User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1545 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    I'm very disappointed, how did this score so highly?? According to Steam it kept me interested for 67minutes, until I realised I had in fact played through almost every ending available and there was literally nothing left to do. I feel completely ripped off as there is ZERO re-playability. You choose a path and listen to the narrator for 5-10 minutes...
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    3
    Not a particularly brilliant game. Some jokes were amusing, but quickly became old and boring with each "replay". Easy to get all endings within a few hours, and game quickly becomes pointless and worthless thereafter. Definitely not worth its overinflated reviews or price. Wait for a sale.
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    Clearly, the people who designed this game are brilliant, and the message is profound, but be warned that there is no actual gameplay here “The Stanley Parable” is an indie flick with arrow keys. It’s worth navigating through the narrative if for no other reason than to hear the critique on game culture written by the developers, but this is a simple stroll through a static world thatClearly, the people who designed this game are brilliant, and the message is profound, but be warned that there is no actual gameplay here “The Stanley Parable” is an indie flick with arrow keys. It’s worth navigating through the narrative if for no other reason than to hear the critique on game culture written by the developers, but this is a simple stroll through a static world that offers no traditional gameplay value. Which is ironic, given the mood of the storytelling. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    0
    I really really really tried to like this game, but sadly I couldnt
    Basically a walking simulator,
    with a story that literally makes almost no sense
    zero replayability after all the endings
    no clue how it got so many good scores other than making fake accounts, fooling the masses and paying companies to give good reviews on the game
    waste of money, don't buy it.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    It's a fun, refreshing experience. It's not much of a game though, much more of an experience or some sort of art within itself. While I did enjoy the game very much I also do think most reviewers highly exaggerate. It's a fun 2-3 hour experience depending how curious you are. I myself played around 2½ and went every path, discovering 95% of what the game has to offer. I looked it up soIt's a fun, refreshing experience. It's not much of a game though, much more of an experience or some sort of art within itself. While I did enjoy the game very much I also do think most reviewers highly exaggerate. It's a fun 2-3 hour experience depending how curious you are. I myself played around 2½ and went every path, discovering 95% of what the game has to offer. I looked it up so that's why I know that I missed two easter eggs. Overall the narrator was great. the gameplay nonexistent, but the experience humorous and interesting. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind shorter experiences with no replay value. Once you have seen all the paths and endings there is no reason to ever play again as you discovered everything there is and then it just repeats itself. Good game, but nowhere near 'OMG best game eva, GOTY 2013!' as many silly fan boys make it out to be. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    1
    The game confuses mind numbingly annoying for wit. I don't understand the humor or appeal of this game, or even the fact of how this "game" is even a game. It also baffles me how this game can have such a high score. 91 really? I counted at least half a dozen games it outscored that deserved better than it.
  8. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This is the first time I've been properly astounded by a game since the portal series, after an hour I had to quit the game and just sit for a while, thinking. BUY THIS GAME!
  9. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    Everybody who play games and think about them at least a little knows that the player is more or less directed by game developers. Analogy with real life does not make this obvious topic interesting, and creating whole "game" based on this idea is a little insulting to gamers intellect. Stanley Parabel tries to communicate this painfully obvious message in very boring manner. ThisEverybody who play games and think about them at least a little knows that the player is more or less directed by game developers. Analogy with real life does not make this obvious topic interesting, and creating whole "game" based on this idea is a little insulting to gamers intellect. Stanley Parabel tries to communicate this painfully obvious message in very boring manner. This pseudo-intellectual "game" is IMHO waste of money and I would say it wouldn't even worth your time if it was free. Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    The probability of anybody expecting or even anticipating something as mindblowing as "the Stanley Parable" is next to none. But it happened, and the Stanley's path is a wonderful journey of emotions, interactions and fun. For what seemed like hours, I was sitting back, and enjoying the narrative experience that the Stanley's Parable is. The truth was, the game is so rich and diverse inThe probability of anybody expecting or even anticipating something as mindblowing as "the Stanley Parable" is next to none. But it happened, and the Stanley's path is a wonderful journey of emotions, interactions and fun. For what seemed like hours, I was sitting back, and enjoying the narrative experience that the Stanley's Parable is. The truth was, the game is so rich and diverse in it's very core that it dragged me in it's story far more than it should. Everything about the game that needs to be executed properly, well... is. It exceeds my expectations of top-notch games with it's original approach to an original setting. The great factor about the Stanley Parable is it's terrific replay value. I couldn't believe how much fun could discovering all the endings be, as well as how funny and original many of the jokes and pun this game makes are. It is the first game this year that makes me really think about what it tries to present to the player, with it's clever monologues and great scripting. It is hard for me not to recommend this masterpiece to everyone I know, but I think YOU! will do. Good luck trying to exit the beautiful, simplistic world of The Stanley Parable, because I'm still trapped in the room 427. Expand
  11. Oct 19, 2013
    0
    This game dont deserve to be selled. Is a bad bad remade mod, with and ultra lineal finals.
    Play the mod instead to pay for this... Played all the finals and the game is ultra boring. A waste of money.
  12. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    The TLDR; It's a little short, but every second is fantastic. It took me about three hours to complete. I'm glad I spent my time playing it however. This game also isn't for everyone, probably. If you're used to, and only play, fast paced action games, you might not like it. It's more of an interactive/immersive story than a game really. Worth your time? ABSOLUTELY. Worth your money?The TLDR; It's a little short, but every second is fantastic. It took me about three hours to complete. I'm glad I spent my time playing it however. This game also isn't for everyone, probably. If you're used to, and only play, fast paced action games, you might not like it. It's more of an interactive/immersive story than a game really. Worth your time? ABSOLUTELY. Worth your money? Maybe. It depends Keep in mind, it's $15 for 2-4 hours of play. That might be worth it to you, it might not be. It was for me. I freakin loved this game. But keep in mind, you're not getting a lot of quantity for your money. Just a lot of quality. But if it goes on sale, buy it. Buy the crap out of it. It's great. Expand
  13. Oct 21, 2013
    4
    This is unfortunately a bad videogame, with very little gameplay and level design that consists of a couple of corridors, a few big rooms and some random references to other videogames. Its "oh-so-clever" commentary on choice is something I've discussed before with friends within about 5 minutes while sipping on some coffee, for free, without having to waste 15$ and 2 hours of my lifeThis is unfortunately a bad videogame, with very little gameplay and level design that consists of a couple of corridors, a few big rooms and some random references to other videogames. Its "oh-so-clever" commentary on choice is something I've discussed before with friends within about 5 minutes while sipping on some coffee, for free, without having to waste 15$ and 2 hours of my life playing something boring to reach the same conclusion. If this was free, I'd be kinder to it as an invitation to a discussion using the gaming medium as language, but it is not worth paying for. Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    All these 10 reviews must be written by kids who have never read sci-fi or seen any good movies. This game I bite my tongue as I refer to this time-sink as a game is so overhyped. There is some humor in it, but nothing funny enough to pass the "I blew some air out of my nose" level. I've unlocked 9 out of 10 achievements and found most of the endings and find the whole experience toAll these 10 reviews must be written by kids who have never read sci-fi or seen any good movies. This game I bite my tongue as I refer to this time-sink as a game is so overhyped. There is some humor in it, but nothing funny enough to pass the "I blew some air out of my nose" level. I've unlocked 9 out of 10 achievements and found most of the endings and find the whole experience to be largely unmemorable. I feel no desire to launch the game again to explore any further. Expand
  15. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    As a fan of the original half-life 2 mod,I came in expecting a very good game. I am happy to report that my expectations were exceeded. Because of the nature of the game I cannot delve into why it is so good without spoiling it, but if your looking for the interactive experience of the year then this game is a safe choice.
  16. Oct 20, 2013
    0
    I really don't get this game. It was quite entertaining when I first played it, but it got boring very soon. It's just missing the core element games must have FUN. I don't care if there's interesting story, or good voice acting of narrator as long this game is no fun. Replaying same bits over and over just to find different solution is annoying and boring. So, don't believe them critics,I really don't get this game. It was quite entertaining when I first played it, but it got boring very soon. It's just missing the core element games must have FUN. I don't care if there's interesting story, or good voice acting of narrator as long this game is no fun. Replaying same bits over and over just to find different solution is annoying and boring. So, don't believe them critics, who see masterpiece in this beautifully crafted but utterly boring creation. Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    The game sets out to prove how flawed and pointless modern gaming is, and proves the point perfectly, with dozens of examples that are thought-provoking and in some cases quite entertaining. I haven't laughed so much at a game in a long time.

    There is hope for gaming after all.
  18. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    The Stanley Parable is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have no choice. The game will end, the game will never end.
  19. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    The pretense is strong in this one.

    A User Score of 8.2 and a Metascore of 92 are too high for this game. Very overrated. It's interesting... not necessarily good, but definitely interesting.
  20. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    This is a story of a man named Stanley and it would seem to be all that I can say about it without spoiling anything. I will say it's something that I believe most people should try once and then discuss with others, but it also seems over priced for how long each play-through is. That being said there appears to be a lot of ways this game can be played and there might be more value inThis is a story of a man named Stanley and it would seem to be all that I can say about it without spoiling anything. I will say it's something that I believe most people should try once and then discuss with others, but it also seems over priced for how long each play-through is. That being said there appears to be a lot of ways this game can be played and there might be more value in that. Great game and achieves what it wanted to achieve. For this reason it definitely deserves a high score.

    If it's on sale it's a must buy, but the current amount of $14.99 seems a bit to high for me to tell people to buy it. I don't know if I can recommend it at that price, so I gave it an 8/10 for that reason. I recommend watching their wonderfully done trailers before buying, it will help in deciding if this is the type of game for you. However, try to avoid "Let's Play" videos that show an entire run of the game. This is all about the experience and it is quite a good one at that.
    Expand
  21. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Stanley Parable is the best game ever created, I played it as much as it played me... The Stanley Parable is about [Insert Here]. Yes, the [Insert Here] is really great in this game and it's very much like how the [Insert Here] is in real life. Don't be fooled, [Insert Here] is real and is used by the [Insert Here] to [Insert Here] the masses... 10/10/10 Expand
  22. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    This is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe theThis is an interactive branching "story" written by an infantile person. It's a parody that breaks the fourth wall and basically says "You want to do this or that? But you can't, you are in a game! Take this random nonsense instead!" Apparently the critics think this is very deep and smart for some reason. It staggers the mind how this atrocity can have such a high score. Maybe the professional reviewers were afraid to give it a low score, because they didn't want to have fingers pointed at them and people saying "Ha, ha, they didn't get it". Or maybe the professional reviewers have no experience with good books, because breaking the 4th wall is nothing new, and random infantile events and parody in a story is something kids aged 8 are able to do. I regret the time wasted on this, I felt the need to take a bath after touching this pile of dirt. Expand
  23. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Is this a game? I don't know, but what I do know is that it's a wonderful thing no matter what it is. It's not conventional, but since it's a game based around deconstructing convention, I think that works perfectly in its favor.
  24. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    A game about breaking the fourth wall that's about as subtle and complex as the Three Stooges.

    If you want to play an actually complex and subtle game about breaking the fourth wall, play Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty.
  25. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Keep in mind a few things... When it comes to the demo, the demo displays the style of The Stanley Parable, and it does so very well. The Stanley Parable embodies the same type of interesting exploration and fourth wall breaking Narrator dialogue. It is sufficiently ahead of the mod to be worth playing. The time in game may be short to some (estimated 2-3 hours of playtime, not countingKeep in mind a few things... When it comes to the demo, the demo displays the style of The Stanley Parable, and it does so very well. The Stanley Parable embodies the same type of interesting exploration and fourth wall breaking Narrator dialogue. It is sufficiently ahead of the mod to be worth playing. The time in game may be short to some (estimated 2-3 hours of playtime, not counting achievements, for all the endings), but for the quality of the time spent, this is very much worth it. There are games probably only two times the length of this that sell for $50 or $60. Do not hesitate to pay the $15. It is worth the quality of this game. Expand
  26. Oct 21, 2013
    2
    Whenever I complete a game, I ask myself "would I have been content watching someone else play this game?" The Stanley Parable is one of those few games along side with Gone Home, Dear Esther, and Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs that I have answered "Yes" to that question. In the barest form, the Stanley Parable is a walking simulator with an interactive choice driven audio book attached toWhenever I complete a game, I ask myself "would I have been content watching someone else play this game?" The Stanley Parable is one of those few games along side with Gone Home, Dear Esther, and Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs that I have answered "Yes" to that question. In the barest form, the Stanley Parable is a walking simulator with an interactive choice driven audio book attached to it. Whenever I started watching YouTube videos on the first Batman Arkham game to decide if I wanted to buy it or not, I had to desire to play the game. I wanted to overcome the challenges myself and after getting 100% on Asylum and City, I can say that I achieved that. I beat the Joker, Penguin, Bane, Thug #427, and the Riddler. I stopped Hugo Strange! I overcame those challenges not someone else. I had to deal with the consequences of failing a particular section. The Stanley Parable presents no challenges, no reason to play the game after you have experienced every ending, and no way to fail the game besides not at least getting one ending. The only reason I can see why you would want to play the game versus watching someone else play is the inquisitive thought you will have when the person takes one choice over the other. You will ask yourself what would happen. However, I did not feel any sort of accomplishment playing this game. I felt the same hollow feeling when I played Dear Esther, Gone Home, and Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs as I asked the game as if It would talk back "is this it? Is this all you have to offer?". I felt like I had wasted money, that I had fallen into the trap of my friends proclaiming the game's greatness and brilliance, that I had given into the hype of the game. Expand
  27. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    I suppose I'll be generous with this review. Ultimately, The Stanley Parable is a very enjoyable game for the 3 or 4 hours you can play it. During that time, the game is a solid 8. The story is interesting, the narrator is intriguing, but there is no actual gameplay. There is a finite number of endings and because there is no gameplay, aside from simply pressing the wasd keys, the game hasI suppose I'll be generous with this review. Ultimately, The Stanley Parable is a very enjoyable game for the 3 or 4 hours you can play it. During that time, the game is a solid 8. The story is interesting, the narrator is intriguing, but there is no actual gameplay. There is a finite number of endings and because there is no gameplay, aside from simply pressing the wasd keys, the game has a short life. It is definitely not worth the $12 I paid since it only yields 3 or 4 hours of gameplay. I suggest watching a playthrough or getting the game on sale for $3 or $5. Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2013
    3
    Well I'm sorry but this isn't a game. You basically run around trying to find the story of the game with a narrator helping you do so. The point of it is to show you the limitations of gaming, maybe even of your life but in all honesty, ppl who think about "life" or "games" know that already and don't need this software.

    So, if you want a real game a piece of entertainment then avoid
    Well I'm sorry but this isn't a game. You basically run around trying to find the story of the game with a narrator helping you do so. The point of it is to show you the limitations of gaming, maybe even of your life but in all honesty, ppl who think about "life" or "games" know that already and don't need this software.

    So, if you want a real game a piece of entertainment then avoid this title but if you want to experience what game design is all about then feel free to buy this and run around in circles for an hour.
    Expand
  29. Oct 20, 2013
    1
    In not trolling and ive never given 1 out of 10 to any game in my life. Im serious at how much a waste of money this game is. Game incorrect- interactive narrative. Therefore it shouldn't even be in this section. The gameplay is 3 thing walk, click maybe 5 buttons, listen to the narrator and endings. No matter which way you go that's all you get. Gameplay 1 out of 10. Sound 2-3 tracks ofIn not trolling and ive never given 1 out of 10 to any game in my life. Im serious at how much a waste of money this game is. Game incorrect- interactive narrative. Therefore it shouldn't even be in this section. The gameplay is 3 thing walk, click maybe 5 buttons, listen to the narrator and endings. No matter which way you go that's all you get. Gameplay 1 out of 10. Sound 2-3 tracks of music and then rest is the narrators rants reused sound effects 2 out of 10. Graphics are terrible texture are blank and bad 1 out of 10.
    Story their is no story, its just like listening to a man ranting about life and everything about gameplay. Honestly its boring beyond its meaning 1 out of 10. This comes to an average of 1/10 If you include the time played and complete an average ending is 15mins. Replay ability you wish it wasn't. Buy heavy rain thats how you make a interactive narrative into a game. Demo was better than the game.
    Expand
  30. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    As long as you know it's NOT a video game but a video tour there shouldn't be any problems...As a video tour I have watched it with all the graphic settings at maximum and have been able to watch it at stereoscopic 3D...Needles to say it looks stunning to watch and makes the experience much more enjoyable...I also give points to the fact it supports not only that but even a Game pad...SoAs long as you know it's NOT a video game but a video tour there shouldn't be any problems...As a video tour I have watched it with all the graphic settings at maximum and have been able to watch it at stereoscopic 3D...Needles to say it looks stunning to watch and makes the experience much more enjoyable...I also give points to the fact it supports not only that but even a Game pad...So from technical point of view I don't have any complains...I can't judge it as a game and as long as I could find more places to go I liked how things evolved...You could actually prefer not to go anywhere and just close your office door...The Narrator reacts to your decisions and that's the whole deal here,nothing more nothing less...As long as it lasts, its bearable...The moment you can't find any more places to go you can drain it down the toilet and go searching for something with more substance...A week after watching that you would forget you ever touched it...There is nothing here with lasting impression and that's a deal breaker... Expand
  31. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    pretty poor game really. i know i only spent £8 on it but in 16 and i could have spent it on vanity items for a game i dont even play and still have more use than this game. from the way everyone was hiding its story i thought the game would have been more in depth and longer. i played 84 mins most of which was trying to understand what i had spent my money on. i dont like to criticizepretty poor game really. i know i only spent £8 on it but in 16 and i could have spent it on vanity items for a game i dont even play and still have more use than this game. from the way everyone was hiding its story i thought the game would have been more in depth and longer. i played 84 mins most of which was trying to understand what i had spent my money on. i dont like to criticize indie games and i try to appreciate them for what they are. but i just cant appreciate some thing that i could put together in a weekend. Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Stanley Parable. Steam PC. Score 10. Demo is a gem. So are you. This review is 150 characters because I love you; and steam; and my cat; I shaved my c
  33. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is the most brilliant piece of pure wonder I have ever played. So many choices to make, so many branches to find, it is just wonderful. The humor is absolutely spot on and to those that say it lacks emotion, I feel they have not explored enough of the possible areas/events that can take place nor have they actually tried to reflect on said events. The choices, as in anythingThis game is the most brilliant piece of pure wonder I have ever played. So many choices to make, so many branches to find, it is just wonderful. The humor is absolutely spot on and to those that say it lacks emotion, I feel they have not explored enough of the possible areas/events that can take place nor have they actually tried to reflect on said events. The choices, as in anything except for real life, are entirely laid out for you to find; obviously there is no true choice, as with any other game. So once you realize that truth then the 'choices' you make in The Stanley Parable actually seem quite momentous in how much they can effect the world. I also highly recommend playing the demo first as it is also a masterful little piece, and it gives nothing of the game away, and it is quite correct not to do so. Expand
  34. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    This is a smartass non-game that might as well be constantly asking you "Am I blowing your mind? IS YOUR MIND BLOWN?". It isn't. I've played Gravity Bone and Thirty Flights of Loving. I've played Kentucky Route Zero. I've played Gone Home. I've played The Wolf Among Us. I'm used to this stuff. I imagine that The Stanley Parable might have been groundbreaking when it first came out, but inThis is a smartass non-game that might as well be constantly asking you "Am I blowing your mind? IS YOUR MIND BLOWN?". It isn't. I've played Gravity Bone and Thirty Flights of Loving. I've played Kentucky Route Zero. I've played Gone Home. I've played The Wolf Among Us. I'm used to this stuff. I imagine that The Stanley Parable might have been groundbreaking when it first came out, but in 2013, being a narrative-driven "interactive experience" just isn't very impressive, and the title doesn't really have anything else to offer. I think it very much has the same problem as Spec Ops: The Line: if you make a bad meta-game (or meta-non-game, I guess) to prove a good point, the player is still stuck playing (or not playing) a bad game (or non-game). It does, however, look pretty good and even maxed out runs at 200+ fps on my sh*tty old PC, so at least technically it's good. In the end, The Stanley Parable exists not to entertain you but to make you think, so if you want to save some money and time, you can watch a let's play and get straight to the thinking part without having to wander around a mostly non-interactive office for an hour or two. Expand
  35. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never the end is never Expand
  36. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Is this a game, a story, a parable, a fable, a life philosophy, or just a mind-screw? There are no answers in this game only questions, you interpret their meaning.
  37. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Speechless. You can complete the game in like 1,5 hours but jeez... I've played for like 6 hours so far and it still amazes me.
    NOTE: If you are into hardcore FPS/MMO and just dont give a abut indie games, don't bother
  38. Oct 24, 2013
    1
    Now that the corporate game producers have mastered the art of marketing to ignorant tasteless masses, indie developers are starting to catch on. Wreden's inability to craft a branching yet cohesive story is called upon ironically when the game is less interactive and more linear than titles from the early 90s, and excused by apologist fans as being intentional. Essentially what theNow that the corporate game producers have mastered the art of marketing to ignorant tasteless masses, indie developers are starting to catch on. Wreden's inability to craft a branching yet cohesive story is called upon ironically when the game is less interactive and more linear than titles from the early 90s, and excused by apologist fans as being intentional. Essentially what the Stanley Parable is is a software allegory for the hot new annoyance in the video game industry: that a game can be almost entirely empty, uninteractive, $5 or more per hour of gameplay (as high or higher than the favored "movie ticket" that fanboys usually mention), and can, in fact, be nothing more than a map pack for a first person shooter that would have been a free download back in the Quake days, and yet make at least hundreds of thousands of dollars. The "game" earns one point for the delivery of the narrator, who sounds like the male voice from Xtranormal, which almost makes me laugh. Expand
  39. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    The Stanley Parable is a remarkably polarizing game. Some may dislike or deride it for its somewhat minimalist gameplay and unorthodox plot structure; I personally found it to be an utterly enjoyable game that reminded me very much of the "Choose Your Own Adventure" novels from my youth.

    Before I go on, I must stress two things: First, this is a game with little gameplay other than
    The Stanley Parable is a remarkably polarizing game. Some may dislike or deride it for its somewhat minimalist gameplay and unorthodox plot structure; I personally found it to be an utterly enjoyable game that reminded me very much of the "Choose Your Own Adventure" novels from my youth.

    Before I go on, I must stress two things: First, this is a game with little gameplay other than walking around and sometimes clicking on things; if you primarily play games for their gameplay, then this is not the title for you. Second, it is almost impossible to go into anything with much detail without majorly spoiling an ending and possibly the entire experience.

    I loved The Stanley Parable. The first and best thing about the game is Kevan Brighting's wonderful voice acting as The Narrator. As the only character in the game other than the titular protagonist, The Narrator will describe, comment upon, and even try to shape your every move in the game. He will scold, ridicule and even plead with you depending on what you do in response to his ever-present prodding.

    The premise of the game is probably best exemplified by the first Choice: As you step into a room with two doors, you enter through the one on your left...or so the narrator says, anyway. This and other Choices with a capital C shape your experience: will you follow the narrated plot to the conclusion planned out for you, or will you rebel and try to go off the rails into the unknown?

    For me, the strongest elements in the game were those of exploration and discovery. I would always try to pick away at random bits of scenery in the hopes of discovering a hidden secret or hang around in a room to hear some extra narration. Another plus is that the dev team seemed to think of everything: for a game that is seemingly so confined and linear, there are seemingly endless permutations in the gaming experience, and there are no bugs but merely features in disguise.

    The Stanley Parable is an excellent choice if you're looking for a game that messes with your head, makes you chuckle, or simply spins a good yarn. It doesn't offer any elements of difficulty, combat, strategy, or even jumping, but it does tell you a story, even if you're trying to make things difficult for it.
    Expand
  40. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    To explain why this game is so brilliant and genius would be to rob it of its true value. You must play this game. It's the perfect deconstruction of the relationships among the player, the protagonist, and the storyline. It offers the player the most agency I've ever seen in a video game, but at the same time doesn't. It's beyond words.
  41. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    First of all this review does not contain any information about the story. The best way to go into the Stanley Parable is to know as little as possible about it beforehand, but while I will say some actions have similar outcomes to the original mod, they are redone and everything is mostly new. And for people like me who have played the original mod it doesn't taint the experience. In factFirst of all this review does not contain any information about the story. The best way to go into the Stanley Parable is to know as little as possible about it beforehand, but while I will say some actions have similar outcomes to the original mod, they are redone and everything is mostly new. And for people like me who have played the original mod it doesn't taint the experience. In fact I'll just say it right now; if you enjoyed the original Stanley Parable, go and buy this game immediately. But anyway, I have waited for this game since I heard of it over a year ago. I went in with my expectations high and was not disappointed. People seem to be up in arms though on the community hub right now about a certain achievement for completing the game in 4 minutes, and others are calling it another walking simulator like Dear Esther. Firstly, The Stanley Parable will give you as much playtime as you will let it. You CAN storm through the game and get the main ending in four or five minutes, but there are so many choices to make, there is so much dialogue to hear and so many outcomes to discover. Granted, if you compare it to other games it is quite short I've been playing it for 90 minutes and I'm starting to run out of different things to do but it's quantity over quality, really. For instance, Saints Row 4's story lasted about 8 hours but to me it was sooooo repetitive and dragged out. This reminds me greatly of the original Portal. Beautifully made, thought-provoking and so little that I would want to change about it. Secondly, I am someone who very much dislikes Dear Esther. The Stanley Parable is nothing like Dear Esther. mkay. In short, the Stanley Parable is, to me, a truly brilliant game and I would implore you go and purchase it. Expand
  42. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    If you love Easter eggs in games, this is full of it. But it also makes you think on a philosophical level. To me, this is very refreshing compared to some games that are just mind numbing violence and actions. Please keep in mind, this is not everyone cup of tea. If you are on the fence in purchasing, play the demo. The humor is great and you will fall in love it.
  43. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    Well, This is a game all about a man named Stanley. It's interesting and funny but only for a short period of time I've finished almost every ending possible it took me a massive 2 hours to complete. So if you want to pay for a good laugh (however very short) this is the game for you.
  44. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the most well written and enjoyable games I have ever played, and was so good that I was compelled to write a review about it. It is a crime to not enjoy this game, and I urge any person unsure of whether or not to purchase it to download the demo and watch the trailers, because none of them are related to the main game, and they are all related to the main game.
  45. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is just absolutely brilliant. It combines the perfect amount of comedy, confusion, and detail to the just the right amount. They use confusion to keep the player guessing, comedy to keep the player the amused, and detail to show just how awesome this game is. There are literally a ton of hidden jokes that you cannot find with one playthrough. And of course they break the 4th wallThis game is just absolutely brilliant. It combines the perfect amount of comedy, confusion, and detail to the just the right amount. They use confusion to keep the player guessing, comedy to keep the player the amused, and detail to show just how awesome this game is. There are literally a ton of hidden jokes that you cannot find with one playthrough. And of course they break the 4th wall at just the right time. The only people I don't recommend this to are achievment hunters, and morons who don't understand a true game wheen they see one. Expand
  46. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A brilliant game! I enjoyed every second of the game, especially based on how the office would change and the paths would change after you've done them before, like how the narrator would be like "Bla..Bla...Bla... You've done this before. Alright. Let's go." Or how when you answer the phone at one point there will be boxes EVERYWHERE next time you restart the game. Fantastic. Expand
  47. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Just giving a review of this game would spoil the fun of the game, diving in headfirst and not expecting anything from it will give you the best experience in The Stanley Parable. Stop reading the reviews now and just go buy the game for yourself and play, I promise it won't be disappointing.
  48. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    This game is beautiful. You play as Stanley, a man whose thoughts and actions are constantly voiced by the Narrator. You can chose to follow the narrators instructions, or disobey. I can't really say more without spoiling the game. If you dislike games based on story, this game isn't for you. For everyone else, this game will finish with you questioning what it means to exist.
  49. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I really don't understand all the people who say that this game has no replay-ability. It is without a doubt one of my favorite games ever. I actually have taste too, I enjoy cs, deux ex, metal gear solid, games that are actually GOOD. Also, the demo was pure genius and was almost a short game in itself. People who rate it low, there's a good reason that pretty much all critics and LPI really don't understand all the people who say that this game has no replay-ability. It is without a doubt one of my favorite games ever. I actually have taste too, I enjoy cs, deux ex, metal gear solid, games that are actually GOOD. Also, the demo was pure genius and was almost a short game in itself. People who rate it low, there's a good reason that pretty much all critics and LP youtubers recommend it. Expand
  50. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave this game a zero to help bring the score down (really deserves a 7 imho) Listen carefully fellow gamers when all these other reviewers tell you its 2-3 hours long at best. What breaks the game for me is there is nothing in the game to actually figure out. Each ending is discovered by exploration only, never by interacting with the world and solving any kind of puzzle or dilemma. REALLY was enjoying the game until the point I was "stuck" couldn't figure out what to do next to advance the story. Went online for a hint only to discover Id already discovered about 90% of the game and there wasn't anything more to the game. Bottom line is I too fell ripped off for listening to all the high reviews that just said AWESOME trust me buy it! Its a $2-3 experience. I bought Bioshock Infinite on Steam recently for $13..bought this for $15. Lesson learned about wise allocation of limiting gaming funds. Expand
  51. Oct 22, 2013
    2
    An absolutely piece of game. It claims to be a parable, and while it is insultingly stupid there's no profound lesson here for you to learn. Other than a series of arbitrary choices. Ultimately you'll only enjoy this if you want to play a comedy game with dull oh-so-witty humour from the British narrator. Don't play this. Also it pisses me off that this doesn't get the same "Is it reallyAn absolutely piece of game. It claims to be a parable, and while it is insultingly stupid there's no profound lesson here for you to learn. Other than a series of arbitrary choices. Ultimately you'll only enjoy this if you want to play a comedy game with dull oh-so-witty humour from the British narrator. Don't play this. Also it pisses me off that this doesn't get the same "Is it really a GAME?" criticism that Gone Home did when this is much worse and insultingly shallow. Expand
  52. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    The Stanley Parable (TSP) is a wonderful exploration of video games mechanics, narrative devices and agency. Without spoiling anything, it subtly addresses mainstream games for lazy design and uninspired game play while also touching issues such as the susceptibility of an individual to false authority, routine, bad habits, or even propaganda.

    All that in an amazingly voice-acted
    The Stanley Parable (TSP) is a wonderful exploration of video games mechanics, narrative devices and agency. Without spoiling anything, it subtly addresses mainstream games for lazy design and uninspired game play while also touching issues such as the susceptibility of an individual to false authority, routine, bad habits, or even propaganda.

    All that in an amazingly voice-acted package full of Easter eggs, good humor, and sarcasm, which also breaks the fourth wall on multiple occasions.

    The mere fact that the original free HL mod got enough attention to warrant this excellent HD remix, is a confirmation that we can expect more quality from games to come. I'm sure that TSP will influence some gamers to demand less of mindless action and linearity in games they play and I'm also convinced that TSP will inspire some game developers to handle the gravity of choice and illusion of choice in their games more realistically, thus improving gaming experience for all.

    For this and for a ton of new content delivered in professional quality, I believe the highest grade for TSP is well deserved.
    Expand
  53. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    With its almost endless playability and great writing, I think I'll be playing this game for a LONG time. You can make millions of choices that completely affect the end of your game. The narrator has made me laugh so many times, and I haven't even gotten to the ACTUAL story yet.
  54. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Nice!!!!!Very fun unexpected, something interesting, did not expect it.....a game for most but not for all.Give it a try, Do it I tell ya, And God Bless!
  55. Oct 21, 2013
    1
    Not a perfect game. This site deserves to at least be broken or realize that it is broken. Rant rant rant rant ran....................................
  56. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    The Stanley Parable was somewhat amusing, but barely meets the requirements to actually even be called a game. Would have been better not to spend money on it, and watch someone play it on youtube, since all you do in the game is watch, anyway. Or better yet, not do that.
  57. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    I picked this up on Steam cheap after reading rave reviews about the game and despite this being half price; it is not worth the money. This is an extremely overrated title that shouldn't warrant any cost. The concept is quirky and the narrative amusing but it feels as if these are factored in to cover up the sheer linearity of the game. You basically play an office worker called StanleyI picked this up on Steam cheap after reading rave reviews about the game and despite this being half price; it is not worth the money. This is an extremely overrated title that shouldn't warrant any cost. The concept is quirky and the narrative amusing but it feels as if these are factored in to cover up the sheer linearity of the game. You basically play an office worker called Stanley and the voice-over story depicts his life and job. You can either follow the story how it is told or go your own way which impacts the person telling the story. This can be humorous but it's hardly up there with Steven Merchant from Portal 2. You can complete the game in many different ways and even in under 5 minutes. There is bascially nothing to this 'game' apart from the narrative and a few corridors. There is no depth or ingenious moments that really stand out like we have seen in many other budget games or mods.

    The Stanley Parable has joined the growing list of indie/arcade titles that cost money and are give huge plaudits from the media but are actually poor attempts at conveying a game. Developers should be judged on their product solely and not taking into account factors surrounding development or the budget it cost to make the game. This is a poor, pricey and tedious attempt of a mod and the fact the game has a price-tag is shocking. The narrative saves it in some way but if you want to experience this title; just watch a few YouTube videos of the game in action.
    Expand
  58. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    My 14 y/o son downloaded this game for me and asked me to play it because he loved it. I played the demo for about 30 minutes and I couldn't stand it. Sorry...not my style for a game. I must be an old fart.
  59. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    This game is too damn short. If it weren't just 10 minutes of gameplay I would have given this a good review, but no. This game has some definite good moments but they don't raise the bar.
  60. Oct 22, 2013
    3
    First off. This is not a game, it is a walking simulator that contains very little actual gameplay and is focused on story and narrative which is delivered by your standard British holier than thou voice which very quickly becomes annoying. The message that the game is trying to convey is admittedly interesting but nowhere near the thought provoking masterpiece that reviewers would haveFirst off. This is not a game, it is a walking simulator that contains very little actual gameplay and is focused on story and narrative which is delivered by your standard British holier than thou voice which very quickly becomes annoying. The message that the game is trying to convey is admittedly interesting but nowhere near the thought provoking masterpiece that reviewers would have you believe. Overall it has its merits and if you enjoy games such as gone home or dear esther it could be worth a purchase but as of now asking $15 for this is simply insulting. Highly recommend either getting it in a steam sale or the inevitable indie bundle that will contain it Expand
  61. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    From the demo which was different from the main game to every ending in game. The Stanley Parable matches to show off real branching of storyline and many endings. Kevan Brigtning, who is narrator matches standards of Portal 2, which is known for fantastic narration. From the achievement for clicking on door 430 five times. (Be sure to turn achievements on in extras) What most people don´tFrom the demo which was different from the main game to every ending in game. The Stanley Parable matches to show off real branching of storyline and many endings. Kevan Brigtning, who is narrator matches standards of Portal 2, which is known for fantastic narration. From the achievement for clicking on door 430 five times. (Be sure to turn achievements on in extras) What most people don´t know that this game is based on 2011 source mod, with same name. If demo was not enough try that and you will be sure that you want this game. For game at this price point the graphics is very good and does its job, game runs under almost 10 years old source engine, which shows its age. I´m able to give this game 10/10 for amazing branching story, epic amount of fun and superb narration. I want to see what will Galactic Cafe do next. Expand
  62. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Very entertaining, but short lived... the voice acting is amazing and it makes the whole experience (its not a game as such) very enjoyable indeed. Its very reminiscent of Douglas Adams in the writing style and if you enjoyed Hitch-hikers or Portal 2 I think you would enjoy this. Too many reviews gush at this title, then try to be obtuse to be cool, its not the best thing since Half-LifeVery entertaining, but short lived... the voice acting is amazing and it makes the whole experience (its not a game as such) very enjoyable indeed. Its very reminiscent of Douglas Adams in the writing style and if you enjoyed Hitch-hikers or Portal 2 I think you would enjoy this. Too many reviews gush at this title, then try to be obtuse to be cool, its not the best thing since Half-Life 2, but it is an enjoyable and intelligent work that is worth your attention. Expand
  63. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    We absolutely need more games like this one. One of those rare games where you find yourself laughing with tears. I haven't had so much fun in a game since Portal 1. Very witty and creative.
  64. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the great examples about why there is a controversy going on about games being an art form or not. This game is not a "game" considering traditional definition of a game. This is a first-person philosophical game, and it is not just "another" art game. I know that most of you are completely bored about how some developers suck "games are art" channel dry, but this gameThis game is one of the great examples about why there is a controversy going on about games being an art form or not. This game is not a "game" considering traditional definition of a game. This is a first-person philosophical game, and it is not just "another" art game. I know that most of you are completely bored about how some developers suck "games are art" channel dry, but this game is completely original. I sincerely don't know how to review this game without spoiling your own adventure experiencing it but I must say that YOU will want to try out every single thing you can with only 5-6 control buttons and you'll keep saying "how the hell did that decision led to a different outcome" each time. Expand
  65. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This Game. Words cannot describe it. Every moment you are in the game you are just thinking wtf is going on? There's just so many endings it's hard to get all of them in just one play session. I'm still trying to get all combinations of actions that lead to endings, everything you do changes the game.
  66. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I will tell you about The Stanley Parable and I will not tell you about The Stanley Parable.
    This is the kind of game that heavily relies on breaking your expectations, and cutting right through that cynicism of "games not having comedic potential outside of parody" mentality a lot of people have this day. Because TSP will make you laugh. It will also make you cringe with confusion and
    I will tell you about The Stanley Parable and I will not tell you about The Stanley Parable.
    This is the kind of game that heavily relies on breaking your expectations, and cutting right through that cynicism of "games not having comedic potential outside of parody" mentality a lot of people have this day. Because TSP will make you laugh. It will also make you cringe with confusion and looming uncertainty. It will also leave you wanting to play more of a brilliantly written and designed visual narrative like this!

    I strongly urge anyone curious about this game, to try out the free demo first. It is a stand-alone product, and it's only purpose is to explain precisely what TSP is all about.
    Expand
  67. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    People that are giving it low ratings are just hating on the game. This game is completely original in many ways. Which is hard to come by now these days.

    This game has numerous choices and many outcomes. You will spend lots of time figuring out each ending and every choice you can make. I've spent 7 hours so far playing it and I'm still finding new choices. A 10/10 must buy for those
    People that are giving it low ratings are just hating on the game. This game is completely original in many ways. Which is hard to come by now these days.

    This game has numerous choices and many outcomes. You will spend lots of time figuring out each ending and every choice you can make. I've spent 7 hours so far playing it and I'm still finding new choices. A 10/10 must buy for those that want to have fun and choose what you want to do while playing.
    Expand
  68. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    This game is amazingly good, i don't know what type of game it is but i know its a good one. Still not finished every thing but love the game. even the achievements are funny. I would advise anyone reading this to just stop everything and buy this game
  69. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    This game is the definition of story-telling. It conveys such a simple plot into such an advanced adventure, all condensed into a single building. The amount of detail is absurd. For example, I stepped into the broom closet, and the narrator spoke for over ten minutes. He eventually came to this conclusion (quote)

    "I have come to a very definite conclusion about what is happening right
    This game is the definition of story-telling. It conveys such a simple plot into such an advanced adventure, all condensed into a single building. The amount of detail is absurd. For example, I stepped into the broom closet, and the narrator spoke for over ten minutes. He eventually came to this conclusion (quote)

    "I have come to a very definite conclusion about what is happening right now... you're dead. You stepped into the broom closet, explored it a bit, and we're just about to leave when a physical melody of some sort shut down your central nervous system, and you collapsed on the keyboard."

    It actually goes on for longer, but you just have to play the bloody game. Its brilliant. Simple as that.
    Expand
  70. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    It's been so long since a game surprised me with it's originality and satisfied my curiosity. The game is about following the narrator's story, and how much you want to deviate. It's a constant narrative between the player and the narrator, and in the end the game plays you as much as you play it.
  71. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    The Stanley Parable is an adventure game, and the premise is that you play as Stanley, a man who is content at his job where he pushes the buttons he's told to all day, every day. When Stanley discovers that his office is mysteriously empty, he decides to investigate. He comes to a room with two doors, and according to the narrator, Stanley chooses the door on his left, but you'reThe Stanley Parable is an adventure game, and the premise is that you play as Stanley, a man who is content at his job where he pushes the buttons he's told to all day, every day. When Stanley discovers that his office is mysteriously empty, he decides to investigate. He comes to a room with two doors, and according to the narrator, Stanley chooses the door on his left, but you're controlling Stanley, not the narrator.

    There are many, many choices in this game, and they all have interesting consequences. I'm not going to spoil any choices (beyond the first), because the magic of The Stanley Parable is figuring it out yourself. It also helps that the humor in this game is great.

    This game's demo is free, and you should play it. Seriously. Even if you plan to get this game, play the demo first, because the content is entirely different from the main game, and there's at least one joke from the demo that is referenced in the game. If you want more, check out the original Stanley Parable, which is also free. This game is a remake of that game with much more content.

    This isn't much of a "game", but as a piece of interactive storytelling, it's wonderful. If you're curious, try the demo, and if you liked that, you'll love the main game. For me, it was definitely worth $15 and I would definitely recommend it. If I were to rate this game from one to ten, it would get an EIGHT! EIGHT! EIGHT!
    Expand
  72. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Any information about this game would pretty much ruin it. You explore an office looking for your co-workers and you are presented with simple decisions like which door to take. It's very enjoyable and there are tons of alternate endings and hidden easter eggs. Not a game in the traditional sense but a great experience.
  73. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    This game is made by a narrative genius. The only way to describe the story is "Mind f*ck". The controls are quite simple even though I am disappointed there was no sprinting option. The only problem with this game is the story is a double edge sword. On one side it is brilliant in every way but it is also endlessly running around taking different routes which get tiring after an hour. IThis game is made by a narrative genius. The only way to describe the story is "Mind f*ck". The controls are quite simple even though I am disappointed there was no sprinting option. The only problem with this game is the story is a double edge sword. On one side it is brilliant in every way but it is also endlessly running around taking different routes which get tiring after an hour. I suppose it depends on what kind of person you are really, but I recommend buying it since it is so cheap anyway. Expand
  74. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    I've played thousands of games in my life. I've experienced the incredible story of the Kingdom Hearts series, The amazing immersion of the Half Life series, the beautiful narration of Thomas Was Alone and the stupid crazy fun of games like Just Cause 2. Thoughout my many years as a full time gamer I've only considered 1 game to be perfect, and that number has now become 2. The StanleyI've played thousands of games in my life. I've experienced the incredible story of the Kingdom Hearts series, The amazing immersion of the Half Life series, the beautiful narration of Thomas Was Alone and the stupid crazy fun of games like Just Cause 2. Thoughout my many years as a full time gamer I've only considered 1 game to be perfect, and that number has now become 2. The Stanley Parable is a perfect game. I could seriously write an enormous review but I really can't go into too much detail as it's something you need to experience rather than have explained to you. I will say that this game features an incredibly immersive environment. I was focused in more than I have been in any game of the past 2 years. The narration is amazing. There were points in the game where I was pissing myself laughing and some points where I was locked in a deep train of thought. My only issue with this game is that it's too short. After 2 hours I completed all the endings (My favorite was the broom closet ending) and it really left me hungry for more. I do hope we see some more content added in later on. Anyway, I hope this was helpful. I really really really recommend you pick up this game as it is an absolute gem and will leave you with a message that I personally will never forget. Expand
  75. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I do not understand the appeal behind this game. It's not a good game in any logical sense. It's very dull and lacks many features a game should have, not to mention the narrator's annoying voice.
  76. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    0 because this is not a game. Sorry, but why would anyone buy this? I refuse to accept this as the future of gaming, because games should be games. Skyrim is a game, Democracy 3 is a game, Minesweeper is a game, this is not. It would be ok if it's 1 or 2$ but 15? Seriously? For this? It's fun for 10 minutes, after that it's annoying as hell.
  77. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    This game is so friggin overrated. Indie **** hyped by wannabe hipster gamers who find it cool to like "off-beaten" games. This game tries to use humor and witty narrative to appear cool, mocking modern gaming practices,storytelling,mechanics,scripting etc etc. Guess what, we DONT NEED A REMINDER. We have been gaming for decades,and we don't NEED a satire to remind what we are experiencingThis game is so friggin overrated. Indie **** hyped by wannabe hipster gamers who find it cool to like "off-beaten" games. This game tries to use humor and witty narrative to appear cool, mocking modern gaming practices,storytelling,mechanics,scripting etc etc. Guess what, we DONT NEED A REMINDER. We have been gaming for decades,and we don't NEED a satire to remind what we are experiencing all these years.
    Its a friggin walking simulator. And thats it.
    There are 18 possible endings, but they are pretty similar apart from 4-5 of them. Wont spoil it for you guys. My first 2-3 runs were entertaining, the narrator did a great job with the voice overs. But after 1 hour of playing.... the game became a chore. Its extremely repetitive, hearing the same long ass dialogus over and over JUST TO DISCOVER the alternate endings.
    Apart from like 5 endings, the remaining 13 endings are bland and repetitive. in fact they shouldn't even be counted as proper endings.
    i'm giving it a ZERO not to offset the biased overall score, bt because this game ACTUALLY deserves a ZERO for charging me $15 for 0.99cent gameplay
    Expand
  78. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Not worth paying for. This is a fun diversion for an hour. Good voice acting. That's it. I feel duped for having paid for it based on the positive reviews and nondescript game description. If I could complain and return it I would.

    You could watch a video on youtube covering the complete game play in about 30 minutes and save yourself the cash for an actual game. How this got
    Not worth paying for. This is a fun diversion for an hour. Good voice acting. That's it. I feel duped for having paid for it based on the positive reviews and nondescript game description. If I could complain and return it I would.

    You could watch a video on youtube covering the complete game play in about 30 minutes and save yourself the cash for an actual game.

    How this got rated so well I'll never know. Maybe I'm just still bitter about having spent money on it.
    Expand
  79. Jan 18, 2014
    4
    Overhyped "work of art".
    Have you seen the painting of a pipe by Rene Magritte, where on top of the pipe it is written "This is not a pipe" ?
    Well, Stanley's Parable does the same thing to a game. It combines absurd logic and writing, with mockery, self-depreciation, and an overuse of repetition. Ok... but the problem is that it's just simply not fun to play. You are just walking in a
    Overhyped "work of art".
    Have you seen the painting of a pipe by Rene Magritte, where on top of the pipe it is written "This is not a pipe" ?
    Well, Stanley's Parable does the same thing to a game. It combines absurd logic and writing, with mockery, self-depreciation, and an overuse of repetition.

    Ok... but the problem is that it's just simply not fun to play. You are just walking in a big museum of absurd comedy. At times, it can be brilliant and make you laugh, but also repetitive, annoying, and not really revolutionary. Since there is no real gameplay involved, you might as well save yourself the 10 bucks and just watch someone play it on youtube. Because for only 2 hours of content, the price of the game is even more absurd than it's art.
    Expand
  80. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    How this pile of rubbish rates an 8 is beyond me. Apparently the game is about freedom and choice. I found myself frequently wandering an utterly linear path, unable it interact with anything in particular listening to the (well spoken) narrator droning on about how I was wandering down a path. The truth is, there are very few choices to make in this "software" (I refuse to call it aHow this pile of rubbish rates an 8 is beyond me. Apparently the game is about freedom and choice. I found myself frequently wandering an utterly linear path, unable it interact with anything in particular listening to the (well spoken) narrator droning on about how I was wandering down a path. The truth is, there are very few choices to make in this "software" (I refuse to call it a game). Lacklustre graphics (even for the source engine) reduce this to a full on 0 for me. A total waste of money and time.. Expand
  81. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Magnificent. Sophie's World for gamers. Simply no doubt this is a 10/10, after only an hour or two. If you have a curious mind, don't investigate this game. Just get it.
  82. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    The game is very good. It's like Monty Python Flying Circus gags are fresh and you'll never tell how it ends. What I like about this game is that it doesn't show you everything it has like most of the games these days do. If you follow the Narrator's instructions you'll see just a fraction of this awesome game and most of it's content will remain uncovered. You'll have to explore.The game is very good. It's like Monty Python Flying Circus gags are fresh and you'll never tell how it ends. What I like about this game is that it doesn't show you everything it has like most of the games these days do. If you follow the Narrator's instructions you'll see just a fraction of this awesome game and most of it's content will remain uncovered. You'll have to explore. Unfortunately the game is very short. It'll take you a couple of hours to try every "wrong" turn from the storyline. And one more hour to explore what you missed after reading forums. But that's the only flaw of this game. Expand
  83. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    I loved this game as a mod and it is even better now. Yes, it is a bit shorter than most games. This is reflected in the price which is much lower than most games. This has everything the mod had and much more. three times more script according to the developers, and much more polished and up to date as well. This game achieved perfectly what it set out to do. This game is exactly what iI loved this game as a mod and it is even better now. Yes, it is a bit shorter than most games. This is reflected in the price which is much lower than most games. This has everything the mod had and much more. three times more script according to the developers, and much more polished and up to date as well. This game achieved perfectly what it set out to do. This game is exactly what i love about indie games in that it brings a new concept of what a game can be to the mainstream. Often these indie games fail, but occasionally a gem will sort itself out of the rest. This is one of those gems. Of course, not all games are meant for everyone. This is one of those games that you ether love or hate. I happen to think it is fantastic. Especially the broom closet ending. Expand
  84. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    One of the most powerful game experience of all time. If you are not a cod kiddy and have half a brain (having an entire one and maybe some understanding of narrative won't hurt) download the demo, gaze and wonder, than pick up the game.
  85. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best things I have played in a long time. For the few hours this takes to complete in its entity this is engrossing and totally throws everything you think about video game conventions on its head. I think you need to just take it at face value and you will have one of the best video game experiences in years. Top stuff
  86. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    As stated by my fellow reviewers, this is more of a walking simulator than a game. I purchased this expecting a videogame that would show a new face of the industry, a true experiencie that could match its appealing and daring title. But none of it had a solid reason The Stanley Parable's joke doesn't lie in its narrator's annoying voice, but in the fact itself of the customers spendingAs stated by my fellow reviewers, this is more of a walking simulator than a game. I purchased this expecting a videogame that would show a new face of the industry, a true experiencie that could match its appealing and daring title. But none of it had a solid reason The Stanley Parable's joke doesn't lie in its narrator's annoying voice, but in the fact itself of the customers spending up to 15 in an experience that can last some ridiculous 4 minutes.

    There is no plot whatsoever. There is no gameplay. There is no replayability. The developers thought they had discovered the ultimate, true meaning of life and tried to make the statement in the shape of a videogame they could, why noy, charge an abusive price for.

    Truth be told, if you are slightly intelligent and have spent some hours along your life wondering about existence, its meaning and the approach our society has taken to it, this "game" turns bold and useless. Doing some research on YouTube's walkthroughs will try to teach you the same obvious facts while being free of charge; thus I encourage you to disregard this piece of software.

    Play the mod if you can't help it, but don't support this degree of laziness which I fear could easily extend to future games. And maybe that way we will prevent developers from taking themselves as the new men of Renaissance, something they are clearly not.

    Uninstalled.
    Collapse
  87. Oct 28, 2013
    1
    So, I bought this "game" for $15 during a Steam sale I regretted my decision almost immediately.

    This game has a great user rating (which means far more to me than any critic rating) and after watching the trailers and reading some reviews, I decided to take a chance. Now to be fair, I knew this wasn't your typical game, but touted as rather a "movie-type" game that you really
    So, I bought this "game" for $15 during a Steam sale I regretted my decision almost immediately.

    This game has a great user rating (which means far more to me than any critic rating) and after watching the trailers and reading some reviews, I decided to take a chance.

    Now to be fair, I knew this wasn't your typical game, but touted as rather a "movie-type" game that you really navigated through; however, the payoff was to be amusing, twisted, deep, though-provoking and every other type of adjective your typical hipster would throw at a game like this.

    I found this game to be none of that, albeit slightly amusing at moments. The narration is awesome; however, it, along with the games "jokes" wear thin pretty quick and make the game tedious and boring.

    After about three hours of playing and approximately 2.5 hours of boredom and disinterest, I finally shut the game off and watched the walk-thru on You Tube. It was literally the same experience as "playing" the game, only more convenient and free. After watching all the possible endings I just shrugged my shoulders and immediately uninstalled.

    Now quick disclaimer: I love developers who take chances with games, and on that note, I totally give these guys props; however, taking chances does not a good game make and this game, on any level, is not good. Save your money and just watch the walk-thru on You Tube.
    Expand
  88. Oct 30, 2013
    1
    You'll only like this game if you like running in circles or like to see the same stuff you just past but then come across it a hundred more times.. I don't understand one bit of it, is no storyline at all to it and i don't think its really all that fun(making circles), however the puzzling is pretty fun. All i have left to say is, i am 100% happy that i did'nt pay for this peace of crap.You'll only like this game if you like running in circles or like to see the same stuff you just past but then come across it a hundred more times.. I don't understand one bit of it, is no storyline at all to it and i don't think its really all that fun(making circles), however the puzzling is pretty fun. All i have left to say is, i am 100% happy that i did'nt pay for this peace of crap. $15 to watch yourself make all kinds of loops, just like listening to a broken record player. You can get to outside less than half an hour but then if you choose next time to go a totally different route then the game lasts much longer, i dont understand that at all. Would NOT recommend. Expand
  89. Dec 15, 2013
    0
    Do not buy it.

    The demo (that is free) is awesome.

    The game itself is not a game, is extremely mean and pointless. I feel sorry for the money I spent on it.

    Do not make the same mistake.
  90. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    Now that the "artsy game" genre is beginning to spread, it seems that it was inevitable that a game such as The Stanley Parable would someday come out. While I'm certainly not against games that will abstract themselves from the traditional gaming paradigms, I demand that they remain GAMES, NOT STATEMENTS ABOUT GAMES. And so, don't be fooled by that pseudo-wisecrack-british-accent narratorNow that the "artsy game" genre is beginning to spread, it seems that it was inevitable that a game such as The Stanley Parable would someday come out. While I'm certainly not against games that will abstract themselves from the traditional gaming paradigms, I demand that they remain GAMES, NOT STATEMENTS ABOUT GAMES. And so, don't be fooled by that pseudo-wisecrack-british-accent narrator that'll accompany you all along the way: The Stanly Parable is a statement about games that, in itself, is a poor game.

    In the end, it's really no wonder that this title has received such a high critical acclaim; it's indie, it's unconventional, it's a game about games, it's pure critic's dog food. Let me hammer it again: it's not enough to step out of the traditional gaming paradigms just for the sake of it, you still have to make a game. This is what Anti-Chamber did, this is what Telltale did with (love it or not) with Walking Dead, this is what Miasmata did; those game stepped out of the conventional path and yet, they stand by themselves.

    And then you have your Andy Warhol games: The Stanley Parable, Gone Home (a very bland experiment in cheap empathy) and Dear Esther (that thing is so pompous I tried 3 times to spend more than an hour in front of it without feeling like I'm watching the English Patient).
    Expand
  91. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Short (and not costly) but stunning. Reminds me of reading Italo Calvino's novels, as this isn't a game so much as a walk through wonderland. The narration is extremely well done and succeeds at being funny at all the right times.
  92. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    This is a game you will love completely or hate completely. I enjoyed the game a lot but I can see how others would not like the game, very story driven but not much action (but for a game like this it shouldn't have much)
  93. Mar 20, 2014
    0
    Played it for an hour or so got bored and quit. Very boring game with an annoying narrator. I have no idea what is supposed to be so interesting about this game. Complete waste of my time.
  94. Nov 4, 2013
    1
    Complete garbage...The voice acting is quite nice, but maybe after 30 seconds you realise its not very well written. Maybe if you like surrealism this would be fun..I'm glad I didnt buy it. I played it for about an hour and a bit and it gave me a headache
  95. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    It isn't exactly a GAME, but it's pretty amazing. If you have ever read the "Choose your own Adventure" book series as a kid then then you will love this. Also the humor in this game is top notch.
  96. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    I'll be brief: I usually enjoy games like this, or, "interactive experiences". It was definitely thought-provoking and immersing, but I feel that, while it did not necessarily need to be, nor am I LOOKING to 'kill time' or anything, I felt somewhat disappointed whilst playing it. I would get to a certain part of the game feeling as if I only just scratched the surface of what's to come, asI'll be brief: I usually enjoy games like this, or, "interactive experiences". It was definitely thought-provoking and immersing, but I feel that, while it did not necessarily need to be, nor am I LOOKING to 'kill time' or anything, I felt somewhat disappointed whilst playing it. I would get to a certain part of the game feeling as if I only just scratched the surface of what's to come, as if the game's title would again re-appear, as if I'd secretly been just playing a tutorial, only to realize instead that, it's just that length. Perhaps I'm simply bias via expectations, and I liked the concept, but I feel that there was a lot of room here to explore that, could have perhaps been explored more. Either way, a sequel sure would do the trick! Expand
  97. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    The game makes us think about our choices, and seems to demonstrate that our life itself is just a voiceover, completely manipulated.
    Our life itself is following the rules, and we are completely controlled.
    I think it it is a metaphor about following orders and find personal happiness so that everyone has an idea own 'unique' about 'personal fulfillment'. (note that just because we
    The game makes us think about our choices, and seems to demonstrate that our life itself is just a voiceover, completely manipulated.
    Our life itself is following the rules, and we are completely controlled.
    I think it it is a metaphor about following orders and find personal happiness so that everyone has an idea own 'unique' about 'personal fulfillment'.

    (note that just because we follow the narrator already conveys the idea that our life is a'' story'')
    Expand
  98. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    So is this another 30 flights of loving type game....that's got really high reviews and when I bought it all I got was an old demo scene type walkable animation.
    I'm still convinced that game rated high as people didn't want to look like they weren't hip or able to appreciate it.
    So is this the same? Or does the narration make it worthwhile?
    if tis just a good story then fair enough...
  99. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    This game is just something else. It's like nothing you've ever played before. It's simple, but funny and very, very clever. The irony of the story line is simply superb. If you are an action junkie, then this might not be for you, but those who enjoy a fulfilling, cerebral experience, then this is a must. To say more would not do it justice, just buy it. Buy it now.
  100. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    This isn't really a game. All you do is either listen to a narrator and go through a passage or don't listen to him and go through the other passage, that's it. Unless you like going through doors in a game and listening to a person telling you to go through a bunch of specific doors, this game isn't really worth it.
  101. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    As stated by my fellow reviewers, this is more of a walking simulator than a game. I purchased this expecting a videogame that would show a new face of the industry, a true experiencie that could match its appealing and daring title. But none of it had a solid reason The Stanley Parable's joke doesn't lie in its narrator's annoying voice, but in the fact itself of the customers spendingAs stated by my fellow reviewers, this is more of a walking simulator than a game. I purchased this expecting a videogame that would show a new face of the industry, a true experiencie that could match its appealing and daring title. But none of it had a solid reason The Stanley Parable's joke doesn't lie in its narrator's annoying voice, but in the fact itself of the customers spending up to 15 in an experience that can last some ridiculous 4 minutes.

    There is no plot whatsoever. There is no gameplay. There is no replayability. The developers thought they had discovered the ultimate, true meaning of life and tried to make the statement in the shape of a videogame they could, why noy, charge an abusive price for.

    Truth be told, if you are slightly intelligent and have spent some hours along your life wondering about existence, its meaning and the approach our society has taken to it, this "game" turns bold and useless. Doing some research on YouTube's walkthroughs will try to teach you the same obvious facts while being free of charge; thus I encourage you to disregard this piece of software.

    Play the mod if you can't help it, but don't support this degree of laziness which I fear could easily extend to future games. And maybe that way we will prevent developers from taking themselves as the new men of Renaissance, something they are clearly not.

    Uninstalled.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    84
    The Stanley Parable is many things. It's an interactive comedy, an existential riddle and an experiment in storytelling. Most importantly, it's pretty good. [Nov 2013]
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]