Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Snowblind Studios delivers an experience that will satisfy even the staunchest Tolkien purist, and playing through the new story with your friends is fun even though the action and UI is not as impressive as the lore.
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    75
    Lord of the Rings: War in the North still remains a game that can be enjoyed by Action-RPG lovers as well as lord of the Rings .The game has enough solid points to offer an enjoyable experience but does suffer from several issues that holds it back from becoming great.
  3. Dec 8, 2011
    75
    This game is not going to break new ground in innovation but what it does do is deliver a good solid game that has well thought out online play, a good three player co-op mode and a solid single player experience.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    75
    What looked great crammed into 3 minutes of a trailer turned out to be boring when stretched over a whole campaign. In small doses combat is very satisfying and a mature take on Middle-Earth is very welcome. [December 2011, p.68]
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    74
    Lord of the Rings: War in the North is far from perfect, but killing a lot of orcs is always a fun experience.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    73
    What keeps this thing afloat is the story, the characters and the adaptation of Tolkien's compelling lore from his ever-popular fantasy tales.
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    71
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. 70
    Attractive world of Tolkien's imagination brings "forgotten" adventure of three heroes aside from the main story – the true magic of the game is hidden in the 3-people cooperative play. [Christmas 2011]
  9. Jan 12, 2012
    70
    Not without issues, but as The Lord of the Rings games go this is much better than most. [Feb 2012, p.84]
  10. Dec 24, 2011
    70
    The best PC slasher of the year (with not much competition). [January 2012, p.75]
  11. Nov 27, 2011
    70
    Prepare for an expedition to the northern boundaries of Middle-earth in this full-blooded hack and slash game with focus on a cooperative mode that gains its recognition. Do not expect anything breakthrough, nor complex, nor anything colossal. You will feel a stereotype after a while, but that is compensated by a multiplayer game. Who wishes to kill The Lord of the Rings' filthy guys for many hours and with their friends – this game is your ideal choice.
  12. Nov 1, 2011
    70
    While it's admirable that the team had opted to create an original story set alongside the events in the books, you'll wish that they had attempted to take more risks with the project. The characters are bland and lifeless, and the combat, while fun at first, gets pretty repetitive before too long.
  13. Dec 16, 2011
    69
    It's pretty obvious that a lot of effort went into making of this game, but hold off going to the war in the North until you run out of other, more interesting RPGs and coop-oriented action games.
  14. 68
    War in the North is a hack and slash with some RPG elements and co-op, all assembled around one of the most beloved media licenses today, but with all this going for it, it simply doesn't manage to stand out. Sadly, it's just another product that tries to blend some popular elements, but with no true support or personal identity.
  15. Nov 22, 2011
    68
    This war is just one that is fought in the past of game design, and as a result, just lacks the punch or feature set that addicts people and keeps us coming back for more.
  16. Nov 7, 2011
    68
    For all you Lord of the Rings fans out there, this game is a major let down. But if you are in for some quick and simple fatasy action with no expectations what so ever you may be able to find some scrapes of enjoyment.
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    Snowblinds latest game seems like a relic from the previous generation. The story is weak and the gameplay has lots of problems. On the upside, the co-op mode is an excellent treat for fans of Tolkiens work.
  18. Nov 3, 2011
    60
    At its core, War in the North isn't a bad game; it's merely a disappointing one.
  19. Jan 10, 2012
    51
    Quickly loses steam thanks to repetition and bland design. [Jan 2012, p.114]
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  21. Jan 9, 2012
    40
    Dull combat, pointless dialogue wheel, overly scripted and plagued with connection issues. Avoid. [Jan 2012, p.64]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 81
  2. Negative: 24 out of 81
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Snowblind studios built it's name on console action RPG's. They haven't wandered from that path. They've left their mark on the gaming industry. Kudos to you Snowblind, this really is a nice gem. War in the North brings a 3 person co-op style of gameplay. The players have a choice between three different characters. Each with three skill trees and a multiple number of abilities. All three characters can either go melee or ranged during combat. Primarily there's two basic defensive moves, block and dodge. There's other abilities that can further defense. The games merits rely on the charming Tolkien lore which only enhances a unique and plausible storyline. Warner Brother's has really done a excellent job with expanding Tolkien's universe in various media outlets. Artwork is amazing, the plain fluid motion of the camera is flawless. Middle-Earth is painted with a darker brush, there's a gritty and grainy feel to the game. My only peeve with the game is that the two hardest difficulty settings aren't unlocked until completion of a play-through.

    Snowblind studios delivered easily a worthy pickup both on consoles and PC. 8/10
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    2
    A console port, again. A hack and slash, again. Lord of the rings, again. Boring gameplay, weak story, mediocre controlling, ugly graphics. This game is weak, in every aspect. If I haven't know about the methods which publishers use to achieve high scores for their products, I would wonder how this p.o.s. could get so much high votes. Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    7
    I have been playing this game for longer than I played Skyrim so there's a shocker for you.

    Whats good?
    The voice acting
    The storyline is
    cool.
    The characters are lovely and I enjoyed meeting and chatting to them all.
    The locations, graphics.
    The battles, I like the simple skills and the easy key mapping. I can manage my weapons well.
    I love the armours.
    I love the mirror you can change your hairstyle and face features etc whenver you like.
    Simple potion making and upgrading armours is nice.

    The Not so good
    The check point system, no way to load a previous save, ridiculous.
    The normal setting was way too hard for me, I was only ever able to play at easy level.
    Would prefer more inventory for potions and stones etc.


    It is a very linear game that closely follows the story, there are a few incidental side quests but for sure you will be caught up with the story, at least I was. I played all the other LOTR games and this is a great effort. Not up to Biowares standards but still a nice way to spend some time.
    But dont buy this game unless you can deal with the restrictions I mentioned and you dont mind a very linear game.

    The world itself is very pretty and pleasing. :)
    Full Review »