User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 66
  2. Negative: 15 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    Unfortunately I let the hype get me and I bought this game. This game is soooo boring, all you
    do is run around and talk to a thousand people to get a story, a really
    boring story at that, long winded, not exciting or suspenseful at all,
    only 2-3 sort of fun thinking puzzles or things to solve....and it's not even
    the full game, it leaves you hanging off a cliff and doesn't even let

    you know this is only ONE part of a 3 part series, the other 2 are not
    out yet......so disappointed, and this game is lame. I can not emphasize how boring this game was and I'm really into nancy drew, mystery, little puzzle games which everyone keeps saying this is like. Umm no, all it is is way way way way way too much TALKING TO BORING CHARACTERS, way to slow. It's also slow and your character walks around to 7 other places before he gets to
    where you pointed him in the first place and many times he froze up
    walking in place for 5 minutes and I had to cold boot the whole computer
    to get the game to close.......
    Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This not a good adventure game. Most of the characters are bland, the story is boring and becomes unbearble in the 2nd episode, the 2 puzzles in the game are made for the brain dead, character movement is extremely aggravating at times. This was bad buy, that I regret deeply. And this is coming from a fan of adventure games.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the worst adventure games I have ever played. It sums up pretty much like this:

    The main character is a boring 65 year old Swiss guy; there is a murdering German Nazi Physician; a French Interpol-Agent with a drug addiction; and a "heroic" arab thief, that loves his white girl with her father-daughter-problems; and the Raven, an extremely aggressive but boring English dude. Put that all in a blender and you get the worst adventure story ever, with terrible writing, terrible voice acting, numerous plotholes, terribly easy puzzles and clunky and annoying movement.

    I have played numerous Adventure games, but this one probably takes the cake as probably the worst one ever. Don't read the fake reviews that the developers have written here. Don't buy this game, you will regret it.
    Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I am usually open to point & click games, but this one is just EXTREEEMELY boring, terrible control of movements, it's just really bad.Just in first chapter it can take 2 minutes just to try to come back in previous wagons, like you click an the character just stay still, staying in the same zone.It is soooo frustrating like where ever i click on the screen, my char just turn around an take about 60 seconds before a manage to make him switch wagon.Terrible.I just bough it 2 hours ago & I can't believe i lost my time on it.Already uninstalled it and just put everything in my trashcan.Horrible game.Just play LA noire if u want same kinda game, at least LA was controlable.I don't get how this crap is getting good reviews.I rather play the boardgame ''clues'' than this crap. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like some of my fellow critics, I have a really hard time understanding how this game could get such high ratings. After reading about "The Raven", I expected a suspenseful, fun adventure with an interesting story, but unfortunately it turned out to be quite the opposite.
    I could not play more than one hour at a time, I literally almost fell asleep after a while.

    Most of the time I just skipped the dialogues, because I found them to be extremely long and somehow unnatural, and the synchronisation was really bad as well. Although, after changing the language to German (which is my first language) it improved a little.
    Basically, the dialogues were what bothered me most, because I did not like the main character at all based on what he said and the way he talked, so they kind of ruined the whole experience for me.
    The other characters seemed fake and stereotypical as well, sadly.

    Moving around was unnerving, mostly because the character walked extremely slowly. I had difficulties getting from one part of a room to another, because he often stopped moving right at the edge of the screen.

    The story itself was boring and predictable, and one part of the first chapter bothered me quite a lot. I neither saw nor talked to the Baroness, and therefore did not know she was on board the train (I seemed to have overlooked her cabin door), it was obviously optional to complete the "quest" to find her purse. Yet, when I got to the part on the cruise ship and talked to people, I felt like I had missed something important.

    The graphics could definitely be better, but the music was nice it was actually the best part of the game.

    In conclusion, "The Raven" was definitely not for me. What a disappointment!
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    I'm mystified how this game is getting such high ratings. I'm an adventure game player and I can tell you that this game is BEYOND TEDIOUS and frustrating. At one point, the train car crashes and all the lights go out so you're left to basically feel your way around to find four different items (including matches) to light a torch. It's not fun at all. The only good thing I can say about this game is the decent graphics and a likable main character. It takes too long for the characters to react, for example, when I want to walk from point A to point B, I have to wait for the character to turn around, pause, then start walking to get to point B, and it is SLOW. Also, the dialogue is redundant and ENDLESS. Not fun at ALL. Unless you want to be VERY fustrated, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    This is an old Choose Your Own Adventure book in video game format. The characters are flat and the story didn't hook me before the end of the first chapter. The Raven might appeal to people that enjoy the genre, but this game is bad for casual gaming.
  8. Jul 27, 2014
    0
    This review is for the xbox 360 version. I played through the first two episodes struggling with many crashes and glitches and although it was not a great game I was determined to finish it. When I got to the third episode the game would not load. I tried all the suggestions on the forums but none of this worked so I deleted the whole game from my console. This kind of thing should not be allowed to happen. I know this is happening to other people and why the game is on sale when it does this is beyond me. This game is not good enough to justify this kind of frustration and is a waste of your time. Do Not Buy This Game even if it is on sale, you will end up angry like me. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    The controls occasionally feel clunky. [Issue#141, p.117]
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    84
    Quirky puzzles, nice storyline and out of the ordinary main character make this Agatha Christie tribute stand out from the vast masses of adventure games. If you're searching for mature content, this is your choice. [Aug 2013]
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    66
    The first episode of The Raven trilogy is blink-and-you-miss-it short. The next time we’ll see the same events from the criminal’s point of view. Here is hoping that his version of the story is more interesting.