The Settlers: Rise of an Empire PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
The Settlers: Rise of an Empire Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Settlers: Rise of an Empire, the player builds lively, bustling towns in a medieval world. Each settler has his or her own daily routine, with a range of different actions and behaviors that can be observed by the player at all times. This enables the player to get the best out of theIn The Settlers: Rise of an Empire, the player builds lively, bustling towns in a medieval world. Each settler has his or her own daily routine, with a range of different actions and behaviors that can be observed by the player at all times. This enables the player to get the best out of the settlers, build up a flourishing economy, tend to the settlers’ needs and protect the empire against danger from the outside. By expanding the empire, the player can aspire to becoming a legendary king or queen. The game features an immersive, yet transparent economic system based on the resources, wares and goods produced by the settlers in their various trades and occupations. Create big, bustling medieval cities: Plot your expansion, manage your resources wisely and provide for your people. The Settlers Rise of an Empire offers gameplay that is easy to pick up and allows everybody from newbies to strategy experts to enjoy the game. Protect your citizens and your empire: Build up armies, vehicles and walls to protect your empire. Everything depends on your economy: Is your empire wealthy enough to supply a powerful defense force? Work together with one friend and play against another team: Will your division of labor be efficient enough to beat your opponent? A full living, detailed atmosphere: The RenderWare engine creates an extremely detailed universe with numerous plants, animals and other details that will attract the player. Four climatic zones: The four climatic zones and four seasons have full impact on recourse management and gameplay. Natural interaction of Settlers: All Settlers have their own daily lives and they interact naturally with each other. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. AceGamez
    80
    As far as city-building and resource management games go, The Settlers: Rise of an Empire is one of the best around.
  2. Ultimately not a bad game, just "too casual". Definitely enjoyable for many, especially younger players, gamers with lives or those who actually prefer the simplicity. For a hardcore reviewer like me, the gameplay is unfortunately just too simple, repetitive and unchallenging.
  3. It's not really doing anything groundbreaking. [Dec 2007, p.76]
  4. 65
    Despite being the best game in the series because of some lovely visuals and good gameplay enhancements, The Settlers: Rise of an Empire still manages to screw enough things up to be aggravating.
  5. PC Format
    62
    It's the same old game with prettier graphics and a half-decent story. Settlers-heads will love it, but best wait for it to appear on budget. [Nov 2007, p.52]
  6. 60
    It does demand a fairly hefty system to run smoothly, especially if you want to pull the camera back and take in a broader view. Once you get a chance to take in that view, it’s undeniably satisfying.
  7. It's a small improvement over the last Settlers, and therefore a game that many devotees will be rooting for, but there's no getting away from the fact that judged against its peers, or even its own ancestors, this is an average offering in terms of depth, challenge and longevity, and blighted by fussy technical snags to boot.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 23, 2015
    10
    Amazing game with good features. I first got my hands on this game when i was about 8 years old and I have now played this game for years. IAmazing game with good features. I first got my hands on this game when i was about 8 years old and I have now played this game for years. I can highly recommend this game Expand
  2. Excalibur
    Oct 17, 2007
    9
    A nice, entertaining, easy to play, game for the non hardcore fan of the city builder genre!
  3. ScottDinin
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    This game is amazing for people who like a city builder RTS. I think it should have gotten a much better rating but i do understand the thatThis game is amazing for people who like a city builder RTS. I think it should have gotten a much better rating but i do understand the that most players would, including me, would prefer more action than just fighing bandits. Besides that the game is gorgeous and very fulfilling to see your little settlement turn into a huge city. Collapse
  4. JM
    Oct 1, 2007
    8
    I would have liked to seen more resources and manufactured goods, other than that a very good game.
  5. Jul 13, 2014
    8
    Really nice game with nice graphics, quite simple mechanics compared to Stronghold 2. Its not to hard core or sth. Campaign is nice to play,Really nice game with nice graphics, quite simple mechanics compared to Stronghold 2. Its not to hard core or sth. Campaign is nice to play, its long enough to sit and play for about 30 hours. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    Basically my first contact with the series and a rather unpleasant surprise. Unbelievably lame story and characters (so infantile) and theBasically my first contact with the series and a rather unpleasant surprise. Unbelievably lame story and characters (so infantile) and the gameplay itself is kinda... after 10 missions I feel like i keep doing the same **** so I'm gonna drop this, this is a very weak 6/10. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2016
    6
    It's a surprisingly competent little city builder. It's the last game from the Settlers franchise I played chronologically, being extremelyIt's a surprisingly competent little city builder. It's the last game from the Settlers franchise I played chronologically, being extremely disappointed with the 5th one (what a wreck) and The Settlers 7. I have to say that Settlers 6 positively striked my conciousness after few games in a row. Although it's not the Settlers game I still wait for, it's a strong enough title to keep me interested in for more than a few custom games.
    There's a lot to hate and criticise in Settlers 6: the overall art-direction, **** UI and camera movement, problems with structure placing and inability of your settlers to take care of themselves where you hit the greater amount of them and your town grows up to be a bigger city. The most glaring gameplay issue is the expansion and resource planning. Say goodbye to exploring the map and sending geologists into mountains. When you enter a new zone, you get all info on a plate - deers are here, fish are here, iron is here, stone is here. There's some cattle/ship. Build an outpost and get it all to your town. It surely spoils the game itself.
    Although the production chains are simpler than in the classic Settlers before the 5th, your settlers have demands - more of them with each development level of your city and with each promotion of your knight (a hero that grants small bonuses and a different active skill). Overall, you have enough to build and oversee to keep you invested.
    The military layer of the game lacks magic from Settlers 3-4, but in exchange you get siege equipment, torches which keep the things varied enough. It's not the Settlers 5's spam units or the AI will flood you and it's not the "click attack and see what happens" we got in the Settlers 7.

    If you're looking for more classic Settlers, you won't find it here. But Settlers 6 are still decent enough on their own to grant you 20+ hours of entertainment.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews