User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    5 of the best games ever for PC in a single package. It only lacks Portal 2 and maybe Left 4 Dead (I know it was launched before those mentioned games LOL)
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    I like it hadhidjisjdskdmskndskndksmdskcmskfmekdjskfnkenfekfnekhfekhfkefhkevjixjeifhekjdkemce kcendkenwjnwfdkwfn. Kfjelkfepfkpeifodfeoifoejfoejfoej
  3. Aug 14, 2014
    10
    The Orange Box contains two great (I count HL2 + the episodes as one in this case) and one good game for the price of one. That's amazing! With this box you get one of the best games ever made (and the best FPS of all time): Half-Life 2, one of the best multiplayer FPS: Team Fortress 2 and the puzzle game Portal.
  4. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 9 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 10 out of 10, Re-play: 7 out of 10, Value: 10 out of 10
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Fantastic set of games, it's just simply odd that you can get this *set* of fantastic games for the price so many lesser games individually sell for.......
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    After playing over 40 hours on Portal alone, and 13 hours on Half-Life 2 not even half way through, I can say that this was my money well spent. If you're looking for a game with imaginative and fresh puzzles, Portal will be a great game that will give you hours of enjoyment with multiple levels and challenges. The Half-Life 2 games have a great story line and some great voice actors whichAfter playing over 40 hours on Portal alone, and 13 hours on Half-Life 2 not even half way through, I can say that this was my money well spent. If you're looking for a game with imaginative and fresh puzzles, Portal will be a great game that will give you hours of enjoyment with multiple levels and challenges. The Half-Life 2 games have a great story line and some great voice actors which really immerse you in the gameplay. However, saying that, the gameplay is pretty standard and can sometimes get a little repetitive after playing all 3 of the Half-Life 2 games in quick succession. Finally, Team Fortress 2. If you have ever played TF2 on either the Xbox 360 or Playstation 3, the game on the computer is nothing like them. You have a range of level and missions which I believe aren't on the console version, there is a global population of people playing at all times and can trade between other players to receive a massive amount of weapons... and hats.
    Pro's: A wide range of games and genres, provide entertainment for hours on end and has a great community of gamers.
    Con's: Some repetitive gameplay and some puzzling puzzles.
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    The best deal in gaming history, or possibly ever. This package will give you hundreds of hours of fun for less than 30 bucks. I, for one, have sunk over one thousand hours in TF2 alone, and I still see myself playing it for a long time to come.
  8. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This is a must-have package for PC gamers. The complete Half.Life 2 experience is great even though the episodes are quite short, Team Fortress 2 is the best of its kind and Portal is...Portal. You will surely get your money's worth on this bundle, not to mention the huge amount of great mods you can get by having HL2.
  9. Edd
    May 7, 2013
    10
    The Orange Box Will Remain one of the best games in History of Gaming and forever it shall be honored by most gamers in the world Fantastic and Well done
  10. May 6, 2013
    10
    This bundle includes 3 of the greatest games of all time.
    Half-Life 2 changed the face of gaming and is still a highly emersive, beutiful and fun experiance.
    Team Fortress 2 though free now, still remains the most balanced, creative, diverse and fun multiplayer FPS. Portal's mesh of FPS and Puzzle and flawless voice acting and story has wet to be replicated with such perfection. The
    This bundle includes 3 of the greatest games of all time.
    Half-Life 2 changed the face of gaming and is still a highly emersive, beutiful and fun experiance.
    Team Fortress 2 though free now, still remains the most balanced, creative, diverse and fun multiplayer FPS.
    Portal's mesh of FPS and Puzzle and flawless voice acting and story has wet to be replicated with such perfection.
    The Orange Box along with Steam made me switch off Consoles to PC gaming and I've never looked back. Better graphics and more games at a MUCH cheaper price; Better controls (mouse+keyboard) and customization; Endless amounts of Mods; Slightly more mature communities. You can't beat it!
    Expand
  11. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    What is there to complain about? You have three stellar games for the price of one. Half life 2, a game that's considered to be one of the best first person shooters. Portal, considered to be one of the best puzzle games around, and finally Team Fortress 2, a highly competitive multiplayer shooter with great emphasis on teamwork that is loads of fun. Get this package now if you haven'tWhat is there to complain about? You have three stellar games for the price of one. Half life 2, a game that's considered to be one of the best first person shooters. Portal, considered to be one of the best puzzle games around, and finally Team Fortress 2, a highly competitive multiplayer shooter with great emphasis on teamwork that is loads of fun. Get this package now if you haven't already, probably the best value for your money and the one of the best gaming experiences you'll have. Expand
  12. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This is the best game package ever released. comprising of Halflife 2, Halflife 2 episode 1, and Halflife 2 episode 2, the multiplayer game Team Fortress 2, and the puzzle game Portal. Halflife 2 episode 2 was great, as expected, but that wasn't the best part of it. Team Fortress 2 is possible the best (now free) multiplayer shooter. The personalities of the 9 classes are quite funny. LastThis is the best game package ever released. comprising of Halflife 2, Halflife 2 episode 1, and Halflife 2 episode 2, the multiplayer game Team Fortress 2, and the puzzle game Portal. Halflife 2 episode 2 was great, as expected, but that wasn't the best part of it. Team Fortress 2 is possible the best (now free) multiplayer shooter. The personalities of the 9 classes are quite funny. Last but not least, there's Portal. Is there anything I can say about portal? This is probably the best puzzle game ever created. The entire thing might be 2-3 hours long, but with this, it's quality over quantity.
    I recommend buying this package on Steam because Portal and the Half life 2 games are cheap, and team fortress 2 is now free.
    Expand
  13. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    Five games for (as of this writing) twenty bucks seems like a scam in an era where a full game with DLC can run you into the nineties. Trust me when I say that it's not. If there are three PC games to play before you die, it's these three - the worthy sequel(s) to one of the most iconic and innovative shooters of the 90s, the greatest class-based multiplayer game in history, and the solid,Five games for (as of this writing) twenty bucks seems like a scam in an era where a full game with DLC can run you into the nineties. Trust me when I say that it's not. If there are three PC games to play before you die, it's these three - the worthy sequel(s) to one of the most iconic and innovative shooters of the 90s, the greatest class-based multiplayer game in history, and the solid, sublime hour that is the original Portal. Put simply, if the Box doesn't make you burn your consoles and join the Glorious PC Master Race, very little ever will. Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    How about the 5 best valve games and almost of the world.
    The Orange Box brings us 5 tons of fun with Half Life 2 , ep1 , ep2 , Portal and TF2 making this one of the best deals for a computer owner. Buy it and don't think to much about it.
  15. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    5 games for less then the price of 1. One of those games is considered by many the game of the year albeit short. What else needs to be said anyone rating in the red doesn't know what games are or deals. Valve has always been great towards its customers anyone who states otherwise are usually self spoiled brats that if you give them a inch they'll expect a foot and be mad with anything less.
  16. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    It's 4 full length games for the price of one, IF anyone complains about quality or quantity, the should just leave, Valve is one of the best publishers and developers in the gaming world and deserve your respect
  17. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    As someone who hadn't already played Half Life 2, this bundle way already a really good bargain, but the addition of Portal--which was simply brilliant--and Team Fortress 2 makes it officially the best gaming value I've ever seen. Do yourself a favor and drop a few bucks for this pack: you won't be disappointed.
  18. May 14, 2012
    10
    My last but not least boxed PC game purchase. Thank you Valve for creating such an amazing collection and the digital era opened by Steam. This is a must have collection for any Valve/FPS fan.
  19. May 8, 2012
    10
    This pack shows the highlights of the gaming industry, single and multiplayer, I haven't seen anyone else make such a thing of such good quality.

    'Some people think that they can outsmart them, maybe... maybe, but I have yet met one who can outsmart bullet'
  20. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    I got this for $10 in the 2011 christmas sale on steam, I would of happily payed $30 or more if I had any idea how much fun I would have for that $10. Over 24 hours of intense and enthralling gameplay with the first 3 parts of the Half Life 2 saga and 5 hours of head scratching gameplay in portal (or more if you played it 6 times through like I did) and endless hours of fun and financialI got this for $10 in the 2011 christmas sale on steam, I would of happily payed $30 or more if I had any idea how much fun I would have for that $10. Over 24 hours of intense and enthralling gameplay with the first 3 parts of the Half Life 2 saga and 5 hours of head scratching gameplay in portal (or more if you played it 6 times through like I did) and endless hours of fun and financial strategy in TF2 this pack has drawn in more of my life then any other game that I can think of (Over 300 hours and counting in TF2 alone) Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    Let me make it clear that I'm no longer what you could call an impressionable gamer; I don't buy into the hype, I only buys games if I think I will genuinely enjoy them, or for artful reasons. Anyway, The Orange Box, and I know won't sound surprising, is probably the best bundle of games I've ever played. The Half Life games are often cited as a benchmark for game design, and it shows.Let me make it clear that I'm no longer what you could call an impressionable gamer; I don't buy into the hype, I only buys games if I think I will genuinely enjoy them, or for artful reasons. Anyway, The Orange Box, and I know won't sound surprising, is probably the best bundle of games I've ever played. The Half Life games are often cited as a benchmark for game design, and it shows. Portal on the other hand is quite short: not that I'm implying that it's bad, in terms of design it's probably the best game ever made, easily negating its short length. Some might know that I've stopped playing BF3 and MW3; I just wasn't having any fun whatsoever. Team Fortress 2 is no doubt the most fun I've ever had playing online. Even when I'm at the bottom of the leaderboard (which is all the time), I'm still having fun with the cartoony art style and addictive gameplay. I guess what I like about it is that it has a sense of humour most modern "realistic" shooters seem to ignore in favour of gun torches or incessant profanity. All you need to know is this: whether you're a single-player (like me) or into multi-player, The Orange Box is possibly the best buy you'll ever make. And for £10? I feel like I'm stealing from valve Expand
  22. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    No complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have everNo complaints here. 5 great games in one package at a price of one retail game. Half-life 2 and two of its episodes are triple A class shooters with compelling stories and great writing, Team Fortress 2 is probably the best online FPS game I have ever played and Portal is a unique puzzle platformer that is incomparable with any puzzle game and is also one of the funniest games I have ever played. No complaints at all. Expand
  23. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    If someone haven't played those games so far it's the BEST DEAL out there! I would say that it's a kind of a starter pack for regular+ gamers :) For me Portal was the biggest innovation there but it wasn't until the second part that it really spread its wings.
  24. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    The best game compilation ever. Includes Half-Life 2: Episode Two, the sequel of one of the best games in history, with great plot, graphics, gameplay, etc., Portal, a almost indie experiment from Valve resulting in a beautiful and simple game, and Team Fortress 2, a great cartoon FPS with 9 classes, lot of weapons, hats, and fun. Also includes HL2 and the first episode if you haven'tThe best game compilation ever. Includes Half-Life 2: Episode Two, the sequel of one of the best games in history, with great plot, graphics, gameplay, etc., Portal, a almost indie experiment from Valve resulting in a beautiful and simple game, and Team Fortress 2, a great cartoon FPS with 9 classes, lot of weapons, hats, and fun. Also includes HL2 and the first episode if you haven't played HL2 yet. With 5 excellent games, you will think that the pack will cost around $60 or something like that. NOPE.AVI, the price is $20. Twenty dollars for five excellent games from Valve. If you hadn't bought this pack yet, you sir, you are not a PC gamer. Expand
  25. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    The single greatest collection of games I've ever bought and it was less than the cost of one game. Not sure we'll ever see something Orange Box again unless Half Life 3 is waiting to be released with Team Fortress 3 & Portal 3.

    If that happens, my face my explode.
  26. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Valve and the Orange Box forever! Best Game package ever! Many thanks to you Valve. HL2 = A1, Portal = A1, and Team Fortress 2 = A1 to sum it up The Orange box is A1 FUN
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Three of the best FPS games released(With two expansions to Half-Life 2), wrapped up in an affordable bundle. Half-Life 2 is not innovative, but the story is understandable(Yet also deep), the graphics are amazing, and the gameplay needs more than two brain cells. The two expansions satisfy the fans of HL2 who wanted more, although the Episode 1 is far too short. Team Fortress 2 is one ofThree of the best FPS games released(With two expansions to Half-Life 2), wrapped up in an affordable bundle. Half-Life 2 is not innovative, but the story is understandable(Yet also deep), the graphics are amazing, and the gameplay needs more than two brain cells. The two expansions satisfy the fans of HL2 who wanted more, although the Episode 1 is far too short. Team Fortress 2 is one of the best multiplayer FPSs out there, which is based on who can use their weapons better, not who can hit the other guy's head first. I currently have over 440 ours into it, and I am willing to spend $75 on some virtual pixels. Portal is a short singleplayer FPP(First Person Puzzle) you will never forget. The humor is genuine, the momentum is deeply satifying, you need to think, and the ending song wraps it all up nicely. Overall, I can't reccomend it enough. Expand
  28. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Needless to say the Orange Box is a Stellar product, all of it. Valve really knows how to put together games that PC gamers can get into and play. No dumb down mechanics or gameplay just good pc gamer core fun. I for one will look forward to any product Valve puts out because they take the time to explore what PC gamers want the demand. E'nuff said 10 baby!!!
  29. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Games today are ridiculously overpriced, at most new shooters begin around $50. The Orange Box is a combination of three awesome shooters, an iconic puzzler, and one of the best multiplayer games you'll ever find. Think about that. Five games, four of which I believe have 'Universal Acclaim' on this website, for the price of one. Half Life 2 and it's episodes: some of the most funGames today are ridiculously overpriced, at most new shooters begin around $50. The Orange Box is a combination of three awesome shooters, an iconic puzzler, and one of the best multiplayer games you'll ever find. Think about that. Five games, four of which I believe have 'Universal Acclaim' on this website, for the price of one. Half Life 2 and it's episodes: some of the most fun shooters ever made. Portal: the game that revolutionized puzzlers. TF2: multiplayer at it's best. Valve took a bit of a gamble when this was released, and in doing so created one of the best deals out there. Expand
  30. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Half Life 2, Episode One, Episode 2, Portal, Team Fortress 2. Certainly a fantastic offer, Every Game that comes with it is fantastic. The Orange Box is a fantastic collection of Games that everybody should try out
  31. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    The Orange box could possibly be the best valued retail game of its generation. The single player Half Life games are almost legendary in acclaim, the Multiplayer Team Fortress 2 has become one of the great shooters with a fantastic art style and has since evolved and improved, and the puzzle/shooter Portal was the surprising gem, the icing on a perfect cake. If only the rest of theThe Orange box could possibly be the best valued retail game of its generation. The single player Half Life games are almost legendary in acclaim, the Multiplayer Team Fortress 2 has become one of the great shooters with a fantastic art style and has since evolved and improved, and the puzzle/shooter Portal was the surprising gem, the icing on a perfect cake. If only the rest of the industry had the vision and design skills of Valve we wouldnt be trudging through the immaturity that bogs the gaming industry down so much. Expand
  32. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This was and still is a must buy, I believe it is even cheaper now so if you don't have it ADD IT TO YOU COLLECTION NOW. Half-Life set the standard in First Person Shooters many years ago, And you are going to seriously lost if you buy the next Installment which is going to be awesome not to mention hard to find on the shelf's during its release.
  33. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is a great package that makes you want to play its games over and over again. In my opinion, it is one of the greatest PC gaming experiences there is. There are very few games that I personally enjoy to play all around the year and I've been playing it for two years non-stop now.
  34. May 1, 2011
    10
    Portal=awesome, TF2=awesome, Half-Life 2, plus episodes 1&2=priceless. A MUST BUY! Especially now, since it's been out for a long time. If you don't own this, you should.
  35. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have one word and just one word for this game package: Awesome!!! It is a heaven for the Half-life and for the First-person shooter fans, and a very interesting Portal that await the gamer in this package. All of the spectacular games with just 20 EUR or 30 $, what are you waiting for to not have it in your collection? Oh you must be anti-gamer to not have it, :). If you are a seriousI have one word and just one word for this game package: Awesome!!! It is a heaven for the Half-life and for the First-person shooter fans, and a very interesting Portal that await the gamer in this package. All of the spectacular games with just 20 EUR or 30 $, what are you waiting for to not have it in your collection? Oh you must be anti-gamer to not have it, :). If you are a serious gamer and you are complaining about your computer doesn't have enough space for this. UPGRADE OR BUY A NEW ONE IMMEDIATELY, or you are missing a legend in game history! Expand
  36. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    To be blunt, this is the PC gamer's starter kit. For the low price of $30, you get five games, that's $6 a game. All of them are ranked among the best games of all time, mentioned with the likes of other gaming greats. Once you purchase it, the games within quickly become the staples of your gaming library, and the fondest remembered, most notably, Team Fortress 2. This game inTo be blunt, this is the PC gamer's starter kit. For the low price of $30, you get five games, that's $6 a game. All of them are ranked among the best games of all time, mentioned with the likes of other gaming greats. Once you purchase it, the games within quickly become the staples of your gaming library, and the fondest remembered, most notably, Team Fortress 2. This game in particular has a very laid back and generally nice community, there is plenty of fun to be had, you will be laughing even when you lose. The games within the Orange Box are all content that is generally needed to effectively run Garry's Mod, another popular game. Without the Orange Box games, red ERROR signs and the ol' pink and black checkerboards will endlessly annoy you in Gmod (though a copy of Counter Strike Source and Day of Defeat are also highly recommended).
    Even if you want just one of the games within the box, it is still a better deal to buy them all together.

    If you call yourself a PC gamer, and you haven't yet played the games with the near legendary Orange Box, you, sir/madam are missing out sorely, and, at least in my opinion, lack the right to call yourself a PC gamer.

    Also, the few negative criticisms on this fine collection of games are related to the Steam content delivery system when it was first released, which has since become the proprietary form of delivering video games to PC gamers. Though I still find Steam to be a little bit slow to load and argumentative at moments, everything on this computer has those moments.
    Expand
  37. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest deal ever. Five games for the price of one. And not only that. All of the games are brilliant masterpieces. You have to love this box.
  38. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    The Orange Box is by far one of the most greatest, and best deals that i have ever seen. 5 games that all got a 90 percent rating or above, (with the exception of episode 1), TF2 having a very addicting multilayer with an option to choose from 9 classes which now have new guns, and awesome hats. Portal which is sadly only 4 hours, but having an amazing story, and gameplay, and the HalfThe Orange Box is by far one of the most greatest, and best deals that i have ever seen. 5 games that all got a 90 percent rating or above, (with the exception of episode 1), TF2 having a very addicting multilayer with an option to choose from 9 classes which now have new guns, and awesome hats. Portal which is sadly only 4 hours, but having an amazing story, and gameplay, and the Half Life series. This series mixes intense FPS action, with puzzeles, and a great story. Also to top it all off it is now only 20 dollars. What more do you need. Expand
  39. BMF
    Apr 7, 2011
    10
    The best gaming combo pack money can buy and for only 20 bucks. PierreB appears to be a little retarded so ignore his review and pick up this pack you wont regret it.
  40. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Well, what more does one have to say other than that this came out in 2007 and I bought it on the first day. Now, in 2011, about 5 years later, I still play Team Fortress 2 and challenge myself to Portal.
  41. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Why do I even have to write the minimum word count? The games included in this pack are so infinitely awesome that even saying "This is the best thing in existence." should be enough to convince people to buy it. If you like shooters, and you have even a little interest in the half-life story, than I guarantee that this will be the best buy you will ever make.
  42. Feb 27, 2011
    9
    This simply is the very best what you can get. All in one for a way to cheap price! The engine still functions fantastic and the gameplay still gives you years of fun!
  43. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    You don't need a review. GET IT NOW!

    You get Half Life 2, plus episodes 1, 2, and the lost coast level and the potential to use all source engine game mods, and it's all for under $30. Do I even need to elaborate? Don't wait for it online, go to the store and buy it or buy it off of steam as soon as you can. On top of that you get 2 more fun games. Portal is a very interesting 1st
    You don't need a review. GET IT NOW!

    You get Half Life 2, plus episodes 1, 2, and the lost coast level and the potential to use all source engine game mods, and it's all for under $30. Do I even need to elaborate? Don't wait for it online, go to the store and buy it or buy it off of steam as soon as you can.

    On top of that you get 2 more fun games. Portal is a very interesting 1st person sort of puzzle platformer, that is very fun to play and is also set in the Half Life Universe. You also get Team Fortress 2, which is a classic, fun FPS that you should play if you own any FPS. On top of all that, these games use the source engine, which is relatively old, meaning that these games will run on older computers and high end laptops. The only possible con I can think of is the automatic installation of Steam on your PC, which really isn't all that bad. It automatically updates all the games, and it offers good prices for downloadable games. But this doesn't have anything to do with the games themselves.

    Why are you still reading? GET IT NOW!
    Expand
  44. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    5 fantastic games, including the best PC game of all time (HL2), the most entertaining multiplayer game I've ever played (TF2) and a truly revolutionary puzzle game (Portal). And right now you can pick the whole lot up on steam for just £8.49. What's not to like?
  45. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    What's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master piece come with Half life 2 and the first two episodes, which have amazing single player story value, it also comes with Portal, possibly the most innovative game of the year! Then on top of that, when you have to get your multi-player fix, you have one ofWhat's that, you need to be convinced that 5 games for the price of less than one is worth it? Shame on you. Not only does this master piece come with Half life 2 and the first two episodes, which have amazing single player story value, it also comes with Portal, possibly the most innovative game of the year! Then on top of that, when you have to get your multi-player fix, you have one of the most diverse, fun and chaotic team based shooters on the market! Valve really know how to make you think you're stealing from them. Expand
  46. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Simply the best buy ever..................................................................................................................................................
  47. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    There is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphicsThere is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphics physics, REAL PHYSICS. There are puzzles for you to solve using the physics engine, realistic situations in a fictional world and the world fits the game perfectly.

    Portal: Simple gameplay soon to be expanded. You control a Portal gun, and zap from wall to wall, and when it ends, you'll be asking for more.

    Team Fortress 2: Let's put it in a few words: Teamwork, skill, fun, achievements, hats (lol), friends, and cartoon. Put them all together and you have a beautiful multiplayer game.
    Collapse
  48. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Half-life 2+Episodes, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in one package? Awesome. These games deserve all the praise they got and as a package they are great value, Great job Valve.
  49. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Probably the single greatest game value of all time - three games in one and all of them are great!!! If you have not indulged yourself in this experience you are really missing a true gem - better hurray before HL3 (or episode 3) come out.
  50. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    A few years old, and still an absolute joy to play. All aspects of this game, from Half-Life 2 to Team Fortress 2 can literally take hours of your life without you even realising it. A particular highlight of the boxset is the inclusion of Portal, probably one of the most trippy games to play, not that its over difficult but the first time you play through it'd probably be wise to be in aA few years old, and still an absolute joy to play. All aspects of this game, from Half-Life 2 to Team Fortress 2 can literally take hours of your life without you even realising it. A particular highlight of the boxset is the inclusion of Portal, probably one of the most trippy games to play, not that its over difficult but the first time you play through it'd probably be wise to be in a sober state. TF2 has to take the biscuit though, a massively fun online shooter, nothing that takes itself too seriously like the people who sit and play CoD all day because they think its "real", this game will have you laughing as 32 characters bounce around the screen shooting rockets and using flame-throwers all on a small map. Definite Purchase for all Expand
  51. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    If you have a PC, you should own this. Seriously, this is the best PC game package ever. One of the best first person shooter games of all time (Half-Life 2) and its first two add-on episodes, the hilarious and challenging Portal, and one of the best PC multiplayer games (Team Fortress 2). Chances are, you already own this. If not, what is wrong with you.
  52. BrandonL.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    I don't know what to say it's so good. Simply the best action/puzzle/shooter genre purchase available for the PC. Even at 1.5 times the price it would still be that good. This is a must buy for fans of these genres if there ever was one.
  53. PDTS
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    My only complain is that this box was 66% off, 2 weeks after i bought it... Even then i give it a 10! Ill give it 12/10 if i could! Anyone who gives it under 9 should not play FPS at all... Because they dont like the genre at all.
  54. Mr.Impulse
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple I was going to the store to buy L4D2 which was under holiday sale and I wanted to give it a shot since I have the first one. Then I saw The Orange Box for 19,99 euros. Could this be? My favourite saga and one of my favourite multiplayer games for that cheap and in front of me. I simply couldn't resist, so I bought it. And I don't regret my drastic change of purchase. This simple must be the best deal in gaming history ever. It just can't fail, because it is made by Valve which never fails. NEVER! Expand
  55. DionisB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    I was going to the store to give Left 4 Dead 2 a shot since the price had been lowered (but still it wasn't low) and I saw The Orange Box for 19.99 euros. Could this be? The favourite game saga of mine and one of the funniest multilplayer game ever in a box for a cheap price? Really, I don't regret not buying L4D2 since the purchase of The Orange Box might have been one of the I was going to the store to give Left 4 Dead 2 a shot since the price had been lowered (but still it wasn't low) and I saw The Orange Box for 19.99 euros. Could this be? The favourite game saga of mine and one of the funniest multilplayer game ever in a box for a cheap price? Really, I don't regret not buying L4D2 since the purchase of The Orange Box might have been one of the smartest, unregretable choices of my life! You could not fail with The Orange Box, you just can't. Because it's made by Valve, which never fails to deliever. NEVER! Expand
  56. JohnR
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    I've only just now finished Half-Life 2 and have to admit, despite being an old-school PC gamer and a fan mainly of RPGs and RTSs, that this game has to go down as one of the best I've ever played. My gripe is that, while The Orange Box is undoubtedly superb value - only the Infinity Engine compilations can rival it - it isn't really a game as such and shouldn't be I've only just now finished Half-Life 2 and have to admit, despite being an old-school PC gamer and a fan mainly of RPGs and RTSs, that this game has to go down as one of the best I've ever played. My gripe is that, while The Orange Box is undoubtedly superb value - only the Infinity Engine compilations can rival it - it isn't really a game as such and shouldn't be given a metacritic ranking of its own. Instead it's a compilation of games (Half-Life 2 + Episodes One and Two ; Portal and Team Fortress), the others already having their own separate rankings. All the same I'd advise anyone who has never played Half-Life 2 to get The Orange Box. Expand
  57. JordanG
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Along with Perfect Dark this box set is the most amazign FPS experience ever. Even the Half-Life 2 package alone would get a 10 from me
  58. MatthewL.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    OMG the orange box is so f@ &#ing. the best videogaming deal ever. many many hours of game play. the only thing that i did not like was how short Portal's story was (about 2-3 hours) if u have 30$ and a brain GO BUY IT NOW. u wont be disapointed
  59. MarcelB
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    This mite be the best game of all time i mean like really first of all 5 games which are one of the top in the world second the price and third they fit perfectly together because first you do is play a epic and long fps campaign second you solve amazing puzzles because you finished the campaign and third you finished everything and you still have endless fun playing a multiplayer mode.
  60. JeffG
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    The absolute best you can do with $30. 5 games, and I give a perfect 10 to every single one of them. I'll just give a short review of each game, shall I? Half-Life 2: The environments are all incredibly engaging and give that perfect feeling of eerie loneliness. The story is beautiful, it unfolds subtly, yet has a great impact. The characters are all beautifully designed and The absolute best you can do with $30. 5 games, and I give a perfect 10 to every single one of them. I'll just give a short review of each game, shall I? Half-Life 2: The environments are all incredibly engaging and give that perfect feeling of eerie loneliness. The story is beautiful, it unfolds subtly, yet has a great impact. The characters are all beautifully designed and interactions between them feel 100% real. Not only that, you find yourself genuinely caring about them. The pacing is phenomenal, the graphics still look great 5 years later. I could go on and on, but I'll just leave it at "Half-Life 2 is the absolute best game ever". Half-Life 2 Episodes 1 and 2: Episode 1 did a very good job of creating a scary environment environment, and the addition of Alyx as a companion makes the trek very fun. As I said, you really care for her, and her AI is the best there is anywhere. She seems totally real, and you begin to feel very glad you have her with you. The environment in Episode 2 was also fantastic, taking place in beautiful (yet eerily lonely) rural areas, and the open world battle at the end felt truly epic thanks to the inclusion of destructible environments. Portal: The story is perfect, the puzzles are a ton of fun, and the black humor is absolutely hilarious. The journey through the abandoned (And eerily lonely, damn Valve is good at that) Aperture research facility is gripping, and the ending battle is both epic and hilarious. There are absolutely no flaws in Portal. One could complain about length, but there are so many beautifully realized community made mappacks for it that you could play nonstop for a year and still have new content you haven't touched yet. Team Fortress 2: Incredible game, what all multiplayer games should be. The classes are all very different from each other, each requiring entirely different tactics, and they balance each other out perfectly. For example, the Heavy can mow down an entire team with his minigun, but he can easily be taken out by a single Spy. The game's unique design ensures that it will still look great 10 years from now. The characters are all incredibly charismatic and funny, and you can tell a lot of heart went into making the game. Expand
  61. AnonymousMC
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    half life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparing halo 3, one of the worst games ive ever played, to half life 2, you haven't played this game yet. when u go on steam, you dont have to buy the games! its just like the xbox live marketplace(yes, i have and xbox and u could buy half life for it) buthalf life 2(including all the episodes) is one of my favorite games ever made- It's in my TOP 3! and to that one guy who is comparing halo 3, one of the worst games ive ever played, to half life 2, you haven't played this game yet. when u go on steam, you dont have to buy the games! its just like the xbox live marketplace(yes, i have and xbox and u could buy half life for it) but you can buy full games on it. i agree with you when you say that if you lose your account all your games are gone, and you can't reenter any codes you got with the game disk. but valve will probably fix that. i also have to say, if u think there is nothing innovative about half life, then tell me, whats innovative about halo? there's a sword made of energy? Gee, that's never been done before in any sci fi book, movie, game ect. and if you hate steam, go and complain to the companys, not in a review for a game that would kick halo 3's arse any day of the week. sure, halo was fun for the first few weeks it came out, but it got real old real fast. Expand
  62. redninja
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    I love this game. Best game and deal I've had the pleasure of playing. Much better than FPSs like the overrated Halo 2, Star Wars Repulic Comando and GoldenEye IMO. Half-life 2 is Awsome, Half-Life 2 Episode 1 is awsome, Team Fortress 2's awsome, and Protal's awsome (I haven't played Episode 2 yet if you're wandering.) Get it NOW if you don't have it.
  63. LeeG.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I am a Malaysian and bought The Orange Box for RM175.I mean,those game including Half-Life 2 and other games are Game Of The Year,and I like it!!Especially HL2 and Portal
  64. LeeL.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    The most compelling and enjoyable gaming experience of my Life. Every asset within the orange Box was pure gold.
  65. BobB.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Almost any game being sold for 10 dollars is amazing, but five of the best ever created for 10 dollars each is beyond description.
  66. EduardoV.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    Awesome pack from VALVe, it has great singleplayer action with Half-Life 2, legendary multiplayer fun with Team Fortress 2, and a hilarious puzzle game with Portal. The Orange Box is surely the best game i ever bought! Greetings from Portugal.
  67. MattM.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    This package is probably the best pack and deal you would get. It is mixed with action to puzzling first person shooters. I especially loved Team Fortress 2. All the different maps and stuff would blow your mind! In the pack was most of the Half Life collection. It's a great deal!
  68. BudBlue
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    The most rewarding video game purchase I have ever made. A couple hundred hours dumped into TF2 alone.
  69. RubenC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Best pack I have ever seen. I love team fortress 2.
  70. CallumL.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    By far the best gaming deal of all time I highly recomend it to anyone its great espeacially the new team fortress2 updates they rock!!!
  71. ZekkoP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I bought The Orange Box in early 2008. After I installed it, I played all the series of HL2, never played so much time on my PC... then a bit of Portal, then Peggle... TF2 is kinda chaotic but it can cheer you up. Price is not great, it's awesome! Thanks VALVe for this cool package! Greets from Romania.
  72. WillB.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Everything Valve does seems to turn out to be a work of genius. Games like Half-life 2 and Team Fortress 2 and Portal belong in some kind of hall of fame. A very good title.
  73. HelderV.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Funny addictive game, the developers are always updating and upgrading the game.
  74. Lambu
    May 21, 2008
    10
    Yeah, this is the one of the best game package! HL is the best gameserie EVER!
  75. timpayne
    May 16, 2008
    10
    this is the first purchase worth 100% of my money and 100% rewarding in gameplay. The is 2 part immense single player boxed with a long awaited team based multiplayer that just keeps on pulling out more and more features. they need to re-review this game now that the medic update has been released.
  76. BryanK.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Awesome games. Team Fortress 2 is the best game that I have ever played.
  77. RonaldA.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    Orange box is the best for the best value ever!!
  78. ChristopherF.
    Apr 8, 2008
    10
    Valve's Orange Box is most definitely the best gaming package ever to be released.
  79. Mike
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Yeah... HL2 episode 2 lasted for 2 weeks and I was done. But I am still playing TF2 to this day!!! and its been months now! a great gteat package! Excellent!
  80. JoeB
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    At first i was annoyed when i found out that i would have to pay for half-life 2 and e1 twice, as well as tf2 and portal which i did not really want. I thought i just need e2. I was wrong. I thank valve for making me get those as they were all some of the best games i have ever played.
  81. ConnorC
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    This package is just amazing. 3 great games and there is something for everyone! Half life 2 for the amazing storyline gamers. TF2 for those multiplayer loving fans and portal I found fantastic! Valve really managed to make the puzzle game genre incredibly fun and it had a awesome and funny story to go with it! Top score!
  82. DylanK.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best $40 I've ever spent.Half Life 2 is one of the best Single Player FPS out there, and will remain to be long afterwards. Portal is an amazing puzzle game, very intuitive and fresh concept for a game. Team Fortress II is my pride and joy, with amazing graphics and just the right amount of chaos to go with the cartoonish graphics.
  83. seanjhonson
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    it's just perfect... the best combo ever!!!!
    i think it's cause they'r hardly tested...imperfections are always being updated and fixed... making the game better and better ... u never get bored... it' always a new feature, a new map ....... a new game! "10" 4 u guys!!!!!!!!
  84. MikeZ.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    Portal is one of the best puzzle games ever, Team Fortress 2 one of if not the best multiplayer shooters ever, and Episode Two is an awesome addition to an awesome series.
  85. ArthurL.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This must be the best collection made by the man. -Half-Life 2 -Half-Life 2:Episode One -Half-Life 2:Episode Two -Portal -Team Fortress 2 Never in this world they gonna make a game so good like Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two.
  86. AaronG.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up These have to be the greatest games ive ever played and one of the most wisely spent $50 my family has ever spent. I loved the original Half Life 2 and Episode one before i even bought the orange box so much so that its one of the few games i have actually played through more than once (two to three times each to be more specific). Episode two just improves upon what the original set up and im still replaying it. Portal may be short but its a must play and they even extend its life more by setting up some challenges and extra ways to play each level after the first playthrough, and the commentary is a blast to listen to. Last but not least, Team Fortress 2 is almost sheer perfection in multiplayer gaming, i was a bit sceptical at first but now its one of my favorite multiplayers games and is made all the more fun by its interactions with the Steam system that runs all the Valve games. For anyone looking to buy a new PC game i HIGHLY recommend The Orange Box above all else! Expand
  87. LezhninD.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    The best games ever made in one box? What is it? It's Orange box!
  88. ChrisH.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    This has 5 awsome games in it so I will show you my scores for all of them: HL2-10 HL2E1-9 HL2E2-10 Portal-9 TF2-9 So overall it's a perfect 10/10!
  89. AlexH.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    The ultimate package. I played portal for like 3 days straight over and over again. AND IT'S COMPATIBLE WITH GARRY'S MOD!!! WOOT!
  90. EricE.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding This is by far one of the best packages of games I have ever owned/played! I had always wanted to play HL2 but never had the money. So I bought this on Black Friday for half price. I loved HL2 and both expansions. Excellent game just like the original. I also really enjoyed Portal and thought it was a awesome gem of a game hidden in the box. It was almost like opening a gift and finding money in the box as well! I am not much of a online fps player so TF2 isn't really my thing but I have played it for a few hours and it was fun even if I only lived for a maximum of 26 seconds at a time (really, that is my record). Expand
  91. ColinWright
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    I have a feeling that Adam R hasn't even played the first half-life, so of course your not going to be interested in the storyline because you have absolutley no f-ing clue whats going on. Halo has nothing better than this, No great story like hl2 and the episodes, TF2 is way more fun than halo multiplayer, and Portal itself may be better than halo and deserve a 10 by itself
  92. MikeR.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    The orange box package is unlike any other package available. With TF2's awesome gameplay and HL2's unbeatable plot, the orange box rates in at a 10 on my scale. TF2 and HL2 are the cake, but the rest is a very sweet icing.
  93. ChristofferL.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have All the 5 games is perfect games, i just play tf2 almost 20 hour each week due the great teamwork game and the taunting system is really nice. Its impossible to say this game is crap without lieing if you have tried it. Portal seems to be the most hard working game in the box, the portal device and the portals really changed between game and movie of the game. HL2EP2 is that game I have been waiting for months. Excellent games in the excellent box, and the fair price of it, 50$ Expand
  94. Kevin
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    You cannot beat the value of this collection. The whole Half-Life 2 series to date is unparalleled, Portal is one of the most original and fun games ever, and Team Fortress 2 is the best multiplayer experience i've ever had. Buy this game.
  95. AlexM.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Every game in the Orange box is great gaming expierience. Portal is much better than i thought before buying, because of the extreme new gameplay. Team Fortress 2 is just fun to play and Episode Two is another well done Half Life part.
  96. TimW.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Perfect. This Pack is seriously the best money I've spent since I got a PC. TF2 is the best in between things multiplayer game ever, you can jump on for 15 minutes, have a blast and jump out -- no long round times waiting. Ep2 while not perfect, is still the continuation of a wonderful story. Portal is the best single player game I've played (and funny to boot) since Half-Life. Added bonus of HL2 + HL2 Ep1. Expand
  97. JohnE.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just You cannot deny that this is the best deal ever. 5 games including one game that is considered the best game ever made by many people. I do have a couple of complaints though. This orange box should have come with half life 1 since thats why they made the box orange was to comemerate the first game, and having it would make this a complete package. Another thing is that episode 2 is just so damn short. I hope that the reason episode 2 is so short is because they are investing all of their time into episode 3 because that game is going to have to be the most awsome climax in history. Expand
  98. DavidT
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Great games. The tf2 is addicting I play for about 3 hours a day. Then, portal is another entertaining game I played for about 18 hours straight until I was forced to sleep. Only played a little bit of Half-Life but I like the first one, so the second one seemed better. Great games.
  99. MichaelP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with Great Package! I personally bought it for Team Fortress 2. I also had been waiting for portal which turned out to be better than it used to be. The Three Half Life games were good as expected. After buying it I was hit with fresh material for about a month of gaming. (Playing 4hrs a day, 5 or 6 times a week.) First of all Team Fortress 2 was a great multiplayer experience to play with friends. Portal is creative, and Half Life is a great, mod-able game. I was overall impressed, the only thing I wish was in TF2 was a ladder or ranking system. A couple more game modes would also be nice, but overall an excellent deal. One of the best games of the year. Expand
  100. AndrewG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    You're pretty much a gaming idiot if you do not buy Orange Box. TF2 is shaping up to be one of my favorite games ever. Portal was extremely fun (if for a very short time), and my friend watches me play the episodes in the HL series just because the story is told so well. One of the best purchases I have ever made.
  101. Oct 17, 2010
    0
    There is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphicsThere is just so much about this game that it just can't explain everything with. It has included Half-Life 2 (a clearly more innovative game than Halo), Portal and Team Fortress 2 (an amazing multiplayer game). Half-life 2: It has an innovative game, and to whoever thinks Halo or whatever game is better, think about this. This game has physics. Not the huge explosion high quality graphics physics, REAL PHYSICS. There are puzzles for you to solve using the physics engine, realistic situations in a fictional world and the world fits the game perfectly.

    Portal: Simple gameplay soon to be expanded. You control a Portal gun, and zap from wall to wall, and when it ends, you'll be asking for more.

    Team Fortress 2: Let's put it in a few words: Teamwork, skill, fun, achievements, hats (lol), friends, and cartoon. Put them all together and you have a beautiful multiplayer game.
    Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Leave it to Valve to deliver the goods on such an ambitious game package...The Orange Box is one of the finest compilations of gaming content ever produced. [Nov 2007, p.58]
  2. 95
    Not only do you get the best single player first person shooter ever created, you also get the two next chapters, a 3D puzzle game that also happens to live in the Half-Life universe and a terrifically fun team-based multiplayer first-person shooter. This is a lot of game in one package for only 50 dollars.
  3. 100
    The Orange Box offers everything any fan of first-person shooters could possibly want: some of the best single-player gaming ever in the shape of Half-Life 2 and Episodes One and Two; wonderful innovation from Portal, and the most refined, downright fun team-based online FPS currently available in Team Fortress 2. If that doesn't warrant a 10 out of 10, nothing does.