User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 191
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Bill
    Jan 30, 2005
    6
    This game does a nice job of packing all the memorable characters and locations from the movies into a RTS package. That said, the game is long, repetitive and lacks any strategic depth. It is great fun to stampede infantry with cavalry, but that is all you need to know to beat the game. And after 30 levels of playing equine bulldozer, you will be bored to tears. My advice: skip the This game does a nice job of packing all the memorable characters and locations from the movies into a RTS package. That said, the game is long, repetitive and lacks any strategic depth. It is great fun to stampede infantry with cavalry, but that is all you need to know to beat the game. And after 30 levels of playing equine bulldozer, you will be bored to tears. My advice: skip the optional levels - the required story-driven levels (Helm's Deep, Gondor, etc.) are the best part of the game anyway. And don't bother with the "evil" campaign - your successes don't alter the basic storyline and you miss many of the games better moments. Expand
  2. Framikaze
    Jun 4, 2006
    6
    Good graphic.The possibility of using many kind of units it's wonderful but...the gamplay it's repetitive and so boring.
  3. Chris
    Feb 6, 2005
    7
    The game features great graphics and is ok game play, some great maps, but others are just ok... by the way, AB, EA has no choice in following the book or not, they only own the rights to follow the movie, another company owns the rights to follow the books.
  4. BobL.
    Dec 7, 2004
    6
    This game looked good in the previews but the real final product falls short. The game play is really simplistic and has no depth. The single player game is more of an RPG but not that much fun. I wish it was a better game.
  5. Sikochilly
    Dec 7, 2004
    5
    "bizarre mechanics, Fisher Price strategy and a strange disregard for Tolkien's story... It doesn't love the source material as much as you or I. " This pretty much sum it up, But I was a Tolkien fan all the way, and no way this could stop me from buying this game. Still a disappointed fan, but like most games now day borrowing Worlds from Novel and try to re-create them, why "bizarre mechanics, Fisher Price strategy and a strange disregard for Tolkien's story... It doesn't love the source material as much as you or I. " This pretty much sum it up, But I was a Tolkien fan all the way, and no way this could stop me from buying this game. Still a disappointed fan, but like most games now day borrowing Worlds from Novel and try to re-create them, why can't something like Tolkien Official game be released like Star Wars, and the story will be more related to what the original story. Expand
  6. AB
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    This game was a pleasant surprise for me, considering the disappointment that "The Third Age" brought. However, this game shares some of the same faults with "The Third Age." One of these is the story. EA didn't put much effort into coinciding with the book. Plus, the game isn't very strategic at all. But the game is still fun, and that's (almost) all that matters.
  7. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    I probably liked this game much more than I should have due to it being LOTR-themed. I found it fun and somewhat innovative, but also at times frustrating. Like all unit-cap control-the-nodes games, you'll spend a significant portion of your time on most levels scrambling to defend multiple spots at once while the AI uses its superior numbers and defenses to give you hell. With that said,I probably liked this game much more than I should have due to it being LOTR-themed. I found it fun and somewhat innovative, but also at times frustrating. Like all unit-cap control-the-nodes games, you'll spend a significant portion of your time on most levels scrambling to defend multiple spots at once while the AI uses its superior numbers and defenses to give you hell. With that said, it is fun to control some of the memorable battles from the movies and to even explore some of the regions hardly seen in the movies or books. Collapse
  8. Aug 7, 2012
    0
    I probably liked this game much more than I should have due to it being LOTR-themed. I found it fun and somewhat innovative, but also at times frustrating. Like all unit-cap control-the-nodes games, you'll spend a significant portion of your time on most levels scrambling to defend multiple spots at once while the AI uses its superior numbers and defenses to give you hell. With that said,I probably liked this game much more than I should have due to it being LOTR-themed. I found it fun and somewhat innovative, but also at times frustrating. Like all unit-cap control-the-nodes games, you'll spend a significant portion of your time on most levels scrambling to defend multiple spots at once while the AI uses its superior numbers and defenses to give you hell. With that said, it is fun to control some of the memorable battles from the movies and to even explore some of the regions hardly seen in the movies or books. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 85
    The plain gameplay, awkward balance, and poor optimization are flaws to be sure, but they are offset by stellar graphics, sound effects, and voice acting (all of which make for a very immersive atmosphere).
  2. So how do the graphics look? Well I must say I was wholly unimpressed.
  3. 83
    The focus on combat is great, I just wish the combat had been as sterling as I had imagined it would be. The small number of units just doesn't provide the depth that I was hoping for.