The Stanley Parable Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1850 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have noThe Stanley Parable HD Remix is an updated version of the Half-Life 2 mod The Stanley Parable. It is a first person exploration game. You will play as Stanley, and you will not play as Stanley. You will follow a story, you will not follow a story. You will have a choice, you will have no choice. The game will end, the game will never end. [Steam] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    100
    It's one of those games that tries and succeeds in making a bold statement. Be prepared for something really special.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    100
    By turns hilarious, disturbing, witty and poignant, The Stanley Parable is a successful experiment in the video game medium's inherent interactivity and how this can affect an author's story -- for good and for ill.
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Familiar but consistently surprising, this new Parable even fits beautifully into the existing game - a game that took its power not from a single narrative but the interaction of all its possible narratives, super-positioned and entangled.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    The Stanley Parable has this provocative and perpetual elusiveness that aches to break whatever system it’s applied to. Perhaps it's part of a weapons-grade disinformation campaign appointed to destroy all videogames, or maybe it was commissioned to wreck game criticism. Through any interpretation The Stanley Parable is equally hilarious and genuine, and if nothing else it’s going to merit inclusion in any serious discussion of its medium.
  5. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2013
    90
    Step away from this review and play it now. Or don't. Whatever you do is already ordained. OR IS IT?! [Jan 2014, p.83]
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    85
    It's like a hipster game. It manages to make you think about narrative in video games, and maybe something else. Sometimes fun, sometimes clever, but always unique. One of those games you either love or hate.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Basically a variation on the concept of a Russian doll, with some of the layers containing unexpected satirical diversions. Although if you had the chance to play the original mod, this overhaul has less new ideas than one would hope for. [Issue#236]

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 432
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    I won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilersI won't say a damn thing about this game. Every little thing I may talk about it will be a spoiler and this game is all about those spoilers eventually. SO if you want to know why this game is 10/10, go buy it now Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    This is a masterpiece.
    It is not about gameplay there are no interesting gameplay features.
    It is not about the graphics there is no hard
    This is a masterpiece.
    It is not about gameplay there are no interesting gameplay features.
    It is not about the graphics there is no hard work on it.

    The Stanley Parable is a story, story of choice and its meaning. Perfect voice actor work helps you to come deep into this game, feel all the emotions this game provides. Perfect.

    For me it is the game of the year..
    Expand
  3. May 29, 2014
    10
    You guys think that you are really intelligent or happy? Oh, really? Okay then, play this game and after we gonna talk.
    This isn't a game at
    You guys think that you are really intelligent or happy? Oh, really? Okay then, play this game and after we gonna talk.
    This isn't a game at all. Because games allowed us to play the game. But now, things changed my friends. This is something new. This is a philosophy, this is a psychology, this is a funny joke, this is our job... Actually this is our life. This is one of the best thing i've ever witnessed in my entire life.
    So my advice; don't play this game if you don't love to talk with your friends meaninglessly about 2 hours.
    Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    This is a game that just astounds me, every choice you make changes something, and as long as you don't repeat the same path, you getThis is a game that just astounds me, every choice you make changes something, and as long as you don't repeat the same path, you get something different. It is a game that i enjoyed a lot and is something that i can't explain so..... yeah, just go play it and see for yourself, the game is not for everyone but if you like a story line narrative kind of game, you will enjoy it. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Very entertaining, but short lived... the voice acting is amazing and it makes the whole experience (its not a game as such) very enjoyableVery entertaining, but short lived... the voice acting is amazing and it makes the whole experience (its not a game as such) very enjoyable indeed. Its very reminiscent of Douglas Adams in the writing style and if you enjoyed Hitch-hikers or Portal 2 I think you would enjoy this. Too many reviews gush at this title, then try to be obtuse to be cool, its not the best thing since Half-Life 2, but it is an enjoyable and intelligent work that is worth your attention. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2016
    6
    It was a good game with a good message sent out and the story changed after how you played it. The game was however shorter than my dick, IIt was a good game with a good message sent out and the story changed after how you played it. The game was however shorter than my dick, I litteraly finished the game after 10 minutes. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2016
    0
    Buying this game is like buying Flappy Bird or any other **** game. Spoilers? Nothing to spoil, the game is crap. Basically all you do is walkBuying this game is like buying Flappy Bird or any other **** game. Spoilers? Nothing to spoil, the game is crap. Basically all you do is walk around and you see crazy **** crap as you do or don't listen to the voice narrating where you go. I guess people have no real will in real life and think that "hay, if I can go against my story, my will, my repetitive life, in this game, I won at life! Yay!".
    No. The game is **** and unworthy of purchase at above 1$
    Expand

See all 432 User Reviews