The Punisher Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Driven by a hatred of crime bordering on insanity, Frank Castle became The Punisher, a one-man army whose mission goes far beyond revenge. Taking on the city's high-powered crime lords, he wreaks havoc on the corrupt with methods reserved for those on the wrong side of the law. "The Punisher" video game represents the best of over 30 years of "Punisher" comic books and depicts some of the grittiest storylines in the Marvel Universe. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. It's not all brutality. The Punisher is also one of the most immersive strategy games ever created. Aim for the head and enjoy.
  2. While the game was awesome, the PC port was less then stellar. The censorship is another area while I was less then pleased.
  3. 80
    A blast to play. Yes, there are many moments where it starts to get monotonous, but then you suddenly hit a new interrogation zone and suddenly it's a bloody fiesta.
  4. The biggest problem with The Punisher, however, is its uninspired gameplay... You'll spend most of your time running and gunning, and after a while it all becomes rather tedious. [Apr 2005, p.72]
  5. Feels empty at its core, with no puzzle solving, crime detection, or strategy of any kind. The Punisher is one of those games you want to play when you just want to go buck wild.
  6. I did like playing the game for the extra modes outside of the normal story mode, since they actually offered up some killer objectives and nice gameplay.
  7. The game, like the movie it was also inspired by, has failed to properly tap into the vivid, dark energy of the comic book. [Feb 2005, p.62]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome i love it ! it was very very different and it still is ! no other game is like this ! u must play it if u like 3rd person shooter and violence XD it has a good story with nice gameplay and a lot of stuff to do after u finish it Expand
  2. LexLuthor
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    It may not be the best shooter but it really makes you feel like the punisher.
  3. DanS.
    Jan 22, 2005
    9
    If you love the comic you will LOVE this game.
  4. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I remember this as my favourite game of the year 2005. I do not read Marvel comics, but since I liked most of Volition's previous work I checked this out. I have played through the game three, maybe four times. It's just so... fun. As games should be. What other games let you dual wield M-60s?
    The excellent levels are probably behind this game's staying power. Straightforward, but also not completely linear. I have noticed new things on every playthrough, and especially the enemy reactions are delightfully varied. The only complaint have is technical: low resolution and muddy colours. This game is also extremely brutal, probably up there with the Manhunt series (which I admit to not having played), and it could have raised quite a fuss had anyone cared.
    Collapse
  5. MatP.
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    I loved Max Payne, and this game is pretty damn similar (with elements of Manhunt and The Getaway), even down to using the Havok engine. Any sequal would need to focus on hand to hand combat, and utlising the scenery more, to distance itself from Max payne. Solid game. Expand
  6. Luke
    Apr 29, 2005
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. I played the demo, and enjoyed it enough to get the full game, and was pleasantly suprised just how much fun i had with it. The graphics are not WOW worthy, especially in light of games like DOOM3 and Halflife2, but they are more than serviceable and occasionally include some nice touches. Character models are fairly decent aswell, with a special mention being the Punisher himself, he looks absolutely perfect. The action is really what it is all about and the game is very good in the multitude of ways it gives you to dispatch of enemies - U will not be left wanting for variety thats for sure. The story isnt too bad aswell and kept me intrigued enough. Sound is decent, with Thomas Jane providing the punishers voice adding that extra feeling of authenticity. The game has boss fights in it which generally werent highlights, but one in particular [recreating the battle between castle and the russian from the movie] is very well done. Gameplay wise the game is like max payne without bullet time, as the reviewers say. But, i enjoyed this game far more than the max payne franchise, i liked the punisher character more and thought the game offered more variety in it then payne. overall, i was decently impressed with what i thought would be a shoddy licenced game. well done Volition. Expand
  7. Grez
    Jun 2, 2005
    7
    Overall, this is an entertaining game. The graphics are somewhat lacking, and the animations are a bit rigid, but much of this can be attributed to the fact the the game utilizes DirectX 8.1 instead of 9. This is the sort of thing that happens with console ports, as games come from a console system with inferior graphics, so there's not the effort involved in creating jaw-dropping visuals like those seen in Half-Life 2. Still, the gameplay is fun, if a bit repetitive, and I have to admit that I smiled with evil glee when I got the chance to do a "special" interrogation (slamming a bad guy's head in a piano, anyone?) or a unique kill. The Punisher is extremely violent, and definitely not for kids under 17, but for those who grew up with the comic book and can get past the gore factor, it is a solid game, even if it's not perfect. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews