Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    93
    All in all, Supernatural may be my favorite expansion so far for The Sims 3. It gives enough options so that you really try something new, though it does border on having too many options. While it doesn't add as many new gameplay mechanics as some other expansions, the additions are interesting and well crafted. No two people look for the same thing out of The Sims, but for me, if you're only going to buy one Sims 3 expansion, it should be this one.
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    89
    The Sims 3 Supernatural is by far the most engaging expansion pack yet with its variety of quirky and magical-inspired gameplay features. While most of the content feels at home in the Sims world, the inclusion of some elements such as fairies and zombies are questionable. No matter if one loves or hates the idea of magic in The Sims 3, Supernatural adds a great deal of varied, worthwhile, and most importantly, entertaining content.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    85
    Just what the witchdoctor ordered: no matter what supernatural doppelganger – from the scary to the mysterious to the mischievous ‑ gamers choose, there is ample magically macabre monstrous adventures to explore in the eerie enclave of Moonlight Falls.
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    85
    The Sims 3: Supernatural is the first expansion for a long time that really brings meaningful innovations into play.
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    85
    I've been playing Supernatural for the better part of a week now, and it's still surprising and delighting me with its cheery take on magic, horror and gothic. It's an expansion in the very best sense, and now up at the top of my list of Sims 3 must-haves.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    The Sims 3: Supernatural is a really well-made expansion that offers long hours of entertainment and opens new ways of experiencing the world. Each character is a new progress path and it would be a mistake not to try them all out. Moonlight Falls has some interesting places that - after dark - lure monsters and are a source of many exciting night encounters. Despite some minor technical flaws, the newest Sims 3 expansion is a great way of providing a new look on this crazy world.
  7. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    EA should be commended on another fun Sims adventure with great gameplay and graphics. My one wish for this franchise is to make The Sims franchise online which would combine all the elements of the games into one mega social experience. Nonetheless, The Sims 3 Supernatural is a must have game to all fans of this series!
  8. Sep 10, 2012
    80
    Still, The Sims 3 Supernatural works its magic enough that all Sims 3 fans should be left spellbound.
  9. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    While it might have its share of annoyances, the positives outweigh the negatives in The Sims 3: Supernatural. It's one of the strongest expansions for the core game yet, and might even give lapsed players a reason to return to the game.
  10. Nov 25, 2012
    78
    No more excuse to create your very own Bella and Edward. [Christmas 2012, p.94]
  11. Sep 27, 2012
    75
    Overall, Supernatural feels like a fun expansion to the core Sims 3 experience, and something that's worth checking out even if you're not super vested in the series, like me. It's a far enough departure from the norm that I found it to be a lot of fun to toy around with.
  12. Sep 15, 2012
    70
    Supernatural is filled with charm and ambition, but issues with zombies and lunar cycles cast a shadow over its best parts.
  13. Sep 11, 2012
    65
    Despite some qualities, among them the new supernatural theme, enthusiasm is not really the word that comes directly to our mind while playing The Sims 3 : Supernatural. Of course, it is pleasant to play as a werewolf, or to create terrific potions that could turn our Sims into zombies. However, the surprise is no more, especially when you know a eighth expansion set will be released soon with not so many new features.
  14. Sep 12, 2012
    60
    A very good expansion pack full of new contents but also problems. It's fun to play like a werewolf or a fairy, a little less to have to deal with the zombies that do not behave as they should. The only truly effective weapon against the undead is the pea shooter from Plants Vs Zombies, only available in the limited edition.
  15. Sep 25, 2012
    59
    If you never missed a Twilight premiere, if you know the lineage of the Stackhouse family and follow the adventures of the Salvatore brothers, then this expansion pack is for you. For the rest of the world, it's just a content pack that adds nothing new to the game's mechanics.
  16. Sep 19, 2012
    45
    Supernatural doesn't augment your Sims or make the neighborhood more interesting: it turns it into an unrecognizable mess that doesn't even come close to resembling the "life simulator" it's supposed to be.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    I liked the game despite a little escape from the reality of The Sims and goal of the game is cool I as a fan of Harry Potter created many wizarding families loved the gameplay of Werewolves liked fairies and vampires do not come close, but the game 's cool, brought tons of things as objects and a new and beautiful city Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    With tons of new features adding more variety and fun, whilst managing not to stray too far from what we are used to this is one of the best expansions for The Sims 3.
    EA are clearly aware of the glitches the game started with and have already fixed the most obvious problems. However the rest of the game offers so many fun new and magical interactions that make the game enchanting once again. EA weren't stingy when it came to the amount of new things that were added and for once the sim children were not ignored as they too can inherit powers and have new toys and outfits to choose from. This expansion is a great addition to the game and should provide any player with hours and hours of exciting new experiences and opportunities to live through their Sims.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    i think the game was pretty fun and u can trool other sims in the town with ur powers!!! but i think they should actually create a complely differnet town (a wizard world those kind of places) instead of almost the excatly the same town as before. Full Review »