The Showdown Effect PC

Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    It's a game that deserves to be played, however, and it's one that's a hilarious spectacle to watch too -- something that Arrowhead clearly realizes and is keen to exploit with its Twitch.tv integration.
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    75
    The Showdown Effect is a good game, and if you're a fan of platform-based competitive online, it's one of the best offerings available today.
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    The price is low and the game is good, but The Showdown Effect needs more maps and some balance.
  4. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    Fast, fun and skill based. The Showdown effect has all the elements to be one of the most relevant competitive game of the season.
  5. Mar 13, 2013
    76
    The Showdown Effect won't disappoint, either as a popcorn game you play when you're in the mood or the new found focus of your hardcore energy.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    I originally gave this game a nine. But the longer the game was out the worse it got. Now i can only have fun in a private server with myI originally gave this game a nine. But the longer the game was out the worse it got. Now i can only have fun in a private server with my friends as matchmaking is completely broken now. Players can pay to have OP weapons, and only certain characters can heal themselves during combat making literally every other weapon and character completely pointless unless you want to be at an extreme and unfair advantage. Me and 2 of my friends with randoms 5v1 a player with the rocket launcher and heal and no one could kill him. I would one shot you run a way and heal himself to full health in under 2 seconds. If you buy this game, only play in a private lobby with your friends where you can make some ground rules or be prepared to get pissed off. Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    A brilliantly realised fast paced arcade shooter, awesome characters, a TON of weapons and brilliant map design lend itself to the wholeA brilliantly realised fast paced arcade shooter, awesome characters, a TON of weapons and brilliant map design lend itself to the whole package, whilst you tumble, run up walls, engage katana wielding schoolgirls in a honorable fight to the death whilst at the same time dodging incoming fire from a smartguns, laser rifles and shurikens. It's all fantastically fun to have with friends or randoms..the community is friendly and welcoming to new players. Awesome. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    5
    Reminds me of Shoot many robots: Arena Kings; by it's bad and unmemorable gameplay. Buy this game if you like jumping and shooting in 2D...Reminds me of Shoot many robots: Arena Kings; by it's bad and unmemorable gameplay. Buy this game if you like jumping and shooting in 2D... actually no, buy something else that has these features, it's probably better. Pros: Colors. Cons: 1.Can't recall anything unique about it. 2.Reminds Arena Kings.
    3.That opening theme song isn't that great, just a generic guitar riff with some distortion. 4.May expose to cancer.
    Full Review »