User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 294

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2017
    9
    Beautiful, fun and down right hilarious it is easy to see why The Secret of Monkey Island is one of the most beloved adventure games of all time. Some of the gameplay may be a little old fashioned but the characters, humour and situations are timeless and with the new lick of paint the game doesn't show it's age. If you've never played it before buy it now; if you haven't played it for aBeautiful, fun and down right hilarious it is easy to see why The Secret of Monkey Island is one of the most beloved adventure games of all time. Some of the gameplay may be a little old fashioned but the characters, humour and situations are timeless and with the new lick of paint the game doesn't show it's age. If you've never played it before buy it now; if you haven't played it for a while this is the perfect package to get back in the saddle and give Guybrush another run out. Expand
  2. Dec 17, 2016
    9
    Hála az égnek eljött az az idő, amikor a régi nagy klasszikusokkal is játszhatunk a mai gépeken. Ezt a játékot már régen ki akartam próbálni és a nevéhez méltóan szétröhögtem az agyam Guybrush Threepwood esetlen kalózkodásain.
  3. Mar 27, 2016
    7
    The game is really funny and it's where it all starts, it's exciting to meet all the characters and it's really fun at first, however, the puzzles in this Monkey Island are pretty ilogical compared to Curse, Escape, or Tales. Towards the end of the game you'll find yourself spamming the hint button and the worst thing is after pressing it you won't be like "oooh, so it was like that",The game is really funny and it's where it all starts, it's exciting to meet all the characters and it's really fun at first, however, the puzzles in this Monkey Island are pretty ilogical compared to Curse, Escape, or Tales. Towards the end of the game you'll find yourself spamming the hint button and the worst thing is after pressing it you won't be like "oooh, so it was like that", you'll be like "wtf, that didn't make sense", which is what you want to stay away from in an Adventure game. However, this is a very very old game so probably things were seen a different way back then but nowadays I think it's not good to abuse illogical puzzles so much. Anyways, the game is funny and interesting, it's just frustrating at times. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Monkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has aMonkey Island is a classic that breathes new life into the original from the 90 's. It has great humour, well done music and is one of the most memorable games I have ever played. It has the option to switch between the retro and new graphics, which appeals to both old and new people to the genre. However, the old graphics leave more room for imagination and the game technically has a built-in walk-through which ruins the game as it is to hard to resist, and should not be pressed until you are truly stuck. Regardless, The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition is definitely worth full price. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    The classic adventure game Monkey Island receives a make-over. But who is it for? Those of us who remember this game fondly don't need new graphics sound effects to draw us in, we still like it. For a new generation of gamers accustomed to faster-paced and more graphically intensive titles, I can't imagine that a cartoony make-over such as this is likely to make much of a difference. TheThe classic adventure game Monkey Island receives a make-over. But who is it for? Those of us who remember this game fondly don't need new graphics sound effects to draw us in, we still like it. For a new generation of gamers accustomed to faster-paced and more graphically intensive titles, I can't imagine that a cartoony make-over such as this is likely to make much of a difference. The option to switch back and forth between the original and new version is really the most interesting thing to do here but it's not something I would have been asking for if it had never been provided. At the end of the day is the game still fun to play? Absolutely, it's one of the best games of all time. Is this the "definitive" version of the game? Nah, find an original copy and boot it up on ScummVm or Dosbox. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    The best adventure game ever!
    Great story, great characters, and this special edition version add a beautiful graphics.
    All player must buy it and finish it!
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I am really loving this game. The puzzles are challenging, the humor is spectacular and the graphics and sound are top notch. If you get stuck, the game has a great hint system so you can always keep moving forward if you are stumped. Would definitely recommend this game!
  8. AWG
    Jul 7, 2013
    8
    "The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition" is "The Secret of Monkey Island" with a modern set of graphics and sounds. What does this mean? This means that one of the best adventures in the history of gaming got even better.
  9. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Simply brilliant, one of my favourite games as a spotty youth is back for me to enjoy as my hair starts to turn grey. A flawless update to a truly classic game. Long live Guybrush Threepwood!
  10. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    I always regretted never playing the original when it came out, but at the time the whole pirate theme was unappealing. I'm so glad that Telltale games decided to remake this and give me a chance to play such an iconic game. Yes the age of the point and click adventure has come and gone, and yes allot of my feeling towards this game and games like it is fueled by nostalgia, but hey: II always regretted never playing the original when it came out, but at the time the whole pirate theme was unappealing. I'm so glad that Telltale games decided to remake this and give me a chance to play such an iconic game. Yes the age of the point and click adventure has come and gone, and yes allot of my feeling towards this game and games like it is fueled by nostalgia, but hey: I still like it, regardless of the reason. The visuals are top notch, the voice acting is brilliant, the writing and humor are just first rate. Overall: A brilliant game that sparks warm fuzzy feeling of the good old days. A real shame that many of the younger generation can't appreciate this game for what it is: A piece of gaming history, preserved in a 100% loyal remake. Expand
  11. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    This game has a good humor and likeable characters going for it. I found the going at first fun, but toward the end things got to be a grind, and I had to look up some hints several times. I was glad when it was over, although like I said, I did find the humor entertaining. Overall, I'm not a huge fan of adventures, and while this was entertaining, it also held several of the sameThis game has a good humor and likeable characters going for it. I found the going at first fun, but toward the end things got to be a grind, and I had to look up some hints several times. I was glad when it was over, although like I said, I did find the humor entertaining. Overall, I'm not a huge fan of adventures, and while this was entertaining, it also held several of the same frustrations that adventure games inexplicably fall into - that make you think "how would I have ever thought to do that - and I'm not even sure why I would want to do that even knowing I should do it?" But that taken, it was entertaining with likeable characters. Play it if you have interest, but I'd guess you can find other things that would be similarly or more enjoyable. Expand
  12. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    This is it. To me and I guess to many others. The as yet still unsurpassed (the sequel almost did though) pinnacle of all Adventure Games. It's The Secret of Monkey Island. I cannot give this the full 10 out of 10 because it is a remake relaunch of a classic, but there has been taken a lot of good effort to make it work on the newer gaming systems. I like the new graphics style,This is it. To me and I guess to many others. The as yet still unsurpassed (the sequel almost did though) pinnacle of all Adventure Games. It's The Secret of Monkey Island. I cannot give this the full 10 out of 10 because it is a remake relaunch of a classic, but there has been taken a lot of good effort to make it work on the newer gaming systems. I like the new graphics style, especially since you have the option to seamlessly switch between that and the 'true' pixelated original version. It may be a pretty obvious cash-in, but it's been done with lots of care about the game and consideration of both old and new fans. So yes, take my money, again, for the same game. It's allright, it has been about 20 years anyway. Expand
  13. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    I hadn't played the original game. At first, the graphics and animation surprised me. But when you play it, you just forget everything. The whole plot is hilarious, as well as the puzzles. They are not illogical, you just need to think like the main protagonist would. And let me tell you, this is a great experience. The only thing I've been disappointed with is the way they re-designedI hadn't played the original game. At first, the graphics and animation surprised me. But when you play it, you just forget everything. The whole plot is hilarious, as well as the puzzles. They are not illogical, you just need to think like the main protagonist would. And let me tell you, this is a great experience. The only thing I've been disappointed with is the way they re-designed Guybrush; the Monkey Island 2: SE version is much better in my opinion. Anyway, I believe The Secret of Monkey Island is a hilarious adventure classic, and this Special Edition is a great way to make people discover it if they didn't get to play it before. Expand
  14. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Great game, never get bored even if its from 1990, I just love it, the sound, the storyline, everything! I recommend it to everyone who just wanna play an amazing game
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    A great way for the younger generation of gamers to discover the charm of classic adventure games. What better way to do that by introducing them to Ron Gilbert's classic Monkey Island?
  16. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    Guybrush Threepwood would perhaps be my favourite video game character and this remake has enhanced everything thats great about him. This is a true and solid remake shinning up one of the best adventure games of all time for a modern play through. The question does have to be asked to if Monkey Island has held up over the years and the answer is most certainly YES! Monkey Island is one ofGuybrush Threepwood would perhaps be my favourite video game character and this remake has enhanced everything thats great about him. This is a true and solid remake shinning up one of the best adventure games of all time for a modern play through. The question does have to be asked to if Monkey Island has held up over the years and the answer is most certainly YES! Monkey Island is one of the greats, its story, witty humour, puzzles, and formula are brilliant and only gamers whom are impatient, have bad taste or short attention spans would disagree. HIGHLY recommended to intelligent gamers.â Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    I haven't played a game with so illogical puzzles as in this one.
    The best thing is, it has a solution button and you'll find yourselves spamming it. Your other option is try everything on everything. To me, this high_score is because of pure nostalgia.
  18. Erica
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    One thing many people who've given the game low reviews seem to 'ignore' is the fact that the game is almost 20 years old. It was not 'reimagined', simply given a makeover and given a voice. A lot of the elements in the game are easy, or in some cases (like myself) played it back in 1990 and somehow remember exactly what to do. So remember, you can't really One thing many people who've given the game low reviews seem to 'ignore' is the fact that the game is almost 20 years old. It was not 'reimagined', simply given a makeover and given a voice. A lot of the elements in the game are easy, or in some cases (like myself) played it back in 1990 and somehow remember exactly what to do. So remember, you can't really judge it based on today's standards and call it a fair judgment. For me, it brought back memories of being 7 and watching eagerly as my dad installed the game onto our computer so I could play it. Collapse
  19. JonN
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Love it. I had played the original before, and the remake adds some sweet icing to the cake with renewed graphics and stellar voice acting. It's always interesting to see the difference when using the nifty F10 button to transition between the original and remade interface and graphics at ANY time while playing.
  20. MicheleL
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    I love the Monkey Island games as well as most of the old adventure games from that time. It makes me sad that there aren't more games like this coming out all the time, but I'm glad to see that enough people love them that they're still hanging on out there among all the 1st person shooters. Monkey Island is one of the best of these types of games and I am thrilled that I love the Monkey Island games as well as most of the old adventure games from that time. It makes me sad that there aren't more games like this coming out all the time, but I'm glad to see that enough people love them that they're still hanging on out there among all the 1st person shooters. Monkey Island is one of the best of these types of games and I am thrilled that this classic was remade with new graphics. Long live Monkey Island! Expand
  21. Tarkus
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    This remake is wonderfully done: the new graphic is just great, and the voices aswell. The problem is that it is too, too, very short. It lasts like 5/6 hours or so, and in the end you feel disappointed, because you would have expected more. Honestly, I don't think it was even worth buying it, even if it's just at a very cheap price. (P.S: Don't use H key!!! The help key: This remake is wonderfully done: the new graphic is just great, and the voices aswell. The problem is that it is too, too, very short. It lasts like 5/6 hours or so, and in the end you feel disappointed, because you would have expected more. Honestly, I don't think it was even worth buying it, even if it's just at a very cheap price. (P.S: Don't use H key!!! The help key: the adventure is already so damnit short, you don't want to make it even shorter and easier than it is already...) Expand
  22. SteveL.
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    I love this game.
  23. [ANONYMOUS]
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    I have few memories of the original game, but I think this is as fantastic as it was in 1990. I purchased it on steam for 4.49 euros and I have been playing for 5 hours no-stop this afternoon. Really worth the price. Brilliant.
  24. MaxieD.
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    One of the best adventure games ever!! Graphic, sounds and all things inside the game are amazing! I play all 4 Monkey's adventure... this is the best! I hope that Lucasarts convert all Monkey Island adventures with this style!!!
  25. MichaelE.
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    It is an amasing game. very Nolstalgic. it stays true to the origonal. and the "F10" Key reverts it back to a perfect rendition of the original. graphics and all. why not a 10? the interface for the new graphic vertion of this game is so outstandingly bad. Although a good concept it doesn't really work.
  26. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    Perfect remake of a classic game. The option to switch between 'old' & 'new' makes it amazing. Captures the spirit and style of the original perfectly. I hope other developers take notes on how to re-issue a classic. A whole new generation can appreciate MI!! And, if they want to know what it was like before, just hit F10. Love it. More please :-)
  27. FiveAirtonic
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Absolutly free 3D flash game. The best! Must play! Tanki Online
  28. MattA
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Fantastic to see this back and with a vengeance too because its a top seller. Awesome graphics, fantastic sound and the best storyline ever in any adventure game...ever.. cant wait to see if they remaster MI2 or something else... they didn't rerelease MI2, Maniac Mansion or Zak McKracken.. so lets see if one of those 3 come out remastered.. my money is of course on MI2.
  29. MartinI
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Sweet. never played this game, started off with Monkey island 2 in 1992. So it was fun to play this game in a new design, got it cheap att steam. well worth the money.
  30. AlexC
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Certainly brings back memories!!! Bought it cheaply off Steam...having a lot of fun! Get this if you loved the original. Also a great feature - press F10 and switch between the new graphics and the original graphics.
  31. MartinL
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    Great game! I hope they'll remake Lechuck's revenge and maniac mansion too!
  32. RobR
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Wonderful remake of an masterpiece in gaming history! Excellent game, superb voice-acting and real funny! Its cheap and RECOMMENDED!!!
  33. BasR
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    I really like this game and hope that lucasarts wil remake more of this classic adventure games.
  34. MatteoS
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    Incredible. Just Secret of Monkey Island back with a wonderful high quality graphic, new wonderful effects and an amazing sounds.
  35. GuybrushThreepwood
    Jul 18, 2009
    10
    Monkey Island returns! Relive all the classic comedy/adventure with updated graphics that look stunning, new ambient music and voice acting (from the other games) - this really makes MI come to life again.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 87
    Playing this adventure will take you back to a simpler, more innocent time before games needed to bash us over the head with ultra violence to get our attention. They definitely don't make 'em like this anymore.
  2. 90
    If you cut your teeth on, say, Telltale's various Sam & Max or Strong Bad series, you're about to find out exactly what a hardcore adventure game plays like.
  3. Monkey Island Special Edition is the well done remake of a classic game. The controls may not be perfect, but the graphics and sound make up for it.