• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 10, 2013
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    The Mighty Quest for Epic Loot is an incredible game that is just so much fun to play whether you are diving head first into someone’s Castle or if you are working on your own Castle’s defences and trying to get things just right.
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    72
    Stupid fun, though not particularly groundbreaking. It will certainly entertain those in need of a quick gaming fix, but won’t replace Diablo in your library any time soon.
  3. Jun 29, 2015
    70
    The developers found a proper balance between different gameplay elements, so both raiding other players’ castles and preparing an automated defense of your own stronghold are fun. [06/2015, p.73]
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    70
    This is a fresh experience in the free-to-play scene, even though we need to wait and see whether Ubisoft offers enough support to make our time feel well spent on it.
  5. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    The Mighty Quest for Epic Loot is pretty fun as an action role-playing game, but repetitive in the long-term.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    63
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Feb 23, 2015
    55
    The Mighty Quest For Epic Loot is an entertaining game, but it is flawed by some design choices made by the development team. Being a free-to-play with no pay to win surely is a great starting point, but Ubisoft will need to make some extra work to fix some aspects in the future.
  8. Mar 31, 2014
    50
    Eventually, you’ll probably find that Mighty Quest is not worthy of your whole attention. But play it with a podcast on, stick to the Ubi-designed castles early on, and you’ll be happy - not least because you’ll avoid the self-consciously loopy screech of its trad fantasy characters. Rayman this is not.
  9. Just as I’m reaching the meat of the game, I’ve discovered that the promise of endlessly varied player-made castles isn’t being realized, and that the grind is far more intense than I’d like...I just don’t see myself sticking around.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
  1. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    I have played during the Closed Beta and I am now playing the Open Beta. So far i really like the experience of building my castle andI have played during the Closed Beta and I am now playing the Open Beta. So far i really like the experience of building my castle and attacking other players. It is very (too) competitive and very difficult to be at the top of the leagues, I believe the dev team will tweak the game during the Open Beta as they improved the game a lot during the Closed Beta. Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    5
    This game is pretty bad, but still gets a 5 because its "free". The plot belongs in a garbage can, doesnt even try and attempts to be funny byThis game is pretty bad, but still gets a 5 because its "free". The plot belongs in a garbage can, doesnt even try and attempts to be funny by poking fun of itself but falls far short. The idea of a vast array of custom player made dungeons sounds great, but falls completely flat. Players do not design dungeons to be fun, but to be as frustratingly difficult to deter other players from attacking. This isnt because players are poor spirited, but because game design encourages you to. Player levels come slowly, making the game extremely grinding. Any attempt to make the game more playable requires a premium pay currency. If this game was balanced, retold and redesigned it would be a 9/10. But instead its a shabby money grabbing dungeon crawler that falls flat fast. Give it a whirl if your bored and dont have anything decent to play. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    2
    The Grinding Quest for Mediocre Loot

    First of all, I am playing this game since closed beta, and have around 150 hours poured into it.
    The Grinding Quest for Mediocre Loot

    First of all, I am playing this game since closed beta, and have around 150 hours poured into it.

    In closed beta game was kinda ok, they had some bad choices with spending real cash, but I never cared about it and haven't seen it as game-breaking. But, after 15th of February of this year, game got a complete overhaul, they wiped all progress (which they promised they wont, but screw customers right?) and made this game an insult to anyone who played it.

    Game is repetitive, has bad balance and terrible mechanics. Let me explain.

    Progression is painfully slow. Amount of cash you need to upgrade your castle is equivalent to raiding 50+ castles for 1 building ( talking about levels 15+).

    Their crown system is "worked on" for 2 years now (crowns are something like rating, elo, whatever). They have no clue how to fix it, and never will. For instance, if you have 700 crowns, which means you are not so bad and you've done well with your attacks and defenses, and you attack SAME LEVEL castle with 300 crowns, you will gain 5 crowns for victory, and lose 30 crowns for a loss. This is plainly stupid. On the other hand, if someone lower than you on a ladder (crowns) attacks you, he will lose lets say 10 crowns if he dies, BUT he can grind your castle over and over again, learning all your secrets, and if he win, he can walk out with NET crowns even if he died 15 times in there. Dying after the first time dos NOT remove extra crowns from the attacker.

    Monster balance is terrible. I bet you haven't used or seen at least 50% of monsters in game. Why? Because they are useless.

    Some visual themes are simply better than others, and they cost real money. Meaning that some traps are harder to see on some visual styles then on another.

    Game rewards brain-dead style of castle design. Placing all your monsters in 1 room, supported with tons of traps is most rewarding. ZERO strategy is needed to succeed.

    Oh yea. You know how you can win every castle after you learn how traps work and how to avoid them? Aggro all mobs and run back to starting position, they will slowly follow you 1 by 1. You may not get max stars and max crowns for castle, but hey, you will still walk out with gold/life force/crowns.

    That brings us to their free build mode, or whatever the hell they call it. Now you can set as many traps as you can in a small area (if they are supported by a generator) and place as many creatures in any room. This means that 99% of all castles in their level bracket are almost identical. There is some kind of soft/hard cap now, so even if you have 40 mobs in 1 room, only certain number of them will activate, while the rest will run away from you till you kill previous ones. This is simply BAD game design.

    Oh yea. there is nothing Epic about Epic loot in The Mighty Quest for Epic Loot. Painting a brick purple does not make it epic.

    Before Open Beta this game was kinda OK, after OB its down right insulting.

    WHOEVER gave this game a good score is part of the dev/promo team or have played it for several hours.

    I give it 2/10 because it is actually fun for the first couple of hours.
    Full Review »