Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After having put the adventure game genre back into the spotlight with the Runaway trilogy, which had captivated more than a million players during the last decade, Pendulo Studios is back with an original, great adventure game. The Next BIG Thing revisits with class and humor the fantasticAfter having put the adventure game genre back into the spotlight with the Runaway trilogy, which had captivated more than a million players during the last decade, Pendulo Studios is back with an original, great adventure game. The Next BIG Thing revisits with class and humor the fantastic movie genre with a modern, funny adventure packed with hints and references made to popular movies and TV shows.

    The story introduces the couple of charismatic heroes Dan Murray and Liz Allaire involved in an incredible and crazy adventure, full of twists and packed with moments of pure comedy! With The Next BIG Thing, Pendulo Studios stay faithful to their unique graphic style that puts their games close to actual animated movies. The Next BIG Thing also maintains Runaway’s popular and beloved ingredients: an intricate story, funny and charismatic characters, wacky mysteries and puzzles, and a definite adult and modern tone.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    100
    The Next Big Thing is a prime example of what a graphic adventure should be. It's got it all: an entertaining story, great writing, creative but logical puzzles, good voice acting and music, beautiful artwork and a killer sense of humor.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    86
    The next big thing shows us how an adventure has to look in the year 2011, despite being far too easy for the most time. Only the hieroglyphics-puzzle is really frustrating because it's not logical in the game world.
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    85
    For point and click fans, The Next Big Thing is a solid title that brings a bit of fresh air to the genre. To everyone else, it may surpass expectations with an in-depth story, challenging gameplay and beautiful art direction.
  4. Feb 2, 2011
    78
    Even though The Next Big Thing seems to have a lot in common with the Runaway trilogy, it is an absolutely great game. What a shame that the puzzles are not always as challenging as you expect them to be.
  5. Apr 30, 2011
    75
    Contains plenty of charm and spirit in both its writing and superb animation, and while it's a somewhat flawed game overall, it's still a game that fans of the genre should give a look. For the right price, that is.
  6. Apr 30, 2011
    70
    An honest and beautiful tribute to the "Old Hollywood America" and Classic Adventure Gaming, that manages to overcome its problems due to its all-around warm feeling and aspirations.
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    60
    The Next Big Thing creates a lush vision of an alternate-reality Hollywood, but its knockout visuals can't make up for its frustrating puzzles.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Great Characters, voice acting, humour, graphics, story. A fun game that's worth the price, and worth the time. Recommended for point-n-clickGreat Characters, voice acting, humour, graphics, story. A fun game that's worth the price, and worth the time. Recommended for point-n-click enthusiasts. Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The Next Big Thing is a lovable adventure game from the makers of the Runaway series. The graphics are beautiful and the characters are funny,The Next Big Thing is a lovable adventure game from the makers of the Runaway series. The graphics are beautiful and the characters are funny, entertaining and absolutely lovable! The Next Big Thing is an unique and unforgettable adventure experience that I will always hold dear. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Fantastic Game, I bought mine during the summer sale. I loved everything about it. I agree completely with that other guy, it was very funnyFantastic Game, I bought mine during the summer sale. I loved everything about it. I agree completely with that other guy, it was very funny and worth the price (Summer Sale at least). An all round great game. Expand
  4. May 30, 2013
    9
    I like this game. I find myself liking very few games. Most of them I believe to be mediocre. Maybe I am just a bastard but I like this game.I like this game. I find myself liking very few games. Most of them I believe to be mediocre. Maybe I am just a bastard but I like this game. This game has charm coming out the wazoo! Quirky fun AND memorable characters. So many games. So forgettable. This one is not. I suggest you pick it up. It was the first point n click adventure puzzle game I have played. Honestly. Yeah. I know. Terrible. Apparently it's a genre I may have a thing for and it's thanks to this game. BUY IT! Expand
  5. Vex
    Sep 7, 2012
    4
    This is a very poorly made game. Despite the fact that the graphics are some of the most beautiful ever seen in an adventure game, the storyThis is a very poorly made game. Despite the fact that the graphics are some of the most beautiful ever seen in an adventure game, the story is mediocre, the puzzles fall short and are completely nonsensical most of the time. Pendulo Studios are responsible for the amazing Runaway series (which likely brought the adventure genre back to life) and I can't get my head around how they failed at this so badly. The writing is poor, the characters aren't memorable and there is very little captivating about the game except for amazing graphics... which is a shame because it's a waste of a massive potential that this game had. Not worth it unless you pick it up during a sale. Collapse