The Sims 3: Generations PC

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. May 29, 2011
    90
    It brings new humour, new methods of interaction, and a much more fleshed-out portrayal of personality for your Sims. In fact, it can be argued that this is the desert-island expansion pack; the pack you'd choose if you could only pick one. If you own the Sims 3 you need to buy Generations.
  2. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    83
    Despite being the first The Sims 3 expansion not to include a new town and not adding the biggest load of new clothing and items, The Sims 3: Generations isn't skimping. [Sept 2011, p.76]
  3. May 23, 2011
    82
    In any case, it is once again entertaining to help the age-conformist and individually generated family to handle its virtual life.
  4. Jun 25, 2011
    80
    Ultimately, your level of enjoyment depends on whether you define an expansion by its item catalog or by its gameplay mechanics.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    With decent graphics, great sound effects and good old fashioned Sim gameplay with lots of new content, The Sims 3 just keeps getting better and better. Recommended to all lovers of the Sims!
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    78
    The Sims 3: Generations is an expansion in keeping with the spirit of the series: through a number of additions spread over the whole experience, it enriches its scope providing a lot of new things to see and do.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    76
    Generations goes for the typical expansion suggested retail price of $39.99 and may be hit or miss for you, depending on what you like about The Sims 3 and whether you'd appreciate the more understated improvements of this expansion pack.
  8. Jun 20, 2011
    75
    On its own Generations isn't going to do much for your experience, but in conjunction with everything else it just makes for a more interesting experience.
  9. Jun 17, 2011
    75
    The newest add-on, unlike its predecessors, introduces new things in a well balanced way throughout the entire game. New emotions, new needs, new opportunities don't pile up on the gamer. On one hand it's a good thing that we don't get everything at once – exploring the game takes some time. But on the other hand some people might not like the fact, that it's all scattered… But that's not the purpose of Generations.
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jun 9, 2011
    4
    The most disappointing Sims 3 expansion pack so far in my opinion, just beating Ambitions to the post. It feels like more of a loose endsThe most disappointing Sims 3 expansion pack so far in my opinion, just beating Ambitions to the post. It feels like more of a loose ends pack, adding in small features that were missing in the main game, but adding no real big new features worth mentioning. Sure, some new objects and interactions are good, but there's nothing about this expansion pack that makes you go 'wow', like many features of World Adventures and Late Night did. Hopefully the Pets expansion will be a BIG improvement on this expansion pack. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2015
    0
    Super boring exp. pack! Nobody wanted this but EA thinks yeah, we need something for the super small minority, lol, they got what theySuper boring exp. pack! Nobody wanted this but EA thinks yeah, we need something for the super small minority, lol, they got what they deserved so the worst exp. pack of all time. Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2015
    3
    It had to be like a pack on The Sims 3 Store. I didn't like it, it added some realistic things to the game, but it didn't reach myIt had to be like a pack on The Sims 3 Store. I didn't like it, it added some realistic things to the game, but it didn't reach my expectations. That game was so poor on new things, hairs, clothes and these things. Full Review »