The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous detective Sherlock Holmes is back on the PC and Xbox 360 for a great adventure and probably the most dangerous investigation of his entire career.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    90
    It's been years since we were treated to such a thrilling detective story in a game. It's the best point'n'click title by Frogwares. [12/2012, p.58]
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    85
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a really atmospheric addition to the series. The story is original and very interesting, puzzles are top-notch and demand lots of thinking and the gameplay is satisfyingly long. What is more - there are some really pleasant surprises along the way. I think it's the best installment in the series and it will be hard to top this one, but I have hope. That's the way to go.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    An interesting, slow-burning adventure game well worth your time.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    73
    The conspiracy story is interesting, the detective work is very entertaining. Unfortunately the designers decided to lengthen the experience with frustrating moments and a changing difficulty level.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Fans of the Frogwares titles will be satiated, even with the lack of Creepy Watson shadowing your every move. Inconsistencies and plot, er, 'quirks' aside, this is a pretty solid adventure with some neat ideas and a dog jumping onto a series of wooden pillars.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    68
    Sherlock fans will enjoy the story and mystery, and puzzle fans will get their fix. If you're a fan of point and click adventure games and graphics are not a big concern to you, you may want to give this game a shot, but keep in mind; it will not control or look too pretty.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    All I can say is if you're a maniac for Sherlock Holmes stories or adventure games, then there's going to be something here for you. I'm not sure what I'd call it, but it's definitely something.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rudeThis is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rude as the one in A Game of Shadows or the movie before it. You get to experience a new side of Holmes as well as Watson. You can literally become Sherlock Holmes, the greatest detective ever. You will not feel left out or like you got ripped of. I really think this game is worth the forty dollars that you have to pay to buy it. It is a game set in a time and place you will not forget guaranteed. No doubt. If you like Sherlock Holmes, you will LOVE this game. It is a deep game with many conflicts that puts you on the edge of your seat like a movie does. If you don't like Sherlock Holmes, or you don't know about him,give it a try and watch his movies. I just have to tell you one thing. Don't be overwhelmed at how bada** he is. You have been forewarned... Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    "The Testament of Sherlock Holmes" is an adventure game with a pleasant plot, overall well designed and built, with unexpected elements that"The Testament of Sherlock Holmes" is an adventure game with a pleasant plot, overall well designed and built, with unexpected elements that appear on several occasions and a Gothic atmosphere pleasantly surprising.

    Personally, I also found the puzzles entertaining and understandable.

    Much has already being said, and I finish saying: this game deserve a big rating.
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Being somewhat a seasoned adventure gamer and having enjoyed Conan Doyle's works in my youth, I must say that I had great expectations forBeing somewhat a seasoned adventure gamer and having enjoyed Conan Doyle's works in my youth, I must say that I had great expectations for this game and fortunately, it met and sometimes exceeded them. Considering the numerous and most of the time awful adaptations of Sherlock Holmes out there, I must say that this is one that truly nailed the original stories character and ambiance; they got their details right. Aside from the details, something that really sets this game apart from other adventure games, is the attention given to the deduction process. In most adventure games, once you found the appropriate clues the conclusion is outright given to you while in this game, you must put these clues together and logically deduce the right conclusion. While somewhat limited, this process really gives you some sense of actually solving the case. Another good design decision is the general absence of pixel hunting: most of the relevant items will become highlighted when you pass next to them. As for the puzzles, I must say that this is one aspect of the game that truly shines: they are realistic, logical, not too easy nor too hard or tedious. It's really been a long time since I appreciated that much a game for the consistence of it's puzzles (I guess the last one I had so much fun was Braid). As for the story, it is a really enjoyable, credible Sherlock Holmes case perhaps not as subtle as the original stories but enjoyable in it's own merit. Technically, the graphics are superb are I would place The Testament of Sherlock Holmes amongst the few games that achieved a 3D adventure game without it being awkward in some way. The voice acting is flawless and the music, while being a little bland, still manages to create the right atmosphere.

    As for the bad points, it is to notice that the character animations (lip sync and such) is often a little off and you have to compensate with your imagination. As for the controls, if I remember correctly, the game offers 3 different ways to control the characters but unfortunately, they all get a little tedious at some point (although, I really don't know how they could have done better than offering those 3 different ways (FPS, Third person, and point and click).

    In all, if you're sick of toy games such as Botanicula (where clicking at random can lead you to finish the game in approximately 4 hours), if you appreciate the Sherlock Holmes novels/stories, and happen to enjoy puzzles, then The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a game you'll surely like.
    Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    As an adventure game fan, I enjoyed this game a lot. The puzzles are very clever and challenging, the deduction board and the chemistry labAs an adventure game fan, I enjoyed this game a lot. The puzzles are very clever and challenging, the deduction board and the chemistry lab are fun to use. The graphics are good although the lighting could have been a bit more polished, but it did not diminish my appreciation of the game. My only complaint is that the game, being about investigation and clues, could have been deeper (and longer) than this with more developed characters. It would be great to have the same quality of facial animations they used in L.A. Noire for this type of game. I'm eagerly waiting for the next Sherlock Holmes title to come out. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    -The Storyline is full of plotholes and is badly written
    -Quite a few factual errors (e.g. radar in 1898? WTF?)
    -The puzzles are rather
    -The Storyline is full of plotholes and is badly written
    -Quite a few factual errors (e.g. radar in 1898? WTF?)
    -The puzzles are rather mediocre and very basic
    -The graphics are improved, which is nice, but the graphics engine runs like s**t. Not only does Crysis 3 look better, it runs like a charm unlike the horrible engine in this game
    -If you play with a 1st person then you are very likely to miss clues/items, because the LOD (level of depth) is extremely low
    -And a bunch of other negative things.

    The game is only mediocre and defintely a major step down from previous Sherlock Holmes games (I have played them all).
    Expand
  6. May 22, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Testament of Sherlock Holmes: no denying that this is the best title of the series so far. But Focus Home Interactive have a long, long way to go to get the series potential to its fullest.

    This is one of those games that is neither terrible nor great, rather it's somewhere in between. Sherlock Holmes still suffers from a few flaws that were present in the earlier games, that FHI seem to be missing each and every time, and failing to correct it.

    Lets start with flaw number 1 that has been present since the series began: The voice cast for the role of Sherlock Holmes has always suffered. Either they've got a hammy actor doing the role, or a rather dull Holmes that gives the impression that the voice actor would rather be somewhere else than in the studio reading lines. The latter is the case for this game, in which there is no emotional connection between the player and Sherlock Holmes. Have the creators ever watched any tv series? Have they watched Jeremy Brett's portrayal at all, who is renowned for being the best Sherlock of them all?

    It's a puzzle because the voice acting for Dr.Watson has, while not been spot on, certainly a better choice than the main lead! I do feel however that Watson was a bit overzealous in his excitement this time around and the writing was quite poor for him.

    Flaw 2: Plot. Yes, the plot. The plot has been improved and is quite impressive starting off, but it quicly goes downhill. Here's a lesson Folks; if a game asks you to control a dog, whose primary responsibility is to 'sniff' for clues, then yes, you know (or should know) that the general writing/plot has gone downhill at this point. Seriously Focus? Nice idea on paper, poor implementation for a Sherlock Holmes game. I don't want to play as a hound, nor do I want to sniff around for visible cues. This was perhaps the most serious flaw in the game and there's more throughout, but this was a serious distraction and one that made me shake my head in disgust.

    I've yet to come across a Sherlock Holmes game from FHI that I could say I enjoyed. Some may call that 'bitterness', I call it having standards when it comes to a series. Others take the Sherlock Holmes series with a grain of salt and accept that despite the lack in quality at times, they are more than happy to have a game that is set within the realm of Sherlock Holmes. That's fair enough, but I take the different approach that I would rather have a game that is true to Sherlock Holmes and gets the joy of solving a case across to the player.

    Dog sniffing aside, this isn't the enjoyment and I truly hope that the new upcoming Sherlock Holmes game will deliver on quality and enjoyment.

    I mean, surely they have to make a good game at some point? Right?....
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2016
    0
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I find Sherlock's openness about his findings quite disconcerting given his preference to save his conclusions until the end. The level of arrogance shown by Holmes towards other inspectors and Watson is a tad out of touch with his subtle jibes being replaced by overly obvious slaps in the face.

    In addition to personality inconsistencies, the graphics make me nauseous. After the first scene, I wondered if perhaps it was an oversight or an afterthought, but the same animations continued through the game. The controls for moving the characters are quite fiddly and the methods of detection are hit and miss with no real finesse required. The puzzles leave a lot to be desired.

    This is the first Sherlock Holmes game I have played but it has left me sorely disappointed. While I paid peanuts for this game, knowing that other people have been charged upwards of $10 for the "privilege" to play this poorly designed game gives me a more queasy feeling than looking at a severed finger on a table for longer than I should have to.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews