The Stanley Parable Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1831 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have noThe Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have no choice. The game will end, the game will never end. [Steam] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    By turns hilarious, disturbing, witty and poignant, The Stanley Parable is a successful experiment in the video game medium's inherent interactivity and how this can affect an author's story -- for good and for ill.
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Familiar but consistently surprising, this new Parable even fits beautifully into the existing game - a game that took its power not from a single narrative but the interaction of all its possible narratives, super-positioned and entangled.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable has this provocative and perpetual elusiveness that aches to break whatever system it’s applied to. Perhaps it's part of a weapons-grade disinformation campaign appointed to destroy all videogames, or maybe it was commissioned to wreck game criticism. Through any interpretation The Stanley Parable is equally hilarious and genuine, and if nothing else it’s going to merit inclusion in any serious discussion of its medium.
  5. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    It's like a hipster game. It manages to make you think about narrative in video games, and maybe something else. Sometimes fun, sometimes clever, but always unique. One of those games you either love or hate.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Basically a variation on the concept of a Russian doll, with some of the layers containing unexpected satirical diversions. Although if you had the chance to play the original mod, this overhaul has less new ideas than one would hope for. [Issue#236]

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilersI won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Я никогда раньше не видел столь великолепной игры. Тонкий юмор и великолепный голос рассказчика, насмешка над концепцией видеоигр, багами вЯ никогда раньше не видел столь великолепной игры. Тонкий юмор и великолепный голос рассказчика, насмешка над концепцией видеоигр, багами в них. Everyone must play this great game. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Love it It got a Portal feeling to it.... and it got a portal lvl in it Awesome!!Love it It got a Portal feeling to it.... and it got a portal lvl in it Awesome!! Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Simple, Complex, Short, Long, this game is a mystery, almost open world one, you play, you decide or you don't? I don't know neither, that isSimple, Complex, Short, Long, this game is a mystery, almost open world one, you play, you decide or you don't? I don't know neither, that is why you should play it, Its almost the same as the Half-life 2 mod. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    We absolutely need more games like this one. One of those rare games where you find yourself laughing with tears. I haven't had so much fun inWe absolutely need more games like this one. One of those rare games where you find yourself laughing with tears. I haven't had so much fun in a game since Portal 1. Very witty and creative. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2017
    6
    It's worth about 1,5h of your time. Surprising, kinda funny, there were moments I was bored but I decided to give a few more shots and itIt's worth about 1,5h of your time. Surprising, kinda funny, there were moments I was bored but I decided to give a few more shots and it didn't turn out to be a waste of time. I even got the "click on door 430 5 times" achievement. Try it when summer discount kicks in. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2016
    0
    Buying this game is like buying Flappy Bird or any other **** game. Spoilers? Nothing to spoil, the game is crap. Basically all you do is walkBuying this game is like buying Flappy Bird or any other **** game. Spoilers? Nothing to spoil, the game is crap. Basically all you do is walk around and you see crazy **** crap as you do or don't listen to the voice narrating where you go. I guess people have no real will in real life and think that "hay, if I can go against my story, my will, my repetitive life, in this game, I won at life! Yay!".
    No. The game is **** and unworthy of purchase at above 1$
    Expand

See all 443 User Reviews