Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Sims 3 is the perfect example for a brilliant, fun game that works without any violence.
  2. 100
    Longtime fans of the series will appreciate not just the massive improvements to customization and gameplay mechanics, but in the little changes as well.
  3. The Sims 3 is pure simulation gaming fun, and the ultimate God game today.
  4. The customization options and freedom to do anything in The Sims 3 allow players to not only make any person or any family, but they allow players to have their own story.
  5. The best Sims game yet. It's still about playing with virtual dolls, but it's never been this big, beautiful and eager to please. [July 2009, p.69]
  6. These improvements over the previous game nailed it - I became absolutely besotted. I've lost so many hours to The Sims 3 the PC Zone team were convinced they'd have to surgically remove my mouse from my hand to get me to work. [July 2009, p.56]
  7. If you're a fan of one of the previous games, you probably have this already, but if you're new to The Sims, this is a great way to jump into the water. Just make sure to climb out for air from time to time.
  8. This game may well manage to suck some of the harder gamers into its clever paws thanks to sharp wit and genuine originality. [July 2009, p.86]
  9. The Sims 3 delivers most of its promises. Modeling an entire small town works extremely well, and even though many features from previous installments will be available only in later add-ons, there's still a ridiculous amount of stuff to do. Technically it's pretty awesome as well. [June 2009]
  10. A fine digital toy and a great purchase for the fan of the series - as long as you accept that a lot of expansion features from The Sims 2 are missing and will probably be sold to you all over again as an endless stream of expansion packs and downloadable add-ons. As a game, things tend to get just as repetitive as your average daily grind in real life.
  11. The Sims 3 is a great game, a truly masterpiece, fresh, mature and innovative. With beautiful visuals, the game is full of new contents, the life of our avatars is not set only in one house but we can stroll about through an entire city. This a giant leap from the other games created by Will Wright.
  12. Even more addictive than the last two.
  13. The Sims 3 is without doubt the series' finest hour...By playing around with character traits, you're able to create all kinds of people, and just watching them interact is a joy in itself. [July 2009, p.102]
  14. A gallant return to form and takes a direction that breathes new life into a formula that is fast reaching a decade old.
  15. As such, The Sims 3 really is a game that keeps on giving; it's polished to near perfection and while it's missing a couple of old features, it shines in so many other areas where the series once lacked that I can only sing its praises.
  16. The Sims 3 faced an daunting task to live up to the franchise's legacy and yet still deliver a new kind of experience to satiate the desires of any Sims fan.
  17. Maxis does it again and delivers the best Sims game ever. By implementing a handful new gameplay elements, The Sims 3 now feels like an actual game. And without forgetting the players that just want to fiddle around a little bit. Making this one a lot more appealing to newcomers. The somewhat high price of new objects and the lack of accessories don't come as a surprise. The only thing left is the difficult, though pleasant, job of maintaining a second household besides your own.
  18. On the surface you might get the impression that little has changed between the second and third installment of EA's life simulator, but when you delve deeper into the experience you'll find a game that offers you more unique characters, an increased ability to participate in social activities outside of the confines of the house and less focus on tedious daily chores. For the first time your sim and the world surrounding him/her feels truly unique. As per usual you only get the basic features in the package, leaving an almost clean slate ready for future expansions. Nevertheless, EA's done it again and you'll find countless hours of great fun here.
  19. The latest incarnation of Electronic Arts sandbox game is also the best so far. The Sims 3 takes the core of the series and wraps great graphics around it, as well as an open town and more playability. That makes you forgive the lack of real news in the game.
  20. The latest Sims game is also the greatest, striking a terrific balance between the fresh and the familiar.
  21. It’s the kind of addictive joy that will make you realize that you have the power to do what you want to the world you help create. In other words, The Sims 3 is a real Must Buy for any fan of the series or any gamer looking for a PC title that’s way too much fun to want to stop playing.
  22. Even with that ostensibly simple premise, the development team has crafted a remarkably layered simulation that feels like what The Sims has been trying to be from the beginning.
  23. If you're a fan of the series, then The Sims 3 will deliver all that you've come to expect and throw in a ton of new ideas, even if the amount of extra toppings doesn't seem as vast.
  24. This is the best Sims game ever and I can’t imagine anyone wanting to play the previous titles after experiencing the realism and freedom of The Sims 3.
  25. Improved but basically the same, The Sims remains a joyful simulation, and celebration, of life and all its dramas.
  26. After suffering from an oversaturation of Sims for the last 10 or so years, it’s hard to believe The Sims 3 is as good as it is. It’s unapologetically a Sims game, but it also manages to feel truly fresh.
  27. If you never really "got" why people played the games, The Sims 3 might give you the answer you've been seeking.
  28. The series has sold 100 million copies and this version should add another 100 million, because everything has been done right. If you liked The Sims, you will love this new version with all its love for details. It's a real masterpiece.
  29. 90
    Superb evolution for the franchise and an impressive, enjoyable game in its own right. EA has obviously listened to criticism and worked hard to create a title that prioritises goal-based gameplay over micro-management to deliver an experience that's constantly engaging and thoroughly immersive.
  30. 90
    The living, breathing world of Sunset Valley, the town that comes pre-packaged with the game, is a fascinating one.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 167
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    The Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that havingThe Sims 3 is an amazing game, that is very life like. I am looking forward to getting the new Expansion Packs. But I will agree that having no choice to have pets does kinda suck, and the graphics aren't the best. But this game will have you singing along to whatever Sim Language song is on the radio. Full Review »
  2. DKF
    Jan 28, 2011
    2
    I'm a big sims fan.... but Sim3 is a piece of c r a p.
    I mean there are a few things fine and dandy, some nice innovative things as well.
    I'm a big sims fan.... but Sim3 is a piece of c r a p.
    I mean there are a few things fine and dandy, some nice innovative things as well. The seamless zones are great. But! there are far too many things weighing this game down. The content in the game is "small".
    Then I see that you can buy the content for the game for a lot more money via expansions or the STORE.
    I'm insulted that EA tries this trickery to rape me of my money just because I'm a sims fanboi.
    This slap in the face is what now makes me wash my hands of this silly franchise, finally. Sims3 is just boring... boring boring, walk around boring, with no actual content or point to developing your sims, or house.
    Full Review »
  3. DanDan
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    This is hardly sims 3 i would more say sim 2.1. For a start the graphics are rubbish compared to sims 3, the people look odd, its looks so This is hardly sims 3 i would more say sim 2.1. For a start the graphics are rubbish compared to sims 3, the people look odd, its looks so unrealistic and its all and well having all these new destinations just a shame we cant go into them. I personally feel that sims creators are insulting us by selling us this rubbish £35. I have been a faithful sims player from day one and saying I'm disappointed is an understatement. Full Review »