• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Matrix: Path of Neo Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the Matrix universe, The Matrix: Path of Neo enables players to play as Neo, the central character, and relive his most important and memorable scenarios from the complete film trilogy, including the original film, "The Matrix." Throughout the game, the path the player takes toSet in the Matrix universe, The Matrix: Path of Neo enables players to play as Neo, the central character, and relive his most important and memorable scenarios from the complete film trilogy, including the original film, "The Matrix." Throughout the game, the path the player takes to resolve each scenario and the resulting consequences are scripted and directed by the Wachowski Brothers. The likenesses of all of the films' key actors -- including Keanu Reeves ("Neo"), Laurence Fishburne ("Morpheus"), Carrie-Ann Moss ("Trinity), and Hugo Weaving ("Agent Smith") -- are featured in the game, which also includes footage from all three feature films, as well as "The Animatrix." [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. 95
    Shockingly enough, is actually pretty damn good. Sure, it looks uglier than Ernest Borgnine in a tutu, and trying to use the controls is like operating the Space Shuttle while wearing oven mitts, but once you get the hang of it, beating the Stove Top stuffing out of agents is terrific fun.
  2. A Matrix game that FINALLY got it right. You're able to pull off all the cool moves and abilities that Neo possesses, including fighting off hundreds of Smiths at once, pole and all. With great graphics and great controls, this title will definitely impress with the first and second play through.
  3. After spawning two mediocre sequels, a collection of dull cartoon shorts and a couple of forgettable video games, there is some life left in the Matrix franchise after all, as this game proves.
  4. This game doesn't take itself too seriously (especially the new surprise ending), which is either a credit or a fault depending on how seriously you take the movies. [Feb 2006, p.35]
  5. Path of Neo *is* better than Enter the Matrix... for whatever that's worth. It's just that the omissions like the AI glitches, frame-rate drops, flimsy visuals, coupled of course with the abovementioned gameplay issues, do not justify the game's $50 price tag.
  6. Decent but dated, this is best for the die-hard Matrix fans who still believe. [Feb 2006, p.70]
  7. It's like people just can't bring themselves to accept the truth here: The Matrix: Path Of Neo is an irredeemable abortion of a game that Atari, Shiny, the Wachowski brothers and anyone even remotely associated with it should be ashamed for ever thinking about releasing in this form. [PC Zone]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. ChetanA.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Cool game, I love this game very much. in this the Neo has great powers. i liked his wall run, gun fighting and everything. Just play this Cool game, I love this game very much. in this the Neo has great powers. i liked his wall run, gun fighting and everything. Just play this game, this game really rocks! Collapse
  2. dangoater
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    i think we were all a bit dissapointed with the first matrix game as you can not be neo and do any of his legend fights, so this is ani think we were all a bit dissapointed with the first matrix game as you can not be neo and do any of his legend fights, so this is an essential game to get and i cant wait for it to be released, finally the creators of the recent matrix realised they had made a huge mistake in missing neo out but now theve come to thier senses Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The game still rocks my gaming world - yeahh, the graphic maybe was not top notch even for the time, but nevertheless the game still has oneThe game still rocks my gaming world - yeahh, the graphic maybe was not top notch even for the time, but nevertheless the game still has one of the best fighting mechanics. I really love it! Expand
  4. SchylarP.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This game is very well put together, the visuals are amazing. while playing this title i actually felt like i was apart of the matrix This game is very well put together, the visuals are amazing. while playing this title i actually felt like i was apart of the matrix universe. Atari has taken a step in the right direction, after there previous failures. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    6
    Nije loše, ponekad i zanimljivo, ali prestara grafika i pomalo zbunjujućeNije loše, ponekad i zanimljivo, ali prestara grafika i pomalo zbunjujuće animacije..................................................................... Expand
  6. Wachowski
    Dec 31, 2005
    4
    This is another bad game in a line of bad matrix games. This has all the trademarks of a console dub; it's assumed a 12yr kid is playing This is another bad game in a line of bad matrix games. This has all the trademarks of a console dub; it's assumed a 12yr kid is playing it, a poor interface that avoids using a mouse, unmanagable controls which degrade the game into a mindless button bashing fest, lack of proper control means the linear levels are frustrating to complete, sub-standard graphics even on serious hardware, and don't forget... BUGS BUGS BUGS! Even with the latest 1.1 patch most of my vocals & SFX dont come through the speakers, and theres numerous graphical & animation glitches. There is NO EXCUSE why any Matrix game should have poor animation or textures with all the motion capture done for the films & the high-resolution textures of each actors face for Special effects. (watch the Revisited documentaries) It seems the developers have deliberately tried to pee of the players and slow the game down to make it boring & frustrating. There are an endless supply of pop-up "tips" and "combination sequence keys" screens, and cut-scenes that pop up at the start of every level & during fight scenes - some which repeat for repetition's sake - followed by more "tip" pop-up screens for good measure. If i could have a dollar for every time the "matrix load screen" appears I could buy a game worth playing. :p And to stop you from actually playing the game even longer, there is chopped up recycled footage from the movies -- which any matrix fan who has watched the movie 20 times doesn't need to see. They just highlight how crap the ingame graphics look. Although they are more watchable than the scenes re-created using the graphics engine... that is just dreadful to look at. The most enraging aspect of the game is how it digresses so badly from the movie's. [SPOILERS] For example, you are met with 3 waves of SWAT teams in the lobby scene; in the burly brawl you destroy all the buildings surrounding the park to stop the smiths... and u do this by fighting the smiths. :rolleyes: After the subway fight with Agent smith, you then 'escape' by falling through the floor to run through the sewers?!?! And just when you're thinking "WTF?!?!" get this -- after the chateau fight, you end up in Space?!?!?! I know -- What the !??!?!? To cap it off, this game uses "We Are The Champions" in its soundtrack.... did somebody at Shiny even listen to the Matrix soundtracks? It is so badly out of place - that music belongs in a Waynes World film. Excuse the novel here, but people need to know: THIS GAME IS BAD. But i give this game a generous 4/10 because there are some small positives -- 1] the ending is better than the 3rd movie (not hard though if you think about it), 2] most environments are extensively destructable, 3] some moves do look cool... when you can finally do them, and 4] there's a level unlocker on gamecopyworld.com so you dont have to drag yourself through each frustrating level. If you have read this far, thank you. Next time you see a product with "made by the Wachowski brothers", that's a warning sign NOT to buy. I've been in denial for so long but now I am enlightened. Expand
  7. KDep
    Nov 19, 2005
    3
    BOOOOOO!!! Atari ruins another potentially great game. I actually really liked Enter the Matrix, a few years back, but this game absolutely BOOOOOO!!! Atari ruins another potentially great game. I actually really liked Enter the Matrix, a few years back, but this game absolutely stinks. The graphics are severely dated, it looks like the same engine from ETM. The controls are terrible, and there's no option to change the mouse sensitivity, so you'll constantly be wondering what the heck you're doing because you can't center the mouse. The moves are decent, and the guns are okay, but the focus abilities have a lot to be desired. You'll spend the whole game doing focus moves on every enemy, which gets very tired after a while. I've played about half way through, and I can say that on a number of levels, I've stopped for a second and just thought "What the heck is this crap?" I'm sorry, I like the Matrix, I like ETM, but I can't like this game. Do not buy it until the price drops dramatically, it is NOT worth it. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews