User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 59
  2. Negative: 14 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    8
    The Sims 3 Pets has its advantages and disadvantages. The game is no different from TS3 graphically or sonically. With the addition we can create pets and put them into our homes / families. Cool idea but a little worse with the implementation. I do not understand why in this part of the creator of Pet took the opportunity to work from TS2. Now we can train our pets and help them become aThe Sims 3 Pets has its advantages and disadvantages. The game is no different from TS3 graphically or sonically. With the addition we can create pets and put them into our homes / families. Cool idea but a little worse with the implementation. I do not understand why in this part of the creator of Pet took the opportunity to work from TS2. Now we can train our pets and help them become a "hunter". Pretty cool but in the second part of The Sims was better. From the news, we can also mention the new and interesting town called Appaloosa Plains where there are plenty of pets and places to rest for the animals. The important thing is to add to the game unicorns. According to me this is a terrible idea and ruining the atmosphere of the game. Anything else? And oh yeah I almost forgot. The Sims 3 Pets adds a few objects and new clothes (like every Appendix). As for me, TS3: Pets is a good game. However, after some time, the player can begin to get bored. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    The pet customisation is perfect, so much to choose from. They even added horses which are a lot of fun.
    It's really great, but for me the pets kind of "get in the way". They quickly become a burden for some reason.
    I do, however, recommend buying this.
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    A very good one.I have been waiting for this one for a long time, along with the seasons. The only thing I don't like is that, I don't think we should be controlling the pets. That is just, strangely, not fun.
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    The fact that you can have pets is a good plus, but having to pay for the whole game and not make it expansion? That was a bad move. That being said, I play this game more than any other game I have in my library. The Sims has this great idea and makes it work. I give it 6 broken toilets out of 10.
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    I've been a fan of The Sims for over a decade, and this flavor of expansion has always been my favorite. While fun, it certainly does not excuse the cost; it's priced like a full game, called an expansion, and has the content of a $15 DLC. I'd highly recommend only buying this game on sale or when the price drops because, other than the price, pets in The Sims are really fun.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    3
    The animals reverse...like a car. Sadly I don't think they put enough effort into it - their trailers were misleading and the general gameplay addition was lacking. They could've done a lot more.
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    The best add-on for The Sims 3 so far. Pets bring a lot of extra playability. Pet lovers hardly find anything better to play. Unicorn included! [Dec 2011]
  8. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    So this is still a DLC right? Then why the hell is it $39.99?! Thats $10 more than the original game.... Why should you have to pay more for something that could have been added to the game in the first place, and pay more than the original game. EA needs to serioulsy check themselves.
  9. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    There are three main pet types introduced into Pets; Dogs, which can learn the new skills Hunting and Tricks, Cats which can learn Hunting & Horses which can learn Racing and Jumping. There is no careers introduced at all for pets however Sims can join the HorseMan or Women Profession. There is also many new ways for them to earn money such as hunting, performing in animal shows orThere are three main pet types introduced into Pets; Dogs, which can learn the new skills Hunting and Tricks, Cats which can learn Hunting & Horses which can learn Racing and Jumping. There is no careers introduced at all for pets however Sims can join the HorseMan or Women Profession. There is also many new ways for them to earn money such as hunting, performing in animal shows or competing in racing, jumping or cross country events at the equestrian centre. Pets provides new clothing, hairstyles, and decorative options, but of course those are in every expansion. There are new traits and lifetime wishes for Sims and pets alike such as; Loves cats and Equestrian. There is also a large amount of pet traits included for the pets with a different variety for each animal. For instance Horses can have traits such as Nimble and Untamed which are specific to them or traits like Playful or Lazy which are open to all pets. Dogs also have a large variety including traits like Faithful and Hydrophobic. Cats do not have any traits available for just them but can have traits like Clueless, Hunter and Neat. Alongside the major three types of pets there is a variety of minor pets available such as birds, snakes, lizards, rodents and turtle that can be purchased, caught by an animal or found in various spots around the neighbourhood. Cats can catch critters whereas dogs will dig up gems, metals or even a special object, the better a pet is at hunting the more chance it will have of sniffing out rare objects! Every few expansion packs there is a new lifestate or creature added such as the vampires from Latenight or Simbots from Ambitions, but in pets the new creature is a magical unicorn. The unicorn can only be obtained by befriending it and asking it to join your household. Unicorns have the ability to teleport, start fires and have the power bless or curse Sims. If a Unicorn and horse mate together there is a chance that the foal is a unicorn.

    The New town introduced with Pets is called Appaloosa Plains and is a western, ranch style town. Along with the town Pets also comes with a large variety of new build and buy objects. Players can also build their own barns and stables with new objects like hay stacks and box stalls for horses. A number of lots throughout the neighbourhood also contain premade barns and stables.

    There is also a variety of new npcâ
    Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I love Sims 3, and adding pets takes this one step further. It's cool that you can become a pet yourself, and still enjoy the game through it's unique style. It really like this game.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 90
    The best add-on for The Sims 3 so far. Pets bring a lot of extra playability. Pet lovers hardly find anything better to play. Unicorn included! [Dec 2011]
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    70
    The most detailed Pets expansion for the series. Horses, in particular, are an exciting inclusion. [Jan 2012, p.60]
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    75
    Horses and controllable cats and dogs give The Sims 3: Pets a good deal of heart.