The Testament of Sherlock Holmes Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The famous detective Sherlock Holmes is back on the PC and Xbox 360 for a great adventure and probably the most dangerous investigation of his entire career.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    90
    It's been years since we were treated to such a thrilling detective story in a game. It's the best point'n'click title by Frogwares. [12/2012, p.58]
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    85
    The Testament of Sherlock Holmes is a really atmospheric addition to the series. The story is original and very interesting, puzzles are top-notch and demand lots of thinking and the gameplay is satisfyingly long. What is more - there are some really pleasant surprises along the way. I think it's the best installment in the series and it will be hard to top this one, but I have hope. That's the way to go.
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    An interesting, slow-burning adventure game well worth your time.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    73
    The conspiracy story is interesting, the detective work is very entertaining. Unfortunately the designers decided to lengthen the experience with frustrating moments and a changing difficulty level.
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    70
    Fans of the Frogwares titles will be satiated, even with the lack of Creepy Watson shadowing your every move. Inconsistencies and plot, er, 'quirks' aside, this is a pretty solid adventure with some neat ideas and a dog jumping onto a series of wooden pillars.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    68
    Sherlock fans will enjoy the story and mystery, and puzzle fans will get their fix. If you're a fan of point and click adventure games and graphics are not a big concern to you, you may want to give this game a shot, but keep in mind; it will not control or look too pretty.
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    50
    All I can say is if you're a maniac for Sherlock Holmes stories or adventure games, then there's going to be something here for you. I'm not sure what I'd call it, but it's definitely something.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rudeThis is a good game with good graphics and an up-to-date kind of Sherlock Holmes, not like the ones in the older movies, but not quite as rude as the one in A Game of Shadows or the movie before it. You get to experience a new side of Holmes as well as Watson. You can literally become Sherlock Holmes, the greatest detective ever. You will not feel left out or like you got ripped of. I really think this game is worth the forty dollars that you have to pay to buy it. It is a game set in a time and place you will not forget guaranteed. No doubt. If you like Sherlock Holmes, you will LOVE this game. It is a deep game with many conflicts that puts you on the edge of your seat like a movie does. If you don't like Sherlock Holmes, or you don't know about him,give it a try and watch his movies. I just have to tell you one thing. Don't be overwhelmed at how bada** he is. You have been forewarned... Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    This is a puzzle-based game. So if you expect some actions in this game, you will be disappointed. All the games from Sherlock Holmes seriesThis is a puzzle-based game. So if you expect some actions in this game, you will be disappointed. All the games from Sherlock Holmes series by Frogware are puzzle-based games. So the fans of this series should know it very well. If you don't like puzzle games, do not try this game. You will get frustrated. Most of the puzzles are interesting enough although some of them are a bit mediocre. However, even the mediocre ones are good enough for brain stimulation. The clues to lead you to the right points for clicking are plenty. So you really don't need to search for clicking points all over. This is a very good thing. For puzzles and other gaming functions, I would give it 8 out 10. However, the strongest aspect of this game is actually the story. The story might have some holes. But overall the story is very original and interesting so that it will keep you going to the end because you want to know what will happen next. I would give the story of this game 10 out of 10. As a whole, therefore, I will give 9 out of 10. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Good point It has brilliant puzzles, Excellent Deduction board system, Good voice act attractive character making. I feel detective'sGood point It has brilliant puzzles, Excellent Deduction board system, Good voice act attractive character making. I feel detective's emotion. It was cool experience to me. Bad point Funny Motion ((like a Sherlock's running motion), Not comfortable controller input lack in Menu deduction board. some puzzles are very hard without no clue or too search hard.

    "The Testament of Sherlock Holmes" is well made adventure game for Sherlockian adv game fan.

    Do you want to play the detective thing? purchase solve it.

    If you korean then visit this review article http://goo.gl/epJ7p This is my formal review and written by korean language.
    Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    As an adventure game fan, I enjoyed this game a lot. The puzzles are very clever and challenging, the deduction board and the chemistry labAs an adventure game fan, I enjoyed this game a lot. The puzzles are very clever and challenging, the deduction board and the chemistry lab are fun to use. The graphics are good although the lighting could have been a bit more polished, but it did not diminish my appreciation of the game. My only complaint is that the game, being about investigation and clues, could have been deeper (and longer) than this with more developed characters. It would be great to have the same quality of facial animations they used in L.A. Noire for this type of game. I'm eagerly waiting for the next Sherlock Holmes title to come out. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2013
    6
    -The Storyline is full of plotholes and is badly written
    -Quite a few factual errors (e.g. radar in 1898? WTF?)
    -The puzzles are rather
    -The Storyline is full of plotholes and is badly written
    -Quite a few factual errors (e.g. radar in 1898? WTF?)
    -The puzzles are rather mediocre and very basic
    -The graphics are improved, which is nice, but the graphics engine runs like s**t. Not only does Crysis 3 look better, it runs like a charm unlike the horrible engine in this game
    -If you play with a 1st person then you are very likely to miss clues/items, because the LOD (level of depth) is extremely low
    -And a bunch of other negative things.

    The game is only mediocre and defintely a major step down from previous Sherlock Holmes games (I have played them all).
    Expand
  6. May 9, 2013
    5
    Okay so I've just finished The Testament of Sherlock Holmes the video game. Here is my review. I give it a 4.5 out of 10 due to the fact ofOkay so I've just finished The Testament of Sherlock Holmes the video game. Here is my review. I give it a 4.5 out of 10 due to the fact of simple graphics and poor game play as well as a general lack of open game play. This is the first game I ever bought used that I'm glad the company who made this will never see a dime.

    Okay lets tackle the first thing that annoyed me in this game. The lack of instructions. Every time you had to do a minigame it just said solve the mini game. Which got very annoying and since they aren't repetitive, I keep saying what do I have to do here? Even as I looked this up on youtube to try to solve them, the narrations of the people where highly confused taking them on average 6 or 7 minutes to figure it out what you needed to do and then another 6 to 10 just solving it even after they themselves looked it up on the internet.
    Another thing besides the minigames that confused me were the items and how they were used. Near the ending it got better because they became more obvious, like a ladder just standing 3 feet away from a window with an action icon next to it. But in the game you had to go to an attic tear open a magician's cloak, which was in a locked trunk, get the keys that will open anything sewn into the cloak on the inside after turning the cloak upsidedown manually which the stitch you had to pull could barely be seen due to poor lighting and bad graphics, just to open a tool shed which you could have used a crowbar on, (which was in your inventory) in real life.

    Next were the graphics. It irked me that this game looked like it should have been in the N64 era of gaming. No real detail in anything including the faces or even in the cut scenes. This game was clearly never about good graphics.

    Last but not least the non open play that the game states on the cover. This game promises to be an open game where you can interrogate who ever you want and do what ever you want. That is a bold faced lie. You have to do everything down to the exact detail of what they wanted of you and if you do not do it, you can not progress in the story. You can't even guess at combinations. You have to find the paper with the combination on it, decode it, find some key to unlock it as well and then come back and put it in. It is like that for almost every lock in the game. It's a nice feature but it gets so repetitive and annoying after the first 2 times you do it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2016
    0
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur
    I don't know where to begin with this game. How could it have gotten a rating higher than half?

    Having read all the books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I find Sherlock's openness about his findings quite disconcerting given his preference to save his conclusions until the end. The level of arrogance shown by Holmes towards other inspectors and Watson is a tad out of touch with his subtle jibes being replaced by overly obvious slaps in the face.

    In addition to personality inconsistencies, the graphics make me nauseous. After the first scene, I wondered if perhaps it was an oversight or an afterthought, but the same animations continued through the game. The controls for moving the characters are quite fiddly and the methods of detection are hit and miss with no real finesse required. The puzzles leave a lot to be desired.

    This is the first Sherlock Holmes game I have played but it has left me sorely disappointed. While I paid peanuts for this game, knowing that other people have been charged upwards of $10 for the "privilege" to play this poorly designed game gives me a more queasy feeling than looking at a severed finger on a table for longer than I should have to.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews