The Thing Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dropped into the frozen wastelands of Antarctica, you're the leader of a military rescue team sent to investigate the mysterious deaths of an American scientific expedition. In the punishing wind and cold, your team encounters a strange, shape-shifting alien life form that assumes theDropped into the frozen wastelands of Antarctica, you're the leader of a military rescue team sent to investigate the mysterious deaths of an American scientific expedition. In the punishing wind and cold, your team encounters a strange, shape-shifting alien life form that assumes the appearances of the people it kills. This monster is difficult to see, hard to kill, and seemingly impossible to evade. And when you see it, it's often too late. [Universal Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. So see the film, take a little break, then turn down the lights, put on headphones, and prepare yourself for the atmosphere, anticipation, apprehension, anxiety and action of The Thing.
  2. Excellent, moody and atmospheric, and at some points downright creepy.
  3. More interactive movie than third-person shooter, The Thing is an enjoyable diversion loaded with atmosphere.
  4. If it weren't for a general scarcity of terror and a control scheme unsuited to its action-oriented gameplay, The Thing would be great.
  5. Has many unique and innovative points going for it, but in the end has one too many little flaws that prevent it from being a truly great game.
  6. Too many rough edges ruin an otherwise smooth production: clipping problems, unexplained mission objectives..., save points strategically placed to artificially raise the difficulty of certain missions, and an emphasis on scripting over substance. [Dec 2002, p.102]
  7. A great concept but is filled with crippling annoyances that drag down the entire experience. [Nov 2002, p.120]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. R.J.M.
    Mar 25, 2004
    10
    This game kicks Ass. the action is Sweeeeeet. it is so easy and FUN to play. I have finished it 4 or 5 times !
  2. JasonM.
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    Game is great. The updates i had to make to me machine were not. I havent had any other problems with it other than that.
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Personally I loved this game. It's a great Third-Person Shooter, though it is hindered by a few small problems. A great rise in difficultyPersonally I loved this game. It's a great Third-Person Shooter, though it is hindered by a few small problems. A great rise in difficulty towards the end and a lack of quick-saves and quick-loads (it's a console port, go figure) make you have to start from the start of the level (unless you found a save point, which means every time you die you have to quit to the main menu to load to the save point). The scripted thing outbreaks and the whole "puke 'n fuses" business (as seen in SpoonyOne's review). Other than that I've played through it about 3 times now and I love it. Expand
  4. MikeK.
    Sep 18, 2002
    8
    It's pretty good, level design are kind of short and corny...but its really cool when you have people who are with you and help out. TheIt's pretty good, level design are kind of short and corny...but its really cool when you have people who are with you and help out. The third person view is nice to look at but terrible to kill stuff, and the auto aim is dumb. Expand
  5. JonC.
    Dec 9, 2003
    7
    Great game with the notable exceptions of almost everyone you meet in the game is a thing. Hardly anyone is human. And for those of them that Great game with the notable exceptions of almost everyone you meet in the game is a thing. Hardly anyone is human. And for those of them that are human. what becomes of them at the end of the game? We only get to see Blake being rescued by McCready. What about the actual humans!?!?!? A disappointing incomplete ending. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2003
    7
    It is a very good game and is very creepy and freeky the grapics are awsome but the downside is that the things are almost impossible to killIt is a very good game and is very creepy and freeky the grapics are awsome but the downside is that the things are almost impossible to kill and i like that you get to control your own team. Expand
  7. Gaz
    Oct 27, 2002
    3
    The game overall in my opinion is poor. The graphics are ordinary and the whole concept is based around sending wave after wave of monsters The game overall in my opinion is poor. The graphics are ordinary and the whole concept is based around sending wave after wave of monsters and soldiers after you. There is only 2 types of soldier and seemingly 3 types of "Thing", rangin from critters, medium things and "end of level baddie things". What I don't like is how the soldiers fire endlessly at you, never run out of ammo and even drop ammo when they die. How is this possible?? I got bored of this game after around an hour and totally regretted purchasing it. Anyone reading this interested in buying the game should look in Amazon.co.uk as I will be selling it very low cost. Very disappointed. Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews