Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    90
    With its emphasis on the merriment of nightlife, Late Night is the most electrifying jolt to Sims 3 everyday sameness that can be found.
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    85
    It may sound like a bit of a mish-mash, but in many ways Late Night feels more 'together' than Ambitions (though not as all-encompassingly new as World Adventures), with the expansion gently prodding us back to more open-ended gameplay.
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    85
    I'd not visited The Sims 3 since its launch and Late Night has successful reignited my passion for the series. It's a welcome addition the Sims 3 family and one that's executed to the high standards that we've come to expect.
  4. Nov 16, 2010
    83
    In conclusion, if you're a fan of the Sims series and play The Sims 3, I imagine you'd have a blast with Late Night, despite its few problems.
  5. Dec 13, 2010
    82
    Late Night turns The Sims 3 into a hoppin' urban party, but if you're in it for the build mode you'll find apartment life limiting. [Jan 2011, p.71]
  6. Dec 1, 2010
    80
    Another solid expansion for The Sims 3 that, while not changing any fundamental aspects of the game, provides yet more charming ways for your little computer people to fail or succeed in their virtual lives.
  7. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    New careers and an improved system of relationships allow us to make the night a new ground of interaction. For the ones who don't desire to lose themselves behind the social aspect of the game, the additions are limited and generally not to the height of those introduced in the previous two expansions.
  8. Nov 5, 2010
    80
    Thanks to some new features and some new game elements, such as the acting career, Late Night proves to be a worthy expansion capable of further enriching The Sims 3's base experience.
  9. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    This expansion doesn't radically alter the Sims gameplay you know and love, but it's got enough quality content to keep you partying late into the night.
  10. Oct 27, 2010
    75
    Overall, Late Night is yet another quality expansion for Sims 3 fans everywhere, provided you are willing to start over to experience it all.
  11. 70
    End the stereotypical existence and jump straight into the nightlife. Sims 3 the third add-on offers lots of opportunities to keep you involved for several extra hours. [Dec 2010]
  12. Nov 20, 2010
    70
    After Midnight is all about going out at night. Sims-players who love the social aspect of the series will feel right at home with this expansion. Players who like vampires as well.
  13. Nov 11, 2010
    70
    Overlooking the fact you might have to start from scratch, there is a ton of content to ensure your time spent with the Sims will borderline on the obsessive. The celebrity, rock star and vampire aspects change up the gameplay enough to keep it fresh even for those who have dedicated an unhealthy amount of hours to the game.
  14. Nov 14, 2010
    67
    The least interesting add-on for The Sims 3. There's a good amount of new accessories, but hardly any new rules or challenges. It's like EA saying here are some new toys, go and play."
  15. Dec 23, 2010
    65
    The Russian subtitle of this game is "At Twilight", and it gives a pretty clear idea of where EA was going with Late Night. If you're not into vampires and are not in a hurry to leave the suburbs, you won't miss this expansion at all.
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    Another decent expansion, but it could have been much better. It turns out that virtual celebrities are much less interesting than their real world counterparts. Fortunately the pack contains a lot of extra content as well.
  17. Oct 29, 2010
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    The newest expansion pack for the sims 3 was something that many fans felt was overdue. However, with development time and money, it's a little unpractical for fans to expect that a game like the sims 3 would have "everything" right at release from sims 2 and all of its expansions. That said, lets talk about the newest expansion, Late Night, for the Sims 3! I was one of the many that just couldn't WAIT for vampires to be added again, and I thought that the way vamps were done in this version was excellent. I am finding a few bugs with the initial release, however, but that's to be expected. Given a patch or two, I'm sure the kinks will be worked out. I agree with what another fan has posted about the game, however, in that it takes NO effort to become a celebrity or a vampire. It's all about the people you know! In can really be too easy, but as a life simulation game you are calling the shots when it comes to getting there, so it's not like "everyone" you meet will be a celeb or a vamp. It's a matter of personal choice in you, so if you want celebs to be untouchable then don't strive to impress them with your active sim (sims, I don't believe, will automatically try to impress other celebs). To me, that's as good as an answer as any. The other additional things, like the new sliders (breast and muscle definition) and the adjustable wall deco, and more, are great to have, and the breast slider is pretty daring of EA to feel comfortable with releasing! IMO the moding community has definitely taken strides to do this themselves, with some great success, so the fact EA is LISTENING to us is great to see, but for some it may have come too late. IMO, it's great to know that some of our requests aren't falling on deaf ears. Personally I thought it would have been cool if, for being a vampire, you gained access to a special skill (vampire power skill) that, as you gained more skill with it, unlocked additional powers for your vamp. That would have pleased a lot of fans of vampire lore and made a LOT of sense. I recommend that any more "special" sims (mummy, sim bots, etc) also get something to in additional too, because once you've "gotten" them their novelty can quickly ware off. Having all the powers at start is cool, but something more to look forward once we got there would also be cool too!


    All in all, the expansion gets a 9/10 b/c of the great content in the game as well as EA's little "daring" additions. It should really get an 8 or a 7 because EA hasn't exactly done anything new here, as some fans would say these new things were "long overdue." I gave it a 9, however, because EA demonstrated that they could be listening to our requests and the expansion IS fun to play (additional cool things: skyscrapers!). In closing, I think this was a success (it'll definitely be a fan favorite) but gents feel free to be more creative with the "mechanics" of your next expansion. I'm sure everyone is expecting pets pretty soon, but, hey, we want you to please us but still surprise us ya know? ;)
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    I've been a fan of the Sims series since The Sims, so I recognize the stuff in Late Night that showed up originally in old expansions. That doesn't detract from how much I'm enjoying Late Night, though. If anything, I'm glad to have back aspects of the old expansions that I had missed, but incorporated into The Sims 3, which is much more user-friendly and enjoyable than The Sims or The Sims 2. I really missed The Sims Superstar, so it's nice to have the celebrities back from that. I wish there was more of the functionality from Superstar, though, where you could make your Sims model and choose how to act. I think becoming a celebrity in Late Night is a bit too easy. I just sent my Sim out and had her chat with a celebrity, and Impressing the celebrity was easy and gave me a celebrity point myself. I figured the existing celebrities would be harder to Impress, like the Impress attempt wouldn't work every time, but so far it has for me. I have my Sim talk about her wealth, skills she's good at, that sort of thing, and once I've done this a couple times, I can fully Impress the celebrity they're talking with. Impress just a few celebrities and you've earned at least 2 stars of celebrity points yourself. With the ease of this, I'm going to end up with all my Sims being celebrities, which takes away from the glamour of it because it's not that exclusive or difficult. The same for the vampire thing. I just had my girl talk with an existing vampire, talked with her repeatedly for two nights, and then they were Friends. Then I asked just one time if the vampire would turn me and she agreed immediately. Boom, I get bitten and like two days later, I'm a vamp myself. Too easy. I'd like to have to put more effort into becoming a vampire or a celebrity so that the position is more exclusive. Also, as a vampire, I hoped I would have special socialization options with other vampires, but I haven't seen any. I don't seem to respond to fellow vampires any differently than normal Sims. Seems like we should have our own lingo, our own mannerisms, and our own socialization options. We have the club, Plasma 501, but even there I saw non-vampires. I was hoping vampires alone would be able to get into the club, but even that isn't exclusive. Basically, my biggest problems with this expansion are that acquiring the new statuses (celebrity, vampire) is too easy and quick of a process, and once you obtain it, there isn't enough stuff special between you and the others in the group. Celebrities are a bit better than vampires in this regard. When you talk to another celebrity, he'll acknowledge you with "it's nice to talk to another celebrity like myself". My vampires need to be able to chuckle about foolish mortals together or something. :( Full Review »
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    Nice addition of little of everything, Celebrity status, Apartment life, Clubs, City Life, and Others. Strongly recommended for Hardcore fans, casual players are not as at current price.
    Celebrity status adds many countless to your sims, though the quest is quite repetitive and pointless, and maybe too few drawbacks.
    Apartment life speaks for its name, it's nice if you always wanted to have a cozy little room for your sims, but as always, you have little space to grow on if you wanted to venture in skills from another 2 expansions, (for unmodified vanilla's).
    Clubs are pretty much perfect, like the way it should be.
    The city: Bridgeport , are equally detailed and slightly bigger comparing to another cities, However it was made to orientated to clubbing too much, the city always gloomy and YOU WILL NEVER SEE THE SUNSHINE NO MATTER WHAT, (So annoying), It's pretty much terrible city for nice little sims family to live in.
    If you want to play as a generic happy family in other Sun shine city, this expansion won't do much to you, except for adding butler, and some new skills for sims to develop, and new furniture as usual.
    (Extra's: Check out a user-made contents, Jazz club, Sport bars are made possible by this expansion, take a look at this gorgeous example : Search user made city called "Los Aniegos")
    Full Review »