• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    One of the best Dungeons and Dragons PC games of all time. True to the rules edition at the time (3.5e) and very true to the classic T1-4 Module The Temple of Elemental Evil. It is a true Turn-Based Tactical game set in the original game world of Oerth in the Greyhawk setting. The dialogue is probably less than that of Planescape or Baldurs Gate, but for true tactical gamers and D&DOne of the best Dungeons and Dragons PC games of all time. True to the rules edition at the time (3.5e) and very true to the classic T1-4 Module The Temple of Elemental Evil. It is a true Turn-Based Tactical game set in the original game world of Oerth in the Greyhawk setting. The dialogue is probably less than that of Planescape or Baldurs Gate, but for true tactical gamers and D&D fans this can be put aside for the turn based combat. It's a damn shame that Troika Games went bust because this engine would have been truly amazing if it had a tool kit like Neverwinter Nights or Torchlight 2. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    One of my all time favourite RPG's. ToEE has a really active modding community which have improved the game no end it's free and you should definitely use it. Thanks Co8, you guys are amazing.

    The combat is brilliant, you have to work hard for your victories and it's highly satisfying. Building your group from level one up to powerful monster killers is great. The story line is vaguely
    One of my all time favourite RPG's. ToEE has a really active modding community which have improved the game no end it's free and you should definitely use it. Thanks Co8, you guys are amazing.

    The combat is brilliant, you have to work hard for your victories and it's highly satisfying. Building your group from level one up to powerful monster killers is great. The story line is vaguely interesting but you'll be playing the game for the combat set pieces. I tried to play Baldurs Gate II after this and it seemed so simple as to be pointless.

    I can't give it a 10 because exploration of villages and settlements is quite dull, even with the circle of eight mod pack, and the story line isn't brilliant, also the interface can be a bit irritating. The bugs are pretty much all fixed by the Co8 mod-pack.

    For D&D fans and fans of serious, turn based RPG combat.
    Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    Having bought this game at it's initial release, I was overcome by the abundant lack of play testing and bugs that made it through. It was borderline to being utterly broken and unplayable. Having played through it again recently with updates and mod patching, it's a far cry from what it once was.

    This isn't your traditional rpg which has major story elements. It's more of a free
    Having bought this game at it's initial release, I was overcome by the abundant lack of play testing and bugs that made it through. It was borderline to being utterly broken and unplayable. Having played through it again recently with updates and mod patching, it's a far cry from what it once was.

    This isn't your traditional rpg which has major story elements. It's more of a free roaming rpg based on the classic Temple of Elemental Evil module. It is limited to 2 towns, and 2 dungeons, however, the main play is meant to take place in the temple itself. Dungeons and Dragons has always been more a system of care and planning as opposed to fast paced action. This of course, means the combat is slower paced, and more strategic. It's not to say the combat system is poor, it's just meant to be played on a more strategic approach, and it surely caters to a certain crowd.

    The soundtrack is rather well done setting the atmosphere appropriately for the varying locations. Battle themes are rather well done and I never found them to get annoyingly repetitive. Personally, I think the soundtrack is actually rather charismatic and well done and has not appeared to get much mention. Voice acting is limited, however, far from the cringe worthy voice acting some games are known to carry.

    All in all, I think this game is a little above average, with no hand holding elements whatsoever. You are left to discover things, and fend for yourself. To some, this may actually be it's "appeal". Certainly worth checking out if you are a remote fan of turn based role playing games, or the Dungeons and Dragons franchise.
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    7
    Definitely worth a playthrough if you apply community patches (look up "circle of eight"). Imagine Baldur's Gate, except with less exploration/story and a much more interesting combat system. This is one of those games where the mechanics are so rich and complicated that you genuinely end up feeling that you can be *creative* in your party development and combat tactics. Really I'veDefinitely worth a playthrough if you apply community patches (look up "circle of eight"). Imagine Baldur's Gate, except with less exploration/story and a much more interesting combat system. This is one of those games where the mechanics are so rich and complicated that you genuinely end up feeling that you can be *creative* in your party development and combat tactics. Really I've never seen a party-based combat system with this much variety and potential.

    I'd say somewhat luckily, the game will completely kick your ass right off the bat. To succeed, you've got to learn about what your characters are capable of and build your party accordingly. For the patient, ultimately a very rewarding experience.

    Cons; disappointing story line, few environments to explore.

    somewhat of a con: This is not a rail shooter. This is not easy. To succeed, you have to learn the rule system and apply intelligent combat tactics and character development.

    Ultimately, I'm quite sad that this engine did not see any more application. Troika obviously spent a ton of time creating the D&D 3rd edition rules in a PC environment, then introduced a single adventure to apply it in. Why on earth did we never see more games based on this engine?
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2012
    3
    Gnome's beard is longer then this game, ant hive has less bugs and tetris has better plot. Turn based combat is all fine and dandy, but with 10 lvl cap it is more of a teasing slap around the tuckas than anything substantial, in something like NWN i would be halfway through 1st chapter, when this thing just ended leaving me extremely disappointed.
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    10
    Definitely a premium RPG, and probably the most faithful translation of Dungeons&Dragons 3E rules to the computer ever.

    I wonder how anyone can compare Neverwinter Nights (a wireframe RPG :-) to this jewel that is superior in every respect, from the graphics through rules/gamplay right up to the deep and immersive story.
  7. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    ToEE is a good RPG. It has a deep turn-based combat system implemented with D&D 3.5 rule set. The story line is very generic to be honest with you, pretty much as bad as Neverwinter Nights. The dialog is very plain compare to games like Planescape Torment and Baldur's Gate. The game's main focus lies clearly on the combat aspect which is quite enjoyable to play although it's not as tightToEE is a good RPG. It has a deep turn-based combat system implemented with D&D 3.5 rule set. The story line is very generic to be honest with you, pretty much as bad as Neverwinter Nights. The dialog is very plain compare to games like Planescape Torment and Baldur's Gate. The game's main focus lies clearly on the combat aspect which is quite enjoyable to play although it's not as tight as Baldurs games.If you like d&d games or strategy-focused game play, this is a good choice. Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    9
    The most faithful implementation of DnD in a computer game. Turn based combat system was almost perfect. Encounter design should have been better, and starting area (Hommlet) should have been more interesting. Bugs are not a problem, since they are fixed by the Circle of Eight unofficial patch.
  9. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty cool rock RPG. But it has one condition to play this game. You have to know Dungeons And Dragons 3.5 rules. I'm the lucky one who played long time this pen and paper game i version 3.5 so I can fully enjoy this game. But if you are not familiar with these rules, you are completely lost in this game. There was games which used D'n'D rules (not always 3.5 but it doesn't matter) and was playable even for complete noobs in D'n'D. E.g. Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, etc. That is why I give this game only 8 points and not 10. Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2012
    0
    Gnome's beard is longer then this game, ant hive has less bugs and tetris has better plot. Turn based combat is all fine and dandy, but with 10 lvl cap it is more of a teasing slap around the tuckas than anything substantial, in something like NWN i would be halfway through 1st chapter, when this thing just ended leaving me extremely disappointed.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Fans of the dungeon crawling genre will have a blast getting lost in the world of the Temple of Elemental Evil. Those virgin to this type of game may be overwhelmed by the wealth of options and complexity of combat.
  2. Promises great things and delivers them patchily. Playing for any length of time is an exercise in frustration - especially since the concept is a great one.
  3. This has been quite an enjoyable trip but not one of epic proportions. More story would have gone a long, long way.