User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 242

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    This is it. To me and I guess to many others. The as yet still unsurpassed (the sequel almost did though) pinnacle of all Adventure Games. It's The Secret of Monkey Island. I cannot give this the full 10 out of 10 because it is a remake relaunch of a classic, but there has been taken a lot of good effort to make it work on the newer gaming systems. I like the new graphics style,This is it. To me and I guess to many others. The as yet still unsurpassed (the sequel almost did though) pinnacle of all Adventure Games. It's The Secret of Monkey Island. I cannot give this the full 10 out of 10 because it is a remake relaunch of a classic, but there has been taken a lot of good effort to make it work on the newer gaming systems. I like the new graphics style, especially since you have the option to seamlessly switch between that and the 'true' pixelated original version. It may be a pretty obvious cash-in, but it's been done with lots of care about the game and consideration of both old and new fans. So yes, take my money, again, for the same game. It's allright, it has been about 20 years anyway. Expand
  2. AWG
    Jul 7, 2013
    8
    "The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition" is "The Secret of Monkey Island" with a modern set of graphics and sounds. What does this mean? This means that one of the best adventures in the history of gaming got even better.
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    I always regretted never playing the original when it came out, but at the time the whole pirate theme was unappealing. I'm so glad that Telltale games decided to remake this and give me a chance to play such an iconic game. Yes the age of the point and click adventure has come and gone, and yes allot of my feeling towards this game and games like it is fueled by nostalgia, but hey: II always regretted never playing the original when it came out, but at the time the whole pirate theme was unappealing. I'm so glad that Telltale games decided to remake this and give me a chance to play such an iconic game. Yes the age of the point and click adventure has come and gone, and yes allot of my feeling towards this game and games like it is fueled by nostalgia, but hey: I still like it, regardless of the reason. The visuals are top notch, the voice acting is brilliant, the writing and humor are just first rate. Overall: A brilliant game that sparks warm fuzzy feeling of the good old days. A real shame that many of the younger generation can't appreciate this game for what it is: A piece of gaming history, preserved in a 100% loyal remake. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    I hadn't played the original game. At first, the graphics and animation surprised me. But when you play it, you just forget everything. The whole plot is hilarious, as well as the puzzles. They are not illogical, you just need to think like the main protagonist would. And let me tell you, this is a great experience. The only thing I've been disappointed with is the way they re-designedI hadn't played the original game. At first, the graphics and animation surprised me. But when you play it, you just forget everything. The whole plot is hilarious, as well as the puzzles. They are not illogical, you just need to think like the main protagonist would. And let me tell you, this is a great experience. The only thing I've been disappointed with is the way they re-designed Guybrush; the Monkey Island 2: SE version is much better in my opinion. Anyway, I believe The Secret of Monkey Island is a hilarious adventure classic, and this Special Edition is a great way to make people discover it if they didn't get to play it before. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Simply brilliant, one of my favourite games as a spotty youth is back for me to enjoy as my hair starts to turn grey. A flawless update to a truly classic game. Long live Guybrush Threepwood!
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I am really loving this game. The puzzles are challenging, the humor is spectacular and the graphics and sound are top notch. If you get stuck, the game has a great hint system so you can always keep moving forward if you are stumped. Would definitely recommend this game!
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    Guybrush Threepwood would perhaps be my favourite video game character and this remake has enhanced everything thats great about him. This is a true and solid remake shinning up one of the best adventure games of all time for a modern play through. The question does have to be asked to if Monkey Island has held up over the years and the answer is most certainly YES! Monkey Island is one ofGuybrush Threepwood would perhaps be my favourite video game character and this remake has enhanced everything thats great about him. This is a true and solid remake shinning up one of the best adventure games of all time for a modern play through. The question does have to be asked to if Monkey Island has held up over the years and the answer is most certainly YES! Monkey Island is one of the greats, its story, witty humour, puzzles, and formula are brilliant and only gamers whom are impatient, have bad taste or short attention spans would disagree. HIGHLY recommended to intelligent gamers.â Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    A great way for the younger generation of gamers to discover the charm of classic adventure games. What better way to do that by introducing them to Ron Gilbert's classic Monkey Island?
  9. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Great game, never get bored even if its from 1990, I just love it, the sound, the storyline, everything! I recommend it to everyone who just wanna play an amazing game
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    This game has a good humor and likeable characters going for it. I found the going at first fun, but toward the end things got to be a grind, and I had to look up some hints several times. I was glad when it was over, although like I said, I did find the humor entertaining. Overall, I'm not a huge fan of adventures, and while this was entertaining, it also held several of the sameThis game has a good humor and likeable characters going for it. I found the going at first fun, but toward the end things got to be a grind, and I had to look up some hints several times. I was glad when it was over, although like I said, I did find the humor entertaining. Overall, I'm not a huge fan of adventures, and while this was entertaining, it also held several of the same frustrations that adventure games inexplicably fall into - that make you think "how would I have ever thought to do that - and I'm not even sure why I would want to do that even knowing I should do it?" But that taken, it was entertaining with likeable characters. Play it if you have interest, but I'd guess you can find other things that would be similarly or more enjoyable. Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    I haven't played a game with so illogical puzzles as in this one.
    The best thing is, it has a solution button and you'll find yourselves spamming it. Your other option is try everything on everything. To me, this high_score is because of pure nostalgia.
  12. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    The classic adventure game Monkey Island receives a make-over. But who is it for? Those of us who remember this game fondly don't need new graphics sound effects to draw us in, we still like it. For a new generation of gamers accustomed to faster-paced and more graphically intensive titles, I can't imagine that a cartoony make-over such as this is likely to make much of a difference. TheThe classic adventure game Monkey Island receives a make-over. But who is it for? Those of us who remember this game fondly don't need new graphics sound effects to draw us in, we still like it. For a new generation of gamers accustomed to faster-paced and more graphically intensive titles, I can't imagine that a cartoony make-over such as this is likely to make much of a difference. The option to switch back and forth between the original and new version is really the most interesting thing to do here but it's not something I would have been asking for if it had never been provided. At the end of the day is the game still fun to play? Absolutely, it's one of the best games of all time. Is this the "definitive" version of the game? Nah, find an original copy and boot it up on ScummVm or Dosbox. Expand
  13. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    The best adventure game ever!
    Great story, great characters, and this special edition version add a beautiful graphics.
    All player must buy it and finish it!
  14. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Monkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has aMonkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has a built-in walk-through which ruins the game as it is to hard to resist, and should not be pressed until you are truly stuck. Regardless, The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition is definitely worth full price. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 87
    Playing this adventure will take you back to a simpler, more innocent time before games needed to bash us over the head with ultra violence to get our attention. They definitely don't make 'em like this anymore.
  2. 90
    If you cut your teeth on, say, Telltale's various Sam & Max or Strong Bad series, you're about to find out exactly what a hardcore adventure game plays like.
  3. Monkey Island Special Edition is the well done remake of a classic game. The controls may not be perfect, but the graphics and sound make up for it.