• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2010
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If you're a fan of games like Sim City, Tropico, Caesar or even the earlier Settlers games, this game probably isn't one you want to miss. The changes from the earlier games and from other games in its genre are almost all for the better, and it's just generally a well put-together piece of entertainment - whether you prefer to build sand castles or kick them over.
  2. This is a complete make-over of the series. It’s faster, more diverse, more flexible and because of these changes it’s extremely thrilling, too. There are a lot of ways to win, so trying out new strategies is very entertaining.
  3. The Settlers 7 looks easy but is despite of the looks really complex. Especially the multiplayer part is not only fun to play but really hard to master with three different ways of winning. Strategy and simulation fans will love it!
  4. The Settlers 7 is one of the best installments of the series. It is very addictive, has a deep economic system and we like the fact that you can complete a level with different tactics.
  5. If you’re a fan of the series and are able to swallow Ubisoft’s fulsome addition to Blue Byte’s game, I’d definitely recommend The Settlers 7.
  6. Although I lost my Settlers virginity at a fairly old age, growing a functional colony is very, very addictive. The game brings back a load of childhood memories, which is definitely one of the game's strongest sides. There are some minor flaws though. The AI is passive and if you need to handle million things at once, sometimes the game gets quite confusing. [May 2010]
  7. I’m hoping that people get into it, because I plan on keeping this one in my regular rotation for some time.
  8. Settlers 7 is a fantastic experience that brings out the best in economic sim and RTS games.
  9. Compared to the recent titles of the series, Paths to a Kingdom is a real step forward, both in terms of bringing back gameplay elements specific to the Settlers series and introducing new options that allow for greater complexity: the Victory Points system, conquering sectors and increasing the productivity of your followers by filling their bellies.
  10. The Settlers 7 is a daring approach on innovation in a rather old-school strategy series – and it works. The nice graphics and the superb soundtrack border a rapid and entertaining gameplay mechanic that will keep you playing for hours. And although these mechanics work best in multiplayer mode, the developers present a singleplayer campaign with a sweeping story and interesting, demanding missions. If you can look past some graphic glitches and Ubisofts horrible online DRM, you get the best Settlers game in years!
  11. If you're looking for a more sporty, addictive alternative to Anno 1404, or a just worthy continuation of the Settlers series, you've absolutely found it.
  12. Settlers 7 is a fabulous game. It's unique, challenging, refreshing, and all sorts of beautiful.
  13. Finally we’ve got ourselves a brand new Settlers adventure that is more than capable to let us forget the last two parts. Thank you Bruce and Blue Byte for the hours that we’ll be spending behind our PC’s for the coming months.
  14. A game where virtually nothing is done for you, Settlers 7 is a deep and challenging real-time strategy game where you must ensure your society functions perfectly in every aspect. The new “victory points” system proves a breath of fresh air for a series that has otherwise been stuck in old habits.
  15. Original, varied and complex strategy game focuses on logistics. Multiplayer can be compared to playing a great board game. [Issue#190]
  16. Perhaps too complex for some but a beautiful, sprawling city management game nevertheless. [June 2010, p.58]
  17. The Settlers goes back to basics, putting a friendly face on complex resource management.
  18. The Settlers 7 is a great RTS with classic elements and good new ideas. The graphic is sharp and clean, and the gameplay offers few interesting new features for the multiplayer. If you love this kind of game, you'll find what you're looking for in The Settler 7. And this time the DRM is not a big problem.
  19. If you've got a solid Internet connection and some spare cash you might want to consider braving the DRM, or you can hope that Ubisoft will stop being so bloody stubborn, realise the error of their ways and scale down the DRM so that everybody can enjoy the impressive game Blue Byte have so lovingly created.
  20. Despite DRM controversy, The Settlers VII manages to successfully continue the series and stay in the spot.
  21. Settlers 7 does not innovate the formula it belongs to but offers a good quantity and quality of different contents. If you like the genre and can manage the dull DRM, It could be a nice experience.
  22. City builder with a hint of speed-chess. The intense micromanaging aspect won't be for everyone, but it's tough not to like. [May 2010, p.98]
  23. This last episode of a great saga is quite interesting. It delivers deep strategy and a refined multiplayer experience.
  24. 77
    Settlers 7, may not be to everyone's taste but it does offer a great opportunity to settle down, kick back and enjoy a more cerebral and regally-paced gaming experience.
  25. A few flaws hold it back, but the latest Settlers game is the series' most charming to date.
  26. The setting is definitely terrific, and multiplayer is handled quite well, but the game just does not go that extra mile and offer something outside the graphics that sets it apart. It is a good game; it just does not go that extra step to becoming a great game.
  27. It's not that Settlers 7, when viewed in it's entirety, is a necessarily bad game. The difficulty curve will be seen as a challenge for the more grizzled player, and having a challenge is obviously preferable to a cake-walk. It's more that the game doesn't really know what it wants to be.
  28. Despite a few nagging shortcomings, The Settlers 7 is the best game in the series so far. It is good-looking, well-made, complex and accessible at the same time.
  29. An absolute ton of very German micromanagement. [June 2010, p.87]
  30. The Settlers 7: Paths to a Kingdom is a good comeback for a series who has been battered with mediocre releases for several years. It is compelling, fun and has expanded the depth of the original Settlers gameplay with its take on trade and technology.
  31. Beautiful and challenging, but the relentless and over complicated micromanagement can be exhausting. [Jun 2010, p.76]
  32. 60
    The game's uneven presentation makes us alternate rollercoaster-like between disappointment, admiration, frustration, enthusiasm and back to disappointment again.
  33. Constant crashes and a really annoying anti-piracy system hinders The Settlers 7 from growing to the fabulous strategy game it should have been.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 35
  2. Negative: 14 out of 35
  1. Sep 21, 2010
    3
    As a long time Settlers fan I bought this game with high hopes. While nicely polished and offering a fair amount of customisability, it lackis the depth and lasting appeal of earlier games in the series. And thanks to the ridiculous DRM scheme, I have been unable to play it on the weekends on several occasions.. Full Review »
  2. Doug
    Mar 29, 2010
    0
    Thanks for the heads-up. I pay my taxes and buy my games, but I draw the line here. I've seen about every type of DRM in the last 20 years, and this is a step too far, even though I have a perfectly stable connection and it probably wouldn't affect me. Sorry Ubi, it's a matter of principle. Full Review »
  3. HazemH
    Mar 27, 2010
    6
    Graphics are amazing, your citizens are smart, the game offer a nice blend of complex and easy to make decisions. The fact that gold is not circulating into the economy is nice as it saves you alot of the usually involved micromanagment. The big bummer for me was the DRM. The game stops if you lose internet connection! Seriously, If I knew that before I bought the game I would have used my money on DA origin expansion. I should be able to play my single player games when I want, however I want and while connected or not. Such a shame seeing a good game with this stupid limitation. Full Review »