Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    The Secret World delivers an MMO experience that's distinctly different from its competitors, and it's likely going to remain the standard for future games in the horror/supernatural genre.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    90
    If you've been looking for an MMO to check out that's not World of Warcraft, definitely give The Secret World a shot. While it's not perfect (it'd be nice if the in-game browser could remember your last visited page during the same game session), it's still a fun game with a unique way to improve your character, truly making him or her whatever you want them to be.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    90
    Time will tell whether it has the legs to keep up with more traditionally-styled MMOs, but for what it is, I'm certain that the gaming world will always have room for experiences like The Secret World.
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    If you love the journey more than the destination, The Secret World offers the most refreshingly unique, genuinely scary, fiendishly clever and immersive journey I've ever seen in the genre. [Sept 2012, p.63]
  5. Jul 8, 2012
    90
    The Secret World is a breath of fresh air in a stale genre. It is the adventure reimagined for a new era. I love this game, unequivocally. And I sincerely hope you do too.
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    88
    It's basically a single-player game, disguised as an MMO and brimming with awkward combat mechanics. There's no group/dungeon finding tool. The inventory is horrendous and the available abilities and builds are chaotic. It's also completely, utterly irresistible. [September 2012]
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    88
    A game that shines, but needs to be quickly polished for Funcom to establish it as one of the great games of the genre. Its atmosphere, story, character progression system and mission design have captivated us, but we fear that the lack of content and the errors it has can cut its potential. If Funcom can achieve a good pace of updates, with new content and enhancements, this secret world can live for years.
  8. Jul 22, 2012
    87
    It's not an MMO as we currently define them; rather, we like to think of this as the next step in the Adventure game genre. It is pay per play, with in game shopping, but - to be frank - it's worth every penny.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 526
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This game is by far one of the very best MMORPG I've ever played! The combat is dynamic and responsive, the world is incredible huge andThis game is by far one of the very best MMORPG I've ever played! The combat is dynamic and responsive, the world is incredible huge and offers a wide doze of variety. The zombies are always fun to kill, and there is a ton of missions that never gets boring! I would recommend this game to people who likes almost every game genre there is, I came from Demon's Souls, Battlefield 3, Diablo 3, etc., and instantly fell in love with this game during the beta. In my opinion, this game is a must have! Full Review »
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Wonderful world, interesting story and many, various side quests. Technical issues also very well done. This is MMo what I've been waiting forWonderful world, interesting story and many, various side quests. Technical issues also very well done. This is MMo what I've been waiting for the long time! Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Ok, i can take funcom off my hate list. this game is simply stunning. I cannot explain how fun it is to have an MMO set in modern times.Ok, i can take funcom off my hate list. this game is simply stunning. I cannot explain how fun it is to have an MMO set in modern times. Kingsmouth is the single best MMO zone i have every experienced. How funcom pulled this one out of the hat i have no idea. Better voiceover quests that that starwars game, the best writing in any MMO by far. Interesting quests, no more collect x of y and bring to z. HIGHLY recommend this game. This is how all MMO's should be from now on. Full Review »