Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created by Arrowhead Game Studios, the same brilliant and eccentric minds behind Magicka, The Showdown Effect is a 2.5D multiplayer action game in which players will be participating in death-matches to gain glory and fame. Formerly known as "Project JFK," The Showdown Effect operates on the principle of "more is more" and offers an infinite amount of ways to customize your gameplay. Whether its character, stage, game mode, or weapons, customize as much as you want and control how creatively you want to kill your friends! Remember, the gorier it is, the better the showdown you will have! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Mar 14, 2013
    85
    It's a game that deserves to be played, however, and it's one that's a hilarious spectacle to watch too -- something that Arrowhead clearly realizes and is keen to exploit with its Twitch.tv integration.
  2. Mar 9, 2013
    80
    The price is low and the game is good, but The Showdown Effect needs more maps and some balance.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    75
    The Showdown Effect is a good game, and if you're a fan of platform-based competitive online, it's one of the best offerings available today.
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    Paradox seems to publish fast multiplayer games with comical settings more often nowadays, aside from their deep strategy games. The Showdown Effect is pretty successful in that respect, but lacks finesse.
  5. May 7, 2013
    65
    Until you get bored with characters and arenas, fun can be had. Updates will decide whether The Showdown Effect stays with us for longer. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.69]
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    60
    The Showdown Effect isn't all style and no substance, but it's definitely weighed disproportionately in favor of the former. On the upside, that means heaps of enticing potential, but it also leaves plenty of room for improvement. As is, Showdown Effect feels rough and unfinished.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    50
    There’s a satisfying Shadow Complex-meets-Smash-Bros. style romp somewhere in The Showdown Effect, but it’s buried beneath gameplay mechanics that interfere with the joys its premise suggests, and there are currently stability issues with the servers that demand some urgent attention.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Fantastic little game!
    Be warned, there is no controller support and the controls take ALOT of getting used to, but once you start to get
    even a rudimentary understanding of the controls and the pacing of the matches it then becomes one of the fastest and most brutal multiplayer experiences you can get. The ode to 80's and 90's nostalgia is just the beautiful wrapping the game came in, and it works. I always thought a good competitive Super Smasher Brothers type game was just what the PC needed and this game delivered.
    I even waited until it had been out for awhile to make sure that there was a good foundation of a community,(yes it's only playable online PVP) so that I wouldn't get stuck with a game I can't play, and from what I've seen they are a great bunch of people to play with. Only downside is that most of them are deadly good at the game by now....lol
    The only thing I didn't like was the fact that it offered an in game store that enabled you to shortcut the grind.
    All round great game if you're looking for that new competitive type experience, definitely worth the price and a must have if it goes anywhere close to 50% off.
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    The Showdown Effect is a brilliant Death-match or TDM game for friends and strangers alike. The game has no single-player and possibly could use one however the game as it stands is heaps of fun and is very challenging.

    Unfortunately the community is quite small so if you are interested i highly recommend you get this game with friends.

    I love this game and i'm just sad that it doesn't have a community as big as it deserves.
    Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    A brilliantly realised fast paced arcade shooter, awesome characters, a TON of weapons and brilliant map design lend itself to the whole package, whilst you tumble, run up walls, engage katana wielding schoolgirls in a honorable fight to the death whilst at the same time dodging incoming fire from a smartguns, laser rifles and shurikens. It's all fantastically fun to have with friends or randoms..the community is friendly and welcoming to new players. Awesome. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed this game for the most part but I found myself getting bored and how this game kept becoming repetitive. I found the normal gun for the character is actually great and there is no real point on spending giant amounts of time getting XP to unlock guns with a lot of down sides to them.

    I would have had more fun with this game but in the end I just didn't enjoy it as much as I wish'd I would have.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    I originally gave this game a nine. But the longer the game was out the worse it got. Now i can only have fun in a private server with my friends as matchmaking is completely broken now. Players can pay to have OP weapons, and only certain characters can heal themselves during combat making literally every other weapon and character completely pointless unless you want to be at an extreme and unfair advantage. Me and 2 of my friends with randoms 5v1 a player with the rocket launcher and heal and no one could kill him. I would one shot you run a way and heal himself to full health in under 2 seconds. If you buy this game, only play in a private lobby with your friends where you can make some ground rules or be prepared to get pissed off. Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2013
    3
    This could've been an AMAZING Contra clone, but somehow the developer neglected to create single-player and co-op campaigns. I have zero interest in playing this style of game in a competitive online-only environment, especially with miserable server populations, so I'm pretty disappointed. Of course, the game's complete lack of controller support means that I probably wouldn't be playing it regardless of the other issues. A shame, really. Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2013
    0
    the games is the unlocks are lame and the aim system is awful. some weapons are over powered and it doesn't say how much damage the weapons does. the game Expand

See all 20 User Reviews