The Swapper Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 486 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Swapper features a unique art style that uses real-world clay-models and found objects to create an explorable space station realised in unique detail; gameplay sees players swap between different bodies to achieve otherwise impossible tasks.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    100
    The Swapper is a unique experience that will charm any fan of science fiction as well as fans of games like Braid, Metroid and Castlevania. The game looks and sounds beautiful and the cloning mechanics are both novel, creative and challenging.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    93
    Very few puzzle games have ever managed to marry impeccable challenges with a mature storytelling quite like this – there's no fluff or extraneous content here, only a prime example of how to create a tight, unforgettable gaming experience.
  3. games(TM)
    Jul 28, 2013
    90
    Brimming with intelligent game design. [Issue#137, p.121]
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    88
    Low-key, effective storytelling and a hyperfocus on puzzles. The Swapper exemplifies the adage that less is more.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    87
    The Swapper is a first-rate puzzle platformer that boasts a gorgeous atmosphere as well. The story doesn't quite live up to its potential, though, but it's not a major issue. [Aug 2013]
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A puzzle platformer that won't frustrate nor bore you. The puzzles complete a solid story, which is unique even for an indie game. [Issue#234]
  7. May 31, 2013
    70
    All in all, the setting is perfect for a puzzle game built around existential despair...Its clever, creepy and macabre.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    Thank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going toThank you so much for such a masterpiece! The swapper is a game for your ears, your eyes, oh and even for your brain too. If you´re going to play The Swapper, you really have to turn off the lights and put on your Headphones now you´re ready to dip into one of the most atmospheric Games in this Genre! Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2015
    10
    Pretty much perfect if you like metroidvanias or puzzle games or speculative fiction. I really can't think of more to say. The puzzles arePretty much perfect if you like metroidvanias or puzzle games or speculative fiction. I really can't think of more to say. The puzzles are sometimes very challenging, but very satisfying to solve, and it's wonderfully atmospheric. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    A miracle of game...

    Not a puzzle game, or a pure adventure one... simply the best game of 2013, impeccable and fascinating story,
    A miracle of game...

    Not a puzzle game, or a pure adventure one... simply the best game of 2013, impeccable and fascinating story, innovative puzzles, moral choices (and the way is only one...)!

    Skyrim is a great game, this is simply part of gaming history...
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Very very good game continuing in the foot steps of Braid, but very unique on its own! It's very atmospheric and the puzzle are very good! IVery very good game continuing in the foot steps of Braid, but very unique on its own! It's very atmospheric and the puzzle are very good! I just wished there were more of them... Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Swappedy swap! Fun game. Good bank for the buck ($11 for me). I finished it in 9 hours but I am deeply stupid and most can probably completeSwappedy swap! Fun game. Good bank for the buck ($11 for me). I finished it in 9 hours but I am deeply stupid and most can probably complete it in under 6. I was also way too mouth-breathingly dumb for the plot, which is an existentialist sci-fi headslapper and I couldn't quite piece together the answers.

    My Petty Gripes: (1) I wish the lighting was a little bit brighter so we could see the Claymation details better. (2) I wish the voices weren't garbled at times. (3) Why is everyone in this future parallel universe British?
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    One of the very best and most atmospheric puzzlers I have ever played. The art style is amazing, the music is great. The difficulty of theOne of the very best and most atmospheric puzzlers I have ever played. The art style is amazing, the music is great. The difficulty of the puzzles is almost perfectly balanced with a rather easy start and a challenging end. It is inspiring to see how such a fantastic game can be created using such "simple" yet genius mechanics. I hope to see more puzzle games of this quality in the future. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2016
    5
    After one hour, this seems like a run-of-the-mill platformer with an unique puzzle element that is interesting at first and repetitive veryAfter one hour, this seems like a run-of-the-mill platformer with an unique puzzle element that is interesting at first and repetitive very soon. Slap a semi-interesting and semi-crypic story element on and here's another indie-platformer that is buried in praise I don't seem to understand. The thing is, this review could be used for a large number of today's indie platformers. One good idea and nice graphics don't automatically equal a good game for me.

    To be quite fair, it's not a bad game. It is 'just another game'. Which is exactly what's wrong with it in my eyes.
    Expand

See all 95 User Reviews