Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swapper features a unique art style that uses real-world clay-models and found objects to create an explorable space station realised in unique detail; gameplay sees players swap between different bodies to achieve otherwise impossible tasks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    100
    The Swapper is a unique experience that will charm any fan of science fiction as well as fans of games like Braid, Metroid and Castlevania. The game looks and sounds beautiful and the cloning mechanics are both novel, creative and challenging.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    93
    Very few puzzle games have ever managed to marry impeccable challenges with a mature storytelling quite like this – there's no fluff or extraneous content here, only a prime example of how to create a tight, unforgettable gaming experience.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    90
    Brimming with intelligent game design. [Issue#137, p.121]
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    89
    The Swapper is a wonderful puzzle game. An amazing title.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    84
    A crafty, atmospheric puzzler. [Sept 2013, p.77]
  7. May 31, 2013
    70
    All in all, the setting is perfect for a puzzle game built around existential despair...Its clever, creepy and macabre.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Thank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going to play The Swapper, you really have to turn off the lights and put on your Headphones now you´re ready to dip into one of the most atmospheric Games in this Genre! Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    A miracle of game...

    Not a puzzle game, or a pure adventure one... simply the best game of 2013, impeccable and fascinating story,
    innovative puzzles, moral choices (and the way is only one...)!

    Skyrim is a great game, this is simply part of gaming history...
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A gorgeous and cerebral game that looks to be created by mostly one guy/a few people over the span of 3.5 years! Easily worth double what I paid for it. I still can't believe the set was hand-crafted from clay. Excellent soundtrack worthy in its own right. Get this and spread the word! Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    9
    The Swapper is a relatively-short puzzle game (~5 hours) that features a basic game mechanic: You can create clones of yourself and teleport to them to move around the map. The game features a variety of well thought-out puzzles. Certain environmental elements can prevent you from creating clones and others can prevent you from teleporting them.

    The story is bleak and melancholy in an enchanting way. The artwork/music is beautiful and atmospheric. The puzzles get a tiny bit repetitive by the end. However, the game finished quickly enough that I never felt bored during the playthrough. In general, it was a hauntingly-beautiful short game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    I love this game, but in the last rooms I went almost crazy for the difficulty.
    One thing that I do not understand is that you can choose
    the end. Is this necessary? Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    If you liked Braid or Limbo, you'll like this game also, and should get it for that reason alone, it is of the same high quality. It has the engine/art ambience novelty value that makes it fun to play, and quite addictive once you start. Puzzles are easy bar about 3, which jump vastly in difficulty. It is short enough, and may have no replay value also, so keep to the $10 or less price range. It gets an 8 because though the sound is great, the music is almost indiscernible. And whilst I like obtuse story lines, I'm not sure this one needed it. For me, it would have worked better as a more realistic escape+rescue storyline, with each room to rescue a survivor. But those minor quibbles aside, recommended still. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    I don't understand why this game has such a ridiculously high review. It's a mildly entertaining puzzle game, different than, but not as fun as Portal in my opinion. Not worth ten dollars.

    A mediocre score for a mediocre game.
    Expand

See all 69 User Reviews