User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1600 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    As a fan of the original half-life 2 mod,I came in expecting a very good game. I am happy to report that my expectations were exceeded. Because of the nature of the game I cannot delve into why it is so good without spoiling it, but if your looking for the interactive experience of the year then this game is a safe choice.
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    Clearly, the people who designed this game are brilliant, and the message is profound, but be warned that there is no actual gameplay here “The Stanley Parable” is an indie flick with arrow keys. It’s worth navigating through the narrative if for no other reason than to hear the critique on game culture written by the developers, but this is a simple stroll through a static world thatClearly, the people who designed this game are brilliant, and the message is profound, but be warned that there is no actual gameplay here “The Stanley Parable” is an indie flick with arrow keys. It’s worth navigating through the narrative if for no other reason than to hear the critique on game culture written by the developers, but this is a simple stroll through a static world that offers no traditional gameplay value. Which is ironic, given the mood of the storytelling. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    It's a fun, refreshing experience. It's not much of a game though, much more of an experience or some sort of art within itself. While I did enjoy the game very much I also do think most reviewers highly exaggerate. It's a fun 2-3 hour experience depending how curious you are. I myself played around 2½ and went every path, discovering 95% of what the game has to offer. I looked it up soIt's a fun, refreshing experience. It's not much of a game though, much more of an experience or some sort of art within itself. While I did enjoy the game very much I also do think most reviewers highly exaggerate. It's a fun 2-3 hour experience depending how curious you are. I myself played around 2½ and went every path, discovering 95% of what the game has to offer. I looked it up so that's why I know that I missed two easter eggs. Overall the narrator was great. the gameplay nonexistent, but the experience humorous and interesting. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind shorter experiences with no replay value. Once you have seen all the paths and endings there is no reason to ever play again as you discovered everything there is and then it just repeats itself. Good game, but nowhere near 'OMG best game eva, GOTY 2013!' as many silly fan boys make it out to be. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    The TLDR; It's a little short, but every second is fantastic. It took me about three hours to complete. I'm glad I spent my time playing it however. This game also isn't for everyone, probably. If you're used to, and only play, fast paced action games, you might not like it. It's more of an interactive/immersive story than a game really. Worth your time? ABSOLUTELY. Worth your money?The TLDR; It's a little short, but every second is fantastic. It took me about three hours to complete. I'm glad I spent my time playing it however. This game also isn't for everyone, probably. If you're used to, and only play, fast paced action games, you might not like it. It's more of an interactive/immersive story than a game really. Worth your time? ABSOLUTELY. Worth your money? Maybe. It depends Keep in mind, it's $15 for 2-4 hours of play. That might be worth it to you, it might not be. It was for me. I freakin loved this game. But keep in mind, you're not getting a lot of quantity for your money. Just a lot of quality. But if it goes on sale, buy it. Buy the crap out of it. It's great. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    The probability of anybody expecting or even anticipating something as mindblowing as "the Stanley Parable" is next to none. But it happened, and the Stanley's path is a wonderful journey of emotions, interactions and fun. For what seemed like hours, I was sitting back, and enjoying the narrative experience that the Stanley's Parable is. The truth was, the game is so rich and diverse inThe probability of anybody expecting or even anticipating something as mindblowing as "the Stanley Parable" is next to none. But it happened, and the Stanley's path is a wonderful journey of emotions, interactions and fun. For what seemed like hours, I was sitting back, and enjoying the narrative experience that the Stanley's Parable is. The truth was, the game is so rich and diverse in it's very core that it dragged me in it's story far more than it should. Everything about the game that needs to be executed properly, well... is. It exceeds my expectations of top-notch games with it's original approach to an original setting. The great factor about the Stanley Parable is it's terrific replay value. I couldn't believe how much fun could discovering all the endings be, as well as how funny and original many of the jokes and pun this game makes are. It is the first game this year that makes me really think about what it tries to present to the player, with it's clever monologues and great scripting. It is hard for me not to recommend this masterpiece to everyone I know, but I think YOU! will do. Good luck trying to exit the beautiful, simplistic world of The Stanley Parable, because I'm still trapped in the room 427. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This is the first time I've been properly astounded by a game since the portal series, after an hour I had to quit the game and just sit for a while, thinking. BUY THIS GAME!
  8. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    The game sets out to prove how flawed and pointless modern gaming is, and proves the point perfectly, with dozens of examples that are thought-provoking and in some cases quite entertaining. I haven't laughed so much at a game in a long time.

    There is hope for gaming after all.
  9. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    The Stanley Parable is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have no choice. The game will end, the game will never end.
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    3
    Not a particularly brilliant game. Some jokes were amusing, but quickly became old and boring with each "replay". Easy to get all endings within a few hours, and game quickly becomes pointless and worthless thereafter. Definitely not worth its overinflated reviews or price. Wait for a sale.
  11. Oct 21, 2013
    4
    This is unfortunately a bad videogame, with very little gameplay and level design that consists of a couple of corridors, a few big rooms and some random references to other videogames. Its "oh-so-clever" commentary on choice is something I've discussed before with friends within about 5 minutes while sipping on some coffee, for free, without having to waste 15$ and 2 hours of my lifeThis is unfortunately a bad videogame, with very little gameplay and level design that consists of a couple of corridors, a few big rooms and some random references to other videogames. Its "oh-so-clever" commentary on choice is something I've discussed before with friends within about 5 minutes while sipping on some coffee, for free, without having to waste 15$ and 2 hours of my life playing something boring to reach the same conclusion. If this was free, I'd be kinder to it as an invitation to a discussion using the gaming medium as language, but it is not worth paying for. Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    Everybody who play games and think about them at least a little knows that the player is more or less directed by game developers. Analogy with real life does not make this obvious topic interesting, and creating whole "game" based on this idea is a little insulting to gamers intellect. Stanley Parabel tries to communicate this painfully obvious message in very boring manner. ThisEverybody who play games and think about them at least a little knows that the player is more or less directed by game developers. Analogy with real life does not make this obvious topic interesting, and creating whole "game" based on this idea is a little insulting to gamers intellect. Stanley Parabel tries to communicate this painfully obvious message in very boring manner. This pseudo-intellectual "game" is IMHO waste of money and I would say it wouldn't even worth your time if it was free. Expand
  13. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    This is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe theThis is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe the professional reviewers were afraid to give it a low score, because they didn't want to have fingers pointed at them and people saying "Ha, ha, they didn't get it". Or maybe the professional reviewers have no experience with good books, because breaking the 4th wall is nothing new, and random infantile events and parody in a story is something kids aged 8 are able to do. I regret the time wasted on this, I felt the need to take a bath after touching this pile of dirt. Collapse
  14. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed, how did this score so highly?? According to Steam it kept me interested for 67minutes, until I realised I had in fact played through almost every ending available and there was literally nothing left to do. I feel completely ripped off as there is ZERO re-playability. You choose a path and listen to the narrator for 5-10 minutes...
  15. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    The pretense is strong in this one.

    A User Score of 8.2 and a Metascore of 92 are too high for this game. Very overrated. It's interesting... not necessarily good, but definitely interesting.
  16. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    The game confuses mind numbingly annoying for wit. I don't understand the humor or appeal of this game, or even the fact of how this "game" is even a game. It also baffles me how this game can have such a high score. 91 really? I counted at least half a dozen games it outscored that deserved better than it.
  17. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    All these 10 reviews must be written by kids who have never read sci-fi or seen any good movies. This game I bite my tongue as I refer to this time-sink as a game is so overhyped. There is some humor in it, but nothing funny enough to pass the "I blew some air out of my nose" level. I've unlocked 9 out of 10 achievements and found most of the endings and find the whole experience toAll these 10 reviews must be written by kids who have never read sci-fi or seen any good movies. This game I bite my tongue as I refer to this time-sink as a game is so overhyped. There is some humor in it, but nothing funny enough to pass the "I blew some air out of my nose" level. I've unlocked 9 out of 10 achievements and found most of the endings and find the whole experience to be largely unmemorable. I feel no desire to launch the game again to explore any further. Expand
  18. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    This game dont deserve to be selled. Is a bad bad remade mod, with and ultra lineal finals.
    Play the mod instead to pay for this... Played all the finals and the game is ultra boring. A waste of money.
  19. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    I really really really tried to like this game, but sadly I couldnt
    Basically a walking simulator,
    with a story that literally makes almost no sense
    zero replayability after all the endings
    no clue how it got so many good scores other than making fake accounts, fooling the masses and paying companies to give good reviews on the game
    waste of money, don't buy it.
  20. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I really don't get this game. It was quite entertaining when I first played it, but it got boring very soon. It's just missing the core element games must have FUN. I don't care if there's interesting story, or good voice acting of narrator as long this game is no fun. Replaying same bits over and over just to find different solution is annoying and boring. So, don't believe them critics,I really don't get this game. It was quite entertaining when I first played it, but it got boring very soon. It's just missing the core element games must have FUN. I don't care if there's interesting story, or good voice acting of narrator as long this game is no fun. Replaying same bits over and over just to find different solution is annoying and boring. So, don't believe them critics, who see masterpiece in this beautifully crafted but utterly boring creation. Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    A Dostoyevsky-esque testament to the fact that games can display existential philosophy beautifully without needing any flashy effects.

    The Stanley Parable is a game which requires playing through the same general sets of experiences over and over again to get an idea about the nature of storytelling and of reality itself.
  22. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    STANLEY PARABLE IS A GREAT GAME THAT TELLS YOU NOT JUST A STORY,BUT A GREAT AND FUNNY ONE.
    +Great Narrator/Funny Narrator
    +Great Endings/Funny Endings
    +Great Graphics
    +Great Story
    +Awesome Easter Eggs
    However...
    -I think there should be an update with more endings.But this doesn't change nothing,it's still a...
    10/10.
  23. May 2, 2014
    10
    I bought this game on sale (3$). I'm very glad to have tried it. It's not much fun but it makes you thinking about what a video game is. I can describe it with just a word: mind-blowing.
  24. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    I have played this and for a second I thought the game was going to be a horror one. I don't know, I liked it, but the single thing I didn't like is the fact that you have to play it many times to understand the rest of the story and you have to die in a point.
  25. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Love it It got a Portal feeling to it.... and it got a portal lvl in it Awesome!!
  26. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    The best way I can find to describe this game is "a story about a story". The gameplay is extremely simple, limited only to following paths and very occasionally clicking objects. What makes the experience so enjoyable is the narrator who comments on your every move, packed with tons of humor. Replayability is very low, and there aren't too many endings, so you won't get dozens of hoursThe best way I can find to describe this game is "a story about a story". The gameplay is extremely simple, limited only to following paths and very occasionally clicking objects. What makes the experience so enjoyable is the narrator who comments on your every move, packed with tons of humor. Replayability is very low, and there aren't too many endings, so you won't get dozens of hours out of it, but the time you do get is completely worth it.
    This kind of games are better started with as little knowledge as possible, so don't investigate too much before giving it a try.
    Expand
  27. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This game is perfect. It is funny (lots of fun and laughs!), intriguing, it has action, sure, and also thrill.
    It's perfect In the sense that there is nothing actually "missing" or that could have been done better.
    The concept is innovative and brilliant! I love how the Narrator voice (which is perfectly interpreted) is fundamental to the fun (and it really demonstrates you that, in
    This game is perfect. It is funny (lots of fun and laughs!), intriguing, it has action, sure, and also thrill.
    It's perfect In the sense that there is nothing actually "missing" or that could have been done better.
    The concept is innovative and brilliant!
    I love how the Narrator voice (which is perfectly interpreted) is fundamental to the fun (and it really demonstrates you that, in some occasions, literally).
    It's even philosophical at some points.
    It's a mature game that can really teach you something or at least make you think.
    It's and experience that's totally worth the little money it costs.
    Expand
  28. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    I wouldn't call Stanley Parable a game, I call it an interactive experience. Imagine that it's like a choose your own adventure book. There were points where a decision (either to go with the narrator or against him) was tough, i wanted to see what would happen with both options.

    Sure the game is short, but it blew my mind, it did things that completely baffled me. It is a great
    I wouldn't call Stanley Parable a game, I call it an interactive experience. Imagine that it's like a choose your own adventure book. There were points where a decision (either to go with the narrator or against him) was tough, i wanted to see what would happen with both options.

    Sure the game is short, but it blew my mind, it did things that completely baffled me. It is a great experience that everyone who loves video games should play. People who think that in order for a video game to be good you need a gun, should not play this game.... this experience is a lot deeper than that.
    Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Oh My God! This game may be short, but I garantee you that after you played it throughout all the endings for one or more times, you will still come out Amazing game, with simple mechanics and a great narration! Highly recommended!
  30. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Confused audiences are expecting this is to be a game, they're right. But it's not a game at the same time. I like to call it interactive poetry. It's not about the action, it's about the story and their thoughtful conclusions after each ending. This is probably going to be one of the last original masterpieces before every idea is used in the human mind. I don't think the original HL2Confused audiences are expecting this is to be a game, they're right. But it's not a game at the same time. I like to call it interactive poetry. It's not about the action, it's about the story and their thoughtful conclusions after each ending. This is probably going to be one of the last original masterpieces before every idea is used in the human mind. I don't think the original HL2 Source engine and the remake are different from each other. I believe that both should be rated the maximum rating on all gamers' reviews.
    Please, whoever you are, take the time to buy this game. It's only $14.99. You would not regret it.
    Expand
  31. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Without giving anything away, this game is very unique and will f*** with your mind at first. It has some funny moments and references. You will play it for max 2 hours and it has 0 replay value once you've finish it all, but it deserves to be played at least once by everybody. A fun, entertaining little game.
  32. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    Stanley Parable is a fun ride for about 2 hours. It is fun to discover all the endings, and offers one of those fun games that you can let a friend play to see what ending they get. Unfortunately this can't really be called a game, there is no conflict, no action, no NPCs, it's just one of those strange releases that should be played at least once, because telling someone what the StanleyStanley Parable is a fun ride for about 2 hours. It is fun to discover all the endings, and offers one of those fun games that you can let a friend play to see what ending they get. Unfortunately this can't really be called a game, there is no conflict, no action, no NPCs, it's just one of those strange releases that should be played at least once, because telling someone what the Stanley Parable is about is pretty difficult. It's definitely something everyone should try at least once Expand
  33. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is a must play. It is just another Half-Life mod, but this one is different. It offers an experience of many endings that will make you think about your life and everything around you.
  34. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    The game starts of great, it engages and is hilarious,....for about 15 minutes. I like the premise, I love how it feels like it was made just for my experience, but it was short-lived, and over in one sitting. Worth 5 bucks, but not any more than that
  35. Apr 2, 2014
    7
    I've always been of the opinion that if a game doesn't contain or focus very heavily on gameplay and mechanics, it's not a game. But the Stanley Parable is something which, ironically, EVERY gamer should at least consider, even though it's a very controversial one. No, you're not going to get some super-amazing all-in-one experience. Nor are you going to get the longest or most excitingI've always been of the opinion that if a game doesn't contain or focus very heavily on gameplay and mechanics, it's not a game. But the Stanley Parable is something which, ironically, EVERY gamer should at least consider, even though it's a very controversial one. No, you're not going to get some super-amazing all-in-one experience. Nor are you going to get the longest or most exciting "game". Nor is there any notion of GAMEPLAY. However, this piece of art illustrates the problem of having no gameplay altogether. It's weird and wonderful. It's repetitive yet different every time. It's easy to understand yet infinitely complex. The game can be interpretted in so many ways, and there is so much to discover behind its seemingly shallow exterior, I can't recommend it enough if you're looking for something that will entertain you in ways you couldn't have imagined. What is perhaps most commendable about The Stanley Parable isn't the whole "game within a game within a game" concept, but its presentation. The slick narration combined with sharp graphics and incredible attention to detail as well as a whole host of secrets, twists, pathways and endings to discover make it feel longer than it actually is. You might get bored of it after a few hours, but those first few crucial moments are something that can't be experienced anywhere else. It's a rich experience but one that isn't so muddled that it's difficult to make progress. Exploration of what seems to be an extremely linear game is very rewarding because the narrator speaks to you personally. The comedy value as well as the unique concept make The Stanley Parable a stand-out piece of entertainment that can't be expressed through any other medium. Expand
  36. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    This was an interesting experience to say the least, I'm not sure if this would be called a game, but more of a choose-your-own-adventure story. I personally found this game to be amusing, At times it can be light and humorous, and at others it can take a deep and psychological path. it was very interesting and i enjoyed the time i played it, the only real downside is its a bit short forThis was an interesting experience to say the least, I'm not sure if this would be called a game, but more of a choose-your-own-adventure story. I personally found this game to be amusing, At times it can be light and humorous, and at others it can take a deep and psychological path. it was very interesting and i enjoyed the time i played it, the only real downside is its a bit short for $15 game, so while i would recommend buying it, i may consider waiting for it to go on sale. Expand
  37. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Perfect. There is no other words to describe this game.

    You can't talk about this game without giving it spoilers, so I'll just say: play it. Is a full experience, you can choose everything, but at the same time, the game will choose for you. Even if you think to have broke the game, is all part of the game. I'm in love with Kevan Brighting voice, the narrator. Is simply perfect.
    Perfect. There is no other words to describe this game.

    You can't talk about this game without giving it spoilers, so I'll just say: play it.
    Is a full experience, you can choose everything, but at the same time, the game will choose for you. Even if you think to have broke the game, is all part of the game.
    I'm in love with Kevan Brighting voice, the narrator. Is simply perfect.

    Really, but it, is just 10$ or something like that. Money really well spend.
    Expand
  38. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This is definitely one of the more creative games I've seen! Everything about it is amazing. I can't say too much, because it might spoil on of the endings (There's more than one), other than get it now!
  39. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    This does not intend to be a game, so treating it as one would be inappropriate. Definitely not for everyone. It is pretty short but wonderful, you could burn that money in far more unenjoyable ways, which do not make you 'think'. It deserves 10 not at all for its duration, popularity or gameplay, but rather for its original plot which it achieves within its means and the amount ofThis does not intend to be a game, so treating it as one would be inappropriate. Definitely not for everyone. It is pretty short but wonderful, you could burn that money in far more unenjoyable ways, which do not make you 'think'. It deserves 10 not at all for its duration, popularity or gameplay, but rather for its original plot which it achieves within its means and the amount of laughter it caused (I cannot remember the last time I laughed so much during a game/film). Perhaps more for people who are (or think they are) intellectual/philosophical... Expand
  40. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    This a great thought provoking interactive story and a well spent few hours. Mature game players will get the most out of this game, with more drama than action.
  41. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Great story and writing, unlike anything I've ever seen. However, this game did cause me to feel nauseous after 30 minutes. I'm not really sure why, but I think it has something to do with Source engine, since I had the same issue with Half-Life 2. Also, the game is pretty short, so don't expect a long experience. But the story is awesome, so if you have a little bit of time, definitelyGreat story and writing, unlike anything I've ever seen. However, this game did cause me to feel nauseous after 30 minutes. I'm not really sure why, but I think it has something to do with Source engine, since I had the same issue with Half-Life 2. Also, the game is pretty short, so don't expect a long experience. But the story is awesome, so if you have a little bit of time, definitely give this a try. Expand
  42. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    One of the most unique and compelling games you will ever play. The narrator is always so sarcastic, but also so enjoyable. The Stanley Parable also has a lot of replay-ability, because there are so many different ending. Definitely a game for everyone that enjoys having their brain confused at times.
  43. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Literally most creative game ever. It breaks the fourth-wall with good use. You will lose many hours to this games depth. There are extra dialog options by doing nothing. There are almost and infinite amount of things to do along the game. It is not only a game; It is more creative. I can even go to say that it isn't a game more so than it is a digital narrative journey. But the only way to truly appreciate the games attention to detail is to play the game. [spoiler] One of the options in a path is literally to unplug a cord to a phone as it rings. Another is where you just enable cheats in the game console. Then the narrator just puts you in a room with a table and keeps coming back to the point of how long he looked at tables to find the most serious table, and that the matter of enabling the cheats is a very serious matter and he must take action against it because he fears for you. Another time you stand in a broom closet and he first openly mocks the character then directly says the reason you are standing in the closet doing nothing is because the person playing has suddenly died- where he then yells to grab the attention of anyone listening to say you (The player) are dead. There are so many things to do it is crazy. This game offers more than just enjoyment, it offers and experience that no other game can offer you. This game is one of the best I have ever played and well worth the money spent. Expand
  44. Nov 4, 2013
    6
    This is a 1 person game where you control Stanley: a worker in a office that make a repetitive job of pushing the button that his computer screen tell him to press.

    Some random day the screen stop give him instructions, he dont know what to do so he walk away his office and notice everyone dissapeared, now you need to explore the facility. The entire game is driven by a narrator that
    This is a 1 person game where you control Stanley: a worker in a office that make a repetitive job of pushing the button that his computer screen tell him to press.

    Some random day the screen stop give him instructions, he dont know what to do so he walk away his office and notice everyone dissapeared, now you need to explore the facility.

    The entire game is driven by a narrator that will speak as you explore the facility, whenever you go to a point that you can choose a path the narrator will say which one Stanley taked, but as you are in control of Stanley you can follow his instructions or take the other path.
    The narrator will simply continue his role, even if you taked the different path he will mount a story to keep the game going and other paths will come... this finally lead to many story ends.

    Well this is the game, you will play it many times cause each end can be reached pretty quick, the game is the narrator itself and all types of jokes that can come out for you not obey his commands.

    My main complain about the experience come from the game being to short, its something near of 2 hours to see almost every end and the best point is the intellectuality of the script.
    Expand
  45. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    What begins as a very shiny interactive choose your own adventure style game quickly went south and I found myself staring at the wall beside my computer. I have never felt psychoanalyzed by a computer game, or even felt 'beaten' by one like this before. This the the most brilliant game I've ever played,

    And it hate it.
  46. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This is a beautiful game with tons of content and fantastic witty writing, with about 20 different fun, interesting and sometimes sad endings, off the wall weird achievements, and a sense of true exploration 9/10.
  47. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Best thoughtprovoking game I've ever seen. People who think this game is boring, you're [not clever] people who don't understand the real deep sense game.
  48. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I can remember only few games, which are really original and still very playable. Stanley Parable is one of them. Not so quite a masterpiece, like Portal games, but very interesting game, which asking so many questions, but don't give any answers. Really good time for people, who likes to think and watching for something new. Great and amusing game in the long list of boring and clicheI can remember only few games, which are really original and still very playable. Stanley Parable is one of them. Not so quite a masterpiece, like Portal games, but very interesting game, which asking so many questions, but don't give any answers. Really good time for people, who likes to think and watching for something new. Great and amusing game in the long list of boring and cliche games, like a real treasure! Expand
  49. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Finally something different but of course i can't give it 10 because it's too limitate, this game is very beautiful but if it cost 4,99$ was PERFECT. I play it half hour and find 6/7 different endings, i read the total endings is 18 so is very awesome for an indie game! The narrator is very great, like Wheatley on Portal 2. It's funny becouse some ending is "long" and you think "Ah, ok,Finally something different but of course i can't give it 10 because it's too limitate, this game is very beautiful but if it cost 4,99$ was PERFECT. I play it half hour and find 6/7 different endings, i read the total endings is 18 so is very awesome for an indie game! The narrator is very great, like Wheatley on Portal 2. It's funny becouse some ending is "long" and you think "Ah, ok, now it's end so i restart from beginning" but no! ahhahaha very enjoy it. Expand
  50. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This truly might be the best game I have ever played! The story-telling is absolutely amazing and the twists and turns are most unexpected! An easy 10/10 from me!
  51. Nov 15, 2013
    8
    I spent a night playing The Stanley Parable and I believe I have experienced most of what the game contains.the humor kept me entertained throughout, and I do love the ideas and conflicts that are presented, but I wish that I had waited for a sale to pick this one up. Don't get me wrong, it is definitely worth playing, but for one or two nights of physical and mental exploration, it isI spent a night playing The Stanley Parable and I believe I have experienced most of what the game contains.the humor kept me entertained throughout, and I do love the ideas and conflicts that are presented, but I wish that I had waited for a sale to pick this one up. Don't get me wrong, it is definitely worth playing, but for one or two nights of physical and mental exploration, it is not worth the $15 price tag. It was definitely quite the experience, but left me wanting more for my money. Expand
  52. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    This game is beautiful, no other words than amazing. I do not want to contain spoilers but you can either go off the grid or follow a different tale. Buy it NOW. I was excepting to pay $60 or something but $15 just blows my mind. DEFINITE buy.
  53. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My mind is blown. This game is amazing, seriously, it encourages you to do things, that you wouldn't do in any other games, I'm trying to keep this as spoiler-free as I can, but, anything you say will spoil the multitude of choices that are laid out before you, you just have to figure out how to get to them. The game will reward you for thinking outside of the box, It will change you as a gamer. It will change you to the point, that you will begin to almost ignore the main path of a game and explore in search of alternate paths you could go down. Basically, we play as a man named Stanley, who is guided throughout his adventure by a voice, similar to that of LittleBigPlanet. We can choose whatever path we like, from listening to the "Narrator" (as he's referred to), to locking ourselves in a broom closet. Great game, worth the 11 Euro. This game gets a well deserved 10/10 from me. I encourage you to try the game for yourself and see how many endings you can find. And remember "The end is never the end, the end is loading" Expand
  54. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Grate Game I Love It Faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaankyou for making it
  55. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I won't say anything about this game because every little thing I would talk about it will be a spoiler to whoever hasn't played this game. So if you wan't to know more go and pick this game up! This game has to be an 8 out of 10!
  56. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    Simply brilliant. I won't say anything, that would spoil it. About the price: Yes, it is overpriced as a game. But it's not actually a game, it's art. Remember that.
  57. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This game has made quiet an advance in terms of design and choice maker finals, the possibilities are really impressive and the way the story flows is fantastic. Works really good for a casual or a hardcore gamer.
  58. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Fun, Quirky, and Interactive. The game itself has minimal user interaction and at the same time, has such drastic decisions to be made that effect you, and effect the game. Worth the 10 dollars you will pay for it. You buy this game more for the story than for the game play.
  59. Dec 6, 2013
    8
    A great title which is full of humor and charm. I loved the original mod and this is exactly what I expected it to be. It doesn't have much gameplay except picking up some objects, but it is the path that you choose that matters and it's honestly a lot of fun to have a story delivered based on your own actions in a humorous and bizarre way.
  60. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Never have I played a game that managed to brake down the 4 wall so covertly. I guess "brake down" would be to direct. It's more like a well dressed British man slowly cutting a hole in your monitor from the other side and then sitting down and starring deeply into your soul. Needless to say it was quite unsettling at times, but in a good way. I actually almost stopped playing half wayNever have I played a game that managed to brake down the 4 wall so covertly. I guess "brake down" would be to direct. It's more like a well dressed British man slowly cutting a hole in your monitor from the other side and then sitting down and starring deeply into your soul. Needless to say it was quite unsettling at times, but in a good way. I actually almost stopped playing half way through.... I almost won. Expand
  61. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    People seem unable to quantify The Stanley Parable with words, and I attempt the herculean task here. TSP is a story driven first-person novel game, if you will, in which you could be Stanley, an average joe with the most boring job in history. One day, the eternal monotony of his (or your) job is broken, and Stanley (or you) is then your avatar in a conundrum of doors, buttons, ferns,People seem unable to quantify The Stanley Parable with words, and I attempt the herculean task here. TSP is a story driven first-person novel game, if you will, in which you could be Stanley, an average joe with the most boring job in history. One day, the eternal monotony of his (or your) job is broken, and Stanley (or you) is then your avatar in a conundrum of doors, buttons, ferns, the Line(tm) and the number eight. Kevan Brighting's dry yet witty referential narration, its whirling mass of pokes and jokes at scripted narrative events and choice systems in general, is something to behold. Get friends and family to experience TSP's witty self-aware humor and the fun never stops. Simple xinput support means that a mouse and keyboard aren't the only way to proceed. And graphically, it's a treat, using the Portal 2 incarnation of the much loved Source engine, with graphical enhancements abound.

    Play the demo, love it, buy it (in a sale only), play it again, love it.
    Expand
  62. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This game can be viewed as a new genre in the gaming industry. The game is presented as a narrative on behalf of an office worker Stanley, which throughout the game accompanies the narrator. The game says to you that encompasses the right to choose in the game. It is like the voice of the narrator is the main attributes of the game.
  63. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is probably the best game I played this year (2013). Many people will says this is not a proper game and it's quite true. Stanley Parable is an experience. An experience that all gamers should have. Don't bother if you play this title 1 hour or 100, it's a personal adventure built by a genial team. This game is worth all the money it costs, and it's really cheap btw.
  64. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    The Stanley Parable is a game of choice and consequence. It starts out simple enough, but soon becomes a hilarious journey of mind-bending fun. Most of the humor is thanks to the narrator Kevan Brighting who is your only company along the many possible stories and threads. It is amazing how far some of your choices can take you and the narrator. The game is very short, though, so itThe Stanley Parable is a game of choice and consequence. It starts out simple enough, but soon becomes a hilarious journey of mind-bending fun. Most of the humor is thanks to the narrator Kevan Brighting who is your only company along the many possible stories and threads. It is amazing how far some of your choices can take you and the narrator. The game is very short, though, so it is best to wait until Steam marks it down. All in all, the Stanley Parable is an extremely entertaining, albeit short game that is definitely worth taking time to play. Expand
  65. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    This game is definitely over-hyped and undeserving of its numerous 10/10 scores. This is an indie game with more of a message than a deep story. This game has more wit and charm than substance, and I've noticed how it and others like it often get overrated by critics.

    That being said, it is a very fun and funny game. I really enjoyed seeing all the content that it had to offer, even if
    This game is definitely over-hyped and undeserving of its numerous 10/10 scores. This is an indie game with more of a message than a deep story. This game has more wit and charm than substance, and I've noticed how it and others like it often get overrated by critics.

    That being said, it is a very fun and funny game. I really enjoyed seeing all the content that it had to offer, even if I had to look up how to do a lot of it. I won't go into its plot or even the game mechanics, since that might be a slight spoiler.

    I will say that if you like Portal or similar type games (and have an open mind about what games should be), you will like this. I don't mean that Portal didn't have substance, because it did.

    Also, $15 bucks is a bit much for a MAX 2-3 hour game, with little replay-ability beyond showing friends. It is a good game worth playing, though. 8/10
    Expand
  66. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    The Stanley Parable is a variation from what is accepted as a traditional game with different and unique aspects. What one user might assume to be right could turn out to be your demise.
  67. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Ahahah this is something, a really insane story, i had much fun playing it and I recommend it to everyone who wanna play something different (well, you don't have to play so much in that game, but it is fantastic however)
  68. Aug 22, 2014
    4
    Not a terrible game, just quite frankly... boring. If you want a game that gives you a good feeling each time you accomplish a task, defeat a difficult enemy, or solve a challenging puzzle, look elsewhere. This is more of an interactive comedy movie, albeit a comedy movie where the the comedy is thin and where the movie has no plot.

    The entertainment value of the game relies solely on
    Not a terrible game, just quite frankly... boring. If you want a game that gives you a good feeling each time you accomplish a task, defeat a difficult enemy, or solve a challenging puzzle, look elsewhere. This is more of an interactive comedy movie, albeit a comedy movie where the the comedy is thin and where the movie has no plot.

    The entertainment value of the game relies solely on its ability to generate humour through a cheery-voiced Brit making observations about Stanley's directions and though I had a few chuckles at the beginning, it got tedious fairly quickly. In fact, I imagine the people who were mostly amused were the developer's themselves.

    The overriding feeling of pointlessness becomes evident the moment you realise there's no actual story; just a series of introductions and endings. If the humour was clever and witty, I could appreciate it. More often though, I'm sitting waiting for the narrator to hurry up and finish his next rant or remark so we can move on, despite knowing full well the game isn't go to go anywhere.

    In the end, I came to realise that the game had never really left where it started, only it's the player sitting there pushing the buttons as the computer spits out orders. It's just a pity I coudn't find the 'refund' button anywhere..
    Expand
  69. Jan 25, 2014
    5
    Yes this is different, and reasonably amusing but after awhile it just gets annoying to cover over much the same ground to see if you can find a different ending. Worth maybe paying £5 nothing more.
  70. Feb 5, 2014
    6
    It is not bad but after 3 hours of playing there is nothing more you can do. It is an average game trying to be popular by being different. It accomplished that but it is not a great game. If you are short on money this is not a long term one so spend it wisely.
  71. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me this is one of the best PC games ever made. Why?
    Simply because it’s really funny and interesting. The story of Stanley is well made and while you are playing the narrator that tells the story usually tells a joke or restarts the game.

    Whenever the narrator restarts the game, you get more addicted to the game and you want to discover another ending. However, the game restarts too much .The graphics are decent too. The Stanley Parable also talks about games. I recommend to the world this game, because everyone will enjoy it.
    Expand
  72. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After Portal 2 this game was the Best.Before I start the only thing that was wrong with the game was two bugs I found.the gameplay was really good and It was awesome that they didn't put any puzzles cause It wasn't like other games It was just exploring and listen to the Best narrator ever.It was like dear esther you should just explore.the endings were all awesome expect the space one were you should trow your self down and die.It had about 5 or 6 hours gameplay.all the ending were about 2 hours expect the one that you should play the narrator game(the one that you should press the button for 4 hours.)which was 4 and hour.Best ending was down stair one(the one that stanley goes down stairs and next morning a woman find his body.). The most stressful ending was countdown ending(the one that you turn the machine on.). The whole game was amazing and I'm really happy that I played It.Till now second Best game ever. Expand
  73. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    The Stanley Parable is a game that openly mocked me, what I was doing, and what I enjoy doing, and I loved every second of it. This isn't a game based around interesting gameplay or action-packed sequences and setpieces. I hesitate to even call it story-focused. The truth is that this game turns the notion of choice in gaming on its head. It makes you look at what choice actually meansThe Stanley Parable is a game that openly mocked me, what I was doing, and what I enjoy doing, and I loved every second of it. This isn't a game based around interesting gameplay or action-packed sequences and setpieces. I hesitate to even call it story-focused. The truth is that this game turns the notion of choice in gaming on its head. It makes you look at what choice actually means and why it, in the end, can't actually exist in a video game.
    For a game with such a philosophical bent, The Stanley Parable has a lot of charm to it. The narration has the dry wit and dark humor of Portal, and it carries itself with just the right parts levity and mocking derision that you can't help but laugh at yourself. It's like being on the receiving end of a particularly well executed, well timed, but well meaning practical joke.
    I beg you if you have gotten this far to try this game. It isn't much cost-wise and it, above all, deserves to be played. Keep in mind what it's about, and you will have a great time.
    All that being said, though, there are a few things that could have been improved. While it is a good game, there isn't a lot of it. I would say that it "doesn't overstay its welcome," but I would have liked it to stick around a while longer. There are some secrets and achievements (each of which mocking the concepts they represent nicely), but there isn't much reason to play this game after you've seen every ending. This is not a full release title, however, and we shouldn't be expecting 20+ hours of gameplay from this.

    Pros:
    - Deep, well thought out meaning
    - Incredible Humor
    - Unique

    Cons:
    - Short
    Expand
  74. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    Stanley Parable was a mod to Garry´s Mod, the mod was getting so popular, that it got its own game. And it was worth the money. Stanley Parable is not a normal game like another First Person game, it has its own shelf, its own category, the best way to say it short, its a fantastic special game. The game has really many different endings, and feels like, you´re in a commentary, or even aStanley Parable was a mod to Garry´s Mod, the mod was getting so popular, that it got its own game. And it was worth the money. Stanley Parable is not a normal game like another First Person game, it has its own shelf, its own category, the best way to say it short, its a fantastic special game. The game has really many different endings, and feels like, you´re in a commentary, or even a book written on the choices you choose. The game is not the best graphics game that you´re gonna see, but its really easy to run, and you´re not gonna think about the graphics, but about the story you´re making. The game isn´t an action game, its a relaxing game, you can sit when you´re bored. You can´t really tell anything about the story, or the game itself, without its a spoiler. The game has a really, really good telling, even when im played the game, and i made sometimes the sad endings or something, i felt like, i was touched.
    Final word: Buy the game if you like relaxing Indie Games, and you love where you interact to the choices, and even make your own story.
    Expand
  75. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    A witty and self-referential game about games. What impresses me the most is that each time I return to this game I have encountered something new and found myself ginning and laughing both at the game and myself.
    For those who have grown up gaming, this is a must-have title that should afford some light relief around a form of entertainment that is often taken all-too seriously.
  76. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    I suppose I'll be generous with this review. Ultimately, The Stanley Parable is a very enjoyable game for the 3 or 4 hours you can play it. During that time, the game is a solid 8. The story is interesting, the narrator is intriguing, but there is no actual gameplay. There is a finite number of endings and because there is no gameplay, aside from simply pressing the wasd keys, the game hasI suppose I'll be generous with this review. Ultimately, The Stanley Parable is a very enjoyable game for the 3 or 4 hours you can play it. During that time, the game is a solid 8. The story is interesting, the narrator is intriguing, but there is no actual gameplay. There is a finite number of endings and because there is no gameplay, aside from simply pressing the wasd keys, the game has a short life. It is definitely not worth the $12 I paid since it only yields 3 or 4 hours of gameplay. I suggest watching a playthrough or getting the game on sale for $3 or $5. Expand
  77. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the great examples about why there is a controversy going on about games being an art form or not. This game is not a "game" considering traditional definition of a game. This is a first-person philosophical game, and it is not just "another" art game. I know that most of you are completely bored about how some developers suck "games are art" channel dry, but this gameThis game is one of the great examples about why there is a controversy going on about games being an art form or not. This game is not a "game" considering traditional definition of a game. This is a first-person philosophical game, and it is not just "another" art game. I know that most of you are completely bored about how some developers suck "games are art" channel dry, but this game is completely original. I sincerely don't know how to review this game without spoiling your own adventure experiencing it but I must say that YOU will want to try out every single thing you can with only 5-6 control buttons and you'll keep saying "how the hell did that decision led to a different outcome" each time. Expand
  78. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    Well, This is a game all about a man named Stanley. It's interesting and funny but only for a short period of time I've finished almost every ending possible it took me a massive 2 hours to complete. So if you want to pay for a good laugh (however very short) this is the game for you.
  79. Jan 18, 2014
    4
    Overhyped "work of art".
    Have you seen the painting of a pipe by Rene Magritte, where on top of the pipe it is written "This is not a pipe" ?
    Well, Stanley's Parable does the same thing to a game. It combines absurd logic and writing, with mockery, self-depreciation, and an overuse of repetition. Ok... but the problem is that it's just simply not fun to play. You are just walking in a
    Overhyped "work of art".
    Have you seen the painting of a pipe by Rene Magritte, where on top of the pipe it is written "This is not a pipe" ?
    Well, Stanley's Parable does the same thing to a game. It combines absurd logic and writing, with mockery, self-depreciation, and an overuse of repetition.

    Ok... but the problem is that it's just simply not fun to play. You are just walking in a big museum of absurd comedy. At times, it can be brilliant and make you laugh, but also repetitive, annoying, and not really revolutionary. Since there is no real gameplay involved, you might as well save yourself the 10 bucks and just watch someone play it on youtube. Because for only 2 hours of content, the price of the game is even more absurd than it's art.
    Expand
  80. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    I picked this up on Steam cheap after reading rave reviews about the game and despite this being half price; it is not worth the money. This is an extremely overrated title that shouldn't warrant any cost. The concept is quirky and the narrative amusing but it feels as if these are factored in to cover up the sheer linearity of the game. You basically play an office worker called StanleyI picked this up on Steam cheap after reading rave reviews about the game and despite this being half price; it is not worth the money. This is an extremely overrated title that shouldn't warrant any cost. The concept is quirky and the narrative amusing but it feels as if these are factored in to cover up the sheer linearity of the game. You basically play an office worker called Stanley and the voice-over story depicts his life and job. You can either follow the story how it is told or go your own way which impacts the person telling the story. This can be humorous but it's hardly up there with Steven Merchant from Portal 2. You can complete the game in many different ways and even in under 5 minutes. There is bascially nothing to this 'game' apart from the narrative and a few corridors. There is no depth or ingenious moments that really stand out like we have seen in many other budget games or mods.

    The Stanley Parable has joined the growing list of indie/arcade titles that cost money and are give huge plaudits from the media but are actually poor attempts at conveying a game. Developers should be judged on their product solely and not taking into account factors surrounding development or the budget it cost to make the game. This is a poor, pricey and tedious attempt of a mod and the fact the game has a price-tag is shocking. The narrative saves it in some way but if you want to experience this title; just watch a few YouTube videos of the game in action.
    Expand
  81. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best things I have played in a long time. For the few hours this takes to complete in its entity this is engrossing and totally throws everything you think about video game conventions on its head. I think you need to just take it at face value and you will have one of the best video game experiences in years. Top stuff
  82. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    Now that the "artsy game" genre is beginning to spread, it seems that it was inevitable that a game such as The Stanley Parable would someday come out. While I'm certainly not against games that will abstract themselves from the traditional gaming paradigms, I demand that they remain GAMES, NOT STATEMENTS ABOUT GAMES. And so, don't be fooled by that pseudo-wisecrack-british-accent narratorNow that the "artsy game" genre is beginning to spread, it seems that it was inevitable that a game such as The Stanley Parable would someday come out. While I'm certainly not against games that will abstract themselves from the traditional gaming paradigms, I demand that they remain GAMES, NOT STATEMENTS ABOUT GAMES. And so, don't be fooled by that pseudo-wisecrack-british-accent narrator that'll accompany you all along the way: The Stanly Parable is a statement about games that, in itself, is a poor game.

    In the end, it's really no wonder that this title has received such a high critical acclaim; it's indie, it's unconventional, it's a game about games, it's pure critic's dog food. Let me hammer it again: it's not enough to step out of the traditional gaming paradigms just for the sake of it, you still have to make a game. This is what Anti-Chamber did, this is what Telltale did with (love it or not) with Walking Dead, this is what Miasmata did; those game stepped out of the conventional path and yet, they stand by themselves.

    And then you have your Andy Warhol games: The Stanley Parable, Gone Home (a very bland experiment in cheap empathy) and Dear Esther (that thing is so pompous I tried 3 times to spend more than an hour in front of it without feeling like I'm watching the English Patient).
    Expand
  83. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    It isn't exactly a GAME, but it's pretty amazing. If you have ever read the "Choose your own Adventure" book series as a kid then then you will love this. Also the humor in this game is top notch.
  84. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    So is this another 30 flights of loving type game....that's got really high reviews and when I bought it all I got was an old demo scene type walkable animation.
    I'm still convinced that game rated high as people didn't want to look like they weren't hip or able to appreciate it.
    So is this the same? Or does the narration make it worthwhile?
    if tis just a good story then fair enough...
  85. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    This game is just something else. It's like nothing you've ever played before. It's simple, but funny and very, very clever. The irony of the story line is simply superb. If you are an action junkie, then this might not be for you, but those who enjoy a fulfilling, cerebral experience, then this is a must. To say more would not do it justice, just buy it. Buy it now.
  86. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    The combination of the narrator (Kevan Brighting) and the perfected meta humor makes this into more than a regular game. In fact, I am not sure if this could be seen as a game in normal sense for it lacks much of what is gameplay and focuses on your mind and your thoughts instead. Filled with jokes within jokes hurled into a big bucket of creativity can be hard to spot if not givingThe combination of the narrator (Kevan Brighting) and the perfected meta humor makes this into more than a regular game. In fact, I am not sure if this could be seen as a game in normal sense for it lacks much of what is gameplay and focuses on your mind and your thoughts instead. Filled with jokes within jokes hurled into a big bucket of creativity can be hard to spot if not giving attention. If one finds themselves bored or perhaps confused the natural thing would be to push away. If you let this one go, you may have lost many thoughts worth bearing with you.

    All I can do is connect it with Monthy Python, not everyone gets the joke, because there is often ain't a joke but the situation itself. The only thing that is lacking is the playtime. Some would be foolish and rush within a couple of hours but to really get it all you have to spend about 5 hours on it at least.
    From an artistic point of view this could have a reason, nevertheless I could just be wanting more.

    Do not pirate this pearl.
    Expand
  87. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    To be honest, no game has made anyone think as much as this game. For some reason, this game, despite being incredibly short to people that do not have the patience to pursue the true endings of this game, sparks something inside everyone that plays it. It could be the hilarious dialogue, the inventive endings or the incredible simplicity of the story but no matter what it is, we need moreTo be honest, no game has made anyone think as much as this game. For some reason, this game, despite being incredibly short to people that do not have the patience to pursue the true endings of this game, sparks something inside everyone that plays it. It could be the hilarious dialogue, the inventive endings or the incredible simplicity of the story but no matter what it is, we need more games like this. I recommend going into this game not knowing anything about it. This is for the optimal experience, so I will not continue to say anything other than Buy this game. You owe it to yourself. Expand
  88. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    The premise is not as interesting as others might lead you to believe. It is pretty meta and very well made, but the game is waaaaay too short for the cost (I literally payed the exact same amount for Amalur: Reckoning, which I played for 100 hours at least, whereas I've already seen almost all of TSP after 1 hour or so of playing it).
    If it was priced at $2 or so, it would get a great
    The premise is not as interesting as others might lead you to believe. It is pretty meta and very well made, but the game is waaaaay too short for the cost (I literally payed the exact same amount for Amalur: Reckoning, which I played for 100 hours at least, whereas I've already seen almost all of TSP after 1 hour or so of playing it).
    If it was priced at $2 or so, it would get a great score. As it is, I was expecting sooo much more.
    Expand
  89. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    I bought this game on steam and had the day off to play it... but I feel a bit ripped off as this game cost me 10 Euro and after an hour I had found all the endings... pity
  90. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    This game should be considered a litmus test;
    Anyone who says they disliked the game or says "it's not actually a game" needs to officially be given a "STUPID" stamp on their forehead and be forever branded as an untrustworthy reviewer who should never again be allowed to touch a video game with a 10-foot-pole.
    It's one in a shortlist of games that could be described as "as close to a
    This game should be considered a litmus test;
    Anyone who says they disliked the game or says "it's not actually a game" needs to officially be given a "STUPID" stamp on their forehead and be forever branded as an untrustworthy reviewer who should never again be allowed to touch a video game with a 10-foot-pole.

    It's one in a shortlist of games that could be described as "as close to a perfect game as is possible to create", a shortlist including the likes of Portal (the first Portal, that is) and Anti-chamber.

    The Stanley Parable is quite a short game, but objectively one of the best video games ever made... And I literally mean *objectively*.

    If you compared this to the hundreds of games I have played in my entire life, all my most beloved games on which I spent tens or hundreds of hours on each...
    Games I hold far more dearly to my heart than The Stanley Parable...
    Games which have given me far more fun than The Stanley Parable...
    I could only honestly rate those games as 9/10.

    In a mere 5 hours of playtime from start to 100% completion The Stanley Parable is the one game that I could truthfully give a 10/10.

    Now that may make me sound like some pretentious hipster, but I regularly indulge in and fall in love with games that are super-mainstream, as well as more-indie games that I adore despite them objectively more closely resembling a glitchy pile of faeces than a video game.

    The Stanley Parable features the best narration you'll ever hear in your life and an extremely self-aware, incredible breakdown of what video games are as a whole.

    The game will make you feel curious, ashamed, awe-struck, annoyed, excited, terrified, ecstatic, sad, confused and hopeful seamlessly throughout every playthrough dependent entirely upon the many choices you make.

    If you have not played the game yet, then please immediately play the demo, then buy the full game and play that.

    Stop reading this review and do it, right now.

    Seriously. I mean it.

    Stop reading.

    Go play it.

    Now.
    Expand
  91. Jan 3, 2014
    1
    There are a few hints of originality here. But it is so poorly executed, it isn't even worth mentioning. This game simply isn't as smart as it attempts to portray itself.
    The graphics are terrible, like something from the late 1990's. I would have been able to get past that fact if there were a great game were lurking under its ugly shell. But this game is boring all the way down to its
    There are a few hints of originality here. But it is so poorly executed, it isn't even worth mentioning. This game simply isn't as smart as it attempts to portray itself.
    The graphics are terrible, like something from the late 1990's. I would have been able to get past that fact if there were a great game were lurking under its ugly shell. But this game is boring all the way down to its core.
    I would be embarrassed if I had anything to do with the making of this game. And I'm shocked that some critics decided that this is somehow a good game. It is not good by any measure.
    Expand
  92. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    This game is... alright. I just never got the sense of freedom and choice that the reviewers raved about; there are many choices you can make, sure, but you're never really "free". Everything is written, and that's honestly the feeling I got from it. Warren Spector (the lead on Deus Ex) once talked about how he could watch people play his game and come up to solutions to problems that he'dThis game is... alright. I just never got the sense of freedom and choice that the reviewers raved about; there are many choices you can make, sure, but you're never really "free". Everything is written, and that's honestly the feeling I got from it. Warren Spector (the lead on Deus Ex) once talked about how he could watch people play his game and come up to solutions to problems that he'd never thought about- that's the definition of a gameplay-choice driven game to me. The Stanley Parable tries to pull this off, but ultimately, it's just leading you down a path, no matter what. The Stanley Parable is more just the ILLUSION of choice wrapped in a well-written, humorous narrative. It's nothing like it tries to make itself seem, and it suffers greatly for it. Expand
  93. Feb 6, 2014
    5
    This game was a blast for an hour or so. After that, even with the different story options, it was just never interesting enough to inspire me to go through all the same things I had already seen before.

    It simply got boring way too fast. Grab it on sale for a couple dollars to get your money's worth.
  94. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    I played this game for about two and a half hours, to see how deep the rabbit hole goes and, ok the first hour is funny, but there's really no depth here.

    Don't be fooled, this emperor hasn't a stitch on!
  95. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game is amazingly good, i don't know what type of game it is but i know its a good one. Still not finished every thing but love the game. even the achievements are funny. I would advise anyone reading this to just stop everything and buy this game
  96. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the definition of story-telling. It conveys such a simple plot into such an advanced adventure, all condensed into a single building. The amount of detail is absurd. For example, I stepped into the broom closet, and the narrator spoke for over ten minutes. He eventually came to this conclusion (quote)

    "I have come to a very definite conclusion about what is happening right
    This game is the definition of story-telling. It conveys such a simple plot into such an advanced adventure, all condensed into a single building. The amount of detail is absurd. For example, I stepped into the broom closet, and the narrator spoke for over ten minutes. He eventually came to this conclusion (quote)

    "I have come to a very definite conclusion about what is happening right now... you're dead. You stepped into the broom closet, explored it a bit, and we're just about to leave when a physical melody of some sort shut down your central nervous system, and you collapsed on the keyboard."

    It actually goes on for longer, but you just have to play the bloody game. Its brilliant. Simple as that.
    Expand
  97. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    This is a story of a man named Stanley and it would seem to be all that I can say about it without spoiling anything. I will say it's something that I believe most people should try once and then discuss with others, but it also seems over priced for how long each play-through is. That being said there appears to be a lot of ways this game can be played and there might be more value inThis is a story of a man named Stanley and it would seem to be all that I can say about it without spoiling anything. I will say it's something that I believe most people should try once and then discuss with others, but it also seems over priced for how long each play-through is. That being said there appears to be a lot of ways this game can be played and there might be more value in that. Great game and achieves what it wanted to achieve. For this reason it definitely deserves a high score.

    If it's on sale it's a must buy, but the current amount of $14.99 seems a bit to high for me to tell people to buy it. I don't know if I can recommend it at that price, so I gave it an 8/10 for that reason. I recommend watching their wonderfully done trailers before buying, it will help in deciding if this is the type of game for you. However, try to avoid "Let's Play" videos that show an entire run of the game. This is all about the experience and it is quite a good one at that.
    Expand
  98. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    If you love Easter eggs in games, this is full of it. But it also makes you think on a philosophical level. To me, this is very refreshing compared to some games that are just mind numbing violence and actions. Please keep in mind, this is not everyone cup of tea. If you are on the fence in purchasing, play the demo. The humor is great and you will fall in love it.
  99. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I really don't understand all the people who say that this game has no replay-ability. It is without a doubt one of my favorite games ever. I actually have taste too, I enjoy cs, deux ex, metal gear solid, games that are actually GOOD. Also, the demo was pure genius and was almost a short game in itself. People who rate it low, there's a good reason that pretty much all critics and LPI really don't understand all the people who say that this game has no replay-ability. It is without a doubt one of my favorite games ever. I actually have taste too, I enjoy cs, deux ex, metal gear solid, games that are actually GOOD. Also, the demo was pure genius and was almost a short game in itself. People who rate it low, there's a good reason that pretty much all critics and LP youtubers recommend it. Expand
  100. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I've played thousands of games in my life. I've experienced the incredible story of the Kingdom Hearts series, The amazing immersion of the Half Life series, the beautiful narration of Thomas Was Alone and the stupid crazy fun of games like Just Cause 2. Thoughout my many years as a full time gamer I've only considered 1 game to be perfect, and that number has now become 2. The StanleyI've played thousands of games in my life. I've experienced the incredible story of the Kingdom Hearts series, The amazing immersion of the Half Life series, the beautiful narration of Thomas Was Alone and the stupid crazy fun of games like Just Cause 2. Thoughout my many years as a full time gamer I've only considered 1 game to be perfect, and that number has now become 2. The Stanley Parable is a perfect game. I could seriously write an enormous review but I really can't go into too much detail as it's something you need to experience rather than have explained to you. I will say that this game features an incredibly immersive environment. I was focused in more than I have been in any game of the past 2 years. The narration is amazing. There were points in the game where I was pissing myself laughing and some points where I was locked in a deep train of thought. My only issue with this game is that it's too short. After 2 hours I completed all the endings (My favorite was the broom closet ending) and it really left me hungry for more. I do hope we see some more content added in later on. Anyway, I hope this was helpful. I really really really recommend you pick up this game as it is an absolute gem and will leave you with a message that I personally will never forget. Expand
  101. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    This is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe theThis is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe the professional reviewers were afraid to give it a low score, because they didn't want to have fingers pointed at them and people saying "Ha, ha, they didn't get it". Or maybe the professional reviewers have no experience with good books, because breaking the 4th wall is nothing new, and random infantile events and parody in a story is something kids aged 8 are able to do. I regret the time wasted on this, I felt the need to take a bath after touching this pile of dirt. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    84
    The Stanley Parable is many things. It's an interactive comedy, an existential riddle and an experiment in storytelling. Most importantly, it's pretty good. [Nov 2013]
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]