Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    90
    At roughly three hours, it presents a fully realized, well-paced story arc with multiple peaks and valleys that does what many episodic games fail to do – wrap things up while leaving the door open for subsequent chapters.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    50
    The game's real problem is simply that it's boring.
  3. Aug 2, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, The Raven's underlying mystery is intriguing enough to continue traipsing back and forth between witnesses and reinvestigating crime scenes. However, the chapter ends on such an abrupt cliffhanger that you won't get much satisfaction out of the experience if you don't plan on playing the next installment.
  4. Aug 7, 2013
    79
    Despite some technical problems, The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief Chapter 1 delivers a compelling story, with interesting characters and believable puzzles. A very good opening that promises even better things to come.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    69
    As a three-episode game, so far we can state it is, indeed, very promising. Its story is fun and engaging, but the game is only available in English and German, which could be an issue for those unfamiliar with these languages.
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    70
    While the logic-based puzzles are never too perplexing, they can require a little too much back-and-forth travel between adjacent rooms, occasionally wearing out the good impression made by each gorgeously rendered setting.
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    75
    The first episode of “The Raven” stumbles out of the gate slightly due to its archaic design and somewhat weak puzzles. Fortunately, it manages to compose itself and stands tall thanks to its strong story and an interesting cast of characters. While it’s definitely doesn’t have the mass appeal of “The Walking Dead”, I’m sure it will find an audience among the lovers of all things mystery.
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The controls occasionally feel clunky. [Issue#141, p.117]
  9. Aug 15, 2013
    65
    The potential is there, but this first episode is a mess.
  10. Jul 23, 2013
    71
    The first part of this series has made me hungry for more. I will be waiting for the second and third parts, as the anticipation was effectively built up in this introduction.
  11. Oct 7, 2013
    84
    Quirky puzzles, nice storyline and out of the ordinary main character make this Agatha Christie tribute stand out from the vast masses of adventure games. If you're searching for mature content, this is your choice. [Aug 2013]
  12. Aug 27, 2013
    75
    Putting on the trail of the mysterious masked thief famous as "Raven", we were able to enjoy a fun but not perfect first episode of a much bigger saga.
  13. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    With so much of the story left to see, it’s hard to make any definitive calls on the overall quality of The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief. As for the first chapter though, I am waiting with baited breath to see where the story goes, and to continue on this adventure with Constable Zellner. For fans of the adventure genre, this is an easy one to recommend. For everyone else, there is nothing quite like a good mystery, and this, so far, is absolutely one of the good ones.
  14. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief may be a refreshing change of pace from the majority of video games on the market and a charming nod to to good, old traditional murder mysteries in the Agatha Christie vein, but as a single chapter in a three-game arc, it's too brief to satisfy, too buggy to impress, and not particularly captivating or engaging. I suppose that makes it a reasonably decent diversion then, but not one that's likely to stick with players for any length of time after the credits roll.
  15. 80
    Its screenplay that copies Agatha Christie's works with optimized gameplay makes a promising adventure game The Raven, suited not only for fans of the genre. Yet, watch out! We are at the very beginning. [Issue#233]
  16. Jul 25, 2013
    65
    The Raven is a gentle, well-crafted mystery, but it just doesn't carry enough interest or intrigue to make you fully invest.
  17. Aug 2, 2013
    70
    King Art manages to install an atmosphere and story that will capture the attention of Agatha Christie styled novels. But they will still have to make do with a less-than perfect interface, and some bugs. More importantly, one will have to trust while waiting for the second and third episodes to be released... and given the price of the lot, maybe it's best to wait for them to come out.
  18. Jul 29, 2013
    82
    The Raven is an engaging and fun point and click whodunit type of mystery/adventure that I'm happy to recommend. This opening act does a great job of hooking the player with an interesting cast characters and a story that I'm eager to play out.
  19. Jul 26, 2013
    75
    Puzzles might not be as engaging as they should be, yet the game does justice to the witty spirit of an Agatha Christie Whodunit.
  20. Jul 20, 2013
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  21. Aug 28, 2013
    75
    The Raven’s story needs time to accelerate, but when it did, it left me waiting for the next episode. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.58]
  22. Jul 22, 2013
    88
    Given all of that, if you enjoy point & click adventures, it's easy for me to suggest that you'd like this game. If you are also the type of person who watches shows like Castle or Rosemary & Thyme, "easy" changes to "no-brainer." The only thing about it that I don't like is that the other two chapters haven't already been released.
  23. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    A wondrous return by King Art Games. The Raven Ep1 sows the field in anticipation for a wonderful yet classic detective adventure.
  24. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Convincing characters, a well-realised, unusual setting and sensible puzzles. All evidence points to a strong opening for this episodic adventure series.
  25. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    Has everything you want from this kind of cozy mystery: a high-stakes crime, over-the-top suspects and a plucky everyman sleuth. The story and acting are pitch-perfect and will engage even the fussiest armchair detectives, so long as they can put up with the game's mechanical shortcomings.
  26. Jul 19, 2013
    60
    While the game should be commended for its engaging plot and compelling narrative, more intuitive puzzles would have made Zellner's investigation far more enjoyable.
  27. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    A thrilling detective adventure game that will get you into the plot, where you play the main role, with its story and its cinematic narratives. Even though you won't find many logical challenges, and your gameplay interactions will be very limited, surely you will have fun. This is the kind of a game title you should not miss.
  28. Jul 23, 2013
    80
    The first episode of The Raven offers up a captivating story, intriguing characters and brilliant audio production to get the three-part series on track right away.
  29. Aug 12, 2013
    85
    A very good first episode, with great atmosphere and a very nice and “realistic” approach to puzzle solving. It's not a triple A title, but it's got a very nice visual stile, some great music and a lovable “old school movies” feel.
  30. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    The game excels in nearly all aspects of the genre and adds a few fresh ideas but, in the end, it may struggle to succeed due to the aversion some people have to a game of this type. But with its simple UI, logical puzzles, fantastic plot and beautiful setting, it’s an excellent place to start for those who have never dabbled in an adventure game.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 7 out of 22
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    Unfortunately I let the hype get me and I bought this game. This game is soooo boring, all you
    do is run around and talk to a thousand people
    to get a story, a really
    boring story at that, long winded, not exciting or suspenseful at all,
    only 2-3 sort of fun thinking puzzles or things to solve....and it's not even
    the full game, it leaves you hanging off a cliff and doesn't even let
    you know this is only ONE part of a 3 part series, the other 2 are not
    out yet......so disappointed, and this game is lame. I can not emphasize how boring this game was and I'm really into nancy drew, mystery, little puzzle games which everyone keeps saying this is like. Umm no, all it is is way way way way way too much TALKING TO BORING CHARACTERS, way to slow. It's also slow and your character walks around to 7 other places before he gets to
    where you pointed him in the first place and many times he froze up
    walking in place for 5 minutes and I had to cold boot the whole computer
    to get the game to close.......
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Excellent game! Lots of fun for any mystery lover. The atmosphere is beautiful, and the characters were pretty interesting. I usually don't play adventure games, but was very impressed with this one. Full Review »
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. One of the worst adventure games I have ever played. It sums up pretty much like this:

    The main character is a boring 65 year old Swiss guy; there is a murdering German Nazi Physician; a French Interpol-Agent with a drug addiction; and a "heroic" arab thief, that loves his white girl with her father-daughter-problems; and the Raven, an extremely aggressive but boring English dude. Put that all in a blender and you get the worst adventure story ever, with terrible writing, terrible voice acting, numerous plotholes, terribly easy puzzles and clunky and annoying movement.

    I have played numerous Adventure games, but this one probably takes the cake as probably the worst one ever. Don't read the fake reviews that the developers have written here. Don't buy this game, you will regret it.
    Full Review »