (unit control) and thinking of counters. That's how a RTS game is supposed to be. Look at Starcraft and Warcraft, you don't see any walls or prebuilt armies for you now do you. What has kept those games going is the drive to compete, the drive to become better, and the drive to master your opponent where YOU, the person that can think the fastest, move the fastest and counter the fastest in this new-aged chess will be the victor. No more handicapped bullcrap for you to fall back on -- It's time to play RTS games how it's supposed to be played. Expand
  25. RyanB.
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    Its good lots of action, not too much focus on building up heros are fun.
  26. TylerP.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are great while running on ultra settings. The game is easy to pickup with a learning curve of about 2 or 3 online games or scrimmishes. Screenshots do not give this game justice, it looks MUCH better when everything is flowing seemlessly without a hitch. Although the game is easy to pickup and play, it also has massive depth to it. There are This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are great while running on ultra settings. The game is easy to pickup with a learning curve of about 2 or 3 online games or scrimmishes. Screenshots do not give this game justice, it looks MUCH better when everything is flowing seemlessly without a hitch. Although the game is easy to pickup and play, it also has massive depth to it. There are so many elements present that it changes the game completely. An example is elevation, in maps such as minas tirith or any map with a hill for that matter, arches at the top will have a proportionate increase in range compared to those trying to capture the hill or fortress. Another aspect is the hero's and custom heros (much too get into detail with herp's). I highly reccomend this game to any fan of the Lord Of The Rings or strategy games in general. Expand
  27. jonm
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Ahhhh man this game is sweet!!!! Man im an idiot i sold it!!!!!! Crap!!!!! but hey its cool i got another from my friend he hates it but i love it!! I see a mojor improvement in this game its sweet. the bad thing is my computer it wont work on it only if i turn off the visual featrers. well i still like it. i think you should buy it!!
  28. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Perhaps lacking in originality or innovation, I find the gameplay itself to be simply outstanding. Aside from Starcraft, I haven't spent as much time in an RTS, replaying and replaying - most of that comes from the depth of material drawn from the films, giving one an immersive experience that I don't believe another LotR game has matched.
  29. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    lotr on his best cool story with the north thats just awsome to fight with the story isnt that long but you keep playing with some new modes that could bin a lilte better but its still fun its a bitty that ea had to this up and now we cant play online and we cant buy this game anymore only on amazon for 500 dollars but still this game is great with lots of maps you can play like youlotr on his best cool story with the north thats just awsome to fight with the story isnt that long but you keep playing with some new modes that could bin a lilte better but its still fun its a bitty that ea had to this up and now we cant play online and we cant buy this game anymore only on amazon for 500 dollars but still this game is great with lots of maps you can play like you wound and make your own herous that awesome you can than level them up the graphics are nice to you dont have that much options but its good like this its epic like this lets hope that we get a part 3 i am hope so much ea or sombody els Expand
  30. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    The game itself has a fun campaign (not as good as the first BFME game as they made it linear) good gameplay and excellent music and artwork. SUCKS that EA discontinued the online version even though it was played regularly
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 80
    While Battle for Middle Earth 2 has taken a step back from its more avant-garde predecessor, it's a welcome one. If it wasn't for the woefully sub-par AI, this game would earn an easy, unreserved recommendation. But rolling over the AI time and time again in single-player just gets old, and if you don't have the appetite for online play, you'll end up pushing it to the back of the drawer and hoping for a patch.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    Innovative, fun to play and a joy to watch. A breath of fresh air in the stale real-time strategy genre. [Mar 2006]
  3. The Battle for Middle-earth II improves on 2004's game with a better strategic mode and a much broader scope that encompasses the whole of Middle-earth.