User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 261

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    0
    Bought this when it was released but have not had a chance to try it until recently. Now the game just hangs up at a black screen whenever I try to start an episode and it seems this is a common problem that has popped up since 400 days. I played the game with absolutely zero problems before installing 400 days, and now I can't even refresh on the base story so I can play the new season because 400 days broke the game. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    I usually love The Walking Dead, but however the charm of the characters we all knew and loved have gone, as they're replaced by other new characters. However, what keeps this as a 7 is Russel's story, and the prison guy's story. The rest aren't worth writing home (or to metacritic) about.
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 6 out of 10, Re-play: 6 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  4. Jwv
    Jan 30, 2014
    7
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days was good, but I ask myself why - apart from an obvious economic motive - Telltale Games released this DLC, and it also doesn't seem to be material cut out of the original Season One. If I would rate the chapters, this is my opinion, beginning from the best: Vince, Wyatt, Russel, Bonnie and Shel. If I think about my choices here I can say that they are motivated by the depth of which I felt involved, both in my identification with the characters and impact on the chapter. Bonnie's and Shel's chapter illustrate my point. I rated this chapter relatively low because I didn't really feel connected with the characters because of the lack of character building (compare with Vince's episode). It's cool that Telltale delivers new content, but they try to compensate for the shortness of the chapters by incorporating at least one hard choice in them. At least, that's what they aimed to do. In Bonnie's and Shel's case, there sure were decision that would have had real emotional repercussions (for the player), but the potential strength of these decisions is minimized by the lack of character building and identification (especially in Shel's chapter). So Telltale has to choose between character building (which requires serene scenes) and some action too (to keep some players from getting bored), but I think they should have focused on character building (like with Vince) because the climax of the chapter (the most important part as you wish, and the part by which most of the players will rate the chapter in my opinion) depends upon character building and identification. I don't say the chapters are no good, because Telltale really deserved props for sucking the player in on such short notice, but some change of focus in certain chapter would have made it an overall better product, more worthy of the expensive price tag (now 5 EUR; January 2014). All in all, it would have been better if Telltale deleted 2 chapters and dug more into the other.

    Another thing now, what's great about these five different points of view is the diversity of situations and character types, something you didn't have in Season One. After finishing, what I also would like is some more insight in how the characters in the end decided to accept or decline a certain proposition, to better see where and how I impacted this. A positive note to end with: it's sweet to see controller support, and it really fits the game better than a mouse.
    Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2014
    7
    I was torn here, between a 7 and an 8. 7 seems too little, but 8 feels like major praise. It is, after all, 9 minus 1 (maths!), and how often do you see a 10? Regardless, I went with a 7, because 400 Days while compelling at times has some heavy flaws. The different stories are an interesting experiment, and not wholly unsuccessful. Each character -- though as you'd expect semi-avatar and customizable in nature -- has their own clear personality, so they don't all feel like Lee Mark 2. The crossover between the episodes is, if a bit cheesy at times, pretty nice. Finding out about the source of a certain bloodstain in another character's story...

    The real downer is the length. The stories are all fairly short, which has a ripple effect on other elements. The game is good about getting you to care about it's characters in spite of that (you won't care as much as you did Lee and Clem, but you'll still hope that most of them don't all die), but the fragmented nature of the stories also means every one of them has to start before moving on. Consequences don't have the chance to truly have any impact. Cast in point: Vince's story, while fairly interesting and ending on a dramatic note, may as well have been just one conversation. Its last choice is a tricky one, but never will you see its consequences. The same for almost everyone but Shel, who probably has the best choice and consequence (taking place during its rough middle). However, in the end her resolution in the Epilogue is disappointing.

    And so it is for everyone, as the Epilogue is lacking and almost tacked-on. It offers some interesting comments about how the stories turned out, but isn't sufficiently explained and highlights the lack of proper consequence caused by the DLC's short length. It ultimately serves to skim over your choices and end the thing with a sudden sequel hook (assuming it pops up in the sequel, if not just a sudden mystery).

    I *would* recommend 400 Days. But it's not a must-have, and expect to blow through it pretty quickly. It recently went on Steam sale, -75% off, so consider look out for when it's available for a £1; £4, while not ridiculously overpriced, might leave you feeling as though it'd been a bit wasted.
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    This plays like a teaser trailer, you get only snippets. I got this 75% off and thought it was still overpriced. l just felt I paid for an interactive advertisement.
  7. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    technically more stable with the adding of new game mechanise, 400 Days expands on the world of The Walking Dead. Although the game is short, its sweet and decisions your faced with are Vidal within the plot whereases they seem like paper thin choices at the time. This is because players are use to the previous instalment of having a much broader depth and decision making. 400 Days is a excellent bridge between the two season and is a must have for all Walking Dead Fans Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion do reflect how we start the next game… Overall though, Telltale has kept the quality super high… In fact I found the characters presented even more interesting than anyone from the original game… So, even though total gameplay is around an hour and a half at the most (which is 10-15 minutes per character story) it’s a simple reminder of how fantastic this game was at telling a story, putting you in control of a situation and making you think how you want to do things! It’s a great deal of fun, I can’t recommend this DLC enough and I’m frankly stoked for future instalments of ‘The Walking Dead’ from Telltale! Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    400 Days provides a couple short add-on stories that have nothing to do with the original game. I wasn't too impressed with these bite sized pieces since the original game was so deep and thorough. These bits just kind of left an empty feeling of incompleteness. There just wasn't enough content to really sink into and what was there didn't feel very engaging. I would have rather seen focus on a single individual. It's pretty much just about making tough decision and living with the consequences. The price is right and it's worth one play through, but nothing too memorable. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2013
    5
    Its good quality, but very little quantity. While the Storys themselfes are quality stories like we had them in season one, this DLC seriously lacks content, which doesnt let you feel good after you played it through. Its very short. Its so short, that there is a void after it. Before you can get really into it, its already over. Thats sad, cause its so well made, that you feel kinda like a junkie who was cheated on his fix.
    We all are waiting impatiently for something new from Telltale, but that new stuff should give enough to us, to survive till the next season. ;-)
    Price should be 1€ less from my feelings.

    I advice to buy it when season two comes out.
    Its a must have, but as stand alone too little content.
    Expand
  11. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    The writing, the art style, the atmosphere, the tough decisions all the things that made The Walking Dead The Game so great are still there in 400 Days, but what's lost is a sense of investment in the characters and their struggles. Because their stories are so short, you don't really get a feel for character development, so while the stories and characters are quite good, it's tough for me, the player, to emotionally connect to any of them the way I did to Lee, Clementine, Kenny, and even lesser characters in TWD Game. But the Shel chapter, the fact that your decisions will affect Season 2, and the very reasonable $5 price tag make it well worth your time. Expand
  12. Oct 4, 2013
    5
    Average DLC that really adds nothing new to the game, extends the original or last long enough to make you care. Has some interesting decisions to make but not much else.
  13. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    A lowly 6/10 from me. These are characters we know nothing about, and do not care about, one way or another. Therein lies the impact of choices and consequences in the first game, and this crucial element is completely missing from this DLC. Thus, this is, in my opinion, a pointless addition to a great game.

    However, the voice acting and graphics are all as well done as the game itself,
    hence the score. Expand
  14. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    I really like this franchise but I find it more prevalent that my choices really don't impact the game which is a serious problem considering it's the game's most alluring aspect. I think I can still accept this dlc since it's more walking dead, and still enjoyable storyline though I would have liked to see more
  15. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just only a DLC and nothing more.
    Short, no detail, not much fun
    It maybe a good intro to season 2, but who knows?

    The only too bad is no Clementine at all
    Expand
  16. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't a new episode so much as it's an intro for a new episode, clocking in at around an hour. The characters and their (slight) interaction before the end are interesting, but you play each one separately for 15 minutes, which sort of waters down the experience. The choices you make don't seem to have much impact on the story. For example, there's one section where you have the choice to join up with someone, but if you choose not to, a zombie horde forces you to. Later you can try to shoot someone, but if you do the gun jams. The story is very, very linear. Expand
  17. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Now im not fan of point and click and I didn't like telltales version of back to the future but this game was pretty darn good. Its the type of game you have to keep playing though to the end, Its like a good movie. The storyline is much of what makes this game a success and a good game in my mind. Its not so much about gameplay here as it is about the stellar storyline which is on the same level as the TV show, even surpassing it at times. I find the TV show to be relatively uneventful at times, which is not an issue with this game. Choices also effect the game, which is the new generation of video game player's opiate. Honestly this if one of the few lower budget games released this year I would recommend buying, especially if you haven't played the first couple of episodes which it does come with. Totally worth it AIO package. Expand
  18. Aug 23, 2013
    4
    This was a massive step down from the original game. The DLC is incredibly shot maybe an hour in length. Each character's story is incredibly short and some are just plain uninteresting. Sure there's a reference or link to the original game but while that gives you a moment of "Oh, cool!" it is not developed enough to be interesting. The 5 stories crossover in parts (mostly location) but even that novelty wares off quickly. Each character's story finishes just as it starts to get interesting, leaving you unfulfilled as you go onto the next one. Each story feels like an unfinished project and the ending serves as a "lets see which stories you played right", and even that seems to cut off early. I wouldn't recommend buying this DLC, but the full game is amazing. Expand
  19. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    A very entertaining and well written DLC, but because the stories are so short, you don't find yourself connecting to them like you did when you're playing as Lee Everett. The heavy choices you have to make are still there, but they don't carry as far like the first season. I say it's worth the $5, especially since the choices are planned to carry into Season 2.
  20. Jul 26, 2013
    5
    The choices you make don´t change the outcome one bit. And since it will only take 1 or 2 hours to complete this dlc, 5€ is too much to pay. 2€ is more accurate of a price considering the content that this
    brings to the table.
  21. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I loved season 1, this was a Great Teaser for season 2, only complaint is there was not more to play, I guess its short but sweet, a good game worth playing to tide ya over till season 2. Also the choices you make in 400 days will have an effect on season 2.
  22. Jul 24, 2013
    6
    Decent DLC here. It's got the tough decision making that the first one had and it's well written with great voice acting. Issue is that it's too short and the emotional connection you had with the first group of characters is non-existent because of the very short length. There was potential here for some great character development, something the first game was built on, but if these characters do develop, it'll be in season 2. It's only 5 bucks but I'm not honestly sure I'd recommend it for that price just because of the lack of content. If you're hard up for some more Walking Dead, then you've probably already got this. As for the rest of us, which included myself, if you can find it for cheaper like I did, then it's not a bad deal. Just know it'll only last you an hour, if that. Be prepared for a very short length. Expand
  23. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    This is an interesting piece of DLC that links Season 1 and Season 2, although the decisions in 400 Days don't feel very important, they will certainly have an impact on Season 2. Once again the voice acting is amazing and still one of the high points in The Walking Dead game series. So, if you liked the first season of The Walking Dead you should probably buy this DLC, because I can assure you it is worth the money. Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead 400 Days have some positive points and negative points.
    *Positive points :
    1- Scenaristic
    2- Good prequel for the second season
    3- Many choice
    4- Cartoon graphics
    * Negative :
    1- Very short...
    2- Too much characters which we can't attach...
    (sorry for my english but i'm not english)
  25. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    You don't follow the characters long enough to get the same level of attachment felt in the first season, but it still serves as a great interlude between seasons.
  26. Jul 13, 2013
    5
    Definitely below the standard of the base game. 400 days gives you 5 different storylines, each of which lasts about 15 minutes and features different characters, all for $5. That's a bit steep of a price for so little content. I found it very difficult to have any emotional attachment to the characters based on the brief time spent in each storyline. The story itself also wasn't very good. I often found my character doing things i didn't intend on because of very vague options or poor story flow. Russel's chapter in particular was quite bad. In the end, I was quite disappointed by the DLC overall If you really enjoyed the Walking Dead, you'll probably enjoy this too. But, if you are on ends about it, you may want to stay clear, at least until it has a hefty sale. Expand
  27. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a great appetizer for Season 2. The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year. That like these five stories is very exciting Expand
  28. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The walking dead 400 Days Almost everybody loved The walking dead game series as they touched our souls Game basic key is the CHOICE which follows you every step In 400 days Telltale games keep surprising us 5 different deep stories The only bad thing they're too short as you begin to enter inside the story it ends
  29. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    The Good: Moral dilemmas, upgraded combat, bridges the gap between the Walking Dead Season 1 and Season 2, likable characters, lots of replay value

    The Bad: Incredibly short, no big emotional connections, disappointing ending, technical issues

    The Walking Dead by Telltale is probably my favorite game of all time… or at least my favorite story of all time. TWD: 400 Days is an
    experiment in storytelling and DLC by Telltale which may not have you developing emotional connections as you did in Season 1, but still works for the most part. It includes five stories which can be played in any order (although there is a chronological order to follow if you’d prefer that) which all have a separate main character. The ending where everything comes together is quite disappointing and confusing but hardly ruins the experience.

    Each of the stories has a similar layout (other than Shel and Vince’s)- you start off with a conversation where you get to know the characters, an action moment arises (the action has been improved as well), then a moral dilemma, then back to a conversation. These dilemmas are very intricate and often had me pausing the game so I could think over them (I know, shame on me for pausing). But those aren’t always the best parts of the stories. The best parts are instead the calmer moments such as when you are playing “Would you Rather” or tense moments where an extremely important game of “Rock Paper Scissors” is being played.

    There are a few drawbacks to having five completely different stories of survivors of the zombie apocalypse however. Each story is incredibly short and the experience as a whole is shorter than an episode of the actual game. I beat TWD: 400 Days in one sitting in about 1 hour and 15 minutes. This is disappointing because the short length doesn’t let you get to know the characters well.

    There are a few technical issues, specifically involving the mouse (so console users don’t need to worry) which can’t be avoided but they aren’t major. All in all, The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a successful experiment which is far from perfect but worthy of any TWD-game fan’s attention. Also, there is tons of replay value due to the numerous choices which all have varied outcomes.

    You can also check out my review at: http://binarymessiah.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/the-walking-dead-400-days/
    Expand
  30. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Although it's only one short episode, but it's a very good short episode. Even i could do some characterization for each survivors simply by doing conversation or other actions.
  31. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC for the first season of The Walking Dead, this game has followed it's predecessor's tradition very well. When you play the game, you feel completely overwhelmed by the rich story which the game has. The characters can surprise you, so can the story. In a way you can feel the character and become attached to them. Although this happens less than with the original season, it still does the same effect. All of the details this game has are absolutely amazing, you can change the story all depending on the actions you do, it all changes the story in a great way. It's graphics aren't realistic, but their still attractive in their comic-style way. A DLC you must play. Expand
  32. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    For a 5 euros DLC content this is good enough for me. Although the choices you make wont effect on anything, at least not just yet. Voice acting is good and characters are interesting and different in
    their own way.
  33. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    400 days was a fun bit of DLC but didn't have some of the fun and exciting parts the first five chapters had. The majority of the choices in this game don't have a impact on the rest the story. The voice acting and characters are well done as usual. Overall the DLC leaves you feeling a little empty and wanting to know what happens next. The game is definitely worth buying and playing.

    PS. The game will take you 2-3 hours.
    Expand
  34. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    A good palette cleanser that preps you for the upcoming season 2. It lacks the emotional resonance of the first five chapters, though, as you never really get to know the characters you play as beyond a handful of crucial moments in their lives. Worth the token $5, but don't expect the story of the familiar characters to continue.
  35. Jul 7, 2013
    4
    Granted, this DLC is only the price of about a beer or two, but I honestly think I would have enjoyed a beer more. Maybe it's just the fact that the original game is so well made and gave me so much for the money I spent, but I can't help but feel that this DLC is way too thin. I'm still OK with having bought the game because I feel like I have supported a studio that I really like, but that shouldn't be a reason to buy a game. Expand
  36. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    The writing, acting and suspense from the original series is still present, however the lack of any time to really get to know these characters spoils the experience in comparison to the first series. However, as a bridge to the second series of the game, it is definitely worth buying.
  37. zjk
    Jul 7, 2013
    0
    Lucky to get 90 minutes out of the game. The choices you make have no impact on the story line as it is so short they are never revisited. Pales in comparison to the original series, in saying that I hope its not another 8 months before we see the next DLC and that it is lengthened by a considerable amount.

    Save your money for now.
  38. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    It is nice to return to the game world of 'The Walking Dead' with five short filler stories, but that is pretty much what it is a filler. The five separate stories are quick and decisive introducing an abundance of new characters. Don't expect to receive as much tension and emotion compared to Season 1, but it will be interesting to see how this filler connects with the next series.
    To
    conclude; a short game with some nice small easter eggs that is easily worth your £5. Expand
  39. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    This is a great introduction to the upcoming second season. The decisions are hard to make, impactful and just difficult to make. I look forward to the second season and enjoyed playing this short but very well done prologue of season 2. Great story telling, but not really a game per se.
  40. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    All of the 5 stories are interesting even though the choices you make nearly affect the ending which is going to be always the same the only thing that changes are the characters who are there. But it's still a good experience there are some hard decisions the gameplay is more complex compared to the first season so I'm looking forward for season 2.
  41. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Didn't reach the emotional stakes of the actual game but the DLC does well in telling 5 stories very quickly. 400 Days tells these stories very well too, much better than your usual AAA titles, just like the actual game. TellTale have experimented here and I believe it has worked and it is great to see that there are a few new gameplay mechanics and that can only bode well for the future of this game. Not perfect though, as I did think it was a little short but overall a 9/10 was fair for what you are paying here. Expand
  42. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    it was fine not bad and not good 5 stories two were good 2 were fine and on was and before you play you must realize that you can't compare it to the entire walking dead season one game because this is a small DLC and it ends really fast and as the previous game it has a high replay ability as well play just to warm up for the next season
  43. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Unlike the original game, this small DLC only ads 5 more stories, each one that should last more or less 30 minutes, in which the choices you will make will influence the ending of the (DLC) story: even though it's definitely short, but has an ok price for it, I can only say that it's still pretty good and well done: the few characters in are very interesting (although too bad it ends too quickly) and the choices in it are still hard to make and not always clear. In other words, this game still takes the atmosphere of the game greatly and it's still a nice addition to enjoy. The only big flaws, like I said, are the very short time required to finish it (finished in about 2 hours), and the fact that the characters while being interesting we don't get enough time to understand their backstories, which is a huge waste of potential. All in all, if you loved the game, for a pretty good price this DLC is still good to try, just don't expect the same quality as the 5 episodes of the main game. Expand
  44. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Si bien me gustaria que la serie fuera un poco mas interactiva la nueva entrega sigue con misma habilidad e inteligencia para traer una buena historia,sin innovar pero con una nueva forma de abordar el relato.Mas alla de las pequeñas criticas que se le pueden hacer se merece un 10 entendido como un eslabon de una cadena y con mas ansias de ver su continuacion que de su par televisivo..que ya es mucho decir Expand
  45. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Telltale proves once again that they are the kings of video-game story telling with a more action oriented DLC. Whilst the walking dead 400 days does not reach the levels of emotion in the walking dead season 1, the 5 chapters each present an interesting aspect of the walking dead universe. The main issue with this DLC is that it follows such a different path from season 1.

    Whilst the
    base game focused the story on Lee and Clementine, and only allowed you to play as Lee for the 10 to 12 hour experience, this DLC divides each protagonist's story into 20 to 30 minute segments, each one revolving in their struggle for survival in different moments of the first 400 days of the zombie apocalypse around a pitstop that is the central location of the DLC. Infact, certain choices you make in each chapter may influence the other chapters that take place days or even months later.

    Telltale succeeds on the game defining choices, and seeing as each chapter contains at least one important choice that impacts the epilogue, we can expect the charachters we defined in this DLC to be appearing in the walking dead season 2, in some shape or form.

    My main issue with this DLC is that with the exception of one or two survivors, you don't get to relate to them in a way we related to Lee. Still, each story focuses on a particular theme. For example, Russel's story is centred around trust, Shel's around family and Bonnie's around romantic betrayal. However, many of the ingame decisions don't leave you feeling as though you did good at the end of the DLC, and rather, leave us in constant doubt, something that Season 1 handled with better care, seeing as the DLC chapters end so quickly that we are left without explanations or knowledge of what happens next.

    The art style is as unique as the walking dead season 1, and certain enviromental additions improve the graphics slightly. However, a huge issue is that the game still presents sudden cutscenes, and occasionally choppy animations. We must hope TTG will improve this for the walking dead season 2.

    To sum everything up, The walking dead 400 days DLC is great. Whilst it won't live up to all the feelings season 1 provided, it's a good way to give us a taste of what's to come in the next chapter of the walking dead.
    Expand
  46. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    It's 5 vignettes, all vaguely tied together, and should only take you about 2.5 hrs to finish.
    Certain stories stuck with me more than others (Shel and Bonnie's) just do to there being a bit more characterization in those.
    There are some nice touches linking the episodes together if you're looking for them (though nothing really linking this and season 1 except for a shot of the
    pharmacy..).
    If you liked the the first season, you'll probably enjoy this one, though personally I would've liked a bit more resolution to each vignette.
    Expand
  47. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised with this DLC. It lives up to the original game, which is hard to do with a brand new cast of characters. At the beginning, there are five stories that you can play through in any order, and each of them are very well made. The only non-story-related thing this DLC adds that wasn't in the original game is the inclusion of missable achievements. In my opinion, this does not add to the game, since the game should be about making your own choices without worrying about whether your choice will make you miss an achievement. But I did not let that detract from my overall score. All things said, this is excellent DLC! I highly recommend it. Expand
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    A good collection of short stories with some funny and interesting characters. Not up to the quality of the main game but it's short, sweet, and I'm interested to see how this links to season 2.
  49. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    I adore Telltale's Walking Dead game. I convinced all of my close friends to buy, and play through it just so we could talk about the story. It is one of the few stories in gaming that's really, really engaged me. I was also really impressed with the way they handled the idea of episodic gaming. The way each episode ended was perfect for a continuing story, and for 2 or 3 hours every two months they had my complete, undivided attention.

    When I saw them announce at Sony's 2013 E3 conference that there was going to be a bridging episode between the first and second season, I was immediately on board. When it came up on Steam, I immediately purchased it.

    After 2.5 hours of playing, I can honestly say I wasn't satisfied.

    (I apologize if you consider describing the structure as spoilers; but I will be absolutely spoiler-free in terms of story)

    The structure of the episode is to break everything up into small, succinct stories each with their own cast of characters. This is a fairly impressive task that they came up with a bunch of scenarios; but I feel like the execution was poor. All of the decisions felt very contrived, some of the voiceover was extremely weak, and by the end of it, I didn't want to play anymore. I had to force myself through the last two scenarios because I had nearly ceased caring by that point.

    On my Macbook Pro (2011), there were a lot of framerate issues, as well as some buggy graphics and really janky movement issues. I would rather have played it on my PC, and maybe those issues are fixed there; but this happens to be where my save lives, and at that moment in time I didn't feel like migrating it haha. Though those don't affect the story/writing at all, it impacted my experience.

    I'll sum it up here and say that this episode seems like it could have some interesting bearing on the coming season; but I found my experience with it to be fairly negative. That is not to say it isn't "good," the writing quality is still pretty good; but I felt no connection to any of the scenarios.

    I gave this game 3/5 because I feel that the quality is there, it just really didn't appeal to me and there were some things I really disliked about it.
    Expand
  50. Jul 4, 2013
    7
    To save a rather huge wall of text, I'm going to wrap up my problem with this installment quite quickly: You can't see the connection from your choices to the endgame. Your choices throughout the five different character pieces basically changes who's there at the end. But there's absolutely NO way to see "Oh making x choices means this character's not there." It just doesn't follow-- the ending honestly feels like a complete non-sequitur. Play it to get ready for Season 2, but it's just not going to have the impact of Season 1. Expand
  51. Jul 3, 2013
    6
    With some cool gameplay elements but no attachment to any of the characters, 400 days just doesn't leave as much of an impact as the first season did. This leaves me optimistic for season 2.
  52. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    An interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicely fleshed out, and yet again the quality of voice acting and setting are top notch. I'm definitely eager to play Season 2.
  53. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good and it comples to make real very,... very hard decisions. I was realy lost in the few moments, what I have to do! This part is not so gourgeus and not so long, but it's deserved to be played! I'm waiting impatiently for the next season!
  54. zjk
    Jul 7, 2013
    0
    Lucky to get 90 minutes out of the game. The choices you make have no impact on the story line as it is so short they are never revisited. Pales in comparison to the original series, in saying that I hope its not another 8 months before we see the next DLC and that it is lengthened by a considerable amount.

    Save your money for now.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    The Walking Dead. 400 Days offers the same great The Walking Dead experience, but this time with a focus on short stories instead of one larger one. Though there still could be some more actual interaction and less watching cutscenes, the quality of writing and experimenting in short story narrative more than makes up for it. [Aug 2013]
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    By telling five different shorter stories Talltale manages to accelerate the pace of the The Walking Dead series. It has its complications but mostly feels fresh and exciting. 400 Days may not be as well written or as emotionally resonant as the episodes in season one but as an appetizer for the upcoming second season it works very well.
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    80
    Like a "best of" The Walking Dead, 400 Days is brief and exciting, even if it feels a little more like a demo than a game. [Sept 2013, p.75]