Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across 1960's Europe, The Raven is a stunning fast-paced point-and-click adventure journeying through thrilling and dense atmospheres with the aim of catching the art burglar, The Raven. Players follow The Raven's trademark black feather clues to capture the thief and to protect aSet across 1960's Europe, The Raven is a stunning fast-paced point-and-click adventure journeying through thrilling and dense atmospheres with the aim of catching the art burglar, The Raven. Players follow The Raven's trademark black feather clues to capture the thief and to protect a legendary sapphire, the "Eye of the Sphinx" on its journey from Switzerland to Egypt. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    90
    With so much of the story left to see, it’s hard to make any definitive calls on the overall quality of The Raven: Legacy of a Master Thief. As for the first chapter though, I am waiting with baited breath to see where the story goes, and to continue on this adventure with Constable Zellner. For fans of the adventure genre, this is an easy one to recommend. For everyone else, there is nothing quite like a good mystery, and this, so far, is absolutely one of the good ones.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    85
    A very good first episode, with great atmosphere and a very nice and “realistic” approach to puzzle solving. It's not a triple A title, but it's got a very nice visual stile, some great music and a lovable “old school movies” feel.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    80
    A thrilling detective adventure game that will get you into the plot, where you play the main role, with its story and its cinematic narratives. Even though you won't find many logical challenges, and your gameplay interactions will be very limited, surely you will have fun. This is the kind of a game title you should not miss.
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    75
    Where The Raven excels is in the portrayal of its characters, its game world and its mystery.
  5. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The controls occasionally feel clunky. [Issue#141, p.117]
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Chase a notorious and presumed dead masterthief in this new point and click adventure game by the creators of The Book of Unwritten Tales. In the first episode you play as swiss police officer investigating the ravens latest heist. Experience exotic locations such as the famous orient express train or a luxurious cruise ship in the Mediterranean and solve mostly logical, simple riddles.
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    50
    The game's real problem is simply that it's boring.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Excellent game! Lots of fun for any mystery lover. The atmosphere is beautiful, and the characters were pretty interesting. I usually don'tExcellent game! Lots of fun for any mystery lover. The atmosphere is beautiful, and the characters were pretty interesting. I usually don't play adventure games, but was very impressed with this one. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I love this game and I can't wait to play the second part. The Story makes this game really awesome. The puzzles are very logical and theI love this game and I can't wait to play the second part. The Story makes this game really awesome. The puzzles are very logical and the characters are very interesting. The graphics could be a little bit more realistic but the game itself compensates this a million times! :-)
    definite recommendation!
    Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers. If you are a reasonably mature, intelligent person, and can find entertainment in video games without needing to shoot everything on the screen, you will enjoy this game. The Gamespot review really makes me angry, and you should ignore it because the reviewer obviously doesn't appreciate adventure games. In The Raven, the settings, artwork, voice acting, soundtrack, and production quality are all amazing. The gameplay is very good as well. Most of the puzzles are intuitive, and make sense, without being overly easy. You can tell that a lot of thought and care went into the design of this game. There are plenty of twists and turns in this first episode alone, and while in the beginning you MAY begin to think the game is boring and slow, I promise you that it picks up very soon and becomes exciting. It's not just about a thief- a lot of other stuff happens, and the plot really thickens and builds on itself. If you like mysteries AT ALL, you owe it to yourself to play this. Give it a chance and *minor spoilers* after you open the locked door and find the purse, things really get interesting. Collapse
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    An enjoyable game, steady paced with lots of dialogue a nice break from an FPS for me and graphically and musically good also. Basic and easyAn enjoyable game, steady paced with lots of dialogue a nice break from an FPS for me and graphically and musically good also. Basic and easy to grasp controls with a decent story in 3 parts, 1st part takes around 3-4 hours to complete so for a £20 release for all 3 parts not a bad deal. The puzzles are essentially straight forward, some easier some harder than others but not to the extent that you need to constantly alt-tab out to a walkthrough. I can't give this game a 10 as that would be silly as it is not a AAA release that takes you to the next level of invention, complexity or graphics but what it does do it does very nicely and is a great example of a point and click game lovers of George Stobart in the Broken Sword games this will certainly appeal to you its the closest comparison i can make for would be purchasers. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    I liked very much this studio's last game, The Book of Unwritten Tales. One of the best of the genre. So I was looking forward for this game.I liked very much this studio's last game, The Book of Unwritten Tales. One of the best of the genre. So I was looking forward for this game. Although it isn't a bad game, I miss the sense of humour of the aforementioned game. Still it has some puns in the game albeit this one is in a rather classic setting that leaves less territory for fun.

    Pros:
    Good, logical, clean puzzles, nothing surreal. In consequence it is rather easy (even for me... Sometimes if feels rather like an interactive movie (you decide it's a pro or con I have nothing against it).
    Good characters, OK graphics.

    Cons:
    IT IS SLOOOOWWW...
    There must be a better way to set the controls for an adventure game: I click, character goes to the spot and in most of the time I can't do anything else. Walking through the screen takes time, so it would be better if I could "look around" with the cursor... And also: the character has to go to a specific spot to begin a certain movement, the he makes some footsteps on the same spot to get in the position for the next animation... It's a drag, it's so cumbersome. Double click not always working for location change (steps, opening doors) and the characters can't run.
    Bugs characters disappear/reappear, or Adil walks through Mrs. Westmacott in Kairo Museum and the hotspot is on the wrong place... And there are quite a few bugs like that. The space button not showing sometimes the hotspots on their real locations. (Was this game tested?)
    I played the German version and the voices are sometimes off, or I have to wait for a few seconds for the next line of text. Not the characters are boring (as other reviewers stated), but the way they are presented, the pauses between every line. Sometimes the devs relied on mimics, but it's just not working. The ingame movies' pre-rendered facial emotions are mostly OK, but the real-time characters' emotions are pathetic (e.g. Miss Miller's teeth are independent from the rest of her face... ).
    If you miss a speech you can't listen to it again, only if you load back a saved game...
    Around 20% percent of this game is waiting for voices, loading, walking, animations, etc...
    Still I liked the game, not a revolutionary title, but one to spend a few hours with. Let's hope there will be a TBOUT3 on the level of the 1st one.
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    I'm mystified how this game is getting such high ratings. I'm an adventure game player and I can tell you that this game is BEYOND TEDIOUSI'm mystified how this game is getting such high ratings. I'm an adventure game player and I can tell you that this game is BEYOND TEDIOUS and frustrating. At one point, the train car crashes and all the lights go out so you're left to basically feel your way around to find four different items (including matches) to light a torch. It's not fun at all. The only good thing I can say about this game is the decent graphics and a likable main character. It takes too long for the characters to react, for example, when I want to walk from point A to point B, I have to wait for the character to turn around, pause, then start walking to get to point B, and it is SLOW. Also, the dialogue is redundant and ENDLESS. Not fun at ALL. Unless you want to be VERY fustrated, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    This review is for the xbox 360 version. I played through the first two episodes struggling with many crashes and glitches and although itThis review is for the xbox 360 version. I played through the first two episodes struggling with many crashes and glitches and although it was not a great game I was determined to finish it. When I got to the third episode the game would not load. I tried all the suggestions on the forums but none of this worked so I deleted the whole game from my console. This kind of thing should not be allowed to happen. I know this is happening to other people and why the game is on sale when it does this is beyond me. This game is not good enough to justify this kind of frustration and is a waste of your time. Do Not Buy This Game even if it is on sale, you will end up angry like me. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews