The Settlers: Rise of an Empire PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 25, 2007
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. It's not really doing anything groundbreaking. [Dec 2007, p.76]
  2. Games Master UK
    73
    Gorgeous to look at and charming to play. But we don't all want cute. [Dec 2007, p.85]
  3. The Settlers: Rise of an Empire is the most fulfilling game in the series, adding easy-to-play charisma to the usual Middle Ages economics and trimming much of the micromanagement that made playing past releases in the series as much fun as doing your homework.
  4. Game Informer
    70
    Still, the different aspects of gameplay flow together smoothly and the campaign at least throws enough varied challenges to make it moderately entertaining. [Dec 2007, p.156]
  5. The game has some interface issues, unsatisfying military options, and an overall lack of variety in the cities you build. As impressive as the cities look, they all start to feel the same after a while.
  6. 65
    Despite being the best game in the series because of some lovely visuals and good gameplay enhancements, The Settlers: Rise of an Empire still manages to screw enough things up to be aggravating.
  7. 65
    A lightweight, yet fun, title which should appeal to those who are new to the Strategy genre, or those that want a more relaxing experience. Its only major drawback is that its more of a sidestep than a revolution of the series.
  8. PC Format
    62
    It's the same old game with prettier graphics and a half-decent story. Settlers-heads will love it, but best wait for it to appear on budget. [Nov 2007, p.52]
  9. It's lighthearted, haunting, soothing, and frenetic. It's too bad that this game is plagued by poor mechanics. The production values are there, but they just can't seem to rise above the glitches.
  10. 60
    It does demand a fairly hefty system to run smoothly, especially if you want to pull the camera back and take in a broader view. Once you get a chance to take in that view, it’s undeniably satisfying.
  11. games(TM)
    60
    An enjoyable, quality release that will absorb hours of your time, but there’s no escaping the feeling that Blue Byte appears to be running short of ideas. [Dec 2007, p.125]
  12. PC Gamer
    59
    There's simply too little to do. As a result, there's not much of a challenge to be had--at least any intentional challenge that is. [Holiday 2007, p.72]
  13. 50
    Unfortunately, the creators of Rise of an Empire have managed to make a Settlers game so narrow in scope and so lacking in player control that it's only slightly more interactive than dropping fish flakes in with the Neon Tetras.
  14. 50
    Blue Byte needs to ask itself some hard questions about just where it strayed from the path of success. Until it's willing to confront those questions, its flagship series will continue foundering on the shoals of obscurity.
  15. It's a small improvement over the last Settlers, and therefore a game that many devotees will be rooting for, but there's no getting away from the fact that judged against its peers, or even its own ancestors, this is an average offering in terms of depth, challenge and longevity, and blighted by fussy technical snags to boot.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 11, 2016
    6
    It's a surprisingly competent little city builder. It's the last game from the Settlers franchise I played chronologically, being extremelyIt's a surprisingly competent little city builder. It's the last game from the Settlers franchise I played chronologically, being extremely disappointed with the 5th one (what a wreck) and The Settlers 7. I have to say that Settlers 6 positively striked my conciousness after few games in a row. Although it's not the Settlers game I still wait for, it's a strong enough title to keep me interested in for more than a few custom games.
    There's a lot to hate and criticise in Settlers 6: the overall art-direction, **** UI and camera movement, problems with structure placing and inability of your settlers to take care of themselves where you hit the greater amount of them and your town grows up to be a bigger city. The most glaring gameplay issue is the expansion and resource planning. Say goodbye to exploring the map and sending geologists into mountains. When you enter a new zone, you get all info on a plate - deers are here, fish are here, iron is here, stone is here. There's some cattle/ship. Build an outpost and get it all to your town. It surely spoils the game itself.
    Although the production chains are simpler than in the classic Settlers before the 5th, your settlers have demands - more of them with each development level of your city and with each promotion of your knight (a hero that grants small bonuses and a different active skill). Overall, you have enough to build and oversee to keep you invested.
    The military layer of the game lacks magic from Settlers 3-4, but in exchange you get siege equipment, torches which keep the things varied enough. It's not the Settlers 5's spam units or the AI will flood you and it's not the "click attack and see what happens" we got in the Settlers 7.

    If you're looking for more classic Settlers, you won't find it here. But Settlers 6 are still decent enough on their own to grant you 20+ hours of entertainment.
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2015
    10
    Amazing game with good features. I first got my hands on this game when i was about 8 years old and I have now played this game for years. IAmazing game with good features. I first got my hands on this game when i was about 8 years old and I have now played this game for years. I can highly recommend this game Full Review »
  3. ScottDinin
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    This game is amazing for people who like a city builder RTS. I think it should have gotten a much better rating but i do understand the thatThis game is amazing for people who like a city builder RTS. I think it should have gotten a much better rating but i do understand the that most players would, including me, would prefer more action than just fighing bandits. Besides that the game is gorgeous and very fulfilling to see your little settlement turn into a huge city. Full Review »