Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    100
    There is a lot more to The Stanley Parable, but to reveal the many wonderful surprises and twists crammed into the three hours it takes to see just about everything would be foolhardy. So instead, you'll have to trust us. But you'll be hard-pressed to find a funnier and more delightful game than The Stanley Parable this year.
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    100
    It’s just a terrific experience, somehow managing to gratify with choices that seemingly mean nothing, achieving this feat with a phenomenal central performance, expert writing and ceaseless creativity.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    The Stanley Parable is a game which isn’t really applicable to the standard rating system. It’s a game that achieves what it has set out to achieve perfectly, and though it could be longer and have more endings, it doesn't need them. It’s a thought-provoking and intelligent game which should be experienced by everyone, and one which will be referenced for a long time to come.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    It's this bouncing between serious tone and irreverence that makes The Stanley Parable so special. You never know what to expect and the thrill of discovering something new is reinforced by great narration and often capricious events. But more than anything, it's this choice at the center of it all that makes The Stanley Parable a game about self-discovery.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    By turns hilarious, disturbing, witty and poignant, The Stanley Parable is a successful experiment in the video game medium's inherent interactivity and how this can affect an author's story -- for good and for ill.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    100
    Where so many games that aspire to be more than games end up less than any form of art, Stanley Parable strives, and then succeeds, to be every game ever created. Even so, holding the game to the standards of any other title is simply not going to be correct.
  8. Nov 6, 2013
    95
    The Stanley Parable is a meta-videogame which reflects on the nature of the medium itself. It's a masterpiece.
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    The Stanley Parable is the “Being John Malkovich” of video games, a complex and shapeless digital creature, that we will play over and over again, sometimes staying with raised eyebrows and a sea of questions, with the only certainty of having experienced something as much surreal as poetic.
  10. Oct 25, 2013
    92
    You’ll feel a bizarre motivation to uncover each of more than a dozen endings, even when the game is openly mocking you for doing so. The insults speak to a larger truth and may make you question what it means to play games at all. This introspection, however, will have you laughing the entire time.
  11. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]
  12. Nov 12, 2013
    90
    To me, it feels more like an existential horror story, a deliberate blurring of the lines between the creator and the consumer, in order to tell a really good story.
  13. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    A unique title making fun not only from the game production but above all from us, the gamers. And it succeeds in it fabulously. The Stanley Parable is an extremely intelligent, humorous, and fitting game for those, who are hard to please. A game you wanted so madly, without even knowing you really want it.
  14. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable is brave. It’s brave because it offers the freedom to define the parameters of your experience. It’s brave because it’s willing to explore the ways in which games manipulate players, and to extrapolate that point into a discussion of the way we are all manipulated by the structures of real life. It’s brave because it’s willing to make fun of itself.
  15. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    Some may laugh, some may think, some others may yawn, but every gamer should try The Stanley Parable eventually. A bizarre, peculiar, extraordinary experiment about life, gaming, and the perpetual link between effect and cause. So, a tiny mod of Half Life 2 can explain all these important things in a such peculiar way? We say yes, and we not say yes...
  16. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    For gamers looking for something intellectual about their medium, in their medium, The Stanley Parable is the only choice available – and thankfully, it’s a good one.
  17. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    Maybe I already told you too much about The Stanley Parable, maybe I should just tell you that you absolutely have to play this curious little gem of a game. Even though it really is playing you and not the other way around.
  18. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    We also enjoy The Stanley Parable, but this isn't just a game meant to be enjoyed. I refuse to believe something like this is just meant to be something we goof around with for a couple of evenings and dumped into our hundreds-strong Steam libraries, never to be thought of again.
  19. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    As with any piece of good art, it is as much a game as a mirror; the beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. But what is The Stanley Parable, and what does it want to say? Not even the narrator could tell you that.
  20. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Effortlessly inventive, frequently surprising and consistently hilarious. The Stanley Parable shows how to make a story about game stories.
  21. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable is a story made of stories. A good exploration of the limits of freedom in videogames.
  22. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    There might not be any slow motion door breaches but this is the smartest and funniest first person game since Portal, with an interactive script that is as a profound as it is constantly amusing.
  23. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    A very unique experiment with you at the center.
  24. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable has this provocative and perpetual elusiveness that aches to break whatever system it’s applied to. Perhaps it's part of a weapons-grade disinformation campaign appointed to destroy all videogames, or maybe it was commissioned to wreck game criticism. Through any interpretation The Stanley Parable is equally hilarious and genuine, and if nothing else it’s going to merit inclusion in any serious discussion of its medium.
  25. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    For a small commitment in terms of time and money, it delivers a ton of laughs and just enough thought-provoking commentary on the nature of narrative in games. Getting everything you need out of a game in a few hours might just be the ideal format for comedy.
  26. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable is both a richly stimulating commentary on the nature of choice in games (and in other systems, too, like our workplaces and our families) and a game that offers some of the most enjoyable, surprising, and rewarding choices I've ever been confronted with in a game. Going the wrong way has never felt so right.
  27. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    This is a thought experiment of sorts, and in comparison to some of its hordes of first-person peers, it may even be said that there’s not much of an actual point to the gameplay. But keep in mind that if that’s your conclusion, there’s a strong danger that you’re exactly the type of complacent player The Stanley Parable’s criticisms are aimed at.
  28. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable is many things all at once, and all of them are clever and fun. It’s a story made of stories, an exploration of the limits of freedom in gaming, a battle between narrator and narrated, and a giant self-referential meta feedback loop.
  29. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Familiar but consistently surprising, this new Parable even fits beautifully into the existing game - a game that took its power not from a single narrative but the interaction of all its possible narratives, super-positioned and entangled.
  30. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable analyses, comments on, laughs at and loves games and their narrative ambitions. The result is this phenomenal meta game that makes you laugh and think at the same time.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1500 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 389
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed, how did this score so highly?? According to Steam it kept me interested for 67minutes, until I realised I had in fact played through almost every ending available and there was literally nothing left to do. I feel completely ripped off as there is ZERO re-playability. You choose a path and listen to the narrator for 5-10 minutes... Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    3
    Not a particularly brilliant game. Some jokes were amusing, but quickly became old and boring with each "replay". Easy to get all endings within a few hours, and game quickly becomes pointless and worthless thereafter. Definitely not worth its overinflated reviews or price. Wait for a sale. Full Review »