The Sims PC

The Sims Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In "SimCity," you had the power to build and control cities ... with The Sims, you'll create and control people!
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    The uniqueness of the game, the sound, graphics and the ability to control a little Sim life hooked me almost immediately.
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    It's impossible to categorize EA's addictive superblockbuster life simulator, just like it's impossible to stop playing it. [Feb 2003, p.94]
  3. 95
    The game isn't just addictive, it's downright dangerous.
  4. 90
    Never before have I played a game as compelling as The Sims. This game will provide you with emotional experiences that you could never imagine from a video game.
  5. Original, amusing addictive, and most of all incredibly fun and relaxing to play. If we only had more great ideas like these…
  6. It is compelling, addictive, fun, frustrating, well-designed and intriguing.
  7. 60
    It does become kind of mesmerising, but like watching waves on a beach, chances are that pretty soon you'll tire of the lack of variety on offer.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 56
  2. Negative: 10 out of 56
  1. ArthurP
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    I remember playing this years and years ago, it was my favorite game then, the building, the songs, looking after your family and progressing I remember playing this years and years ago, it was my favorite game then, the building, the songs, looking after your family and progressing mesmerized me. It's one of those games you get so into it you forget your playing a game. Today I got the game again and tonnes of wonderful memories came back about this game. So in summary, yes its an old game, the graphics are no way near as the modern sims, but it one of the most interesting and enjoyable games ever to be released. I was very disappointed with the sims 2, probably because it can never live upto the original sims. Expand
  2. SamL.
    May 4, 2003
    10
    The Sims is such a great game, and I cannot see how anyone can hate it. True, it does get a bit repetative, but the game makes you want to The Sims is such a great game, and I cannot see how anyone can hate it. True, it does get a bit repetative, but the game makes you want to play it over and over again. One of the only decent games these days that doesn't involve shooting people or mindless gore. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2014
    10
    It's magic, it's fun, it's... awesome. It's one of the best games I've ever played. The graphics might be old, but gameplay is incredible. ItIt's magic, it's fun, it's... awesome. It's one of the best games I've ever played. The graphics might be old, but gameplay is incredible. It is and will always be the best game of the series. Period. Expand
  4. RainbowTay
    Jun 8, 2003
    8
    It's a good game but u can't do much without the expansions.
  5. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    The Sims is an incredible simulation that can be played by anyone. It's very fun to create a family and run their lives. There is a lot ofThe Sims is an incredible simulation that can be played by anyone. It's very fun to create a family and run their lives. There is a lot of customization with creating a person from choosing clothes and a face to selecting their personality. There are a lot of options with making a house and furnishing it, and I find making the house the most fun part. After playing someone's life for a while it can get a little repetitive. They just go to work everyday without much change except promotions here and there to make more money and then you can keeping upgrading your house, but it takes a lot more time to build your house bigger and buy fancier things. The Sims is amazing and it will always be a great game to play for anyone. Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    6
    I absolutely hated it.

    I was so excited for this as it was being developed by Maxis. But, my one and only full night really trying to
    I absolutely hated it.

    I was so excited for this as it was being developed by Maxis.

    But, my one and only full night really trying to love this game was a disaster. It was depressing.

    Get up, barely make it to work. Get home, barely make it to bed. This is already my life. Why on EARTH would I play this?

    I'll give it a 6 since it had few bugs and the underlying system was well-constructed. But, I really disliked playing this game.
    Expand
  7. Nemisis
    May 17, 2003
    1
    EXTREMLY STUPID GAME. NO FUN.

See all 56 User Reviews