Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 360 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swapper features a unique art style that uses real-world clay-models and found objects to create an explorable space station realised in unique detail; gameplay sees players swap between different bodies to achieve otherwise impossible tasks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    100
    The Swapper is a unique experience that will charm any fan of science fiction as well as fans of games like Braid, Metroid and Castlevania. The game looks and sounds beautiful and the cloning mechanics are both novel, creative and challenging.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    93
    Very few puzzle games have ever managed to marry impeccable challenges with a mature storytelling quite like this – there's no fluff or extraneous content here, only a prime example of how to create a tight, unforgettable gaming experience.
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    90
    Brimming with intelligent game design. [Issue#137, p.121]
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    89
    The Swapper is a wonderful puzzle game. An amazing title.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    84
    A crafty, atmospheric puzzler. [Sept 2013, p.77]
  7. May 31, 2013
    70
    All in all, the setting is perfect for a puzzle game built around existential despair...Its clever, creepy and macabre.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Thank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going to play The Swapper, you really have to turn off the lights and put on your Headphones now you´re ready to dip into one of the most atmospheric Games in this Genre! Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    honestly..i donno why some reviewers give it 7 or 8..?!?!?
    its New Fresh game..New Idea ..game is Creepy..really creepy with
    most Difficult
    Puzzles ever..this game should never get less then 9..
    ppl comparing it with Portal and bla bla..its totally different

    every hardcore players should grab this..its the Best 2D puzzle game ever
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Great game! Fantastic atmosphere, great puzzles, imaginative graphics, good controlls feel, quaite a few iconic moments, and intriguing story although I had to look up some explanations cause not everything was clear to me). Soundtrack not too bad although nothing memorable. Great game for couple of evenings. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    At a higher price this game would be 8/10. Still pretty great, and very enjoyable. The puzzles are very well designed. They get a little ridiculous near the end.
    For $10, it gets value points.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    I didn't care much about the story. Despite that I still find it's fun to play this game. The atmosphere feels good. A number of puzzles are well designed though some are not well ordered according to the difficulty. I don't give it a 10 because I think the play style lacks variety. There's noting more complicated or more interesting in the latter part of the game except for the reverse gravity. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Lovely looking game with a unique & enjoyable game mechanic (the swapping). In general, this is an excellent game which I highly recommend. However, it does have a downside in that there is a fair amount of backtracking involved at times with little to no motivation besides completing the game. This won't be a problem for others but I find the lack of any special reward for backtracking (e.g. to get an upgrade of some sort or unlock some new mechanic) makes retreading areas very dull and occasionally frustrating. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    I don't understand why this game has such a ridiculously high review. It's a mildly entertaining puzzle game, different than, but not as fun as Portal in my opinion. Not worth ten dollars.

    A mediocre score for a mediocre game.
    Expand

See all 74 User Reviews