• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2013
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    The Mighty Quest for Epic Loot is an incredible game that is just so much fun to play whether you are diving head first into someone’s Castle or if you are working on your own Castle’s defences and trying to get things just right.
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    72
    Stupid fun, though not particularly groundbreaking. It will certainly entertain those in need of a quick gaming fix, but won’t replace Diablo in your library any time soon.
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    70
    This is a fresh experience in the free-to-play scene, even though we need to wait and see whether Ubisoft offers enough support to make our time feel well spent on it.
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    The Mighty Quest for Epic Loot is pretty fun as an action role-playing game, but repetitive in the long-term.
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    50
    Eventually, you’ll probably find that Mighty Quest is not worthy of your whole attention. But play it with a podcast on, stick to the Ubi-designed castles early on, and you’ll be happy - not least because you’ll avoid the self-consciously loopy screech of its trad fantasy characters. Rayman this is not.
  6. Just as I’m reaching the meat of the game, I’ve discovered that the promise of endlessly varied player-made castles isn’t being realized, and that the grind is far more intense than I’d like...I just don’t see myself sticking around.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    3
    All fun and cool. But there is a terrible aspect. The sheer imbalance! After a few hours of play, to achieve level 15. In the castles of other people instead of monsters people begin to put bombs and traps. And all the fun in prevraschaetsya sad: "I will survive the explosion?". While the developers are not Fixed, I do not think that the game will be popular. Sorry for my english =) Full Review »
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    This game is very much still in beta. This may be exclusive to my experience, but about every hour or two, I encounter some game breaking bug that forces me to restart. (Though this has never happened mid-dungeon, or at any time that would have been frustrating). I am actually really liking the streamlined gear/leveling systems, it really lets you get into the experience, rather than spending a large chunk of your time A/Bing two slightly different helmets, or biting your tongue over which skills to invest in. The developers have tried to sell this game as being quite funny, but this is seeming to be a misstep on their part. Nothing has quite made me laugh yet. It is certainly goofy and charming, which is great, but don't expect any moments to be funny enough to tell your friends. I was expecting very little from the player-made dungeons, as it only incentivize cheap repetitive tactics, but for some reason I cannot quite figure out, they are actually... Pretty good. Just as good as the computer generated dungeons in most any dungeon crawler. This is a game I would recommend that any fan of the genre at least try. it will be hit or miss whether you like it or not, but if it ends up being your thing, it will keep you coming back for more. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    4
    Another prime example of a good concept ruined by bad design. This is what happens when studios design cash-cow games. They take a good concept and butcher it with grinding gameplay that isn't fun nor is it productive for the player. The game isn't pay2win, but there is a massive grindfest that just screams "INVEST" at you because you do have to invest a lot of time and most of that time is wasted by grind mechanics that force you to play endless hours just to get sufficient upgrades of the most basic level for your castle.

    If that wasn't bad enough, the game coddles you from the start. It makes decisions for you throughout a good portion of the starting game holding your hand constantly and making decisions for you, such as the decision to publish your ill-prepared castle which makes little sense to me if the game is forcing you to publish your castle.

    Validating your castle, which is a fancy way of saying publishing, involves you going through your own castle and testing your defenses for yourself. Sound good right? Here's the kicker... You have to do this EVERYTIME you want to update your castle. That's right, every single time you want to update your castle, you need to go through the process of going through your castle yourself. Of all my time spent playing games, this has to be the worse game design mechanic I've ever seen in any game. It also immediately turned me away from it. The game forces you to do this everytime you need to make changes to your castle, it punishes you severely for it. What on earth processed them to go ahead with this instead of making it optional, god knows ...

    When it comes to the traps themselves, they are no better. They are obvious and rather limited in number and there doesn't seem to be a way to customise your own traps. Having obvious traps kinda ruins the whole point of the game really and ends up being a shallow experience. On the other hand, the minion types are numerous as well as the ability to customise them is the only reason, along with the humour, that this game gets a 4 rather than a 3.

    Unfortuntely the game is heavily flawed and I don't see it changing much once its out of beta. The concept is good, but the game design is bad.
    Full Review »