Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    87
    If you own The Sims 3 and want to have even more fun, you absolutely should get the Showtime expansion.
  2. May 7, 2012
    85
    Playing off the huge popularity contests on television that has everybody that watches them dreaming of that being them on stage being adored by millions, the Sims 3 provides that same level of daydreaming-of-stardom to individual Sims 3 players with The Sims 3 Showtime Limited Edition.
  3. Mar 7, 2012
    85
    As with the previous expansion packs, The Sims 3: Showtime provides many hours of new content and storytelling options for those who enjoy The Sims 3, with the additional perk of allowing players to interact with each other while they game. Admittedly, many of the experiences might feel familiar if you've already played previous expansions and Sims iterations, but it also brings back some fan favorites and is all in all a decently solid addition to the Sims fan's library.
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    80
    The Sims 3: Showtime manages to make The Sims even completer then it already is. It perfectly responds to what the target audience wants and completes the social aspect of the game totally. This is one of those expansions that you simply cannot miss.
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    75
    Although a lot of the new content is pretty fun, unlike some of the best expansions, Showtime doesn't feel particularly integrated with the rest of the Sims world, an aspect I always look forward to when I get a new expansion.
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    75
    The new contents add a few hours of fun, offering a similar experience to the one Sims 3 gave to fans in the last years.
  8. 70
    If you are into any tabloid magazines and you know everything about any celebrity The Sims 3 Showtime is a perfect match for you. [Apr 2012]
  9. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new social features along with the extra careers, will surely entertain any fan of the series, and even if you're not among them, you might want to give this add-on a look.
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    The Sims 3: Showtime is worth its price. The SimPort feature and the other additions to the original gameplay make this expansion a nice way to get some more fun with the game released in 2009. On the other hand, it won't make you like The Sims 3, if you never liked it before.
  11. Apr 12, 2012
    67
    Although it comes packed with several new career paths and a brand new town, Showtime is really still just a few more goodies in the Sims universe. Good for fans, but won't win over any converts.
  12. Apr 3, 2012
    60
    This latest expansion does exactly what says on the box. The new city, jobs and items are fun, but it feels as if Maxis are running out of ideas, and need to borrow things from previous parts of the series.
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    60
    The Sims 3 Showtime is a dlc at the price of an expansion pack. We recommend the purchase only if you are true fans of the sims universe.
  14. Mar 17, 2012
    60
    With this being EA's sixth add-on to the game, fresh ideas are beginning to look thin on the ground with concepts from previous packs re-emerging. That said, Sims fanatics will always be hungry for new content, so there's no reason why this won't be another roaring success.
  15. Mar 12, 2012
    60
    I know it's a Sims game, so recycled moves and gobbledygook lyrics are perhaps to be expected, but surely they could have splashed out on better backing tracks?
  16. Apr 23, 2012
    57
    If all you have ever wanted is to create a superstar of your own and to socialize with your friends without leaving the Sims universe, then, by all means, have at it. But there is nothing else.
  17. Apr 27, 2012
    40
    Scant new features of gameplay are unsatisfying and unbalanced. Suitable for the stalwart fan, who doesn't mind repetitive tasks. [May 2012, p.60]
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    Just going to say this. All of this EP, could of easily been included in Late Night. Instead they wait, and abuse there fans by releasing this to make more money then they need. All of this and late night combined, was included in the Sims 2 Nightlife EP. SO why cant it of been compiled instead. I dont get it. They abuse us. And as said before, the sims 3 is starting to die out. They are getting lazy. Where is the packs we want? We want a seasons EP too. The games last few packs have been horrible and it needs something to fix it. Make the Urbz 2 then. That way, we have a good game with Late night and Showtime combined. Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    The Sims 3 Showtime surpassed my expectations, I did not expect all this, the city is beautiful, new families are cool and when I have the stations will for sure play with this city ... The gameplay is nice the 3 professions are excelent, so missed the paparazzi, new social interactions are very nice and at least on my PC go faster! Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    i personally love sims, so hell yes, i will review it a 10. Great to have Katy Perry in game play. Amazing that i can make my own sims and decorate their houses Full Review »