User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 427

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. e_k
    Feb 19, 2014
    7
    A pleasant puzzle-platformer, with above average atmospheric effects (sounds/music/lighting).

    Great slow-motion effects (and corresponding sounds!) avoid puzzles from being too "twitchy" (a plus in my books)

    However, the puzzles do get somewhat repetitive.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    The Swapper is a unique puzzle-platformer. The unique mechanic in the game is the ability to clone yourself and "swap" places with that clone. This creates an interesting dynamic that was fun to utilize. The game however falls in other key aspects. The difficulty curve is strange. It starts off relatively easy for about half the game, then it suddenly jumps and you'll get stuck on puzzlesThe Swapper is a unique puzzle-platformer. The unique mechanic in the game is the ability to clone yourself and "swap" places with that clone. This creates an interesting dynamic that was fun to utilize. The game however falls in other key aspects. The difficulty curve is strange. It starts off relatively easy for about half the game, then it suddenly jumps and you'll get stuck on puzzles for a long time, then at the very end the puzzles are all of a sudden easy again. The story is also confusing and relatively uninteresting. The graphics are special, but I certainly wouldn't call them fantastic. The game is also relatively short; I finished it in less than 4 hours. I had high hopes for this game, unfortunately it hasn't lived up to the hype. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    While I don't think the critic reviews are fake, I strongly feel this game is over-hyped. The dark atmosphere and even darker story, do well. But the puzzle element and even the gameplay are more than just coincidentally reminiscent of Limbo. So while 'The Swapper' offers a nice puzzle gimmick, it doesn't warrant a perfect 10. Mainly because this Indie just isn't as original as we wouldWhile I don't think the critic reviews are fake, I strongly feel this game is over-hyped. The dark atmosphere and even darker story, do well. But the puzzle element and even the gameplay are more than just coincidentally reminiscent of Limbo. So while 'The Swapper' offers a nice puzzle gimmick, it doesn't warrant a perfect 10. Mainly because this Indie just isn't as original as we would love it to be. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    I don't understand why this game has such a ridiculously high review. It's a mildly entertaining puzzle game, different than, but not as fun as Portal in my opinion. Not worth ten dollars.

    A mediocre score for a mediocre game.
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    6
    Wow! I was expecting a little more, or maybe all the high scores gave me the impression of something grander. I love indie games, platform and Metroidvania games. I was bored with this game. I had a hard time getting into it... everything about it is sleepy... and nothing urged me to want to play, it didn't capture my attention or imagination. Don't play this at night, because it's a greatWow! I was expecting a little more, or maybe all the high scores gave me the impression of something grander. I love indie games, platform and Metroidvania games. I was bored with this game. I had a hard time getting into it... everything about it is sleepy... and nothing urged me to want to play, it didn't capture my attention or imagination. Don't play this at night, because it's a great sleeping pill. Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2014
    6
    The idea is brilliant, but not enough. If we can add some spices to the game and change that world into something more interesting then it could have been much better.
  7. Jan 8, 2015
    6
    Yes, it is certainly good. But I do not understand the hype. It is a very good indie game but he deserves far from the enthusiasm as had one Limbo.
    -------- -------------- ------------------ ------------------ ----------------- ------------------- ------------------- ------------------
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Aug 4, 2014
    77
    The game is not about death or life but about the soul leaving the body and heading someplace new. It’s about the brief moment it spends flying.
  2. 80
    A puzzle platformer that won't frustrate nor bore you. The puzzles complete a solid story, which is unique even for an indie game. [Issue#234]
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    87
    The Swapper is a first-rate puzzle platformer that boasts a gorgeous atmosphere as well. The story doesn't quite live up to its potential, though, but it's not a major issue. [Aug 2013]