The Stanley Parable PC

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1644 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have noThe Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have no choice. The game will end, the game will never end. [Steam] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    By turns hilarious, disturbing, witty and poignant, The Stanley Parable is a successful experiment in the video game medium's inherent interactivity and how this can affect an author's story -- for good and for ill.
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Familiar but consistently surprising, this new Parable even fits beautifully into the existing game - a game that took its power not from a single narrative but the interaction of all its possible narratives, super-positioned and entangled.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable has this provocative and perpetual elusiveness that aches to break whatever system it’s applied to. Perhaps it's part of a weapons-grade disinformation campaign appointed to destroy all videogames, or maybe it was commissioned to wreck game criticism. Through any interpretation The Stanley Parable is equally hilarious and genuine, and if nothing else it’s going to merit inclusion in any serious discussion of its medium.
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    It's like a hipster game. It manages to make you think about narrative in video games, and maybe something else. Sometimes fun, sometimes clever, but always unique. One of those games you either love or hate.
  7. 60
    Basically a variation on the concept of a Russian doll, with some of the layers containing unexpected satirical diversions. Although if you had the chance to play the original mod, this overhaul has less new ideas than one would hope for. [Issue#236]

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 94 out of 415
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Who says games needed gameplay? This is an incredible piece of self-satirical art that is unlike anything else you have ever played. If youWho says games needed gameplay? This is an incredible piece of self-satirical art that is unlike anything else you have ever played. If you prefer shooting aliens in the face over subtext, don't buy this, but if can appreciate a subtle, clever experience, BUY THIS NOW. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Oh My God! This game may be short, but I garantee you that after you played it throughout all the endings for one or more times, you willOh My God! This game may be short, but I garantee you that after you played it throughout all the endings for one or more times, you will still come out Amazing game, with simple mechanics and a great narration! Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilersI won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing! Well worth the 12$ price tag. I've been playing for the past 2 hours and a half and there was always something new andThis game is amazing! Well worth the 12$ price tag. I've been playing for the past 2 hours and a half and there was always something new and interesting! Almost perfection Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    Wonderful Satire.

    A great alternative name for this game should be "A Parody of Choice". Not much can be said about the game without
    Wonderful Satire.

    A great alternative name for this game should be "A Parody of Choice". Not much can be said about the game without ruining some of the best surprises, but I can say that the game involves a Narrator and your refusal/willingness to follow his narration. The puzzles are silly and usually revolves around making fun of video game tropes. It will require a lot of listening because the humor all comes from the Narrator. I found myself giggling the entire time I played and would explore places just to hear the narrator complain about my deviation from his prescribed plan. I recommend this game heavily to anyone who is a fan of Stephen Fry or Douglas Adams or even Monty Python. You don't need to be a gamer to understand the tropes but it helps. If silly British satire is something you don't find funny, then this game is NOT for you. If you were a fan of all those 'choose your own adventure' books, if your favorite part about Portal was the humorous characters, if you like satire at all, then this game is for you.

    My only /real/ piece of criticism is that this game feels more like an interactive movie than a game, like those Walking Dead TallTale games. They are incredibly entertaining... but there's not much 'challenge' to the game, you're just kinda going along for the ride and story. This game is like that too.

    ALSO, Play the free demo, the demo is completely separate from the main game and is worth playing on its own even if you have no intention of buying the full game. I was convinced about 5 minutes into the 45 minute demo that I was going to purchase the game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2013
    6
    The Stanley Parable is indeed a fun experience. One cannot say much about it without spoiling some of its effectiveness, but it's sufficientThe Stanley Parable is indeed a fun experience. One cannot say much about it without spoiling some of its effectiveness, but it's sufficient to know that it's a first person exploration game which revolves around the relationship between the player, the videogame character, the story and game design, as well as the illusion of choice and other such themes.

    The atmosphere and voice-acting are great, incurring a mixture of mystery and mild discomfort, definitely reminiscent of Portal in that regard, while the gameplay and graphics are extremely simple and functional.

    I would recommend it unconditionnally were it not for its price, I consider 12€ a bit steep for something that, all things considered, is an experience rather than a game, and a pretty short one at that. But if that's not a barrier for you, then go ahead, it's a satisfying little trip.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2015
    0
    This is my first review on metacritic and will probably be my one and only one, but I really felt I had to share this. I have a deep hunchThis is my first review on metacritic and will probably be my one and only one, but I really felt I had to share this. I have a deep hunch that this game is all about how FAKE RATINGS can make a person like myself buy a totally crap game. I cannot believe how ridiculous this "game" is: totally linear, no empathic connection whatsoever to the character or the environment, and no direction at all. This game is a proof of how low the gaming industry can go. I'm "glad" I bought this game for about 3 euros, but knowing what I know now, I would want to be paid a LOT of money to spend even five more minutes on it. A total market scam (check all those 10/10 marks and read the text, they're quite implausible. Stay miles away and don't even spend one cent on this one. Expand

See all 415 User Reviews