The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous detective Sherlock Holmes is back on the PC and Xbox 360 for a great adventure and probably the most dangerous investigation of his entire career.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    90
    It's been years since we were treated to such a thrilling detective story in a game. It's the best point'n'click title by Frogwares. [12/2012, p.58]
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    85
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a really atmospheric addition to the series. The story is original and very interesting, puzzles are top-notch and demand lots of thinking and the gameplay is satisfyingly long. What is more - there are some really pleasant surprises along the way. I think it's the best installment in the series and it will be hard to top this one, but I have hope. That's the way to go.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    An interesting, slow-burning adventure game well worth your time.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    73
    The conspiracy story is interesting, the detective work is very entertaining. Unfortunately the designers decided to lengthen the experience with frustrating moments and a changing difficulty level.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Fans of the Frogwares titles will be satiated, even with the lack of Creepy Watson shadowing your every move. Inconsistencies and plot, er, 'quirks' aside, this is a pretty solid adventure with some neat ideas and a dog jumping onto a series of wooden pillars.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    68
    Sherlock fans will enjoy the story and mystery, and puzzle fans will get their fix. If you're a fan of point and click adventure games and graphics are not a big concern to you, you may want to give this game a shot, but keep in mind; it will not control or look too pretty.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    All I can say is if you're a maniac for Sherlock Holmes stories or adventure games, then there's going to be something here for you. I'm not sure what I'd call it, but it's definitely something.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rudeThis is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rude as the one in A Game of Shadows or the movie before it. You get to experience a new side of Holmes as well as Watson. You can literally become Sherlock Holmes, the greatest detective ever. You will not feel left out or like you got ripped of. I really think this game is worth the forty dollars that you have to pay to buy it. It is a game set in a time and place you will not forget guaranteed. No doubt. If you like Sherlock Holmes, you will LOVE this game. It is a deep game with many conflicts that puts you on the edge of your seat like a movie does. If you don't like Sherlock Holmes, or you don't know about him,give it a try and watch his movies. I just have to tell you one thing. Don't be overwhelmed at how bada** he is. You have been forewarned... Collapse
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    This is a puzzle-based game. So if you expect some actions in this game, you will be disappointed. All the games from Sherlock Holmes seriesThis is a puzzle-based game. So if you expect some actions in this game, you will be disappointed. All the games from Sherlock Holmes series by Frogware are puzzle-based games. So the fans of this series should know it very well. If you don't like puzzle games, do not try this game. You will get frustrated. Most of the puzzles are interesting enough although some of them are a bit mediocre. However, even the mediocre ones are good enough for brain stimulation. The clues to lead you to the right points for clicking are plenty. So you really don't need to search for clicking points all over. This is a very good thing. For puzzles and other gaming functions, I would give it 8 out 10. However, the strongest aspect of this game is actually the story. The story might have some holes. But overall the story is very original and interesting so that it will keep you going to the end because you want to know what will happen next. I would give the story of this game 10 out of 10. As a whole, therefore, I will give 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Good point It has brilliant puzzles, Excellent Deduction board system, Good voice act attractive character making. I feel detective'sGood point It has brilliant puzzles, Excellent Deduction board system, Good voice act attractive character making. I feel detective's emotion. It was cool experience to me. Bad point Funny Motion ((like a Sherlock's running motion), Not comfortable controller input lack in Menu deduction board. some puzzles are very hard without no clue or too search hard.

    "The Testament of Sherlock Holmes" is well made adventure game for Sherlockian adv game fan.

    Do you want to play the detective thing? purchase solve it.

    If you korean then visit this review article http://goo.gl/epJ7p This is my formal review and written by korean language.
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2016
    8
    Surprisingly interesting game. Story is advanced and quite complicated, voice acting is great, character design too. It can be annoying atSurprisingly interesting game. Story is advanced and quite complicated, voice acting is great, character design too. It can be annoying at times, with puzzles at every step, I mean some doors could just freakin open like in the normal world, but overall I feel positive about this game. It was a good experience, sometimes annoying, but still. I finished it so it already says something, very most of games are not getting to this point. Graphically it isn't top of the line of course, but good enough to create the atmosphere and avoid distractions that can be caused by really low graphics quality in games sometimes, but it was solid in that regard, no issues here. You can play it in first person, third person or point and click, which is also quite rare functionality. Overall, puzzles make you think, story is interesting, gameplay is not bad either, graphics are good enough even for someone used to maxed out modern games. Few days well spent with this game. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The trailer was very misleading, the game was far from being as dark as it was suggested, especially since the characters (especially Watson) went out of their way to seem as enthusiast as possible throughout the game.

    Speaking of which, the voice acting wasn't bad but the writing didn't make it sound authentic and tried to much to hold your hand. One example among a few hundreds is when you get into the journalist's office in the lobby, you take a look at a coffee pot and Watson blatantly yells "it's still hot!" so you know someone was here not long ago.
    A more subtle approach of this would have been welcome, such as a discrete whispering "ouch, it's hot" like he wasn't really trying to make a point at all.
    Plus, the game went also out of its way to make it look like it wasn't so much that Sherlock Holmes was intelligent, but rather everyone else including Watson was dumb as a bag of rocks, completely incapable of figuring out the simplest things.

    That said, comes the gameplay, the trailer again and the beginning of the game offered a lot of promises they didn't really deliver in the end, you start by investigating a burglary and then a murder right after, with all deduction boards and other cool Sherlock Holmes stuff.

    But after this, most of the time you end up seaching for tools to break into places or other things like that, and it turns much more into a MacGyver game than a Sherlock Holmes one, you find a ladder, another one, an iron wire and you build a big ladder, two sheets and you get a rope. And if you don't create the exact tool you're supposed to, you're not going anywhere. No matter the far-fetchedness (yes, new word, get used to it) of the said tool, you have to make it, there's never any way around.

    That being said, comes the scripting. It was... well, quite flawed. The worst example i encountered was towards the end, so I call:
    SPOILERS:
    You get into the amusement park (or circus or whatever), you have to confront the prince and lie to him about Moriarty, but first you have to walk around by the trailers, so you do, you can see by the window without needing to click it that the 3 Russian Brothers are in one of them, but if you don't click the windows to watch them like the game wants you too, you're stuck, you can go see the Prince but nothing will happen until you go and click that window which you won't think of doing if you already know they're here and you shouldn't have to do it anyway.

    That said, I'm not saying the game is terrible, it has a lot of potential, but for one thing it's not exploited very well, and for another thing, it's far from what you could expect when you see the trailer.

    If another Sherlock Holmes game is made by Frogware, I just suggest a lot more deduction boards and other detective stuff and a lot less MacGyver do it yourself stuff.
    Also a lot less hand holding in deducting things would improve the game and in a two birds a stone movement would prevent the characters from being forced to sound like they're complete morons who can't figure out by themselves that two bullets in the head is not a suicide.
    Also loosing the over-scripted events.
    Expand
  6. May 22, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Testament of Sherlock Holmes: no denying that this is the best title of the series so far. But Focus Home Interactive have a long, long way to go to get the series potential to its fullest.

    This is one of those games that is neither terrible nor great, rather it's somewhere in between. Sherlock Holmes still suffers from a few flaws that were present in the earlier games, that FHI seem to be missing each and every time, and failing to correct it.

    Lets start with flaw number 1 that has been present since the series began: The voice cast for the role of Sherlock Holmes has always suffered. Either they've got a hammy actor doing the role, or a rather dull Holmes that gives the impression that the voice actor would rather be somewhere else than in the studio reading lines. The latter is the case for this game, in which there is no emotional connection between the player and Sherlock Holmes. Have the creators ever watched any tv series? Have they watched Jeremy Brett's portrayal at all, who is renowned for being the best Sherlock of them all?

    It's a puzzle because the voice acting for Dr.Watson has, while not been spot on, certainly a better choice than the main lead! I do feel however that Watson was a bit overzealous in his excitement this time around and the writing was quite poor for him.

    Flaw 2: Plot. Yes, the plot. The plot has been improved and is quite impressive starting off, but it quicly goes downhill. Here's a lesson Folks; if a game asks you to control a dog, whose primary responsibility is to 'sniff' for clues, then yes, you know (or should know) that the general writing/plot has gone downhill at this point. Seriously Focus? Nice idea on paper, poor implementation for a Sherlock Holmes game. I don't want to play as a hound, nor do I want to sniff around for visible cues. This was perhaps the most serious flaw in the game and there's more throughout, but this was a serious distraction and one that made me shake my head in disgust.

    I've yet to come across a Sherlock Holmes game from FHI that I could say I enjoyed. Some may call that 'bitterness', I call it having standards when it comes to a series. Others take the Sherlock Holmes series with a grain of salt and accept that despite the lack in quality at times, they are more than happy to have a game that is set within the realm of Sherlock Holmes. That's fair enough, but I take the different approach that I would rather have a game that is true to Sherlock Holmes and gets the joy of solving a case across to the player.

    Dog sniffing aside, this isn't the enjoyment and I truly hope that the new upcoming Sherlock Holmes game will deliver on quality and enjoyment.

    I mean, surely they have to make a good game at some point? Right?....
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2016
    0
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I find Sherlock's openness about his findings quite disconcerting given his preference to save his conclusions until the end. The level of arrogance shown by Holmes towards other inspectors and Watson is a tad out of touch with his subtle jibes being replaced by overly obvious slaps in the face.

    In addition to personality inconsistencies, the graphics make me nauseous. After the first scene, I wondered if perhaps it was an oversight or an afterthought, but the same animations continued through the game. The controls for moving the characters are quite fiddly and the methods of detection are hit and miss with no real finesse required. The puzzles leave a lot to be desired.

    This is the first Sherlock Holmes game I have played but it has left me sorely disappointed. While I paid peanuts for this game, knowing that other people have been charged upwards of $10 for the "privilege" to play this poorly designed game gives me a more queasy feeling than looking at a severed finger on a table for longer than I should have to.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews