Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Jul 21, 2012
    73
    The Secret World is not your average MMO. The feeling is great, locations so detailed, the upgrade system fresh and interesting. Investigation missions are genious. However, it's flawed by a mediocre combat system, terrible PvP and especially a lack of endgame contents. There's really no reason to come back after a while and this is bad for a subscription based online game.
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    73
    The vainglorious plot and meticulous landscapes of cliché will draw you in place of base compulsions to hit a level cap or maximize a "gearscore." If you can stomach the horrors of the night, as well as rote combat and occasionally glitched gameplay, you might just be the perfect pledge for this secret society.
  3. 70
    Even an unconventional title like The Secret World struggles in a market full of great alternatives without those monthly payments.
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    The Secret World isn't your traditional MMORPG, but there's no denying, that it's one of the most inventive games in the genre ever. Funcom has delivered lots of well thought out, interesting innovations and the gamers get a perfectly crafted wold and lost of fun. But remember – it's not a game for people with slow Internet connection; they will suffer from texture pop-up, severe lags and occasional server disconnections that can result in their character's death.
  5. Jul 26, 2012
    70
    The Secret World flirts with brilliance and – at least, during earlier zones – looks primed to seal the deal. But, as time goes on, its its seemingly bottomless bag of tricks starts to look a bit shallow.
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    70
    Besides an interesting story, The Secret World's most important feature is a new character progression system, but there are also many things that Funcom needs to fix.
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    70
    For all that, though, The Secret World succeeds as a thinking man's MMORPG. Many of its features demand intellectual prowess as well as the usual dose of combat mastery, and none of its competitors come close to matching its affection for the esoteric. It has its issues, to be sure, and all of the investigations and sabotage missions available won't stop a good amount of players from spending 20 minutes with its combat and dismissing it as a substandard World of Warcraft clone.
  8. Jul 14, 2012
    70
    To ask so much of gamers here in 2012, especially when there's such great competition out there, means that they should be delivering a game that's exciting to play, easy to get into, deep when people get to the endgame, and well-rounded in nearly all aspects - and I can't say that they've done that. This game is damn good in concept but it falters in the execution.
  9. Jul 13, 2012
    70
    There is a real MMO in there - a secret world within The Secret World - but it's estranged from the player, clouded by obfuscating systems and smothered in charismatic but stolidly single-player adventuring. Tornquist is a writer, the man behind adventure games The Longest Journey and Dreamfall, and it seems like he's more interested in telling stories than building adventure playgrounds, never mind emergent worlds.
  10. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    The Secret World is a sort of a mixed bag. You have a very nice questing experience, a new way of developing your character and a stunning and dramatic atmosphere. But on the other side you have a lot of bugs, a boring fighting system and an half-developed PVP. Maybe in the next months it will be better, but you never know with MMOs.
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    The Secret World is different enough that it won't be for everyone even when its plethora of bugs are fixed, but when that happens, a lot of people are going to get a lot of enjoyment out of it.
  12. Aug 1, 2012
    69
    The weak combat and MMO padding hurt the experience, but The Secret World has innovation, atmosphere and charm.
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    68
    The Secret World makes a few big mistakes in important areas; the fighting system lacks depth, PvP bonuses bring unbalance to the server and the skill and ability system isn't always easy to understand. Yet the story, investigation quest and the atmosphere of the world make this MMO worth a try.
  14. Jul 20, 2012
    65
    Its mainstream, postmodern pastiche of gaming and nerd culture that ranges from John Landis and Edgar Allen Poe to alternate reality gaming is a welcome respite against the backdrop of Blizzard and BioWare. But The Secret World's successes have little to do with the MMO essentials, and though its trappings are unique and sometimes powerful, its core is undeveloped.
  15. Aug 24, 2012
    60
    A great story and an entertaining game as long as I'm playing by myself. When the massive online part comes into play the experience starts to fall apart and the lack of tools to communicate with and a very poor player versus player component makes it hard to see anyone continue paying to play this for very long. It is different and interesting though, so giving it a try for the first free month included is still recommended.
  16. Jul 16, 2012
    60
    In closing, The Secret World might well have worked better as a third-person action adventure with a co-op focus, rather than a fully-fledged MMO. Had the developers gone down this route, it could still have delivered that thrilling story-based experience, but also provided more in-depth combat mechanics. As its stands, it feels like a collection of inventive ideas that haven't been used to their full potential.
  17. Jul 11, 2012
    60
    Some truly innovative ideas that all MMOs would do well to take notice of, but they and the intriguing narrative are wasted on the tedious and derivative combat.
  18. 60
    A disappointing game from a great developer...Even though The Secret World has some original things going for it, it also offers stale controls, bad sound and bland gameplay.
  19. Jul 5, 2012
    60
    The Secret World has some really different things to offer than your usual MMO. This makes for a dividing design; some will love it, some will hate it, and the usual MMO player may very well fall into the latter category. PvP's a joke, but the writing is brilliant, the investigation quests are solo but rewarding, and the combat good enough. Too bad there are still so many bugs, and a pricey subscription to play it.
  20. Jul 19, 2012
    50
    The Secret World is admirable for attempting to inject much-needed originality and life into MMORPGs, but while its fiction and theme succeed, its mostly derivative questing and stale combat fail to justify the steep time investment.
  21. Jul 19, 2012
    50
    The Secret World has too many problems to function...After playing the game for over a month I haven't seen any serious signs of improvement. Quests remain buggy, graphics suffer and the core of the game is still as obnoxious as ever.
  22. Jul 6, 2012
    50
    The Secret World is a title that may have made a splash five years ago. Now it's just another archaic MMO looking to fit in.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 535
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This game is by far one of the very best MMORPG I've ever played! The combat is dynamic and responsive, the world is incredible huge andThis game is by far one of the very best MMORPG I've ever played! The combat is dynamic and responsive, the world is incredible huge and offers a wide doze of variety. The zombies are always fun to kill, and there is a ton of missions that never gets boring! I would recommend this game to people who likes almost every game genre there is, I came from Demon's Souls, Battlefield 3, Diablo 3, etc., and instantly fell in love with this game during the beta. In my opinion, this game is a must have! Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Wonderful world, interesting story and many, various side quests. Technical issues also very well done. This is MMo what I've been waiting forWonderful world, interesting story and many, various side quests. Technical issues also very well done. This is MMo what I've been waiting for the long time! Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Ok, i can take funcom off my hate list. this game is simply stunning. I cannot explain how fun it is to have an MMO set in modern times.Ok, i can take funcom off my hate list. this game is simply stunning. I cannot explain how fun it is to have an MMO set in modern times. Kingsmouth is the single best MMO zone i have every experienced. How funcom pulled this one out of the hat i have no idea. Better voiceover quests that that starwars game, the best writing in any MMO by far. Interesting quests, no more collect x of y and bring to z. HIGHLY recommend this game. This is how all MMO's should be from now on. Full Review »