The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom PC

The Misadventures of P.B. Winterbottom Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Downloadable Game) Create your own paradox... for the love of pie. Enter a macabre and comical silent world filled with mischief, time travel and delicious pie in The Misadventures of P. B. Winterbottom. Record yourself and harness your time-bending abilities to cooperate, compete against,(Downloadable Game) Create your own paradox... for the love of pie. Enter a macabre and comical silent world filled with mischief, time travel and delicious pie in The Misadventures of P. B. Winterbottom. Record yourself and harness your time-bending abilities to cooperate, compete against, and disrupt your past, present, and future selves. Winterbottom's debut misadventures present a whimsical spin on the notions of time, space, and play. Join Winterbottom as he travels through over 75 "movie" levels, causing mischief and mayhem in pursuit of the mysterious and elusive Chronoberry Pie on his spectacular journey through space-time. [2K Play] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 91
    A candidate for indie game of the year as far as I’m concerned. Many awards were already given and they were absolutely deserved. It barely has a flaw and money-wise it’s worth it. Fantastic atmosphere and well-thought out puzzles will entice anyone with a brain. Unfortunately only a demo on Xbox Live is available, but don’t worry, just go ahead and buy this.
  2. It's a Masterpiece in my eyes and I rarely use that term.
  3. PC Zone UK
    84
    Essential for those who likes a sit down and have a think. [Aug 2010, p.82]
  4. Still, for a title which is worth less than five Euros, the Misadventures of P.B Winterbottom are recommended to any indie-loving player.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    80
    Devilishly tricky. [July 2010, p.95]
  6. A really good combination of retro charm and puzzle fan for an absolutely cheap prize. Puzzle fans must definitely take a look at this game.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Gorgeous presentation and clever level design are only held back by mild control issues. [July 2010, p.61]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 25, 2015
    10
    An excellent puzzle game about time manipulation with great British humor, cheerful music and classy black-and-white graphics. Related games:An excellent puzzle game about time manipulation with great British humor, cheerful music and classy black-and-white graphics. Related games: Braid, The Company of Myself, Robotron, Adventures of Shuggy, Gateways. Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Puzzling, challenging, amusing, and bedazzling.

    The story tells the tale of how one dastardly man's insatiable pie-thievery gets himself
    Puzzling, challenging, amusing, and bedazzling.

    The story tells the tale of how one dastardly man's insatiable pie-thievery gets himself stuck in time, how his selfish manipulation of time to steal pies recklessly causes disaster to an entire city, and how the same paradoxical journey through time on a quest for pies leads to him unwittingly setting his past wrongdoings right.

    It's an amazingly humorous game, and the overall atmosphere from both the story, setting and graphical style has a strong Tim Burton-esque feel.

    The gameplay of using time paradoxes by manipulating time and abusing clones of your own past self for your own gain offers very unique gameplay and ties in well with the same mischievous humor in the story. The puzzles are fun and gradually becomes more challenging, every chapter of the game also offers a different gimmick to change the mechanics of your time clones.

    The to me absolutely most memorable part of this game however, is the extraordinarily fantastic music. The soundtrack is a class of its own, and it sets a perfectly mischievous, mysterious, and adventurous tone for the game. It's cheerful and dark, it's classic and modern, it's like a series of orgasms for your ears.

    I have but two complaints about this game... and those complaints are that the soundtrack isn't available for purchase, and that I'm left heart-broken from my inability to manipulate time to again experience this game with the same overwhelming awe as my first play.
    Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games, period. I'm not really a big fan of puzzle or platform games but it is so intuitive and natural that theEasily one of my favorite games, period. I'm not really a big fan of puzzle or platform games but it is so intuitive and natural that the puzzles feel complex and challenging without being overwhelming. The art and soundtrack are the perfect accompaniment to this well-thought out adventure through time. A must play. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2015
    9
    An utterly enthralling monochromatic caper that I just can't help but wish was also available for handheld gamers. Sure, Winterbottom isAn utterly enthralling monochromatic caper that I just can't help but wish was also available for handheld gamers. Sure, Winterbottom is fantastic on 360 and PC, but personally, I think it'd be experienced on Playstation Vita. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    Is creepy if you want, but is an amazing game that will make you think a lot with its puzzles, and also enjoy with its simplicity. I mean,Is creepy if you want, but is an amazing game that will make you think a lot with its puzzles, and also enjoy with its simplicity. I mean, Winterbottom is a fellow who loves pie, and is willing to do everything for a pie even if this "everything" is create a paradox in time-space stability.
    With a touch of madness I think that this Misadvetures will take you to another universe of gaming
    Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    8
    I actually liked this game! The cinematic black and white style of old age is fun to watch, and the puzzles are not too difficult. It becomesI actually liked this game! The cinematic black and white style of old age is fun to watch, and the puzzles are not too difficult. It becomes sort of confusing near the end, but you can either go walkthrough or be patient with the game. Coupled with the bonus challenges, you get can get around 2.5 hours for main story and an extra 2 hours for the fun content Expand
  7. e_k
    Jul 28, 2012
    6
    An interesting puzzle game. So far, it's not too hard - which is good, because I'm not very good at puzzles. The atmosphere is quite nice, ifAn interesting puzzle game. So far, it's not too hard - which is good, because I'm not very good at puzzles. The atmosphere is quite nice, if a little repetitive (7)

    I have to dock a point however, for the looong legal notice that shows up every time you launch the game. It's almost 20 seconds long (just the notices - not the intro), and you can't skip it. Yes, we get it, all those things are the trademarks of such and such. First time, ok. But after that: you're wasting my time! Because I don't play for long periods at once, I have to sit through this every single time I want to solve a puzzle or two (-1)
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews