Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    100
    The Next Big Thing is a prime example of what a graphic adventure should be. It's got it all: an entertaining story, great writing, creative but logical puzzles, good voice acting and music, beautiful artwork and a killer sense of humor.
  2. May 19, 2011
    90
    The Next Big Thing however is not half decent; it's only the best adventure game I've played in the past few years.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    86
    A great graphic adventure which follows the classic Pendulo formula. Point-and-click interface, interesting puzzles and charming characters in a game what turns out to be a bit short.
  4. Jan 31, 2011
    86
    The next big thing shows us how an adventure has to look in the year 2011, despite being far too easy for the most time. Only the hieroglyphics-puzzle is really frustrating because it's not logical in the game world.
  5. Jun 16, 2011
    85
    The Next Big Thing, Pendulo Studios' latest point'n'click game is awesome. A great tribute to his second, and now a classic, big project: Hollywood Monsters. It's easier and shorter than the original one, but it delivers a fun and interesting story, with many unforgettable moments. Genre lovers should give it a try.
  6. 85
    The biggest achievement of TNBT is that it simply doesn't seem to have any shortcomings of Runaway series. The puzzles are well-balanced and the story is great once again – If only it wasn't so short. [June 2011, p.93]
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    85
    For point and click fans, The Next Big Thing is a solid title that brings a bit of fresh air to the genre. To everyone else, it may surpass expectations with an in-depth story, challenging gameplay and beautiful art direction.
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    82
    Overall, The Next BIG Thing is humorous, well-acted and well-presented, and it might take you around 10 hours to complete. The game's puzzles are a little bit on the easy side, which isn't necessarily bad, and because of that, and also because of the difficulty settings, The Next BIG Thing might work better as an introduction to adventure games rather than as a challenge for veteran players. But I enjoyed my time with the game (with the caveat that I got to play it for free), and I'd give it a modest recommendation.
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    The fifth title Pendulo revives an adventure that did not have the desired success, using as pillars surreal dialogues, an absolutely fantastic storyline, and fun from start to finish. Through a series of colorful characters, though very short, Hollywood Monsters 2 shows his best on a technical level, through perfect cinematics and animations.
  10. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    It's a good game if given the time to be familiar, Help section could be expanded for more assistance, and there's tons of story to keep you going.
  11. Apr 21, 2011
    80
    For anyone out there that can't get enough of this genre, and can't wait the month for the next Telltale release of whatever they are working on, this is a pleasant buy. Anyone else who might be getting leery of this content feel entirely free to watch some videos of the funnier stuff on YouTube.
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    80
    Lovers of adventure games have had some big expectations regarding The Next Big Thing and the developers have met most of them. This is by far the best Pendulo game. An original gameworld spawned a great variety of characters and locations, and the story - although a little humorous - keeps the player entertained and immersed. Dan and Liz are very likable and we tend to cheer for them from the first minute.
  13. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Despite some shortcomings, this Pendulo title manages to keep the pressure up from start to finish. Its odd characters are charming, its puzzles sometimes devious but overall its a very accessible title, blessed by quality dialogs... All in all The Next BIG thing has everything to please. We're still sorry it's too easy and rather short. But it's a very satisfying adventure, on par with the greatest titles of the point'n click genre.
  14. Feb 21, 2011
    80
    It's not really the next big thing, but well done, with great characters and humor. And there is still room for a lot of sequels.
  15. May 31, 2011
    78
    The Next Big Thing is an ode to classic Hollywood horror movies.
  16. Feb 2, 2011
    78
    Even though The Next Big Thing seems to have a lot in common with the Runaway trilogy, it is an absolutely great game. What a shame that the puzzles are not always as challenging as you expect them to be.
  17. Apr 20, 2011
    77
    As long as you are willing to roll with the dialog and narrative quirks, it's a fun ride. It isn't perfect, but it does capture the magic of the genre with entertaining characters, interesting puzzles, and a current of humor that runs throughout the game.
  18. Jul 19, 2011
    75
    Hollywood Monsters 2 is a good game: its sense of humor and great graphic design make it something that every graphic adventure fan wouldn't miss. Some puzzles may be frustrating, but it's definitely worth a try.
  19. Apr 30, 2011
    75
    Contains plenty of charm and spirit in both its writing and superb animation, and while it's a somewhat flawed game overall, it's still a game that fans of the genre should give a look. For the right price, that is.
  20. Apr 25, 2011
    75
    The Next Big Thing, then, is not exactly what it says on the tin - but we still got plenty of laughs out of it. If you're on the prowl for a point-and-click adventure, this will easily tide you over until the next Telltale title comes knocking. Never before has a game produced a character who was so... disconcerting.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Great Characters, voice acting, humour, graphics, story. A fun game that's worth the price, and worth the time. Recommended for point-n-clickGreat Characters, voice acting, humour, graphics, story. A fun game that's worth the price, and worth the time. Recommended for point-n-click enthusiasts. Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Fantastic Game, I bought mine during the summer sale. I loved everything about it. I agree completely with that other guy, it was very funnyFantastic Game, I bought mine during the summer sale. I loved everything about it. I agree completely with that other guy, it was very funny and worth the price (Summer Sale at least). An all round great game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The Next Big Thing is a lovable adventure game from the makers of the Runaway series. The graphics are beautiful and the characters are funny,The Next Big Thing is a lovable adventure game from the makers of the Runaway series. The graphics are beautiful and the characters are funny, entertaining and absolutely lovable! The Next Big Thing is an unique and unforgettable adventure experience that I will always hold dear. Full Review »