The Sims Medieval PC

The Sims Medieval Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Sims Medieval offers players a chance to build up a medieval kingdom, controlling characters from all walks of life, from Kings and Queens, to Knights and Wizards, Blacksmiths and Bards. It provides a host of storytelling possibilities in the form of quests, from crafting a legendaryThe Sims Medieval offers players a chance to build up a medieval kingdom, controlling characters from all walks of life, from Kings and Queens, to Knights and Wizards, Blacksmiths and Bards. It provides a host of storytelling possibilities in the form of quests, from crafting a legendary sword to arranging a royal wedding, to protecting the kingdom from an evil sorcerer, to finding the fountain of youth. Every quest plays out differently depending on which Hero Sim the player is controlling. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Apr 30, 2011
    91
    It's accessible, it's decent fun, and there's a metric ton of content.
  2. PC Games (Russia)
    Apr 8, 2011
    85
    Possibly the first Sims game that is worth playing all the way through. It may lack some variety of content, but nevertheless it's a big step forward for the series. [May 2011, p.87]
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    84
    In the end, The Sims Medieval is definitely one of the best releases of this series in a long time and the tweaked gameplay and new direction of the game will not only be pleasing to existing fans but also newcomers to the series who will easily be able to pick up the game and start playing.
  4. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    The Sims Medieval is a beautiful game with fun and interesting ideas, but it doesn't live up to my fantasy of the Middle Ages and it doesn't completely satisfy the Sims fan in me.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    74
    The Sims Medieval is a funny game for explorers, full of little gems, but the everyday life of the Sims has been simplified and feels routine very quickly. It's very entertaining for a while, but too shallow to motivate for long.
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    70
    The Sims: Medieval is an interesting experiment, with some good ideas, but their use is far from ideal. The repetition and the pacing problems have a negative impact on the overall experience, but this will not prevent fans of the series from spending many enjoyable hours with it.
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    50
    The Sims Medieval tries to reinvigorate the series, and ends up losing most of what made the previous games great, instead taking the game off into a very different and overly simplistic direction, shedding all freedom for no real benefit.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 53
  2. Negative: 16 out of 53
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    I've played through an ambition (~10hrs) and am loving this game. Super sweet art and it's really funny! This is actually pretty differentI've played through an ambition (~10hrs) and am loving this game. Super sweet art and it's really funny! This is actually pretty different than the sims3. A lot of the same stuff you'd expect to be included, but there's a TON of new stuff too. Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    AT LAST! I liked the Sims idea some but hated playing at the end as I always, ended up making a character that looked like me, had a family, aAT LAST! I liked the Sims idea some but hated playing at the end as I always, ended up making a character that looked like me, had a family, a job (constantly trying to promote), having to take care of things around the house and paying bills and never having actual time of my own (in between fulfilling personal needs and trying to be nice and social)... I got my life for that! Didn't need a simulation!!!

    But this was a nice change, that enables you to bring to life all the fairy-tale, fantasy and medieval characters you wanted, decorated with nice ambitions and achievements and the level of customization exactly to my liking!

    I waited to buy the collector's edition for 17â
    Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    Don't play this game and expect it to be the usual sim game. I'm not really good at reviewing so let me put it this way- I have played this aDon't play this game and expect it to be the usual sim game. I'm not really good at reviewing so let me put it this way- I have played this a whole weekend. Its SO much fun watching your characters evolve and have them gain characteristics that you define during adventures. Every character feels important and personal. Played it non stop. And while i usually cheat at some point in sim games i haven't done so yet in this one. And while the game will get very boring once all the choices and consequences has been made I can still only wholly recommend it. Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2016
    7
    A lot of things to do and customize. This is different compared to the original sims. I enjoy being a monarch, yet this game is onlyA lot of things to do and customize. This is different compared to the original sims. I enjoy being a monarch, yet this game is only interesting during the first ambition or the first 8 hours. After you have explored all jobs, it gets repetitive and boring. Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    Very good for the first level (about 12 hours), then you can either start again with a new acheivement and do the exact same thing again fromVery good for the first level (about 12 hours), then you can either start again with a new acheivement and do the exact same thing again from scratch or play on with your current save except they dont let you do quests and your sims dont have ambitions anymore. The freedom mode would be perfect for developing your town except you NEED the quests and ambitions in order to level up, a very simple mechanism completely missed there.
    This could have been improved with new towns to explore and develop, how about conquering and expanding those neighbouring towns?
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2015
    4
    I have paid for games that my pc couldn't handle, I have paid for games that I didn't know it had monthly costs, but this is the one I regretI have paid for games that my pc couldn't handle, I have paid for games that I didn't know it had monthly costs, but this is the one I regret buying the most. Although it might seem like a cool idea at first, putting the Sims into the Medieval times it doesn't work at all. Probably the first hours were fun, but then I cam across some glitches and actually lack of content. There is not much of the simulation that Sims is known for and the project has completely been left down. Expand
  7. dfs
    Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Nothing but problems with this game. Has corrupted saves twice, crashes every other time I try to play it.

    The gameplay is fine if you ever
    Nothing but problems with this game. Has corrupted saves twice, crashes every other time I try to play it.

    The gameplay is fine if you ever get it working. Buyer beware.
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews